Where are they now (delistings / retirements since 2005)

Jono O'Rourke whispered to be joining coach Clinton Young at Gisborne in the Bendigo Footy Leauge next season.

Quite the step down.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Wonder how much Gisborne f c would have to pay him to get him there.

Jul 8, 2017
Just wondering but do you guys reckon yous are a real shot? Like yous are already managing O merea and now Scully. It could all turn to s**t as quick as day?

do you really has the hope for the future? Or are yous trying to keep old dreams alive? Honest questions..shoot me down if you have answers. Otherwise * off troll.

MasterSamurai

Mar 21, 2017
BayernMunchen
Just wondering but do you guys reckon yous are a real shot? Like yous are already managing O merea and now Scully. It could all turn to s**t as quick as day?

do you really has the hope for the future? Or are yous trying to keep old dreams alive? Honest questions..shoot me down if you have answers. Otherwise **** off troll.
Your answer is post Mordem 2012!

DickieKntroll!!ost: 58582557 said:

do you really has the hope for the future? Or are yous trying to keep old dreams alive? Honest questions..shoot me down if you have answers. Otherwise **** off troll.

Such a clever troll!

Yous are good.

I see the Tiges have sent their intellectual fans over to ask a few questions.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
WAFL clubs keen on former Hawthorn midfielder Kade Stewart
Jordan McArdleThe West Australian
Tuesday, 23 October 2018 10:25PMJordan McArdle

A season in the country has re-ignited Kade Stewart’s passion for footy as the former Hawthorn midfielder weighs up a WAFL return.

Several clubs are circling the 21-year-old, who admits he’s still “unsure” whether to remain at his home club Katanning or play state league football in 2019.

“I’m in the process of sorting all that out now, I’ve got to sit down with dad and see what’s happening work-wise and what the best option is moving forward,” Stewart told The West Australian.

Stewart dominated in the Upper Great Southern league this year following his shock de-listing from Hawthorn after seven appearances in two seasons.

He won the Leo Graham Medal as the league’s best-and-fairest player as well as the Radio Great Southern/Big K Promotions footballer of the year after booting 47 goals in 16 games from the midfield.

Katanning won the minor premiership after an undefeated home-and-away season but suffered a stunning eight-point loss to Boddington in the grand final.

“I did get that enjoyment back into footy which was my aim,” he said.

Stewart, who works for his dad’s electrical company, has less than two months left on his electrical apprenticeship.

Stewart’s original WAFL club South Fremantle and Claremont are among the teams interested in securing his signature.

It is understood VFL side Box Hill, where Stewart played 30 matches in two seasons during his time on Hawthorn’s rookie list, are also trying to sign him along with older brother and Katanning teammate Tim.

The Bulldogs will be looking to fill the void left by retired veterans Ashton Hams, Ryan Cook and Shane Hockey.

Marlion Pickett is a big chance of getting drafted, with Gold Coast the front-runner to secure the talented midfielder.

Forward Matthew Parker is also in the mix to get picked up by an AFL club.

Reigning UGSFL premiers Boddington will lose premiership midfielders Jye Depane, 22, and young wingman Jarrod Selmeri, 17, with both players trying their luck at South Fremantle.

WAFL clubs keen on former Hawthorn midfielder Kade Stewart
Jordan McArdleThe West Australian
Tuesday, 23 October 2018 10:25PMJordan McArdle

A season in the country has re-ignited Kade Stewart’s passion for footy as the former Hawthorn midfielder weighs up a WAFL return.

Several clubs are circling the 21-year-old, who admits he’s still “unsure” whether to remain at his home club Katanning or play state league football in 2019.

“I’m in the process of sorting all that out now, I’ve got to sit down with dad and see what’s happening work-wise and what the best option is moving forward,” Stewart told The West Australian.

Stewart dominated in the Upper Great Southern league this year following his shock de-listing from Hawthorn after seven appearances in two seasons.

He won the Leo Graham Medal as the league’s best-and-fairest player as well as the Radio Great Southern/Big K Promotions footballer of the year after booting 47 goals in 16 games from the midfield.

Katanning won the minor premiership after an undefeated home-and-away season but suffered a stunning eight-point loss to Boddington in the grand final.

“I did get that enjoyment back into footy which was my aim,” he said.

Stewart, who works for his dad’s electrical company, has less than two months left on his electrical apprenticeship.

Stewart’s original WAFL club South Fremantle and Claremont are among the teams interested in securing his signature.

It is understood VFL side Box Hill, where Stewart played 30 matches in two seasons during his time on Hawthorn’s rookie list, are also trying to sign him along with older brother and Katanning teammate Tim.

The Bulldogs will be looking to fill the void left by retired veterans Ashton Hams, Ryan Cook and Shane Hockey.

Marlion Pickett is a big chance of getting drafted, with Gold Coast the front-runner to secure the talented midfielder.

Forward Matthew Parker is also in the mix to get picked up by an AFL club.

Reigning UGSFL premiers Boddington will lose premiership midfielders Jye Depane, 22, and young wingman Jarrod Selmeri, 17, with both players trying their luck at South Fremantle.
Good luck to him. I was sort of surprised we delisted him, but definitely far more surprised we didn't delist others ahead of him.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Great result for Whitey. Seniors had just about passed him buy but a great way to step into your next phase.

Ex-Hawk joins North as VFL player, assistant coach
Jennifer Phelan
Nov 5, 2018 9:53AM

Brendan Whitecross has joined North Melbourne as a VFL player and development coach

IT APPEARS the AFL playing career of Brendan Whitecross is over after the delisted Hawk accepted a coaching role with North Melbourne.

The 28-year-old, who six days ago said he was keen to extend his AFL games tally beyond 111, will play for the Kangaroos' VFL team in 2019 as well as coaching in a development role.

I'LL GO ANYWHERE Former Hawk not giving up on AFL lifeline

"Brendan will play an instrumental role in helping to develop our younger players," Kangaroos football manager Cameron Joyce said.

"He's always had great versatility, playing forward, back or through the midfield, which will be beneficial.

"He knows what it takes to be successful and work through adversity and will set a great example for our younger players coming through.

"Brendan has shown great character, resilience and determination and he will be able to add great value to our team on and off the field."

Whitecross' career as a Hawk finished with this year's VFL premiership after a career that included two knee reconstructions.

He recorded just 27 games in the past five seasons and didn't play in any of the club's four AFL premierships during his time there, largely because of injuries.

While his priority had been to remain a player at AFL level because he believed he still had "a lot to offer not only on the field but off the field with the leadership and cultural aspect of my game", his interest in coaching had recently grown.

He spent most of this year at VFL level where he worked with the Hawks' younger listed players.

"The coaching isn't something that I had considered in the past, but after the last 12 months it's certainly something that I'm going to look into if all else fails," Whitecross told Macquarie Sports Radio on October 30.

"The enjoyment I got out of helping younger guys this year was something I really loved.

"I'm in good spirits. One door closes and another one hopefully opens."

Good luck to him. I was sort of surprised we delisted him, but definitely far more surprised we didn't delist others ahead of him.

Always seemed far too slow at the top level and repeatedly caught with the ball.

Don't think we've lost anything by not keeping him. Especially since Hanrahan and Moore are developing nicely in a similar position.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Kade Stewart returns to the WAFL as Cory Dell’Olio, Jarrod Parry retire at South Fremantle
Jordan McArdleThe West Australian Tuesday, 6 November 2018 4:08AM Jordan McArdle

Kade Stewart is back at South Fremantle.

The Bulldogs beat several state-league clubs for the former Hawthorn-listed midfielder and Katanning gun’s signature as they look to fill the void left by several retiring champions.

The 21-year-old dominated in the Upper Great Southern league this year following his shock de-listing by the Hawks after seven appearances in two seasons.

Stewart played two league games for South in 2015 before getting drafted by the Hawks as a rookie.

Skilful goalsneak Cory Dell’Olio and injury-prone midfielder Jarrod Parry became the latest South Fremantle players to hang up the boots, joining Ashton Hams, Ryan Cook and Shane Hockey.

Dell’Olio, who made 109 league appearances for the Bulldogs either side of a three-year stint at Essendon, booted 225 goals in the red and white.

The five retiring players registered 571 WAFL games between them.

Star midfielder Marlion Pickett is a big chance of getting drafted, while forward Matthew Parker is also in the mix to get picked up by an AFL club in this month’s national and rookie drafts.

Boddington premiership midfielder Jye Depane, 22, and young wingman Jarrod Salmeri, 17, will both try their luck at South Fremantle after successful UGSFL seasons.

Yeah, you might want to think about posting in our language on our board. Google translate doesn't have a dickhead option, so please post in English.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Good luck to Dal, SANFL seems to be his level. Reminds me of former rookie Roury Kirby who went on to have a very good career with Glenelg in the SANFL.

BLOODS SIGN FORMER HAWTHORN PLAYER DALLAS WILLSMORE
Published on: Nov 14 2018 | Author: westadelaidefc |
The West Adelaide Football Club is thrilled to announce a major signing for season 2019. Former Hawthorn and Box Hill player, Dallas Willsmore will don the red and black after he signed a two year deal late Tuesday night. The 23 year old who reaches 191 cm, played two games for Hawthorn in 2017 and was also a member of Box Hill’s premiership side this year in the VFL.

Willsmore possesses an elite kick and skills who has played predominately across half back in the past few years.

Senior coach Gavin Colville said, “Dallas will become an important addition to our league side and with his strong running capacity we see him filling multiple roles, including across half back and wing. His experience in the AFL system will be extremely beneficial to our current group of players and we are excited to see how he develops at our club.”

Welcome to Westies Dallas!

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Old Mitchy boy just keeps on keeping on!!

Blues look within to a TSL premiership coach to replace Sam Lonergan
ADAM SMITH, Mercury

November 14, 2018 8:13pm

Subscriber only

STATE League premiership coach Mitch Thorp will replace Sam Lonergan at the helm of Launceston.

The former Hawthorn draft pick, who guided South Launceston to the 2013 flag and then Western Storm to the 2014 grand final, has agreed to terms for the next two TSL seasons.

Lonergan resigned from his post last month after accepting the coaching position with SANFL side Woodville-West Torrens.

Thorp most recently coached Devonport from 2015-17 before joining the Blues as a player this season.

Launceston president Sandra Boland said the club searched both internally and externally for Lonergan’s replacement.

“Obviously we knew him very well, he has a great knowledge and with the skills he has got he was hard to look past,” Boland said.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Big Jack on Werribee's coaching staff.

NEW ROLES FOR ANDREWS AND FITZPATRICK
Werribee has moved one step closer to finalising its 2019 coaching structure with the appointments of assistant coaches Jeff Andrews and Jack Fitzpatrick to new roles.

Andrews takes up the post of defensive coach and Fitzpatrick that of ruck coach as part of a more streamlined line-up under new senior coach Mark Williams.

The reshuffle follows the earlier appointments of Michael Barlow as playing midfield coach and Nick Daffy as forward coach.

Andrews joined Werribee this year as senior assistant coach after leading Riddell District Football League side Macedon to a drought-breaking premiership in 2017 as senior coach.

In his new position, he will work directly with Werribee’s backline while continuing to oversee the team-defence component of his former senior assistant role.

Fitzpatrick also joined Werribee for the 2018 season, working as both a ruck assistant and as a runner on match days.

He will be able to draw on his own experience at the highest level as he takes the reins as ruck coach, having played 22 games with Melbourne and four games with Hawthorn from 2010 to 2017.

“We’ve been able to develop a terrific support-staff structure for 2019 and bring in a range of new experience and talent with the additions to our coaching ranks,” Werribee football operations manager Stuart Balloch said of the new-look line-up.

“At the same time, our role in this competition is to develop people both on and off the field, and we’re excited to see what both Jeff and Jack will bring to their new positions.”

The club can also confirm it has bid farewell to 2018 assistant coaches Jacob Spolding, Matthew Kershaw, Shayne Stone, and David Newett.

“We want to thank those guys for their work over the past few years and wish them all the best with their future endeavours, and we now look forward to pushing for further improvement with our current coaching group in 2019,” Balloch said.

OTHER STAFF CHANGES
Werribee can also confirm a number of other changes to its off-field team ahead of the 2019 season.

Farhan Juhari has been appointed as the club’s new strength-and-conditioning coach, replacing the recently departed Jono Wallace-Smith.

Juhari will work alongside new high-performance manager Scott Graham, who last week was announced as replacement for Simon Anning.

Also departing the club are long-serving head trainer Emma Matthews and recruiting manager Ange Cristoforo.

The club would like to congratulate all its new appointees and sincerely thank its departing coaches and staff for their service.

driftyhunter

May 7, 2011
The Beach
Tokyo Goannas

Yous.... An interpreter is almost required here. A specialist in ‘Village Idiot’ linguistics.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Hurt and Shem. Good to see Shem giving footy another go.

Former Hawk Kurt Heatherley has started a trial with the Melbourne Rebels
SAM LANDSBERGER, Herald Sun

December 3, 2018 1:40am

Kurt Heatherley started thinking about life after Hawthorn late in the year.

Heatherley — who the Hawks signed as a 14-year-old schoolboy from New Zealand in 2009 — ripped a hamstring before the finals and failed to add to his five AFL games in 2018.

Last month the New Zealander was quoted as saying he was “praying” for a second crack at the AFL.

But privately Heatherley, 23, was also plotting a return to rugby union, via the Melbourne Rebels.

“It’s probably been two months of discussions,” Rebels rugby manager Nick Ryan said.

“He expressed interest in getting back to his roots, with him obviously being a Kiwi.

“The lineage in his blood made us attractive for him and we’re delighted to welcome any aspirational high performance athlete.”

Heatherley was called to a meeting with coach David Wessels, chief executive Baden Stephenson and Ryan last Monday and on Monday his official two-week trial began.

At 193cm and 91kg, Heatherley can run like a king tide.

“He’d run the boys ragged on the fitness side,” Ryan said.

“Rugby is a 180 (degree) game, rather than 360, and the spatial awareness is a little bit different.

“But the attributes of being an elite athlete physically and mentally, we’re really confident he has some pretty intriguing capabilities that are worth having a look at.”

The Rebels have some development squad contracts available and intend to give Heatherley “some pretty honest feedback” in the next two weeks.

“We’re committed to using this week to benchmark where he’s at … and hopefully by mid-to-late next week we’ll have a clearer idea about what the next 6-12 months look like.”

Heatherley cut his teeth playing as an outside back and that is where the Rebels envisage him lining up.

“He’s got pretty good pace and running capacity, kicking shouldn’t be a problem for him and aerially he’s quite good,” Ryan said.

“Our outside backs do a lot of catch-and-kick stuff as an attacking weapon, and we see him being certainly above average in those skills.

“The only thing I joked with him is that he’s got to learn how to pass — not handball.”

And then there is what Heatherley — on hand for the Hawks’ premiership three-peat — could bring to the Rebels.

“The journey we’re on as a club that’s just started, anything we can glean from successful teams out of Melbourne — be it any code — we’d be crazy not to lean on,” Ryan said.

“For us there are some things he could certainly bring on and off the field that we’d be pretty negligent not to explore.”

If Heatherley makes the cut the Rebels want to pack 15-20 development games into him next year with an eye to playing Super Rugby as early as 2020.

Ryan said Heatherley felt his long-term AFL prospects were limited but they waited until he was out of the Hawks to ramp up talks.

“We were very respectful around letting the Hawthorn thing play out,” he said.

“He indicated that both parties had felt the experiment had run its race. But we were very conscious that if the shoe was on the other foot we wouldn’t be too happy.”

Heatherley has been in talks with a number of VFL clubs and trained at Frankston Dolphins for two weeks before joining the Rebels.

Heatherley’s mate, fellow Kiwi and former Hawthorn teammate Shem Tatupu tried to make a similar jump of sports, at one stage linking with the Melbourne Storm as a rookie.

But Tatupu last night signed at Frankston Dolphins.

caseman2

Mar 31, 2008
NYC
Kieran Lovell packing up shop and heading home to Tassie. I would have loved to have seen him try and prove himself in one of the 3 major state leagues.

Former Hawk Kieran Lovell to return to TSL Tigers’ den
BRETT STUBBS, Mercury

THE TSL Tigers have pulled off a recruiting coup by luring former Hawthorn midfielder Kieran Lovell back to the Twin Ovals.

Lovell, 21, was the first Tiger drafted directly from the club when he was selected with pick 22 in the 2015 AFL national draft.

7497821a0993408ba1da46eec91665ab

Kieran Lovell has signed with the TSL Tigers. Picture: Adam Trafford/AFL Media
He played two games for the Hawks but a shoulder injury and the recruitment of Tom Mitchell and Jaeger O’Meara saw the prolific ball-winner struggle to crack the Hawthorn midfield.

He played 21 games for the Box Hill Hawks, including the premiership win over Casey.

Lovell will be the jewel in the Tigers midfield, in what has been an impressive off season for the TSL’s most southern club, which has also signed Huonville key forward Michael Paul.

Lovell was a star at underage level, being named in the 2015 under-18 All-Australian team and was awarded Tasmania’s MVP for the under-18 national championships after 42, 35 and 29-possession games.

Kieran Lovell packing up shop and heading home to Tassie. I would have loved to have seen him try and prove himself in one of the 3 major state leagues.

Former Hawk Kieran Lovell to return to TSL Tigers’ den
BRETT STUBBS, Mercury

THE TSL Tigers have pulled off a recruiting coup by luring former Hawthorn midfielder Kieran Lovell back to the Twin Ovals.

Lovell, 21, was the first Tiger drafted directly from the club when he was selected with pick 22 in the 2015 AFL national draft.

7497821a0993408ba1da46eec91665ab

Kieran Lovell has signed with the TSL Tigers. Picture: Adam Trafford/AFL Media
He played two games for the Hawks but a shoulder injury and the recruitment of Tom Mitchell and Jaeger O’Meara saw the prolific ball-winner struggle to crack the Hawthorn midfield.

He played 21 games for the Box Hill Hawks, including the premiership win over Casey.

Lovell will be the jewel in the Tigers midfield, in what has been an impressive off season for the TSL’s most southern club, which has also signed Huonville key forward Michael Paul.

Lovell was a star at underage level, being named in the 2015 under-18 All-Australian team and was awarded Tasmania’s MVP for the under-18 national championships after 42, 35 and 29-possession games.
Didn't realise he had played so few games for Box Hill. Sounds like he never really got a good run at it.