Game Day Around The Grounds - Week 3 - The Prelims 2018

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Wow, Pies and Wet toast, might go for a drive next Sat as I have no interest in the outcome. I don't want the Pies on 16 flags and I despise WC. Is despise too strong a word? Only WA supporters will understand where I am coming from. They say we are an arrogant club, I reckon they could teach us a thing or two.

This is a club who provided some nice land package deals back in the 90s down Donsborough way for 2 flags and were drugged up for there last flag under a fully trained chemist who had no idea his players took drugs? A club who had one of the greatest wingman in Peter Matera but named a wing at Subiaco oval after one of their players who had a history of drug problem and passed away because of it. A club who sacked their coach when he brought to the attention of the board his teams culture problem.

Yes, they are a well run club and obviously have good people in their structure, however their media manager does great of keeping the bad press out of the paper. Can't remember where he used to work???

Hey but only Carlton cheat!

Kept an eye on the scores from my Mediterranean hideaway. Both finals not worthy of the build up.

The highlights showed a Melbourne team which looked spooked and turned the ball over. I did enjoy those two horrible handpasses from Jordy Lewis which resulted in goals.

I think it’s Collingwood’s year which is a shame however the last 3 seasons do give me hope that the Blue Boys can climb the ladder very quickly.

NOOOO!!! Say it isn't so!! :fearscream:

I envy you - a good place to be should this horror eventuate.

Go Eagles!!

There... I've said it.

I did enjoy those two horrible handpasses from Jordy Lewis which resulted in goals.
I'm rapt that in the biggest match Demons have had in years, this dog of a bloke had a dog of a game.

Wow, Pies and Wet toast, might go for a drive next Sat as I have no interest in the outcome. I don't want the Pies on 16 flags and I despise WC. Is despise too strong a word? Only WA supporters will understand where I am coming from. They say we are an arrogant club, I reckon they could teach us a thing or two.

This is a club who provided some nice land package deals back in the 90s down Donsborough way for 2 flags and were drugged up for there last flag under a fully trained chemist who had no idea his players took drugs? A club who had one of the greatest wingman in Peter Matera but named a wing at Subiaco oval after one of their players who had a history of drug problem and passed away because of it. A club who sacked their coach when he brought to the attention of the board his teams culture problem.

Yes, they are a well run club and obviously have good people in their structure, however their media manager does great of keeping the bad press out of the paper. Can't remember where he used to work???

Hey but only Carlton cheat!

Who was their media manager and where did he previously work?

Now we will have to put up with the rubbish from the media "pies now Victoria's hope ".
Channel 7 news have started doing this already.

It's mind-boggling that the media muppets actually believe Vic footy fans think that way - or any footy fans for that matter. Can you imagine Adelaide fans cheering for Port just because they're South Australian? I can't.

Or maybe they don't really believe it, they just think if they lay the bullsh!t on thickly enough, enough of us will think it's chocolate ice cream and lap it up... who knows?

It's mind-boggling that the media muppets actually believe Vic footy fans think that way - or any footy fans for that matter. Can you imagine Adelaide fans cheering for Port just because they're South Australian? I can't.

Or maybe they don't really believe it, they just think if they lay the bullsh!t on thickly enough, enough of us will think it's chocolate ice cream and lap it up... who knows?
They've been pushing this BS since the 02 GF.

What an absolute garbage set of prelim finals to watch this year.
Hopefully the grand final is at least close and Pies lose by one point after extra time.
Yep, they should all be banned from playing Preliminary Finals next year.

Loving the way WC play

Tall defenders, Tall forwards, 2 rucks, precision kicking.

No rolling maul and just scramble it forward. Beautiful footy

Completely agree and have been making this point for months.

There is more than one way to win a football match.

To those posters who have been saying "we need to play like Richmond to be successful"?

I don't think so........

Richmond blew a golden opportunity of cheap back to back flags in a time the others left in race had a few injured players out. You do not often get a charmed injury run like tigers have got last two years. They may never get that good a run of it free of key injuries for another decade. Got to make hay whilst sun shining on you. That choke they will regret for a long time.

Demons own choke of Lewis handball straight to opposition for first goal, Tyson losing his feet in first quarter at crucial time will take whole summer to get over. Tyson was terrible for mine and they should trade him for anything they can get. Just not to us....

Completely agree and have been making this point for months.

There is more than one way to win a football match.

To those posters who have been saying "we need to play like Richmond to be successful"?

I don't think so........

My feel is it will get shown up next week. Melbourne yesterday were pathetic. No pressure and heaps of mistakes. They sh1t themselves and WCE took advantage

The Collingwood style which is similar to Richmond will make them look ordinary. Unfortunately [emoji22]

My feel is it will get shown up next week. Melbourne yesterday were pathetic. No pressure and heaps of mistakes. They sh1t themselves and WCE took advantage

The Collingwood style which is similar to Richmond will make them look ordinary. Unfortunately [emoji22]

West Coast have beaten Collingwood twice this year already. Not convinced their tall backs can hold Kennedy and Darling. Buckley maybe forced to get brave and bring one of Ben Reid or Darcy Moore in. Liam Ryan looked to hurt upper thigh late in game. Curious whether he can leap high on grand final day now. Whatever happens, Go Eagles from here.... Do it for Adrian Hickmott and Adam Simpson

Can already see the headlines next week after eagles win the flag.

Why did Blues let Kennedy go?Who won that trade?

Will no doubt read heaps of posts from Carlton supporters saying exactly the same thing.

Can we all just move on please!

IMHO Pies are very different to Tigers.

Tigers surge the ball forward chaotically with soccer kicks, tap ons, scunge kicks.

Tiger mids/forwards are often undersized and tunnel taller opponents in marking contests to bring both the opponent and the ball to ground and then gather the ball and run - umpires finally started penalising this on Friday night (about 15 months later than they should have - AFL "rule of the week"?).

Pies played high pressure footy but then used precision kicking and hand balling to control possession and manoeuvre the Tigers mids and DEF's out of position. Eg Rance and Vlastuin.

Great game plan plus great execution.

Will no doubt read heaps of posts from Carlton supporters saying exactly the same thing.

Stop bringing it up then.....:thumbsu:

Very encouraging.

Charlie and McKay will feast on finals football.

Just got to build a midfield that can get us there.
Contested marks are a fantastic antidote to the pressure of finals. Takes so much heat out of the contest if you can maintain possession and don't have to scrag for 120 mins.

Would love to see Charlie and Harry tear up a final.

you not moved on if you posting about it ...lol

exactly who has to die for jason bennett to be elevated to 7's primary calling team - possibly the best in the business since denis quit.....