Cultural review of Australian cricket.

Remove this Banner Ad

I’ve been playing cricket at senior level for 33 years - there’s a big difference between rubbing a bit of sun cream on the ball as opposed to taking a piece of sandpaper out with you. One is pushing the boundaries and one is straight out cheating.

zipper on the ball is just as bad. bottlecaps from the Pakistan team was a classic. Its been a part of cricket for yonks and nothing i've seen is telling me their transgressions were approximately 10x worse than anyone else had previously been sanctioned for. Their ban was the kind of ban you get for match fixing.

It's not a case of agreeing or disagreeing. These penalties weren't made up out of thin air - there is a quite detailed table in the code of conduct spelling out the penalties.

It is a level four offence, and the penalty for a first offence (technically, no prior offences in the last 18 months) is:

https://www.cricketaustralia.com.au/cricket/-/media/20A51657C8FC48BC91C446549C9015F7.ashx

I found some CA thing from 2017 and level 4 penalties didn't have a specific section for ball tampering the specifics seem to be for things like sexual assault physical violence ect but i could be looking at the wrong document so obviously what i say below should be disregarded if i read the wrong document )

the only specific mention of ball tampering i could find in that document was 2.2.8 changing the condition of the ball in breach of law 41.3, this is under level 2 offenses.

If this is still under the ambiguous umbrella of simply being against the spirit of the game and thus you could charge one tampering player with a level 4 and other player with a lower level offence then i don't really see why that would change what i said?