Ben Brown Run-Up

Remove this Banner Ad

His run up for a shot on goal is almost 50m long.
I think he should be required to bounce the ball twice before he has a shot at goal. Otherwise he should be pinged for running too far. :drunk:

To interrupt with a serious question...

How does the mega runup mesh with the protected area?

I mean, surely at the top of his run he's well outside the area...Can opposition players stand or move around next to (in front of?) him when he's back there?

If I was an oppo coach playing North in an important game, I'd be asking for 'clarification' from the ups pre game and then exploiting any flexibility that provides....Even if it's just to unnerve him a bit and interrupt his preparation.

I mean, surely at the top of his run he's well outside the area...Can opposition players stand or move around next to (in front of?) him when he's back there?

If I was an oppo coach playing North in an important game, I'd be asking for 'clarification' from the ups pre game and then exploiting any flexibility that provides....Even if it's just to unnerve him a bit and interrupt his preparation.

The protected area extends 10m behind him up to the man on the mark so it basically stretches 60m!

Blokes been playing the best part of 6 years yet still gets hounded by every journo and now random fans as if he debuted it over night.

Started it at weribee, run straight, garner momentum, get set, ball goes straight.

The crazy thing is the 30 second rule only applies to starting your run up

Nothing stopping you going back 100m and taking a minute to walk in and kick it

The rule will change soon that it has to be kicked inside 30 seconds

Rubbish, most players wait for the 5 second whistle before starting their walk forward.

No player is going to take a mark, run back, run forward and then kick straight for a goal all within 30 seconds. Especially after running their guts out to take the mark in the first place.

The AFL wants more goals mate, not less.