Opinion 2019 lineup

I know I'm one eyed and all, but that is an effin brilliant midfield. Prefer Bont not being purely outside though. He's one player I'd be happy just saying - play wherever you think you're needed mate.
Yeah dont get me wrong he's still always gonna be more inside/outside but I just want him getting as much outside ball as possible. Just uses it soooo damn well.

Wallis has to be a walk up start just because of what he brings as a mature body and a forward option. His ability to win the ball as a mid will come up a bit on last year due to him still coming back from the leg injury. I see him mostly as a swap/resting forward option for Dunkley.

Guys like Roarke Smith, Jong and Honeychurch shouldn't be playing 10+ games for the season like last year you'd hope. Surely we can't go another year with a massive injury list.

Why not?
2016 2017 and 2018 all ruined in part by injuries - why should 2019 be any different when the same group of people are managing the players?

Why not?
2016 2017 and 2018 all ruined in part by injuries - why should 2019 be any different when the same group of people are managing the players?

We've gotten rid of a couple who continually break down. So that should have 4 or so players off the injury list for the majority of the season.

Cannot believe Roughy said he went stale

lol stale at what? Heading to the rehab room every Monday morning?

They play him in the backline even Schache might get a kick against the pies.

Someone tell me how on earth players get stale two years after a flag?

Cannot believe Roughy said he went stale

lol stale at what? Heading to the rehab room every Monday morning?

They play him in the backline even Schache might get a kick against the pies.

Someone tell me how on earth players get stale two years after a flag?

I reckon he was just over being injured and struggling in the seniors. Wanted a fresh start.

For those condemning Wallis as an automatic best 22 inclusion. He has been added to the leadership group. So his team mates and the coaching group obviously think higher of him than many of you folk.
He's the third most effective forward on our list right now and even if Lloyd and Schache dramatically change our F50 / improve (they both could) Wally is still a first rotation forward.
The fact he has a big tank and provide chop outs in the middle helps him, although I don't think he's in our first two midfield rotations and adding a fit Libba and Bailey Smith to our side puts him further back (before you consider Dunkley's late season growth as an inside mid).

We've gotten rid of a couple who continually break down. So that should have 4 or so players off the injury list for the majority of the season.

I know we looking for a new conditioning/preformance manager. Could have a impact.

Maybe some of us (well me at least I guess), just don’t think wallis is that good.

Great fella. Tough. Competes hard. Beautiful set shot. I’m glad we re-signed him.

But he’s is C+ footballer IMO and that’s about it.

Painfully slow. Terrible field kick. Rushes/panics with the call. Fumbles too much.

So no, I don’t have him in my 22, despite him being in the leadership group (in the same way redpath wasn’t in mine last year) and im totally fine with it.

Am bored! Cricket not doin it.

How about an alternative best line up where we pick where players might end up if Bevo’s goes a bit crazy, players develop differently and injuries hit all older players

Cavarro Schache Gowers
Bont Trengrove Wallis

Red Williams Hunter
Boyd Macrae Libba

Wood Young JJ
Jong Naughton Cordy

Dunkley Smith McLean Daniel

Why....

- Bont as a roving HFF would be a nightmare to mark up on - would go where he wants

- Schache to be the main man

- Cavarro adds real pressure

- Trengrove plays a Cordy role as a grunt CHF - the whole forward line set up to create repeat entry

- Wallis made our forward line better when he played there - sure we lost plenty of those games but we were being smashed in almost every position except his

- Red is just getting better. Hunter is a top 5 player and runs all day.

- Williams in centre is a big move - he has shown an ability to handle inside and traffic - as a kid he was a huge accumulator - now he has the size to bring it to the AFL.

- with Libba in and Dunkley on rotation, Macrae can take the main mid role of RR. He keeps stepping up and will move forward again - will build a great connection with Bont who kicks 58 goals across the year

- Libba to average 28, 8 clearances to lead the league and 7 tackles a game

- wood plays all year and starts taking marks again

- Young gets his mojo back and becomes a young McGovern

- JJ stays fit - nuff said

- Cordy settles in and becomes the new glove we all think he will become - make ‘the Cloak’ has true application and mongrel. Not sure the guns will come but sharp elbows and good Size and speed

- Naughton does NOT have the old standard second Year blues

- and just to pi$$ a few off - Jongy gets a new gig after Crozier is injured. Why? He has the application, flexibility and skills in the air to play this role.

Duryea probably better than him but not as tall or fast - he could give something new bursting from defence. Recruiting Duryea may also indicate a weakness there.

Young-er and Khamis too young and more intercept HFFs, Lynch not the height or size and Roarke not quite there. Suckling is not who you want deep.

If I were him - I would move positions - forward was ok but he can’t seem to make the game and Greene and Lloyd Are well in front of him.

We have a fair few back flankers but not the class or walk up starts - especially in back pocket where you have to crash defend. There is now bugger all chance of a midfield spot (Bont, Macrae, Libba, McLean, Williams, Dunkley, Daniel, Wallis already in front of him with West and Smith likely to pass him by also.)

Also - Jong is my craziest move. Who can beat it with some decent reasons?

So this is how it would look playing on the best attack in the league:

Fogarty/Cordy Jenkins/Young Betts/Jong

Lynch/Wood Tex/Naughton Hampton-Milera/JJ

Ok - that night not work but who knows.

Wood Naughton Cordy
Crozier Trengove Jj

Macrae Dunkley Hunter

Richards Shache McLean
Lloyd Boyd Gowers

English Bont Williams

Daniel Libba Wallis Suckling

Emergency
Duryea
Smith
Morris
Cavarra

That is how I’d head into 2019. I know Morris, Picken, Duryea and probably Dickson play every game if availible.

This side will only get harder to select if guys like Greene, Lipinski, Young, Lynch, B Smith and dale come on. If Dale improves his intensity around the footy and adds tackle pressure he is a walk up start, without that he will be lucky to get another contract.

Of the remaining lot I think:
-Riley West looks a likely sort especially if he is an aerial threat.
-Hayes simply does not get picked up if the club does not feel he is capable at afl level
-Jong adds another dynamic to the side whilst he should enter the year injury free
-Fletcher the forgotten premiership full back by all reports has come back in great shape
- R Smith has played a bit of senior footy now, I still haven’t made my mind on whether he is up to it

We bat seriously deep this year. Rookies aside I probably have two players I’d cross a line through playing senior football next year they are Webb and Khamis. Webb just isn’t up to it IMO and Khamis is raw. Whilst I don’t know enough about Vandermeer and cal porter to pass judgement.

The main issue I see is the sides top end we are very even and lack star power up forward in paticular

Don’t care that Roughead is gone. I just care that he is gone. Wish him well. Good decision by the club.
14608107_1180665285312703_1558693314_n.jpg

Sooooo, Boyd is out of round 1 calculations.

I had English ahead of him anyways, but not ideal nonetheless.

FB: Morris Cordy crozier
HB: JJ Naughton Williams
C: Richards Macrae hunter
HF: Mclean Schache Gowers
FF: cavarra English Greene
R: Trengove Bonti Libba
IC: wood, Dunkley, Daniel, suckling

Didn’t consider picken and Dickson.

Wallis, lipinski, duryea, Lloyd some notable omissions.

Like Lipinski but went for some specialist forwards in Greene and gowers instead.

Sooooo, Boyd is out of round 1 calculations.

I had English ahead of him anyways, but not ideal nonetheless.

FB: Morris Cordy crozier
HB: JJ Naughton Williams
C: Richards Macrae hunter
HF: Mclean Schache Gowers
FF: cavarra English Greene
R: Trengove Bonti Libba
IC: wood, Dunkley, Daniel, suckling

Didn’t consider picken and Dickson.

Wallis, lipinski, duryea, Lloyd some notable omissions.

Like Lipinski but went for some specialist forwards in Greene and gowers instead.
Wallis plays instead of Greene in my opinion. Greene has plenty of potential. He’s all class. But for me Wallis is definitely playing around 1.

Injuries and form will come and go. Greene and Lipinski will get their chance. I’m confident they will step up. Great to have these dilemmas though.

Morris - Naughton - Wood
Crozier - Cordy - Johannisen
Richards - Liberatore - Hunter
McLean - Schache - Wallis
Cavarra - Gowers - Lloyd
Trengove - Macrae - Bontempelli

Suckling, Daniel, Dunkley, Williams

Left Picken and Boyd out. Would rather go small with Gowers than play English as a non #1 ruck.