News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((

Having done my ACL two years ago I knew the chances of getting back the Docherty we knew were very slim. I done everything right in the rehab. I can still play sport at 75% but I know if I push myself at 100% it will snap again.

Might be the case for you. But I tore mine 7years ago and if anything I came back better. The 75% thing was probably only for the first year than about 2 years after the op it was 100% if not better

We won't need it. The club underwent full rebuild to build depth in the list.

I am gutted for Doc but Doc is just one player. Ball movement through the midde hurt us more 2018.
But I still have to look for the lid I threw it away after the draft and a couple of training vids. That pesky lid I take it off I put it on

Unbelievable...

Our medical staff have to be the worst to ever exist. True to form, they probably had him on the shittiest rehab program known to professional sport. I know that bad luck can happen - see Alex Johnson but ffs if anyone thinks our medical staff didn't play a part in not getting his knee 100% they're kidding themselves.

Sucks big time for both Doc and the club.

He can come back no doubt. But everyone is different he could come back better or worse. All he can do now is take some time off to reflect because he must be in a world of pain mentally right now and then get stuck into it again.

On ya doc we are with you !

I believe you can add players to the SSP, into March next year

I dont think we really need to. We recuited Nic Newman in a similar role, Simpson is still going strong, LOB now has a year under his belt and was tracking well towards the end of the year, Thomas can play off the HBF line, and Weitering plays his best footy as an intercept and rebound defender, and not as a 1 on 1 'gorilla' defender.

Weitering, Plowman, Jones (he's our only remaining bigger bodied defender), Marchbank and Simpson are all largely locks down back (if fit and in form). That 6th smaller rebounding defender can come from one of Newman, Thomas or LOB.

Dont get me wrong, I'd much rather have Docherty in that role over any of the three names mentioned.

If one of the 4 talls (Jones, Weits, Marchy or Plow) go down, we have MacReadie and McGovern to fill in. We could also play Gov or Macreadie as a tall, and release Weitering as a rebounding loose man in defence. I reckon if Weits is freed up to intercept, rebound and attack we'll see the 2016 version of him, and not the 2018 version that was low on confidence. He's still a little undersized to play man on man, and plays his best footy when he's intercepting and rebounding from D50.

As a club, we can make do, but it's far from ****ing ideal.

And it's just shit for Doc. Utterly shit. Beyond shit. He must be devastated. I know I am for him.

This really sucks. Those players who set up play off half back with creative, quality ball use are heavily under-rated. West Coast just won a flag with a midfield and forward unit who could 'cheat' into space when the ball was on their half back line because the delivery forward to them was going to be clean and not burn them on the turnover.

Gun half backs make their midfields look better.

If people are gunna say we're bottom 2 on the back of losing Doc then we were likely gunna be bottom 2 anyway.

Losing Doc in 2018 was relatively minor in our 2018 season. He's not Judd, Carey or Lockett, he's an intercept marking-rebound defender .

Nincompoops.
he's also our captain, and the one who sets the back line up, he's also one of our best mature players we have which is exactly what we're lacking... badly.
Shit news , my condolences to Doc , the club and the fans

Here’s hoping he comes back even stronger in 2020.
thanks mate :thumbsu::thumbsu:

If it’s any consolation Gawn is a top 10 player in the league after 2 ACLs earlier in his career, people talk about knees killing careers but most guys tend to get back to their best after 1 or 2.
just ask the ox.....

If people are gunna say we're bottom 2 on the back of losing Doc then we were likely gunna be bottom 2 anyway.

Losing Doc in 2018 was relatively minor in our 2018 season. He's not Judd, Carey or Lockett, he's an intercept marking-rebound defender .

Nincompoops.
I thought we would finish 2nd last prior to the doc incident. Nothing has changed and it's just my opinion. I see only gold coast as having a worse list.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((