Toast From Bendigo to Etihad - Rabbit58's Journey

Rabbit58

Hi all,

Some on here may have been aware of Rabbit's situation. Some may not. I will let him explain it to you if he feels comfortable enough. He & his family also wanted to share some stories with you about his time being a St.Kilda supporter.

I had mentioned a few weeks ago that I was working with the club to try and put this all together for one of our own here on BigFooty & that sharing this experience with the rest of us is something that Rabbit was happy to do as well. In a year of disappointments & frustration, this surely will give everyone a much needed boost I reckon!

A bit of backstory:

I received a PM from gringo2011 about 6 weeks ago. Gringo let me in on the situation & with my contacts at the club, Gringo was hoping that I could speak with the club to see if there's anything we could do for a fellow Sainter.

After speaking with Gringo I let him know that I would be more than happy to help out...almost felt obliged to in the end given the circumstances, & then got in touch with Rabbit soon after to get his thoughts.

So we got talking through PM about what this experience would look like. I grabbed some details off of Rabbit & spoke with the club directly.

Despite what's happened this year, you cannot fault the club's commitment to it's members & supporters, & after telling them of Rabbit's situation they were more than happy to help us out.

SO WHAT IS HAPPENING IS...

Along with a personalised video message from Tom Hickey (Rabbit if you are OK with it I can post it here), Rabbit will receive half a dozen medallion club tickets for himself & his family to attend our final home game of the season vs North Melbourne next Sunday afternoon, along with change-room, post game access to meet the players.

Wanted to give a BIG thank you to Matt Finnis, his assistant Kerry & Tom Hickey for their support here - would not have been possible without them.

So proud of the way they've been able to facilitate this for a long time Saints fan.

Enjoy the day Rabbit & report back with pictures, stories & updates for us!

If you all would like to leave messages of support feel free to do so here.

All the best mate :)

GO SAINTS

Thanks to you George, I did nothing but mention it, it's all your hard work that got it done. Fantastic you could get something going and hope it's a great day for Rabbit. We are all edgy this year but it's great when we can all come together and help out one of the Saints family. Well done George and the club. Good luck Rabbit.

Good effort mate. Respect.

Thank you to George and Gringo
I really appreciate your efforts and what the club is doing. I hope that all of the big footy supporters will indulge me somewhat as I trek down memory lane. I also have some letters from my kids that I would like to post but because my doctor stooged me I am lying on a hospital bed waiting to see a pain specialist tomorrow.

Thank you to George and Gringo
I really appreciate your efforts and what the club is doing. I hope that all of the big footy supporters will indulge me somewhat as I trek down memory lane. I also have some letters from my kids that I would like to post but because my doctor stooged me I am lying on a hospital bed waiting to see a pain specialist tomorrow.

Look after yourself Rabs and we look forward to them when you get a chance.

So I take it the boards affectionate nickname for me isn't Rabbits and I'm not getting a trip to Melbane for the game???
Good on you Rabs have a great weekend mate, soak it in.

Hi all,

Some on here may have been aware of Rabbit's situation. Some may not. I will let him explain it to you if he feels comfortable enough. He & his family also wanted to share some stories with you about his time being a St.Kilda supporter.
Well done George on organizing a fantastic outing like this for Rabbit58.

Fantastic stuff!!!!!

A shout to you gringo for mentioning Rabbit's plight in the first place.

As Joffaboy stated.........it's been very grim at the club.....but a big shout out to Matt Finnis and his crew and Hicks for what they have done......a little bit of good news from the club.

Hope we salute against the Roos for ya Rabbit.

Brilliant effort by you and the club, George!

Rabbit58, hope you and your family have a wonderful experience and are there to watch a win at season’s end.

Thinking of you, mate. Take care.

Great effort by all involved to get this arranged. Well done

Have an awesome time Rabs. Hope to see you dancing a jig as the boys sing the song after the game

Look forward to your review

What's the story? I havent posted or browsed much at all this season (frankly I'm almost over the saints in general) but if someone could explain exactly what's going on here I'd really appreciate it. If it's a feel good story, like it seems to be, I need something to at least make me proud of my sainters once again... because onfield they are certainly not capable of doing that

Great effort Boys

Okay, fellow Saint Supporters
Here is my story
I have tried to post this earlier today but 2 tries have ended up somewhere in the internet cloud of lost things
Being of a certain age I love Monty Python and this scene (Fingers crossed that it works) of dying always appealed to me.

Being chased by bikini bottom wearing, bare breasted young women (apologies for sounding like a misogynist) into my grave on the beach seemed like a good way to go. My wife has walked past and said that if that's the way I want to go she will make it happen for me. She is also holding a knife that she is using to cut up fruit to make me a smoothie. My wife is also a fine Scottish woman and I can deduce from her smile and the twinkle in my eye I can have my 'dream death' although my appendage will be smaller than it already is.
I also like Spike Milligan's epitaph on his gravestone...I told you I was sick
I will post my stories over the next few days and I hope I make you laugh, make you cry...damned dust, make you f**king angry and maybe find some peace in your lives.
This would have been posted sooner but I got stooged by my Specialist (who I love in a bromance kind of way) who told me I would be staying in hospital over night, but I stayed 5 extra nights. I needed to go to hospital on Tuesday and was going home on Wednesday but no, I needed to stay an extra night. There won't be a third time of going to hospital and just staying a short period of time.
I also cannot thank George and gringo enough for their help and support in getting this thread up and running.

Okay, fellow Saint Supporters
Here is my story
I have tried to post this earlier today but 2 tries have ended up somewhere in the internet cloud of lost things
Being of a certain age I love Monty Python and this scene (Fingers crossed that it works) of dying always appealed to me.

Being chased by bikini bottom wearing, bare breasted young women (apologies for sounding like a misogynist) into my grave on the beach seemed like a good way to go. My wife has walked past and said that if that's the way I want to go she will make it happen for me. She is also holding a knife that she is using to cut up fruit to make me a smoothie. My wife is also a fine Scottish woman and I can deduce from her smile and the twinkle in my eye I can have my 'dream death' although my appendage will be smaller than it already is.
I also like Spike Milligan's epitaph on his gravestone...I told you I was sick
I will post my stories over the next few days and I hope I make you laugh, make you cry...damned dust, make you f**king angry and maybe find some peace in your lives.
This would have been posted sooner but I got stooged by my Specialist (who I love in a bromance kind of way) who told me I would be staying in hospital over night, but I stayed 5 extra nights. I needed to go to hospital on Tuesday and was going home on Wednesday but no, I needed to stay an extra night. There won't be a third time of going to hospital and just staying a short period of time.
I also cannot thank George and gringo enough for their help and support in getting this thread up and running.

Thanks Neil,

You're one of us and part of a brotherhood. We may not be a successful club but we are a bonded bunch. Anytime you need to unload we're always here bro.