No AFL team for Tasmania, league boss Gillon McLachlan announces

I was surprised to read only today, that one of the SA kids the Suns drafted was wanting to go to the Suns all along because he's a keen surfer and loves the Gold Coast. He can't be the only 18 year old out there who would love to live on the Gold Coast, in fact, SEN interviewed an 18 year old kid who was hoping to get drafted, but missed out, where was he? Holidaying on the Gold Coast.

It remains my firm opinion that you are much more likely to be able to attract 18 year olds to the Gold Coast than you are to Hobart.

This is precisely why the AFL's long term plan for Tassie is to have a club like North play games in Tassie, but have them located in Melbourne, because you're not going to get a list of 35+ footballers moving to Hobart.

Nothing against Hobart, I've visited many, many times and love it, but it's not about you and I.
So you are against a Tasmanian club because we wouldn't be able to give 35 footballers a full-time job to live in Hobart and play football.......We are going to get 35 Cam McCarthys who are so homesick by an hours travel that they refuse to play for the club.

Not only insulting but one of the stupidest thing I have ever read. Pack up your bags and bats. Silk, Doran, Mcdermott, Rogers, you guys don't exist. No professional sports player, especially any young males, wants to live in Hobart. Indeed, i just walked down the street and found no young males whatsoever. You might be right...:eek:

The AFL is not a free market anyway, so your point is moot.

Should doesn't help.

Its what happens from now on that matters.

The fact Gil brought it up with AFL CEO's. That the State Government has made a move. That the local AFL office isn't part of it, & the fact Kennet is bitching, as as are NM.

Its all good news at the moment.
you have more faith than me.

I think just the AFL brought it up as it helps the news cycle.

The Tas gov board was started before this bit of "news" came out.

What has not received much comment, re the H./Sun article above, is that (paraphrasing) it said most AFL CEO's seemed cautiously open or in favour of a Tas. stand-alone AFL team.

Only two Clubs were said to be not in favour (most likely these 2 unnamed Clubs are HFC & NMFC; & exposure of their public "pro-Tasmania" lies & hypocrisy). It is noteworthy that Kennett/HFC/NMFC never mention the male GR & elite comp. AF decline in Tas.- because they know they cannot defend the indefensible.

What, also, hasn't received much comment is why McLachlan raised the issue of a new Tas. AFL team now; & allowed these AFL pro-Tas. AFL team comments to become public? Intriguing.

IF the big fall in TV ratings occur again in 2019, it will be very worrying for the AFL & the game- & AFL executives will be wearing brown corduroy trousers.

Independent financial analyses have shown that a Tas. AFL team will be self sufficient financially ie similar to other heartland states, but would still receive the AFL annual distribution of other heartland states. Good state govt. & private sector support, superb ground deals, probably the most fanatical (per capita) AF state in the country.
Also, Tas. would, almost certainly, come in with a 20th new team- therefore a further increase in broadcasting Rights' $.

Tas. is a 45 minute flight to Melb. Flight bookings well in advance cost c. $150 return.
If Canberra can support professional teams, then Hobart can also (but games split 6/5 with Launy).

Are you aware of the Melb. extended peak hour times, & peak hour traffic gridlock? And Melb.'s general congestion, increasing crime rate & ridiculously expensive real estate?
Geelong is a very successful AFL Club, & is not part of Melb.

It can be assumed that if Tas. got its own team, the disastrous decline of AF there would quickly be rectified; & within 7-10 years, the once fabled Tas. recruitment goldmine of champions & good players would be resurrected. Most would prefer to play for Tas.
It is this once traditional recruitment goldmine the AFL desperately wants (or should want desperately)- much more valuable than the Tas. team Balance Sheets and P & L statements.
The AFL next year won't have 2 weeks of football on 7mate unlike this year with the commonwealth games, that no doubt had a big impact on the numbers. I think also the scheduling for prime time games next year is already a lot better than what 2018 looked like.

you have more faith than me.

I think just the AFL brought it up as it helps the news cycle.

The Tas gov board was started before this bit of "news" came out.

Faith hope & charity be thy name. ;)

It seems this board business has really just been started & was being worked on for a few months only. I recon probably soon after some people here pointed out to the government that Gil's Tassie 'rescue package' is a crock of shyte & was really just throwing Tassie footy & footy communities to the shyte house.

I think the Government has started to play more hard ball with all this. I'm sure they will talk sensibly but make it known we've given enough to the AFL over the decades & its about time to stop shyting on Tasmania, its people & its football. The mess is the AFL fault & responsibility.

Its time for Gil to fix it or fcov. A lot of people would be happy if they did. The Government cant lose politically. They either appease the antifooty people who hate money being spent on sport no matter what the 'benefit', or the footy heads who just want footy at any cost.

At least Kennett has copped some crap over his self serving attitude to all this.

The result, we shall see. Sooner rather than later, we hope.

I was surprised to read only today, that one of the SA kids the Suns drafted was wanting to go to the Suns all along because he's a keen surfer and loves the Gold Coast. He can't be the only 18 year old out there who would love to live on the Gold Coast, in fact, SEN interviewed an 18 year old kid who was hoping to get drafted, but missed out, where was he? Holidaying on the Gold Coast.

It remains my firm opinion that you are much more likely to be able to attract 18 year olds to the Gold Coast than you are to Hobart.

This is precisely why the AFL's long term plan for Tassie is to have a club like North play games in Tassie, but have them located in Melbourne, because you're not going to get a list of 35+ footballers moving to Hobart.

Nothing against Hobart, I've visited many, many times and love it, but it's not about you and I.

What rubbish. Hobart might in general be the least desirable potential location in the league (especially for a young player), but if you don't like surfing then the only thing Geelong really has to offer is it's proximity to Melbourne, yet they seem to do ok with recruitment.

Different things will appeal to different players, there will be some who who don't see living in Hobart as a huge issue. We're not talking about some drug and crime riddled cultural wasteland, it's just small, quiet, and a bit cold.

Seems a bit over the top that Gill cops all the flack when Demetriou, Jackson and Oakley are just as complicit in tasmania's decline.

What rubbish. Hobart might in general be the least desirable potential location in the league (especially for a young player), but if you don't like surfing then the only thing Geelong really has to offer is it's proximity to Melbourne, yet they seem to do ok with recruitment.

Different things will appeal to different players, there will be some who who don't see living in Hobart as a huge issue. We're not talking about some drug and crime riddled cultural wasteland, it's just small, quiet, and a bit cold.

It is a small city. Has quite a vibrant cafe & restaurant scene. Great local produce helps that. A decent sized casino, about 100 pubs in & around the place :))), boutique beer & wine joints. Close proximity to great sea & fresh water fishing, close to bush & hunting shooting. I have mates (silly ones of course) who surf regularly. Lots of great surf beaches but you'd need a real thick wet suit if you too are a bit challenged mentally ;)

This place has taken off as a destination, over the last few years especially. I think the exposure of MONA has shown people its a quaint & pretty place. A lifestyle which suits a lot of people. Away from the crush of a big city. A lot of the amenities of bigger places. Sure its not tropical, but looking at the weather conditions at the moment, I think many would prefer to be here.

Getting a footy side, a return to the NBL soon, will add a bit more to the place.

Plenty people commute from Geelong to Melbourne every day of the week, but they don't commute from Hobart.

The AFL are not going to force North to move to Hobart, they'll simply leave them in Melbourne and they'll play more home games in Hobart. Part of the reason why is that North are going to be able to keep 44 players on their roster if they are living in Melbourne rather than Hobart.

Seems a bit over the top that Gill cops all the flack when Demetriou, Jackson and Oakley are just as complicit in tasmania's decline.

Wow...I didn't realise the AFL was so powerful that they could have such a massive effect on a state's economy and demographics.

You just belittle yourself by deliberately misconstruing the point.

If you just want to play spoiler again, again, go somewhere else.

Sorry if pointing out facts 'plays spoiler' with your delusions.

Back when Oakley took over the VFL, 32 years ago, Tas was 2.8% of the Aus population, now they're 2.1% (and that decline is even worse in the age group that plays the game). If Tas had maintained the ratio it had back then, there would be 694K people down there now, rather than 526K. To pretend that the relative decline in football is all the AFLs fault while ignoring clear facts like this is just infantile.

Sorry if pointing out facts 'plays spoiler' with your delusions.

Back when Oakley took over the VFL, 32 years ago, Tas was 2.8% of the Aus population, now they're 2.1% (and that decline is even worse in the age group that plays the game). If Tas had maintained the ratio it had back then, there would be 694K people down there now, rather than 526K. To pretend that the relative decline in football is all the AFLs fault while ignoring clear facts like this is just infantile.

Your post wasn't to quote facts, Their were none. It was just a silly pointless 'infantile' shot.

Their isn't a 'relative' decline in Tas footy. Its been a demonstrable & absolute decline in football here. That due to the effects of the AFL's dominance across the footy world & the sheer lack of investment here.

The reason for the latest activity on this thread was Gil's discussion with club CEO's about Tasmania. Apparently about a stand alone club in Tasmania. Also the State Governments decision to form a board, separate from the failed AFL branch office here to look at progressing Tasmania's football position, both at the local & national level.

Also discussed was the defensive reaction of those who benefit from the status quo. Bloody Jeff etc.

So if you have some relevant facts, pleas feel free to write to Gil, the AFL club CEO's & the Tasmanian Premier.

Knock yourself out.

Your post wasn't to quote facts, Their were none. It was just a silly pointless 'infantile' shot.

Their isn't a 'relative' decline in Tas footy. Its been a demonstrable & absolute decline in football here. That due to the effects of the AFL's dominance across the footy world & the sheer lack of investment here.

The reason for the latest activity on this thread was Gil's discussion with club CEO's about Tasmania. Apparently about a stand alone club in Tasmania. Also the State Governments decision to form a board, separate from the failed AFL branch office here to look at progressing Tasmania's football position, both at the local & national level.

Also discussed was the defensive reaction of those who benefit from the status quo. Bloody Jeff etc.

So if you have some relevant facts, pleas feel free to write to Gil, the AFL club CEO's & the Tasmanian Premier.

Knock yourself out.

So population numbers based on census data aren't facts anymore?

http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/auss...tion_Growth_and_Distribution_in_Australia.pdf
(results of 1986 census. table 1.2 shows state populations, and historical data or same)

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3101.0
(ABS population estimates as at March 2018, published 20/09/2018)

Tasmania's significant relative decline compared to the rest of the country is a long established, ongoing, thing. FACT.

So population numbers based on census data aren't facts anymore?

http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/auss...tion_Growth_and_Distribution_in_Australia.pdf
(results of 1986 census. table 1.2 shows state populations, and historical data or same)

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3101.0
(ABS population estimates as at March 2018, published 20/09/2018)

Tasmania's significant relative decline compared to the rest of the country is a long established, ongoing, thing. FACT.

You didn't post any facts in your original post. Thats a fact.

Your other facts are irrelevant to this latest situation. Some are indeed, out of date. Tasmania currently has a higher growth rate than WA,SA & the NT. Again, that doesnt matter given what is transpiring currently. Again if you have 'concerns' give Gill a call. He lives near you.

You should try & keep up.

You didn't post any facts in your original post. Thats a fact.

Your other facts are irrelevant to this latest situation. Some are indeed, out of date. Tasmania currently has a higher growth rate than WA,SA & the NT. Again, that doesnt matter given what is transpiring currently. Again if you have 'concerns' give Gill a call. He lives near you.

You should try & keep up.

I did post facts, I just didn't include the references (something you have NEVER done).

Current growth rate...A temporary blip as opposed to a decades long trend. The projected population figures (fact check : http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3222.0 published 22/11/2018) suggest that those in the know don't expect it to last (and those are the types of figures the AFL would be looking at when trying to work out if a team has any chance of being viable in the decades to come).

In relative terms, but those projections, using the mid range figures, Tas will decline from the current 2.1% of the national population to 1.36% by 2066.

Oh, and that strong growth you're currently going through is all of 1%...National average is 1.6% so even when you're in a good/strong patch by that measure, you're still falling behind.

I did post facts, I just didn't include the references (something you have NEVER done).

Current growth rate...A temporary blip as opposed to a decades long trend. The projected population figures (fact check : http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3222.0 published 22/11/2018) suggest that those in the know don't expect it to last (and those are the types of figures the AFL would be looking at when trying to work out if a team has any chance of being viable in the decades to come).

In relative terms, but those projections, using the mid range figures, Tas will decline from the current 2.1% of the national population to 1.36% by 2066.

Oh, and that strong growth you're currently going through is all of 1%...National average is 1.6% so even when you're in a good/strong patch by that measure, you're still falling behind.

Your post 960 was just an infantile shot. No facts.

I don't get what you're ranting about. If you have such strong feelings regards what is happening at the moment, ring Gil. Ring the State Premier. They're running this latest situation.

I'm sure it'll all change when they realise what you have to say.

This is the biggest load of horse crap which always gets trotted out on this discussion.

1. They don't have a say on where they go in the draft. If they did, then every Northern club would be in big trouble because of Mommy and Daddy. They go where they get drafted.

2. several years ago, no kid wanted to stay in BRISBANE. The 3rd largest city in Australia. Suddenly, they do. Club culture has far more to do with player retention than location. Talk to Adelaide about that.

And if that isn't true, then GWS and GCS will always be feeder clubs to other clubs and you might as well go home. You never going to win anything if the last several years is anything to go by.

3. We might not be a destination city for free agents. Who cares. How many free agents(A-grade players) have gone to a place not of their home state. And even if they are in that state, doesn't mean they stand a chance. North has had several shots at star players with money. Should close them down as well i guess.

We would have a very good shot at any Tassie grown talent working overseas(ala Matthew Wade in that cricket team/s which doesn't have any players according to BF, or doesn't exist at all according to another idiot on this forum).

4. Check our housing prices. Tassie is so vogue atm.

5. The biggest reason Sydney and Brisbane have gotten players to move to them(outside of money) is anonymity. A Tassie side could be a goldfish bowl of pressure, a mini Adelaide. Or It could be relaxing for a country boy to live in an actual rural location to raise a family. Who bloody knows. Being a destination club have done F-all to several Victorian clubs.

6. We live in a small world. Its an hour flight.

You're comparing Brisbane to Hobart.. my god you have no idea what you're talking about.

Every kid will be desperate to leave Tasmania, it's a horrible place to live for young people, literally nothing happens. If you think Brisbane/GC/GWS have player retention issues in world class cities with great weather, Tasmania retention issues will be SIGNIFICANTLY worse. Tassy housing prices aren't high because all the young people are leaving and buying houses interstate.

You're comparing Brisbane to Hobart.. my god you have no idea what you're talking about.

Every kid will be desperate to leave Tasmania, it's a horrible place to live for young people, literally nothing happens. If you think Brisbane/GC/GWS have player retention issues in world class cities with great weather, Tasmania retention issues will be SIGNIFICANTLY worse. Tassy housing prices aren't high because all the young people are leaving and buying houses interstate.

WTF does 'Tassy house prices aren't high because all the young people are leaving & buying houses interstate' mean in English? They have rissen significantly BECAUSE people want to buy them.

The population of Darwin is stagnated, is that because of the weather too?

Is Geelong's weather so good the players stay their for that?

The weather kept Brisbane going in the 3 peat then, but not now for some reason.

Maybe a good footy culture has something to do with it?

Is Geelong's weather so good the players stay their for that?

Really need to get a bot that points out that Geelong is 45 minutes down the road from Melbourne. Living in Geelong is significantly better in reducing travel and time away from home with up to 17 matches less than an hour away from you, than would be expected in Tasmania where you would spend half the year on the road interstate.

Also note that one of the factors in the Saints leaving Seaford was player disatisfaction with the location - being too far from central Melbourne.

Really need to get a bot that points out that Geelong is 45 minutes down the road from Melbourne. Living in Geelong is significantly better in reducing travel and time away from home with up to 17 matches less than an hour away from you, than would be expected in Tasmania where you would spend half the year on the road interstate.

Also note that one of the factors in the Saints leaving Seaford was player disatisfaction with the location - being too far from central Melbourne.

Flying to matches didn't seem to worry WCE too much.

From the the Saints Home ground to Seaford is often nearly an hour each way depending on traffic. Negotiating that nearly every day would get a bit much. So maybe commute times is part of that problem of living in Melbourne in general. Takes me 10 minutes from front door to desk. ;)

Maybe its as much about living in a place with a football culture as anything else. That, rather than feeling like an explorer in a non football city where the players have no real profile. Like in Geelong, players here would be put on a media & public pedestal. Maybe they crave the notoriety they wouldn't get in GWS or GC.?

Another person who has never been to Tassie and thinks he can throw out a bunch of crap that nobody will challenge him on... :rolleyes:

You clearly know nothing about the place - not even its weather. And don't give me some made up story about how you grew up there and this gives you some special insight.

The normal stuff is here - the only thing missing is stuff like the Grand Prix and the next Spice Girls reunion tour. But if you want to see that, it's one hour on a plane to Melbourne. If Tassie had its own football team like it deserves, there would be a lot more people wanting to stay.

The thing I find funny about this whole "great cities" debate is that every person I ever argue the point with claims that there is so much to do in Melbourne/Sydney but when you press them on what they actually do, they are doing very little. People like the idea that they are doing all this stuff, but most people are doing exactly the same stuff no matter what city they live in. It's like that BS pride people got when Melbourne kept winning the "most liveable city" award. We were all so proud of all these great things our city had which was so much better than cities all over the world - but in reality, it's just reflected glory. Most people are not going to the things that are listed as great attractions. People do their thing, stay mostly close to home/work, occasionally go to a show or an event in the city, then back to normal life. We can dress ourselves up as devourers of urban culture, but in reality we're not that different. Melbourne's traffic and travel times are pretty terrible though - a lot of people aren't doing these theoretical great activities because it's too damn hard to get there. Since I moved to Hobart, I've done so much more because I can get almost anywhere within 20 minutes. I'm doing so much more in and around the city now because the burden of travel has been lifted. I don't miss the size of Melbourne at all. Give me a <1 million city any day. My quality of life is better here. The only thing I miss is my friends and the football. Now they come here and say Hobart is awesome. 3 of my friends want to pack up and move here. Put a football team here and there will be very little to miss about the big cities.

Another person who has never been to Tassie and thinks he can throw out a bunch of crap that nobody will challenge him on... :rolleyes:

You clearly know nothing about the place - not even its weather. And don't give me some made up story about how you grew up there and this gives you some special insight.

The normal stuff is here - the only thing missing is stuff like the Grand Prix and the next Spice Girls reunion tour. But if you want to see that, it's one hour on a plane to Melbourne. If Tassie had its own football team like it deserves, there would be a lot more people wanting to stay.

The thing I find funny about this whole "great cities" debate is that every person I ever argue the point with claims that there is so much to do in Melbourne/Sydney but when you press them on what they actually do, they are doing very little. People like the idea that they are doing all this stuff, but most people are doing exactly the same stuff no matter what city they live in. It's like that BS pride people got when Melbourne kept winning the "most liveable city" award. We were all so proud of all these great things our city had which was so much better than cities all over the world - but in reality, it's just reflected glory. Most people are not going to the things that are listed as great attractions. People do their thing, stay mostly close to home/work, occasionally go to a show or an event in the city, then back to normal life. We can dress ourselves up as devourers of urban culture, but in reality we're not that different. Melbourne's traffic and travel times are pretty terrible though - a lot of people aren't doing these theoretical great activities because it's too damn hard to get there. Since I moved to Hobart, I've done so much more because I can get almost anywhere within 20 minutes. I'm doing so much more in and around the city now because the burden of travel has been lifted. I don't miss the size of Melbourne at all. Give me a <1 million city any day. My quality of life is better here. The only thing I miss is my friends and the football. Now they come here and say Hobart is awesome. 3 of my friends want to pack up and move here. Put a football team here and there will be very little to miss about the big cities.

My Uncle lived in Melbourne because of his job as an engineer, systems designer at the old Telecom then Testra, back in the day. He said much the same back then. He said, "Most people here live in their own patch". I think thats true. Most people live their suburban lives & don't do much of the high end 'cultural' stuff. Getting to things can be an issue. Melbourne is great to visit. But living their has a lot of minuses as well as pluses. Like anywhere really. But commuting & traffic are a pain. I worked in Melbourne for 4 years & liked the footy, VFA & AFL. But day to day I didn't do any more than I did/do living here. The winter weather isn't much different, nor does it stop one going out to places. The cafe/restaurant thing is quite good here & is growing & has been for years.

I guess like Geelong, you can get around the place so can attend whatever's on much more easily,&/or go bush or fishing. Or hang around the city/waterfront for the cafe thing. I think the lifestyle thing is only a minor part of the go home factor. I think its probably more about footy culture & media/ public attention.

I think people are confused as to why young people leave Tassie. It is more to do with job opportunities rather than lifestyle. Sure, like most regional places, we do lose people to the "big city". But the number 1 reason is economic and that only affects a footballer outside football connections.

A player down here would have a job, they could have access to a fantastic beachside(Riverside?) house on the Eastern shore, the city centre would only be 10-15 mins away and the airport is the same distance the other way. I am sure a Tassie club would try and help players with connections to Melbourne for family or media gigs.

As for the weather? please, we might be colder than Melbourne but we aren't so cold that it snows in the city each day. And some people like the cold more than the hot. That is a personal preference.

For example, IMO, Hobart has the best summer/autumn in the country. The days are not so hot you can't sleep or go out, they are long and the weather is consistent and mostly dry.

for me, Player retention is more of a club issue, not an issue which should help/hinder any plans for a Tasmanian team.

ha. I didn't compare the 2. I used Brisbane as an example as for why team culture has more to do with player retention than location. etc: i was talking it up. as for everything else, my god you have no idea what you're talking about.

Having left tassie 10 years ago, I tend to agree with your sentiments. The Hobart food festival as the Sydney to Hobart yachts are coming in is a great time to be there. Especially when they had the international buskers coming in. There is always something to do if your prepared to look for it. Good places to camp, some nice beaches during summer, you have the Hobart aquatic centre up on the domain. You have Strahan on the west coast, Stanley with the nut on the north west, the pub in the paddock on the north east, wine glass bay on the east, which is all pretty much a 4-5 hour drive from hobart. It’s what you appreciate when your living there that makes a difference.

Having lived in Canberra, I realised that when I lived there, I never truly appreciated the place, due to me living there. When I went back there as a tourist, I suddenly realised what I missed while I lived there. The War Muesem, old Parliament House, Black mountain and Telstra tower, the eateries at Manaku or however it is spelled.

So now living in Brisbane, I try at least once a month to go to places, and do things in order to appreciate where I live. The only thing I miss is only being able to see the Hawks play once a year. In saying that, I can always get a Brisbane membership, despite not following brisbane I can still appreciate the game live.

tassie deserves a footy team. Yes players will come and go, like they do elsewhere. Those that look at embracing their surroundings will stay, no matter how young and old they are.