Football Related Random Thread

Continued in Part 2

Sounds like general bad management to me.......they need reminding again just who their employers are and the priorities of the club, e.g to promote the Brisbane Lions/AFL.

They certainly need a kick up the backside for the above attitude at the very least..

Imagine walking into an NRL club and insisting on watching an AFL game while others there wanted to watch their own game.........good luck, wouldn't happen.

Rules at the Lions club need to be set....AFL has priority.

I had a horror experience there. Visiting the big smoke and a mate suggested we go there and watch round one against St Kilda as it was an away game. We thought ok, will be cooking for atmosphere above a normal pub surely, why not. So off we go. Get there and looked around - no AFL on any channel on any TV and sparse for crowd. OK..... so we set up camp on a few chairs near the biggest TV and waited for the game to start as we were quite early. Had to go eventually and ask the bar lady to turn the TV to the game. She said she will when she gets a chance as there were 2 people in the bar que. Eventually some bombers old game comes on and another lady from the clubs staff approaches us and says we have to move to another TV as the band will be coming in to setup in front of here in an hour. She then adds she will turn the TV off at half time and if we want to watch any more we will have to go home and watch it there! Incredulous we moved and got that other TV going and by now there was another 10 or so supporters there just thinking the same way we were and just as dissalusioned at the lack of any concern for a LIONS 1st season game or any sign of club passion or support. Many grumbles and quite a few of us supporters getting very cranky.
Just before half time I went for a wander around thinking I wont see the rest of the game with 40 mins travel at half time. Spot this outdoor area with a huge TV and a sprinkle of people watching a Crunulla NRL game. Blew my stack and went in and demanded to have that outside TV turned to the game. Pointed out the surroundings and that it was a Brisbane Lions club supposedly supporting AFL and the club. Gob smacked. An older lady heard my complaints from behind the bar and agreed it was a ridiculous situation and told the young lass to turn that outside TV to the game now and we could all go and setup there. Half time by now so I announce to the group what happened and we move outside. The little group already outside then comes to the bar and demands what happened to there NRL viewing even though there were several other TV's there showing that game. They threw a turn but the older lady stuck to her guns and told them it was an AFL club after all and if they wanted to watch NRL every other pub in Brisbane would have it on. We watched the rest of a dissapointing game outside but the other people never left and instead heckled us from the corner they were in throughout.
What a dissapointing and bizarre day. We made our mind up that the Lions surely couldn't know that this was the attitude at the social club. Said we would never come back and haven't. Obviously just a pokie revenue stream. Thought long and hard about writing to the club about our experience. It was beyond belief.

The thugby fans who were heckling you should have been told to quieten down or there's the door

Just playing devil’s advocate here, but I wonder what the AFL/Aussie rules supporter numbers are like for Springwood.
Commercially, a club/bar needs to cater to locals and regulars. Consider for a second, that the rugby league fans are regular patrons who consistently spend their hard earned there. In that context, I could understand them being miffed at having their game, on their turf being switched off to cater to some blow ins.
Of course a deeper problem exists, to get to that point. Where are the footy fans? Was Springwood chosen as a location, purely on price and pokie demographics? If so, then a poor long term choice. For the club to be truly successful, it needs regular patronage by Aussie rules fans. Probably would have been smarter to establish a club at an existing ground, in partnership with a local club.
Merely sticking a building up with a bar and machines, anywhere was never going to work the way it should.
I’ve never been there, and probably never will. Too far. If the locals aren’t interested, then it will close in time. Similarly, if it isn’t promoting the game and club, then they might as well have bought a pub or shares in the casino.

Caveat: completely disregarding the ethical discussion about pokie revenue.

Any venue with that amount of pokies has potential. All it takes is the right management, and a willingness to spend the initial money to set it up. After that, any future renovations can be funded by the pokie revenue.

Any club looking for an example, Easts Leagues Club is a good example. Haven’t been over there for many years, but Kedron Wavell used to be very good as well.

Could at least have a designated TV for Lions/AFL games.....all it needs is a sign saying that particular tv is for aussie rules.......the rest for other patrons

It's up to management to bend over backwards to please everyone, without losing sight of the connection to AFL

Could not find the old random thread so this will do as the closest thing.
Just wanted to congratulate Nick Robertson on his marriage to Tineka today.
I hope they both have a long and happy marriage.
Quite a few players went over to Perth for it by the looks of Instagram.

We named our new Mini Foxy pup Squizzy. He currently likes chasing his tail but I'm sure he'll straighten up and grow into a vital linkman for the family.

That's all well and good, but how's his contested marking?

It doesn’t matter how many foxes they catch, real 50+ year old experts know that you have to measure fox terriers on their ability to bring down a Razorback boar.

Travis Johnstone

cca8724806566c496304d2ee3fc4bb99--dog-grooming-tips-komondor.jpg