Cyril Rioli retires

eddie betts is better.
i reckon if his surname was rioli he'd be getting the treatment cyril got. good player. but ****, eddie is better in my humble opinion

Betts probably better offensively, particularly since Eddie has been at the Crows.
Better goal sense than Cyril and ability to kick a goal from anywhere.

But Cyril has him well covered everywhere else.
Better tackler and ability to run down an opponent from nowhere.
I suggest Cyril has more tricks also - spins, baulks and deft touches.
Lightning handball - by the time he gave it off and got it back again, everyone was still looking to who got it out.
Cyril was desperate at the contest......When the ball was on the ground he had that uncanny knack of extracting it out and find a team mate.
Could play in the centre square and win you a clearance when you needed it

Thanks Cyril
Simply the best

Betts probably better offensively, particularly since Eddie has been at the Crows.
Better goal sense than Cyril and ability to kick a goal from anywhere.

But Cyril has him well covered everywhere else.
Better tackler and ability to run down an opponent from nowhere.
I suggest Cyril has more tricks also - spins, baulks and deft touches.
Lightning handball - by the time he gave it off and got it back again, everyone was still looking to who got it out.
Cyril was desperate at the contest......When the ball was on the ground he had that uncanny knack of extracting it out and find a team mate.
Could play in the centre square and win you a clearance when you needed it

Thanks Cyril
Simply the best

Yeh I know what you mean. Footy these days has a heavy emphasis on defence. But if we are talking about small forwards, kicking goals is what they should be judged on. Just reckon Eddie has him covered and has been pretty consistent for over 10 years

As a member and supporter of Hawthorn long before the recent era of success I will fondly look back on those years namely because of Rioli. Sure we had plenty of premiership years but there were many frustrating years in his era.

There is just something immeasurable about watching Cyril. You always think about winning the game but as a supporter for so many years it’s had a different feeling knowing that he was going to make a few ridiculous plays in every game.

And you always knew despite having obvious flaws in the squad you always felt you were a shot with him in the side.

In an age dominated by stats I can appreciate that he never stacked up well on paper. He’s just like no other player that I’ve ever seen before and it’s just pointless trying to compare him to anyone.

An absolute privilege to watch and I cross my fingers that he has kids that want to play the game, even if it is for a short time.

The day the legend of Cyril Rioli was born

giphy.gif
giphy.gif

The day a rookie single handedly embarrassed the "greatest team of all". It's no wonder why Geelong fans have a deep seeded hatred of the man.

Did well to get away with landing in the middle of Enright's back and initially tackling Rooke around the ankles...

I think it’s a great example of some one choosing family over their career

He could have eked out another three years or more. The ethos of hawthorn is family ...family First.

It also speaks volumes of indigenous people and how they handle things like this

Even though he’s an opposition player I loved watching him play .....like many indigenous players he did the unpredictable. He was a great player in a great team yes but like many have said he made them better

I think it’s a great example of some one choosing family over their career

He could have eked out another three years or more. The ethos of hawthorn is family ...family First.

It also speaks volumes of indigenous people and how they handle things like this

Even though he’s an opposition player I loved watching him play .....like many indigenous players he did the unpredictable. He was a great player in a great team yes but like many have said he made them better
Great post ...

No idea what those personal circumstances are that he's dealing with, but it's always a sad thing when a star retires before their time. 28 and should be at the peak of his powers.

Let's not get it twisted tho, he's stopped playing footy, he hasn't died. So we shouldn't be overly dramatic. But wish him well in whatever he is dealing with.

Bruce will be a very sad man. Luckily for him there's another rioli going around and not going to badly either..

Cyril's 2008 season, including the grand final, still stands out to me, it was a sensational effort from a first-year player.

That 2008 grand final is probably my favourite one to watch just behind our two flags.

I wish him all the best for the future.

No idea what those personal circumstances are that he's dealing with, but it's always a sad thing when a star retires before their time. 28 and should be at the peak of his powers.

Let's not get it twisted tho, he's stopped playing footy, he hasn't died. So we shouldn't be overly dramatic. But wish him well in whatever he is dealing with.

Bruce will be a very sad man. Luckily for him there's another rioli going around and not going to badly either..
Real tough for clubs to lose 28 year olds to retirement as well, huge void and no compo.

Really do hope there's a sneaky chance of getting him to the Tiges for year at 30 yo with Dan.

On a further selfish note, this must weaken Dan's support network in Melb which could be a worry at some point.

im guessing this is like the burgoyne thread where unless you only have positive points you get banned as a troll. Thus we end up with nothing but biased positivity

He was a decent tackler. and i liked that he tried to take hangers and sometimes even did. hope his family problems sort themselves out.
if you feel the need to bag a retiring player do it on your own board, better yet just do it in your head

why the need to post negatively about Cyril in the thread about his retirement?

if you feel the need to bag a retiring player do it on your own board, better yet just do it in your head

To be fair there's been no real opportunity to post negative Cyril comments over the years. No one has bothered to start a thread along those lines.................

Did well to get away with landing in the middle of Enright's back and initially tackling Rooke around the ankles...
haha what a load of shit.

Absolute superstar. I remember watching that Wide World of Sports story on him when he was 9. It is a pity Sheedy was sacked a few months before the draft! I loved watching him play and Cyril can get back to cheering on his beloved bombers!!

True story. I was on the ground for prematch stuff at 09 Dreamtime game. There were a few well know people around us. The missus at the time was all over Aaron Pedersen!! I then noticed two very young men who were below my eye line they were that short. Stokes and Rioli. "Cyril what are you doing here?" is how I rudely began the chat. "I still barrack for the bombers" he replied.

Anyway, an indigenous ex-Essendon player told me early in the year that Rioli wanted to retire over summer. He had to be talked into returning to Melbourne.

On a political note, this shows you the very real damage of neglecting a community. If government programs were sustained in helping us transition a people who were living a pre-agricultural lifestyle at the beginning of the 20th century into this modern world, perhaps we wouldn't have such a disastrous life expectancy for them. Yes, part of his reasoning in retirement was that he'd already won four premierships and a Norm Smith, but if it wasn't for the early passing of so many men in his community he probably would not have lost so much motivation.

Let's not see programs put into remote communities that are essentially victim blaming exercises like the Intervention was. Let's see appropriate levels of housing and houses that are better designed for their climate and culture, more emphasis on bilingual education and more of the education delivered by elders, more jobs that are attractive to indigenous Australians like land care and hunting of bushmeat. Finally, we can see a better model of resource management on their lands. Not the STUPID Australian model where we let private mining companies extract the resources and pay a pittance back in royalties. Let's use more of the Norway model where publicly owned companies keep the lion share of the profits and invest them into community infrastructure and education, with the excess be invested outside of the community as an interest-bearing nest-egg that doesn't overheat the local economy.

Real politics, you know policy decisions, not the to and fro junk that journalists in the bubble focus on, has real effects on real people.

Regards my dream of seeing Cyril run around in the red and black, well that can still happen now. I hope he captains the Tiwi Bombers and thrills all the footy lovers in the top end for a few years now. With some luck he can pass on his knowledge and experience to a few young men who can bring his magic back to the big stage of the MCG.

Despite my AFL tribal allegiance I would also like to say that I am glad he did play under the modern day Kevin Sheedy, Clarkson. I know that statement will make many Essendon and Hawthorn supporters spew a little in their mouths, but it is true.

Cyril's 2008 season, including the grand final, still stands out to me, it was a sensational effort from a first-year player.

That 2008 grand final is probably my favourite one to watch just behind our two flags.

I wish him all the best for the future.

I did enjoy watching Cyril and an overweight bloke destroy a team in one quarter

Regards my dream of seeing Cyril run around in the red and black, well that can still happen now. I hope he captains the Tiwi Bombers and thrills all the footy lovers in the top end for a few years now. With some luck he can pass on his knowledge and experience to a few young men who can bring his magic back to the big stage of the MCG.

Despite my AFL tribal allegiance I would also like to say that I am glad he did play under the modern day Kevin Sheedy, Clarkson. I know that statement will make many Essendon and Hawthorn supporters spew a little in their mouths, but it is true.
I think the green and yellow of St Mary's is in his future

I couldn’t name one?

Who are they?
There are hundreds..abletts,bartlett et al

You don't even accept balanced comments..Not much of an excuse for a moderator

Absolute superstar. I remember watching that Wide World of Sports story on him when he was 9. It is a pity Sheedy was sacked a few months before the draft! I loved watching him play and Cyril can get back to cheering on his beloved bombers!!

True story. I was on the ground for prematch stuff at 09 Dreamtime game. There were a few well know people around us. The missus at the time was all over Aaron Pedersen!! I then noticed two very young men who were below my eye line they were that short. Stokes and Rioli. "Cyril what are you doing here?" is how I rudely began the chat. "I still barrack for the bombers" he replied.

Anyway, an indigenous ex-Essendon player told me early in the year that Rioli wanted to retire over summer. He had to be talked into returning to Melbourne.

On a political note, this shows you the very real damage of neglecting a community. If government programs were sustained in helping us transition a people who were living a pre-agricultural lifestyle at the beginning of the 20th century into this modern world, perhaps we wouldn't have such a disastrous life expectancy for them. Yes, part of his reasoning in retirement was that he'd already won four premierships and a Norm Smith, but if it wasn't for the early passing of so many men in his community he probably would not have lost so much motivation.

Let's not see programs put into remote communities that are essentially victim blaming exercises like the Intervention was. Let's see appropriate levels of housing and houses that are better designed for their climate and culture, more emphasis on bilingual education and more of the education delivered by elders, more jobs that are attractive to indigenous Australians like land care and hunting of bushmeat. Finally, we can see a better model of resource management on their lands. Not the STUPID Australian model where we let private mining companies extract the resources and pay a pittance back in royalties. Let's use more of the Norway model where publicly owned companies keep the lion share of the profits and invest them into community infrastructure and education, with the excess be invested outside of the community as an interest-bearing nest-egg that doesn't overheat the local economy.

Real politics, you know policy decisions, not the to and fro junk that journalists in the bubble focus on, has real effects on real people.

Most of what you wrote is a biased commentary but I support your right to view it.

There are hundreds..abletts,bartlett

You don't even accept balanced comments..Not much of an excuse for a moderator
You're just being provocative.Four flags, norm smith medal ,best tackler in league had opposition teams in fear of him, courageous highly skilled .That's 4 more flags and one more Norm Smith medal than James Parsons.He would have been the second one picked after Franklin.

Cyril Rioli retires