Autopsy Blues down by 57 points after woeful first half

Gaff doesn't want to play for cellar dwellars, Fiorini re-signed with GC 3 days ago and Guthrie looks likely to re-sign at Geelong.

Wines I doubt would relish the thought of coming to a team so low on the ladder.
I think players know a lot more about other players and clubs for that matter than we do.Why wouldnt Gaff for example want to come across to play with the likes of CC,PC,SPS,PD etc. to build this club back knowing that he would help immensely,get paid accordingly and come back home to Melbourne.Yes we are on the bottom,yes we are struggling but the club is not imploding as some media journos think we are.Use David King as an example picking essendon to win the flag or that GWS’s season was done two weeks ago.Judge us after next year Not this.If you remember Judd did say this would be our hardest year.

"flogs of the highest order"?

You really think this is an accepted form of address towards a fellow supporter?

Disappointing when we resort to that

I'm a little on the fence in this debate ie. think we should give it time to judge the success of the rebuild but I'd be lying big time if I said I wasn't a bit worried and from time to time I will express my concerns. What I won't do, regardless of how strongly I disagree with a poster, is revert to that description of fellow posters.

Doesn't mean I will not think it occasionally.

Getting jack of some posters attacking others, and the holier than thou attitude.

Disappointing yes...that’s my point

It’s what I was thinking also BH :)

Tough time being a blue

how's the entitlement....
More entitled than those of us who watched 80s and 90s flags and watch the decline into mediocrity, alleged criminality and now bitter disappointment?

I am as hopeful as the next bloke but if we don't get some speed and maturity in the next year or two we will have just about broken or lost many of the green shoots anyway and we will be doing this all again in 2020.

Gaff doesn't want to play for cellar dwellars, Fiorini re-signed with GC 3 days ago and Guthrie looks likely to re-sign at Geelong.

Wines I doubt would relish the thought of coming to a team so low on the ladder.
Well where does that leave us? Getting no one?

I think players know a lot more about other players and clubs for that matter than we do.Why wouldnt Gaff for example want to come across to play with the likes of CC,PC,SPS,PD etc. to build this club back knowing that he would help immensely,get paid accordingly and come back home to Melbourne.Yes we are on the bottom,yes we are struggling but the club is not imploding as some media journos think we are.Use David King as an example picking essendon to win the flag or that GWS’s season was done two weeks ago.Judge us after next year Not this.If you remember Judd did say this would be our hardest year.

Just made up my Mind. Want West Coast to win the flag this year.

His stats were padded genius.

Weiters was getting games by default and in his first 2 seasons we played extremely defensive style with a lot of switching and passing to the defenders. Not to mention the fact that he's had a lot of tall timber support around him so he could play loose and not really have to beat an opponent 1v1.

BTW, I didn't moan that we took him with #1. You clearly skip past the fact that he hasn't applied himself the right way. Like I said talent is there, but doesn't have what it takes between the ears.
How do you judge whether someone has applied himself the right way? I reckon our backline is the toughest place to play at this point, just barraged every week. Yet Weiters seems to be the main fall guy and not applying himself? He's a third year player in a bad team that is leaking possessions towards the backline. Not sure anyone would do particularly well in his stead.

I'm looking forward to a more balanced side in the years to come and allow him to grow with it, minus the baggage that comes with fielding the blame when times are tough. I'm as disappointed as the next member but we knew this was coming. It's hard to watch, and I couldn't yesterday but, it will get better.

What a croc of shit.

I'm guessing everything has been rosey for your family your whole life?

Think of it this way, you get pissed off at them, doesn't mean you're not going to support them and want them to be successful in the future.

Would you clap for your kids if they commit a crime?
Are you really equating poor on field performance in a sporting event to criminal behaviour? Think about that comparison for a moment...

How did you go?

Average player wage was considered to be about 375 thousand, if not a little more, before the TPP increase.

Marc is still a good player. 550 would be fair enough, and if he wants the two years I'd give it to him. He'd be better to have around, and it'd be easier to use for marketing with him there, as well as even if he's not the captain he would continue to assist in the development of the youngsters.
We certainly can't afford to lose a player of his ilk in the current climate despite how little he has played. Unless he returns a player in a similar age and playing profile. Pay the man as a guy who helps to lead the green shoots (becoming a cliche much) even if he is not the captain.

Probably no A graders. That's just a reality of our circumstances. Who would nominate us except more young kids who are either starved of opportunity or have some connection to the club. The speculation is fun but the reality is internal growth. Do we have the right internal structures to support growth though? I'd like to see a senior or associate head coach in place and a review of fitness and development practices. I know we are young but every team looks bigger and faster than us. We have to balance that ledger.

Well if we don’t get some mature elite talent into the place soon then we will sit on the bottom of the ladder for years.
I can’t see many influential Carlton supporters tolerating that for very long.
It might mean that we have to launch a full frontal legal attack on the AFL draft rules. They are almost certainly an unreasonable restraint on the trading rights of players and clubs. For that reason they will be struck down.

Well if we don’t get some mature elite talent into the place soon then we will sit on the bottom of the ladder for years.
It might mean that we have to launch a full frontal legal attack on the AFL draft rules. They are almost certainly an unreasonable restraint on the trading rights of players and clubs. For that reason they will be struck down.
That route has been tested and refuted. I agree with what you are saying. We need mature bodies with speed and skill like Faff but I can't see a realistic circumstance where they nominate us for a trade or sign with us in free agency. If we become a mid level team that those types can lead to the finals, I get it. We are not the proud club dripping with tradition any more. We need to create a new identity and its on the way. Just not there yet. I'm seeing the patience sucked out of me too though.

No point challenging the draft rules when we are sitting at the bottom end of the ladder & not exactly the richest club in the competition. Remove the draft rules & the strong clubs get stronger & the weaker clubs will get even weaker.

There was a reason the AFL introduced the draft (& the salary cap). To limit the domination of strong, wealthy clubs like us back in the '80s.

Correct. I think too many supporters on here are influenced by Judd’s move a decade ago.

Reality is back then we weren’t nearly a decade removed from a grand final, we hadn’t had a whole generation of footy fans growing up with Carlton mediocrity and we had third party payments to throw Judd’s way.

Until we see actually improvement on the field I can’t see us getting any big names. Particularly when we have to compete with the likes of Richmond, Collingwood etc all of whom are much better off than us at the moment.

Correct. I think too many supporters on here are influenced by Judd’s move a decade ago.

Reality is back then we weren’t nearly a decade removed from a grand final, we hadn’t had a whole generation of footy fans growing up with Carlton mediocrity and we had third party payments to throw Judd’s way.

Until we see actually improvement on the field I can’t see us getting any big names. Particularly when we have to compete with the likes of Richmond, Collingwood etc all of whom are much better off than us at the moment.

Feel your passion mate .
Never say never .

I agree. He’s annoyed that he was de-listed. He blames the decision makers and they include Bolts. He lasted one year only. We were his third club.

Wasn't he a salary dump packaged in with the GWS players we did want?

Whilst I understand the frustration over Saturday's game some of the comments and short term thing on here is amazing. What do people really expect? 42 list changes in 3 years and our list still needs work. Major injury list that has never allowerd us to put close to our best 22 on the park all year. Continuity is vital.

At the moment we have a bunch of young talented kids and a group of senior "handy" players holding our side together. Games like Saturday are always going to happen and they will happen again this year. It's NOT effort. It's cohesion, confidence and having the elite players to lead and carry a side when they are struggling. Top level elite players make others look good. Some players are born to lead and others are meant to fill a role. We are missing Docherty, Murphy (& Gibbs). That is massive in leadership and top end talent. This the AFL, if you are deficient in too many areas you will get exposed.

Our kids are still very young and are nowhere near ready to consistently influence games and we have 6-12 playing any week. Look at Charlie for example. He will be elite IMO. No doubt, but he is 2-3 years from consistently influencing games. Weitering the same. That's what it takes. Our top end mature talent is Cripps then Ed & Kruezer as support. Shut down Cripps and we are in real trouble. Jones, Kerridge etc are good players at best. Will never consistently influence games. If we had Fyfe Dangerfield & Kelly in our side the results would be different. As much as 3-4 extra wins.

At the weekend we missed Murphy Docherty Pickett Kennedy Williamson Cuningham Byrne Marchbank. Kruezer Casboult Lang aren't fully fit. Macreadie Polson LeBois Garlett McKay TDK are talented kids not yet ready or injured.

The improvement in Weitering SPS Dow O'Brien Jack Fisher Charlie Kerr McKay has been impressive for some so young and in such a poor side.

Also, how do people criticse the coach on gameplan etc??? How do you know when you don't have the players to carry out any plan consistently? Amazes me. I believe Bolton is the right man for the job but none of us really know and won't for atleast another 12-18 months minimum. To change things now is simply stupid.

This year I thought would be our worst. Our kids are younger as we have more and our mature players are older, past it or just not good enough. Not having Murphy Doc & Gibbs on the park is massive to our performance.

At the end of this year we will bring in some better mature (25 year olds) plus another group of kids. This together with another 12 months of development, another pre season (our kids needs size and strength) a better injury list (fingers crossed) and we will see a much better side in 2019 then push for finals in 2020. NOTHING has changed. People need to chill and look at the big picture.

Saturday was frustrating but I am seeing absolutely nothing that changes my mind that we are not doing the right thing. I have no doubt in 12 months most here will see a much better and happy side. It just takes TIME.

Go Blues! :thumbsu:

Autopsy Blues down by 57 points after woeful first half