RDFNL 2018 Season discussion

Not sure why, but I had it in my head all finals are at Clarke. Can anyone elaborate ?

Finals should be played about the comp broadford / Lancefield / rockbank/ Sunbury / etc sides not in the finals that will give them some help moving ahead perhaps thus might help these clubs volunteers get some reward as they keep there clubs afloat

Couldn't agree with that any more.
Why have the finals and especially the Grand Final at Clarke oval when Lions aren't in the league.
Additionally it is a terrible ground to play on and watch watch from.

Good idea in theory Dave but realistically it’s hard enough to get volunteers to help at their own games during the year, let alone at a game that they have zero interest about given their own season is over.

Disagree reckon not only would there volunteers help but also players footy and netball it’s about the top end of town the league needs to give the footy back to the teams

Finals are the marquee part of a league. If a player is looking to play at Ballarat, Bendigo EDFL, WRFL or an RDFL team and the finals are at Mars Stadium, QEO, Windy Hill, Whitten or Rockbank / Broadford, what is better to attract players to the comp. I understand where your going David G with it as whilst many has their head in the sand, we have said many times these clubs need support as they tracking the wrong way. I have used some extreme examples here as I sight the grand final of those leagues where the GF in the RDFL is at Romsey not at Rockbank or Broadford, but my point being, play your big finals at the best venues on the best decks to showcase your league.

Not Saying grandfinal but rockbank as a example seem to pull finals regularly so why not broadford or woodend etc

We also don’t have a windy hill or whiten oval

But we do have a Clarke Oval, which is big and open and can fit in a huge crowd.

EDFL and WRFL don’t play regular games at Windy Hill or Whitten Oval through the year, so the idea of not playing games at Clarke Oval because it is not an RDFL ground is ridiculous. And one could argue that it actually is an RDFL ground because they play juniors on it all the time. And it is also an AFL Goldfields ground.

But we do have a Clarke Oval, which is big and open and can fit in a huge crowd.

EDFL and WRFL don’t play regular games at Windy Hill or Whitten Oval through the year, so the idea of not playing games at Clarke Oval because it is not an RDFL ground is ridiculous. And one could argue that it actually is an RDFL ground because they play juniors on it all the time. And it is also an AFL Goldfields ground.

Yep great atmospheric oval feels like your watching from a hundred miles away and again it’s country footy play it in the country not the burbs Romsey great atmosphere reckon few other grounds would have that feel also and As they say if it’s a final you would travel anywhere to play in one ☝️

Massive result at Riddell. Look forward to the Rupo guys summary. Tough win for our boys today against a Woodend side who really took the game on at just about every opportunity and who rode the wave of some very favourable decisions. Saladino and Davies were great with O'Sullivan showing how much he's been missed.

I'm told Toman had 17 touches at the break and he was certainly very good.

Rupo beaten easily today by a team that out everythinged them, Riddell better around the contest and Nolan pretty good up forward. Rupo tried hard in the third however couldn't put the score on the board, Riddell have a decent list with a mixture of young and mature players. Not panic stations by any stretch of the imagination but yes Rupo have work to do. Lancefield next week, and so the season continues.

I was expecting a close game between riddell and Rupo today. There was a big crowd there today and you could see riddell were on straight away in the first minutes. It had the feeling the whole club were setting themselves for the senior game.They smashed them in contested ball all day. Swallow went off injured with a wrist injury before half time and was dressed buy the start of the third qtr. I was shocked that Rupo was so uncompetitive and being smashed in contested ball all day. But they are better than that. The Walsh brothers, harry power, brayden Allen and Dylan tarczon really sparked them in the first half.

Most u said was correct bro, I think u will find it was Chambers that came off and didn't go back on, swallow played the whole game. Grigg also off early and never returned albeit no excuses Riddell were good and showed a greater toughness around the ball. Still only round 9 though yeah, no GF won in June I guess.

Sorry you were right mate. I still think Rupo will be there when the whips are cracking at the end of the year they will take a lot of confidence from last years final series and be very hard to beat. I personally think they just had an off day today. When they get out on Clarke oval watch out I say with the speed they have.

Great win by Romsey, Wallen and Riddell today. The other scores arw.ot surprising. I thought the romsey v Sunbury and Riddell v Rupo games would have been a little closer. I bet Sunbury are scratching there heads now as to why they sacked the coach from last year. Not good signs ahead from that part of toen.

Sunbury are not scratching their heads at all they have a great coach who is doing terrific job with the players he has and will improve over next couple of years

Sorry you were right mate. I still think Rupo will be there when the whips are cracking at the end of the year they will take a lot of confidence from last years final series and be very hard to beat. I personally think they just had an off day today. When they get out on Clarke oval watch out I say with the speed they have.
Yeah correct, I imagine they wouldn't play that bad again for sure and expect they'll bounce back. Thought it was a bit rich of a certain young Riddell player who must wear his IQ on his jumper (17) to slag off at the Rupo coach for leaving Riddell, he won five flags at Riddell and most who played yesterday in both sides wouldn't be worthy of carrying his bags. Enuf said.

Caught the second half with work commitments stopping me to watch the start which from all reports at the ground, game was over at qtr time. Riddell intent on the day was clear they seemed really focused on this game and listening to their three qtr time huddle they were really on the job knowing what they wanted to do. All not done for me, Rupo gave effort to the end, poor kicking stopped them staying in touch I was told but it did have a look of Riddell overwhelming them on the day. Rupo have a really talented list as we all know, will bounce back. Forget the rest of the comp, just have a top 5 v top 5 ladder sitting next to the actual ladder. The draw is influencing where teams finish and % is going to be a big thing so bottom 7 teams, don't think your gonna get a team taking their foot off against you on the run home. If the above is true that's disappointing, it's a game of community footy, maybe it was spur of the moment stuff, but Nick Ash is or should be a life member at Riddell even did a stint coaching the juniors there.