Game Day WC v Adelaide Game Day.

Was at the game tonight and based on what I saw you’d pay Gov and Gaff what they’re asking. Outside of Yeo they were perhaps the only two players that looked dangerous around the ball if both were to go west coast fall off without strong replacements

As it stands West Coast don’t have genuine consistent ball winning midfielders. Yeo seemed more prevalent across half back and Gaff plays very loose/off the ball.

It seems for years now when the contest gets hard eagles fall off. When the midfield is up and about is when Nic Nat is dominant and that isn’t happening at the moment. Too much of a glut of these players who aren’t genuine bulls and are half pace plodders as well (Redden, Sheed, Masten, Hutchings, Ah Chee). Adelaide won that last quarter because they had more
Players harder at the contest wanting to run through the ball. That and Nic Nat failed to dominate a ruckman on his last legs.

Can’t see a lot of downside in playing Petrucelle at the moment over some of these plodders. At least he’s got a weapon that could be used to break lines.

Reckon shuey is carrying Injury still.

I just don't get how we can just let a team completely dominate contest after contest for a long period of time,

Surely someone can win the ball and find a target and then he can find another target

And slow the bloody game up !!!!

Too much of a glut of these players who aren’t genuine bulls and are half pace plodders as well (Redden, Sheed, Masten, Hutchings, Ah Chee).

Adelaide won that last quarter because they had more players harder at the contest wanting to run through the ball.
This is the crux of it really.

You can add Shuey to that list as well. He’s too weak in the contest to make up for the dash you get maybe once a game.

Really disappointed in Shuey lately. Has gotten worse over the last couple of years, when he should be hitting his peak. He’s basically just a bit of a nothing player now.

I just don't get how we can just let a team completely dominate contest after contest for a long period of time,

Surely someone can win the ball and find a target and then he can find another target

And slow the bloody game up !!!!

Crows had player after player running at the contest. Eagles had one or two running at it with three or four standing flat footed on the outside waiting for the easy ball. Crows win ball and leave the people waiting on the outside standing still watching.

This is the crux of it really.

You can add Shuey to that list as well. He’s too weak in the contest to make up for the dash you get maybe once a game.

Really disappointed in Shuey lately. Has gotten worse over the last couple of years, when he should be hitting his peak. He’s basically just a bit of a nothing player now.

Harsh IMO. I feel like he has been building upward these last 3 games returning from a significant injury.

I would say it's so obvious Nic is carrying some kind of injury or that suspension has prevented him playing his natural game - probably a bit of both. But how can a team go off the boil so much - I know we are missing our 3 best forwards and our full back, but there's obviously an attitude problem somewhere - Simmo the balls in your court to keep the boys motivated.
Hes useless he cant do anything promote mitchell as senior coach

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

TBH I turned on the TV to watch the game fully expecting another Loss .
We played better than I expected in the first half but we took our opportunities and Adelaide didn't .... that worried me.

The weight of numbers eventually got us and if we are honest the score line flattered us at three quarter time.

Needless to say the capitulation was disappointing and left a shitty taste in my mouth but in my heart of hearts the result was what I had expected.

There is a couple of ways to look at it :

1. Be pissed off that we lost and Fu(*** angry that the team ONCE AGAIN took the foot of the pedal.

OR

2. At least be thankfull that they played with some gusto in the first half.

I am pleasantly surprised with how well we have done in the first half of the season and I will put my hand up and say that I thought the bottom of the eight was at best where I thought we would finish.

Even though we have hit a shitty patch I have already recalibratted my expectations from pre season .
We will make the eight and be closer to making the top four than not.

To win a flag you need a lot of luck and need to be kissed on the dick by the Injury Gods ..... clearly they have deserted us ATM.

But what a stint of crap footy does is provide some sobering reality checks and provide a good audit on your list.

McInnes is not and never will be an AFL players arseh*le......... sheer madness to give him any more game time ..... would rather put games into Brander or either of the Allen's than persist with # 36.
He is our tall mans version of McGinnity ....... must be a "Mc" thing...... play shit for many years yet still snags another one year contract, every year.

Another low light..... and a comment that....... will garner some flack from his supporters is Masten ....... we witnessed once again that when the pressure is on and every player is required to put his body on the line ....... # 7 generally squibs and takes the alternate route ie bruise free football.
I will always feel nervous going into a big and important game with Masten in the side.

Not all negative I think the experience of todays game will be benificial in the development of Snake Waterman, Cole and Ainsworth.

Bottom line is we need to improve our midfield depth ( oh hardly a new concept, I hear you all say :ear: ...... and I almost apologise for raising it again.... but...... :shrug: our recruiters don't seem to get it ) .

Now we need to shunt Jetta off at seasons end............. he really pisses me off............. so much talent, so much flair and creativity....... so small a work ethic.

Thought our backline kept us in the game for the first half and kudos to Simpson for at least moving Gov forward and Yeo deep in defence.

Our forward line is very raw and struggled but they loss is all part of the learning curve.

Disappointing result and all that but we live to fight another day...... it wasn't the result that we had wanted but sitting where we are on the ladder at the moment is probably better than we thought at the start of the season.

Harsh IMO. I feel like he has been building upward these last 3 games returning from a significant injury.
He has turned into a bit of a nothing player though, hasn’t he? I mean he was our great white hope for a number of years, yet to most non-WCE fans he is nothing special.

He is meant to be our numero uno. The guy who lifts the side, from the engine room, when we need it most.

Yet year after year we continually fail to rise to the challenge whenever the opposition puts us to the sword, and whenever the game isn’t played on our terms.

Why blame the coach or our fill-in forwards when Shuey should be taking a large amount of the responsibility for this?

I’m fine with him being just a normal B-grade midfielder, hey not everyone can be a star. But unfortunately that doesn’t help the side. We still need to find those truly elite midfield leaders, or we will struggle to win a flag.

Proud as punch with that effort, lads worked hard for a new game plan and came close to pulling it off.

GkfRsuo.gif

He has turned into a bit of a nothing player though, hasn’t he? I mean he was our great white hope for a number of years, yet to most non-WCE fans he is nothing special.

He is meant to be our numero uno. The guy who lifts the side, from the engine room, when we need it most.

Yet year after year we continually fail to rise to the challenge whenever the opposition puts us to the sword, and whenever the game isn’t played on our terms.

Why blame the coach or our fill-in forwards when Shuey should be taking a large amount of the responsibility for this?

I’m fine with him being just a normal B-grade midfielder, hey not everyone can be a star. But unfortunately that doesn’t help the side. We still need to find those truly elite midfield leaders, or we will struggle to win a flag.
Maybe we've got different expectations of him, but I see him as being an above-average decision-maker with the ball, and excellent user of it. That alone makes him a valuable player, and better than most of our mids. As a clearance player his success is very much dependent on our rucks and his fellow inside mids, so I don't see why he gets excessive blame when things don't go the Eagles' way. He's not a speedster who can break a line, a bull who can smash through one, or an athlete who can leap over one.
Yeah he's one of many who let us down in the 4th, but he's underdone so I give him some leeway at the moment.

Shuey is a solid player but he is no superstar. Will be promptly forgotten once he stops playing. I remember when he came out saying that he wanted to be the best player in the competition - he is far from it but a good player.

If WCE keep playing Hutchings, Jetta and Masten, we may as well throw this season away. You can only carry so many good WAFL players before the team isn't AFL standard.

Maybe we've got different expectations of him, but I see him as being an above-average decision-maker with the ball, and excellent user of it. That alone makes him a valuable player, and better than most of our mids. As a clearance player his success is very much dependent on our rucks and his fellow inside mids, so I don't see why he gets excessive blame when things don't go the Eagles' way. He's not a speedster who can break a line, a bull who can smash through one, or an athlete who can leap over one.
Yeah he's one of many who let us down in the 4th, but he's underdone so I give him some leeway at the moment.
Not really blaming him, but acknowledging that he’s not an elite midfielder and the fact that he’s not elite is part of the reason we struggle to match it in the clearances at times

Game Day WC v Adelaide Game Day.