Recommitted Andrew Gaff [re-signed]

• Thread starter Thread starter Obeanie1

I don't know why it is so hard for people to accept that trade radio is simply fiction. The idea that a bunch of people in the know are desperate to feed Hutchy and Barrett information is hilarious. What possible reason would they have?

For what it's worth, totally independent of made up stories, I think personal experience and common sense suggests that someone who has held out on deciding for as long as Gaff is not going to re-commit to west coast. At some point a lack of decision become a decision in its own right.
The 8 weeks suspension, eagles flag and a crook dad makes his circumstances different to most players.

Normally a player is gone by this stage if they haven’t re-committed but this is an unusual set of circumstance. He may still stay.

No it's genuine friend, he's not coping all that well
New account, one of the first things you did when you joined was like a post by 'the cut above' on the bay, and you refer to people as "friend" - another Bay thing. You're trolling and spreading a malicious rumour about a player. Jog on.

giphy.gif

New account, one of the first things you did when you joined was like a post by 'the cut above' on the bay, and you refer to people as "friend" - another Bay thing. You're trolling and spreading a malicious rumour about a player. Jog on.

giphy.gif
maybe you're scared or jumping at shadows but I'm not trolling nor malicious in any way

It's a bit deeper than that mate, he's a sensitive soul and isn't coping well with the last 2 months well...I'll leave it there

Good.

I can never figure out why some people go to all the effort.

giphy.gif
Surely you psychopaths can see how Gaff might be dealing with some mental issues given the scrutiny he copped for breaking that kid's face then missing out on a premiership.

Thankfully we've got senior West Coast officials to tell people about it so they can post it on public forums.

In the short term yes...
He's really struggling on many fronts (not drugs as I assume u mean) apparently and I'm surprised a WC supporter isn't empathic to that.
But hey you're a crusted on Freo salt reading the tea leaves so carry on

Ease up mate
Not sure what Charlie Chaplin’s got to do with drugs
We can all see he’s not doing well, and FWIW I reckon he’d be better off with his mates.

As of one hour ago..

"Gaffs manager Paul Connors emphatically denied a report that the player informed his Eagles teammates he would be leaving to join North Melbourne"

https://www.watoday.com.au/sport/afl/gaff-still-in-limbo-20181003-p507kl.html

Its an interesting situation with Lycett also up in the air- I suspect Gaff won't make a decision until he knows West Coast's last best offer, and West Coast can't really know what that offer is until they know whether they've got Lycett money to play with.
Not really. The money that they have been paying Lycett will be needed for the ruckman that will replace him.

Its painfully obvious what Gaff is doing here:

Waiting until the Eagles best and fairest event is over.

Once thats done, look for him to have immediately made a decision to be traded in a matter of minutes, that apparently he couldnt make in the all months prior.

Funny thing that.

I absolutely do not begrudge him going, but he should cut the BS already.

Reality is that I have assumed for a while that Gaff is gone. Next stage will be Gaff attends B&F on Friday night and first thing Monday informs the club that he is wanting to go to North. There will be speculation as to whether we have the cap space to match and force a trade. I am then expecting Paul Connors to come out and say that Gaff is going through enough mental anguish that West Coast should not try to match the offer and force a trade and leave him to cope with what has been a horrific time for the young man..

A couple of things.

Firstly, I hope the club force the issue and match the bid to make North pony up pick 10. That is what the R stands for in RFA. I am not interested in hearing from the Connors as this is his normal approach for his players he manages.

Secondly, Rawlings should reintroduce the "avoid drafting from Paul Connors stable" until the clubs get the ability to trade a player US style.

The woe is me attitude of Gaff in the past fortnight has been a let down from him. I suspect that the deal was done and dusted 3 months ago and this glum face and state of misery pose does not go well. His failure to celebrate with his team mates will go down as a stain on his record which is a real pit because he has been a club great. OK to go as a free agent but at least do it as a man. When your team wins the flag, shouldn't it be about the boys who played and not the Gaff sob story.

Gaff - the 175 game player, F&B winner, AA, non-premiership player that could not even crack a smile for his team mates.

It was always going to be chief, but i really did have my money on sport, or mate. Let's do this again on Friday.

Just make sure you front up when I inevitably tag you and prepare to tell me "you were right".

"North payed too much"
"Gaff isn't that good"
"North are still shit"
"Something something stature"
Since we're making predictions.

"North payed too much"
"Gaff isn't that good"
"North are still shit"

Out of your 4 quotes
1 - Your offer is about right. Slightly overs, but that is required to get him out of West Coast.
2 - Gaff is a good footballer
3 - North still wont be good, Gaff is a cream on top player, not the cake. You MAY make finals but will be purely making up numbers.
4 - Gaff will not change your stature as a club

As I said, I look forward to you fronting up on Friday or Monday.

Out of your 4 quotes
1 - Your offer is about right. Slightly overs, but that is required to get him out of West Coast.
2 - Gaff is a good footballer
3 - North still wont be good, Gaff is a cream on top player, not the cake. You MAY make finals but will be purely making up numbers.
4 - Gaff will not change your stature as a club

As I said, I look forward to you fronting up on Friday or Monday.
Thats true it could easily, or actually probably be monday.

"North payed too much"
"Gaff isn't that good"
"North are still shit"
You must really feel like the perennial underdog if that is what you think.

Let me be clear how a few of us at West Coast would respond now - no need for predictions.
- Probably not worth paying the premium you are reported to have offered but you have to pay someone and not many others want to go to North. Come 2021, the salary for him will look reasonable. Bottom line, the deal is too good for Gaff to knock back and you are better overpaying to get real talent and not overpaying too many of the current squad.
- Gaff is a genuine A grade talent and we will miss him. The loss of him weakens us without a doubt and will strengthen North.
- However North with Gaff and Polec will still not win a flag. Missing too many other elements to be taken serious. You will win games in Hobart but your draw in 2019 will be tougher. If you make the 8, it will only be making up the numbers.
- I am glad you are overspending on Gaff and Polec - means Kelly will not leave GWS meaning they will need more cash to retain him meaning we get an easier go at Lobb this year and perhaps Coniglio next year (who will be RFA end 2019).
- Your shinboner spirit is great and sits well with your tradition. I still think you will fail to fill an Easter Friday event and will continue to ask for but attract the crowds to host prime time games.

"We know everything and are now expert list managers"

- 2017 pre-season bulldog fans
- 2018 pre-season richmond fans
- 2019 pre-season west coast fans

You can set your watch to it.

I absolutely do not begrudge him going, but he should cut the BS already.

It's pretty obvious that it's very hard for him to say goodbye to the club and his team mates.

- I am glad you are overspending on Gaff and Polec - means Kelly will not leave GWS meaning they will need more cash to retain him meaning we get an easier go at Lobb this year and perhaps Coniglio next year (who will be RFA end 2019).

We handed the premiership side the biggest beating they copped all season, and without Gaff & Polec.

Kelly is a lock.

You must really feel like the perennial underdog if that is what you think.

Let me be clear how a few of us at West Coast would respond now - no need for predictions.
- Probably not worth paying the premium you are reported to have offered but you have to pay someone and not many others want to go to North. Come 2021, the salary for him will look reasonable. Bottom line, the deal is too good for Gaff to knock back and you are better overpaying to get real talent and not overpaying too many of the current squad.
- Gaff is a genuine A grade talent and we will miss him. The loss of him weakens us without a doubt and will strengthen North.
- However North with Gaff and Polec will still not win a flag. Missing too many other elements to be taken serious. You will win games in Hobart but your draw in 2019 will be tougher. If you make the 8, it will only be making up the numbers.
- Your shinboner spirit is great and sits well with your tradition. I still think you will fail to fill an Easter Friday event and will continue to ask for but attract the crowds to host prime time games.
Cool man, keep on thinking what you like. We're just not going to agree on a bunch of those points.

That’s my point. North are screwing themselves over if the offer is THAT big.. in that case we won’t be matching.

All they would need to do is beat the compo and we’d take it, so if the offer is reasonable market value for Gaff I can see us doing a Danger..

If we’re reading into what people are saying I think the CEOs comments are worth a mention. We’re not going to let him go that easily so until it’s done I wouldn’t be celebrating..

Your CEO is such an oracle of truth - like the golf games that Gaff has had with the Brayshaws