Is the Dogs Prelim the Greatest Moment in history?

Draft Pick

Jun 17, 2004
It was such a relief to win that PF, there was so much at stake if we lost. Griff becoming a premiership player after his defection, GWS, waltzing in to a premiership after taking Ward, Sheedy with his past put downs of the club, the injury toll etc.

I still think 2016 was the year GWS was the strongest, and on paper should have been premiers. But I still think 2009, we should have at least made the GF with the team we had that year, but a wounded Geelong did a Bulldog on us and for that matter the Saints.
Good you brought Sheedy up.

In the lead up to the game the thought of his s**t stain of a manufactured club denying us made me furious.

When GWS were about to enter the comp he had the termerity to tell Victorian clubs “who had done nothing for 100 years that they were coming for your players.”

In the week leading up to the game he told the Victorian public to “get a life” as his Giants were taking all before them.

Screw that guy and lol that we beat this arrogant flogs club when it mattered most.

Good you brought Sheedy up.

In the lead up to the game the thought of his s**t stain of a manufactured club denying us made me furious.

When GWS were about to enter the comp he had the termerity to tell Victorian clubs “who had done nothing for 100 years that they were coming for your players.”

In the week leading up to the game he told the Victorian public to “get a life” as his Giants were taking all before them.

Screw that guy and lol that we beat this arrogant flogs club when it mattered most.
Have to laugh when watching the replay - Sheedy smugly shaking hands with Steve Waugh and others, accepting their congratulations in advance :D:D:D

So so sweet.

completely unrelatable.

Winning the GF > anything else by an unfathomable margin.
Fair comment but it depends on the question being asked.

In terms of the thread title ("greatest moment?") you'd have to rate the 54 or 16 premierships as 1-2 in whichever order you like. Maybe the 1924 Dame Nellie Melba's Appeal for Limbless Soldiers match would be up there with them. However in terms of the "best game" there are obviously many here who rate the 2016 PF as #1.

There have been plenty of uninspiring GFs over the years but they still delivered a flag to whoever won them. Great moments. s**t games.

The 2016 GF was not one of those dull GFs but it still didn't didn't equal the PF IMO. And yes, I was present at both games.

I said to my son another goal by GWS and we are done when we were 14 points down. He still has a go at me for giving up. Well I never quite gave up but should have never doubted their spirit but like so many all us being at all those losing preliminary finals puts doubt in the mine.

Yeah I was muttering threats about giving footy away forever at that point :oops:

Philthy1

Sep 17, 2017
No one is saying you are a 2nd rate supporter. I'm just saying if you weren't there you'll never know what it was like. I'm not saying that yours and anyone else's experience was not great, just that it was not at the place where it happened.

There are many reasons why I got more enjoyment and felt more emotional after the PF than I did the GF.

1. The lead up to the game at the pub. The bond between everyone that had travelled and the sense of excitement but pure fear.

2. After being at all 7 losing PF's and the pain that everyone of them caused, to finally win one and break the hoodoo was so special.

3. Sitting together with my 15 family and friends, something I wasn't able to do at the GF.

4. The after party at the Novotel with many former bulldog players and seeing the joy on their and all bulldog supporters faces.

GF day was special, but for me, GF day and the week leading up doesn't happen without PF. When we won the PF, I could finally look forward getting my hands on GF tickets, going to a GF week training session and the GF parade.

Let's hope we get to experience it all again one day soon.

The Novotel after party made the whole experience of going to Greater Wasteland Sydney palatable, especially as $hitless Stadium ran out of beer at half time.

I wasn't at Spotless - I'd had an op and wasn't fit enough to make the trip. Disappointing.

Still, I was a blubbering wreck at the end, and for me, Stringer's kick to Dickson will always be one of the pivotal moments in Bulldog history. It's pretty much the reason I still love Jake!

Man, I wish I could have been there!

Jan 1, 2015
Hoppers Crossing
I wasn't at Spotless - I'd had an op and wasn't fit enough to make the trip. Disappointing.

Still, I was a blubbering wreck at the end, and for me, Stringer's kick to Dickson will always be one of the pivotal moments in Bulldog history. It's pretty much the reason I still love Jake!

Man, I wish I could have been there!

Have watched that moment about 15 times this week since recording the FoxFooty replay on my IQ when it was on. Teared up every time, which is ridiculous 2 years later and 4 times in 10 minutes!

I actually chose not to go - too much hurt in 7 Prelim losses seen and just couldnt go without my kids. I now consider I’m the jinx of the prelims since everyone else I knew who’d been at the losses were there so I’m the odd one to blame! don’t regret it. Loved my private celebrations in front of the TV - the group one the following weekend was good enough for me!

Couldn't agree more. The noise when the players came for their warm sent chills down my body, bloody brilliant. At games end people unknown were hugging and being soaked with beer and anything else that was being held, unforgettable the sheer joy that moment brought. The hoards at Yass Macca's next day was also special, a weekend never to be forgotten.
Speaking of the warm up, I texted a Bulldogs mate of mine back home during the warm up. And I quote:

"Clay Smith looks rusty. Can't mark, can't kick."

Those who watched his warm up would have agreed.

The rest is now history.

BrisDog

Dec 13, 2012
Speaking of the warm up, I texted a Bulldogs mate of mine back home during the warm up. And I quote:

"Clay Smith looks rusty. Can't mark, can't kick."

Those who watched his warm up would have agreed.

The rest is now history.
You must never upgrade that said phone for the rest of your life - for eternal happiness

hoianbulldog

Mar 2, 2006
Hoi An, Vietnam. I am off the grid.
Not everyone could go to the PF. There was plenty of emotion in my lounge room, let me tell you. Went to the GF, loved every minute of the parade, the game, the after-party, the gathering at WO the next day, but the PF was the special one.
This is because we have been hoping all our supporting lives to make a GF. The PF gave us that.

Now that we have won a GF, the PF is a means to an end, as it should be.

Not my finest photographic effort but anyway...

FA76E044-A34B-403B-A992-67D809E8C1DE.jpeg

Yojimbo

10k Posts
Nov 14, 2012
The "Elephant" in the room.
2016 (The Wash Up)

Elimination:
Dahlhaus 132
Johannisen 117
Picken 111
Daniel 108
Dickson 104
Hunter 102
Bontempelli 93
M.Boyd 86
C.Smith 84
Liberatore 81
T.Boyd 80
Biggs 79
Macrae 77
Roughead 76
Dunkley 73
Suckling 68
Stringer 46
Cordy 42
Wood 40
Hamling 37
Morris 28
Jong (Inj) 22

Total : 1,686 Points

Semi:
Macrae 126
Dunkley 116
Picken 111
Bontempelli 107
C.Smith 93
Daniel 84
Stringer 80
T.Boyd 79
Dahlhaus 78
Roughead 70
Suckling (Inj) 68
McLean 66
Hunter 66
Johannisen 64
Liberatore 62
M.Boyd 58
Dickson 55
Wood 55
Biggs 49
Cordy 49
Morris 40
Hamling 35

Total : 1,606 Points

Preliminary:
C.Smith 140
Dahlhaus 121
Dunkley 114
Johannisen 113
Daniel 96
Bontempelli 90
Picken 89
M.Boyd 86
Macrae 85
McLean 82
Dickson 78
Wood 74
Biggs 63
Hunter 62
Stringer 61
Liberatore 60
T.Boyd 60
Cordy 48
Morris 44
Roberts 30
Roughead (inj) 29
Hamling 22

Total : 1,647 Points

Grand:
Johannisen 115
Macrae 107
Picken 106
Dahlhaus 100
Bontempelli 99
T.Boyd 96
M.Boyd 94
Liberatore 90
C.Smith 85
Roughead 82
McLean 81
Dickson 76
Dunkley 74
Daniel 69
Hunter 67
Biggs 66
Wood 60
Morris 56
Cordy 55
Stringer 50
Hamling 40
Roberts 15

Total : 1,683 Points

2016 (The Wash Up)

Elimination:
Dahlhaus 132
Johannisen 117
Picken 111
Daniel 108
Dickson 104
Hunter 102
Bontempelli 93
M.Boyd 86
C.Smith 84
Liberatore 81
T.Boyd 80
Biggs 79
Macrae 77
Roughead 76
Dunkley 73
Suckling 68
Stringer 46
Cordy 42
Wood 40
Hamling 37
Morris 28
Jong (Inj) 22

Total : 1,686 Points

Semi:
Macrae 126
Dunkley 116
Picken 111
Bontempelli 107
C.Smith 93
Daniel 84
Stringer 80
T.Boyd 80
Dahlhaus 78
Roughead 70
Suckling (Inj) 68
McLean 66
Hunter 66
Johannisen 64
Liberatore 62
M.Boyd 58
Dickson 55
Wood 55
Biggs 49
Cordy 49
Morris 40
Hamling 35

Total : 1,606 Points

Preliminary:
C.Smith 140
Dahlhaus 121
Dunkley 114
Johannisen 113
Daniel 96
Bontempelli 90
Picken 89
M.Boyd 86
Macrae 85
McLean 82
Dickson 78
Wood 74
Biggs 63
Hunter 62
Stringer 61
Liberatore 60
T.Boyd 60
Cordy 48
Morris 44
Roberts 30
Roughead (inj) 29
Hamling 22

Total : 1,647 Points

Grand:
Johannisen 115
Macrae 107
Picken 106
Dahlhaus 100
Bontempelli 99
T.Boyd 96
M.Boyd 94
Liberatore 90
C.Smith 85
Roughead 82
McLean 81
Dickson 76
Dunkley 74
Daniel 69
Hunter 67
Biggs 66
Wood 60
Morris 56
Cordy 55
Stringer 50
Hamling 40
Roberts 15

Total : 1,683 Points

Awesome! How about totals for each player for the finals series?

Yojimbo

10k Posts
Nov 14, 2012
The "Elephant" in the room.
Awesome! How about totals for each player for the finals series?
4 Games :
Dahlhaus 431
Picken 417
Johannisen 409
C.Smith 402
Macrae 395
Bontempelli 389
Dunkley 377
Daniel 357
M.Boyd 324
T.Boyd 315
Dickson 313
Hunter 297
Liberatore 293
Biggs 257
Roughead 257
Stringer 237
Wood 224
Cordy 194
Morris 168
Hamling 134

3 Games :
McLean 229

2 Games :
Suckling 136
Roberts 45

1 Game :
Jong 22

Just for you Fossie 32, as Paul Roos said "Here it is" or something similar as I was not concentrating.