How would you describe your self politically?

Where do you fit on the scale

• Communist

Votes: 1 1.9%
  • Socialist

Votes: 6 11.3%
  • Greens

Votes: 5 9.4%
  • Labor left

Votes: 13 24.5%
  • labor right

Votes: 8 15.1%
  • Small l liberal

Votes: 5 9.4%
  • Liberal right

Votes: 4 7.5%
  • Libertarian

Votes: 2 3.8%
  • Hard right

Votes: 1 1.9%
  • Fascist

Votes: 2 3.8%
  • Jack watts

Votes: 6 11.3%

Jun 30, 2009
Deroesfromgero
east perth
Nothing wrong with fracking
I have a mate in qld thats left his farm - just walked off a property his family has owned for generations because the whole family is ill and has nosebleeds that strangely started shortly after the fracking.

Their bore water can be set alight - the company says its always been like that. What a surprise.

Keep sucking the kook ade

Jun 30, 2009
Deroesfromgero
east perth
My thirst for narratives was quenched on Feb. 22 in Annapolis during a House of Delegates hearing on HB 1325, a bill call for a fracking ban in our state. The storyteller was Craig Stevens, a guy with a shaved head, sporting his father’s Civil Air Patrol flight jacket. Stevens held up a well-traveled plastic bottle of brown water and told delegates the contents were the product of contamination of the well of Scott Ely’s family farm in Dimock, Pa. in Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania, along with his own water being contaminated in in Silver Lake Township, Pennsylvania, up north near the state’s border with New York.

Stevens, a self-described “Constitutional conservative,” owns a farm that goes back six generations. His well and the wells of scores of other Susquehanna residents were poisoned by natural gas companies that penetrated the Marcellus shale beneath their properties with the horizontal drilling technique known as hydraulic fracturing. He outlined how “landmen” for the natural gas companies had visited his 95-year-old grandmother in a nursing home and convinced her to sign an agreement, without the knowledge or permission of her family, to lease her property to drillers as only a life tenant.

Resized952017011895141252-225x300.jpg

Craig Stevens, left, a leading voice on the dangers of fracking, meets U.S. Senator Ben Cardin.

The House Environment and Transportation Committee only allotted two minutes for testimony. But Stevens, in a seemingly well-practiced staccato delivery, outlined how scientists at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency had originally minimized the risks of fracking to public and private water supplies but were persuaded to heighten their estimation of risk after Stevens and some of his neighbors outlined their water problems and the Ely’s struggle to win a $4.23 million settlement against Cabot Oil & Gas in a March 2016 federal court jury award for nuisance and negligence and damage to their wells.

“When you mix politics with health and safety, people die.” Stevens told the committee.

I spoke briefly with Stevens after the rally and agreed to meet him and two fellow anti-fracking activists a few days later where they would be addressing a gathering of the Anne Arundel County Watershed Steward’s Academy.

Then I “Googled” Stevens and discovered I was talking to a stalwart private property warrior, a guy referred to in a story as one of a group of insurgent’s on the front lines of America’s fracking war, who had traveled the country and even addressed the United Nations alerting others to the threats posed to the planet by a continued addiction to fracking for fossil fuels. Stevens was one of the grassroots advocates featured in a DVD, Groundswell Rising(Protecting Our Children’s Air & Water), a compelling video featuring environmental heroes like Bill McKibben, the singer Natalie Merchant and actor Mark Ruffalo.

Resized952016012595135641-169x300.jpeg

Jun 30, 2009
Deroesfromgero
east perth
Veronica Kronvall can, even now, remember how excited she felt about buying her house in 2007. It was the first home she had ever owned and, to celebrate, her aunt fitted out the kitchen in Kronvall's favourite colour, purple: everything from microwave to mixing bowls. A cousin took pictures of her lying on the floor of the room that would become her bedroom. She planted roses and told herself she would learn how to garden.

What Kronvall did not imagine at the time – even here in north Texas, the pumping heart of the oil and gas industry – was that four years later an energy company would drill five wells behind her home. The closest two are within 300ft of her tiny patch of garden, and their green pipes and tanks loom over the fence. As the drilling began, Kronvall, 52, began having nosebleeds, nausea and headaches. Her home lost nearly a quarter of its value and some of her neighbours went into foreclosure. "It turned a peaceful little life into a bit of a nightmare," she says.

Jun 30, 2009
Deroesfromgero
east perth
But above all the single biggest problem with fracking is that an absolute overwhelming amount of australians dont want it

And we live in a democracy.

Some of you seem to believe the Greens should pass whatever Labor Right want. Bzzt, wrong.

that strategy of opposition worked for them in victoria

they still only know how to be a spoiler, not to be a part of governing

Chameleon75

Mar 13, 2013
that strategy of opposition worked for them in victoria

they still only know how to be a spoiler, not to be a part of governing

They want to replace labor as the major party so have set themselves up as another opposition to labor, then wonder why when the swing is on to labor their vote declined.

they are facing the same issue as the democrats did

once you start becoming a serious party, you have to be serious. develop good legislation, work for long term outcomes, and compromise

greens are falling into the same trap as the dems did, focusing on attention and "wins", not outcomes and long term benefits

Jun 30, 2009
Deroesfromgero
east perth
Go down and ask the average Joe on the street what is, a lot probably haven't even heard of it.
In a survey of 173 people in geraldton region

The Mid West has the highest objection rate to fracking in WA according to a recent State Government survey.

The survey revealed an opposition rate of 47 per cent in the Mid West and Gascoyne, with as little as 15 per cent of respondents supporting the industry.

Among the 173 Mid West respondents, 32 per cent strongly objected to fracking, compared to 9 per cent who strongly supported it.

Fracking or hydraulic fracturing involves pumping water, sand and chemicals deep into the ground

In a survey done in the farming districts those opposed to fracking rises to over 90%

Point to ponder : in the midwest region of wa (which is about the size of nsw). We dont have dams - all our potable water comes from underground sources. If fracking contaminates one of those sources all water will have to be trucked in or a pipeline built.

Over the last 5 years with this hanging over our heads myself and many others are spending lots of cash on rainwater tanks - all my drinking water is rainwater now - the aim is to get 2 x 120000 litre tanks and have all bar flushing done by rainwater.

Moody Blue

May 21, 2012
Have to take issue with wa

That was almost all under the libs - and in their defence we faced a crippling recession with no help from the rest of the country - we were on our own. The libs went on a spending spree that was in hindsight excessive - but when you consider that in country wa we still have big 100 year old businesses going broke weekly and small businesses going broke daily - thousands of people deserting towns etc etc - you ask what else were they to do - if they hadnt spent that money the recession would have been worse.

The GST revenue that WA received was a joke.

Moody Blue

May 21, 2012
If I were Emperor for a year.......I am sure I have forgotten a few, but happy to have input.
1: Abolish all Family Trusts(biggest tax avoidance rort around)
2: 1% sale tax on every property sold.
3: Abolish negative gearing.
4: Complete overhaul of council services and an enquiry into where they squander all of the ridiculous rates they collect.
5: 5% GST levy direct at paying off the national debt. Maximum period 10 years.
6: Mandate that all State Govts must put away 3% of their budget into a Future fund.
7: Any State with debts exceeding 20 billion will have their GST revenue allocated to a Future Fund until as such time as they get their finances under control.
8: No politician can serve more than 12 years in either State and/or Federal Parliament.
9: All State upper houses to abolished by Emperor mandate. Rule 666.
10: The duplication of Federal & State public service work to end.
11: Federal politicians to receive their pensions at 67, like everyone else.
12: Federal Public servants to be paid 9% Superannuation not 15% as is the case.
13:Super contributions tax to be halved.
14:Australia to have a limited nuclear operated fleet including ships and subs.
15: Car industry to be immediately reinstated, along with generous subsidies if required. All Govt depts must buy Aust made.
16:Super funds that post 3 consecutive losses to members will be required to reimburse the losses to the members.
17:Essential services to be nationalized and put into law that they can never be privately owned.
18:Tertiary education free to all Australian citizens.
19: It will be illegal to use subsidiary shell companies to dump losses from other ventures or companies.
20: The reinstatement of the death penalty to cover acts of terrorism and multiple murders.
21: National Id card to be implemented
22: Criminal courts to have authority to award victims of crime up to $75,000 compensation, and if not paid, added to the sentence.
23: Adopt US style of sentencing i.e. 100 years etc. Life means life, not out in 20 years.
24: Sharia law never to be accepted or permitted in Australia.
25: All religious institutions will no longer be tax exempt.
26: Plebiscite on climate change. If yes wins we go renewable. If no wins we go back to coal. If 50/50 we go half and half.
27: Drought proofing areas by developing better methods of saving rain water and run off water and getting it drought areas & desal plants.
28: All drugs to be decriminalized and taxed. Money saved and raised to be used to help addicts get off the drugs.
29: Swiss style dying with dignity hospitals to be opened in every State. No more barriers. If someone decides they wish to die with dignity, let them.
30:ASIC & ATO to merge and become one super dept looking into all company crime and tax avoidance.
31: Any athlete who attends a Govt funded Institute of sport must pay back the funds via HECS. No more free rides.
32:It will become compulsory for politicians to answer questions during question time, like they do in the UK. Failure to do so will attract a $1K fine.
33: Salaries of ABC on air staff to be halved. Since they refuse to attract money via commercial means, the tax payer will no longer fund self indulgent broadcasters.
34: Aboriginal Parliament of elders to determine what Aboriginal people need.
35: Australia is a Republic with a President appointed by the PM.(Just as it is now with the GG)
36: Budget to CSIRO immediately tripled and then expanded each year.
37:port Adelaide to be allowed to wear their traditional jumper. We need to have a laugh every week.

volcboy

Jul 15, 2005
Anarchist/socialist

I understand that my views are not mainstream, but I respect the right of people to hold their own views (mostly as beliefs, because they're logically flawed :) )
chart

Blue1980

Jun 9, 2011
Arsenal
If I were Emperor for a year.......I am sure I have forgotten a few, but happy to have input.
1: Abolish all Family Trusts(biggest tax avoidance rort around)
2: 1% sale tax on every property sold.
3: Abolish negative gearing.
4: Complete overhaul of council services and an enquiry into where they squander all of the ridiculous rates they collect.
5: 5% GST levy direct at paying off the national debt. Maximum period 10 years.
6: Mandate that all State Govts must put away 3% of their budget into a Future fund.
7: Any State with debts exceeding 20 billion will have their GST revenue allocated to a Future Fund until as such time as they get their finances under control.
8: No politician can serve more than 12 years in either State and/or Federal Parliament.
9: All State upper houses to abolished by Emperor mandate. Rule 666.
10: The duplication of Federal & State public service work to end.
11: Federal politicians to receive their pensions at 67, like everyone else.
12: Federal Public servants to be paid 9% Superannuation not 15% as is the case.
13:Super contributions tax to be halved.
14:Australia to have a limited nuclear operated fleet including ships and subs.
15: Car industry to be immediately reinstated, along with generous subsidies if required. All Govt depts must buy Aust made.
16:Super funds that post 3 consecutive losses to members will be required to reimburse the losses to the members.
17:Essential services to be nationalized and put into law that they can never be privately owned.
18:Tertiary education free to all Australian citizens.
19: It will be illegal to use subsidiary shell companies to dump losses from other ventures or companies.
20: The reinstatement of the death penalty to cover acts of terrorism and multiple murders.
21: National Id card to be implemented
22: Criminal courts to have authority to award victims of crime up to $75,000 compensation, and if not paid, added to the sentence.
23: Adopt US style of sentencing i.e. 100 years etc. Life means life, not out in 20 years.
24: Sharia law never to be accepted or permitted in Australia.
25: All religious institutions will no longer be tax exempt.
26: Plebiscite on climate change. If yes wins we go renewable. If no wins we go back to coal. If 50/50 we go half and half.
27: Drought proofing areas by developing better methods of saving rain water and run off water and getting it drought areas & desal plants.
28: All drugs to be decriminalized and taxed. Money saved and raised to be used to help addicts get off the drugs.
29: Swiss style dying with dignity hospitals to be opened in every State. No more barriers. If someone decides they wish to die with dignity, let them.
30:ASIC & ATO to merge and become one super dept looking into all company crime and tax avoidance.
31: Any athlete who attends a Govt funded Institute of sport must pay back the funds via HECS. No more free rides.
32:It will become compulsory for politicians to answer questions during question time, like they do in the UK. Failure to do so will attract a $1K fine.
33: Salaries of ABC on air staff to be halved. Since they refuse to attract money via commercial means, the tax payer will no longer fund self indulgent broadcasters.
34: Aboriginal Parliament of elders to determine what Aboriginal people need.
35: Australia is a Republic with a President appointed by the PM.(Just as it is now with the GG)
36: Budget to CSIRO immediately tripled and then expanded each year.
37:port Adelaide to be allowed to wear their traditional jumper. We need to have a laugh every week.

I like all except 37 must mean the lightning bolt circa 1997 Port entering the AFL jumper

DaRick

Jan 12, 2008
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
(See avatar)
Also the hard right of the LNP would write off this thread as just a bunch of lefty Victorians who aren’t fair dinkum.

Well, to those types I'm 'far left' despite being centre-right by this forum's standards (and probably centrist overall), so their political compass is obviously badly askew.

Isaac Cumming No 1

10k Posts
Mar 28, 2018
GWS
Anarchist/socialist

I understand that my views are not mainstream, but I respect the right of people to hold their own views (mostly as beliefs, because they're logically flawed :) )
chart
Reminds me if Carmen Lawrence who said she was a libertarian socialist in her youth. :rolleyes: Weren't we all.