2019 Wishlist

I think our medium sized players as a list is one of the strongest in the comp. I think our ruck division looks reasonable. It is in the KPP area that we have heaps of question marks and could be the difference between another mediocre season and a "winning" season. Therefore, my wishlist is:

That Tom Boyd plays a productive season of at least 16 games and learns to lead more for marks when forward and holds them.

That Schache improves just that little bit to be a consistent contested marking threat inside the 50m arc.

That Lewis Young nails one of the KPB positions (freeing up Z Cordy to be a utility).

That the team is playing so well, Bevo can afford to play Bontempelli at CHF for large parts of each game.

I love the potential of a Hunter, Macrae and Johannisen centre line, I just hope we can build a
reasonable supporting cast.

The three Baileys are pivotal for me in going forward Williams, Smith and Dale, I really hope
to see around 60 Games combined from all three.

We need at least three Goal kickers to pass the 30 Goal mark and it would be nice if one of
them was Tim English (subtle hint) with Jackson Trengove to play a kick behind the play to
support the defensive group (second subtle hint).

I would hope the 2019 Luke Beveridge card would have a better than 25% Attack and a
75% defensive rating, maybe return to his 2016 card for the first three games which
was 40% Attack and 60% defensive until cruelled by the Murphy and Johannisen injuries
which forced us to win ugly.

I want to see the future and a definite game style even if we finish lower on the ladder
than last year, there is a lot of teams whose football game style will only take them so
far and I don't want to be one of those sides.

I love the potential of a Hunter, Macrae and Johannisen centre line, I just hope we can build a
reasonable supporting cast.
I'm far more hopeful with a Hunter-Macrae-Richards centre line. Based on his 2018 I'm convinced Richards has everything to be a star wingman.

JJ plays much better behind the ball, ditto Wood, ditto Crozier.

I want to see an established forward line. None of this s**t with defenders having a cameo up forward (Wood, Trengove) or constant resting mids - I want Schache permanently up forward. Then I want one of Boyd or Young to be the other one.

I'd like to see Cavarra and Lipinski become permanent forwards, then Wallis and Gowers be our medium forwards. We then have West, Greene, Lloyd, Dale and Picken to work with too, depending what happens with them.

I honestly think there is potential in something like this:

HF: Lipinski - Schache - Wallis

FF: Cavarra - Boyd/Young - Gowers

Like, I don't give a * what happens elsewhere, I'm confident that our defence and midfield will be fine (although a decent ruck would be nice). I just want to see us actually have a forward line. Our fifth best goal scorer last year had 12 ******* goals. Mark LeCras kicked that in a single game once, just shows how sad the state of our forward line really is right now

I'm far more hopeful with a Hunter-Macrae-Richards centre line. Based on his 2018 I'm convinced Richards has everything to be a star wingman.

I'm actually so excited about Richards next year. Him and Hunter as our wings must be better than any other side that I can think of. Only issue is that I wonder whether Richards is stronger defensively or offensively. Having two defensive wings probably isn't the greatest setup, but Richards has demonstrated the ability to score in 2018, so you never know

I want to see an established forward line. None of this s**t with defenders having a cameo up forward (Wood, Trengove) or constant resting mids - I want Schache permanently up forward. Then I want one of Boyd or Young to be the other one.

I'd like to see Cavarra and Lipinski become permanent forwards, then Wallis and Gowers be our medium forwards. We then have West, Greene, Lloyd, Dale and Picken to work with too, depending what happens with them.

I honestly think there is potential in something like this:

HF: Lipinski - Schache - Wallis

FF: Cavarra - Boyd/Young - Gowers

Like, I don't give a **** what happens elsewhere, I'm confident that our defence and midfield will be fine (although a decent ruck would be nice). I just want to see us actually have a forward line. Our fifth best goal scorer last year had 12 ******* goals. Mark LeCras kicked that in a single game once, just shows how sad the state of our forward line really is right now

I think our best young forward prospects currently are: Gowers, Lipinski, Schache and Dale. It's definitely the area we are the most lean in. I think Bev is always going to prefer to have extra resting mids over specialist forwards though, for better or worse.

It's crazy how poorly Dale has played lately. That, coupled with his injury trouble, has made me forget how good he used to look. So many of us predicted a breakout year for 2018. Hopefully that happens this year instead, because if we can't score then theres no way we are fit for finals

I actually thought his games in 2018 were some of his best yet. He improved his defensive game a lot in my opinion.

He started out alright, I guess just the last couple of games he played (against Adelaide and Collingwood I think) were pretty bad so they're more fresh in my memory. Just hope he can get back on track this year and stay injury free, because before this year I saw him as a long term lock for our 22. Now, I struggle to see who he could force out when he returns. With Lloyd entering the side, plus the drafting of Cavarra and Hayes, there's going to be a lot of competition for that spot

Maybe, but he has a LOT more talent than those guys and the ceiling to be Gunston level imo. If his body holds up I've got no doubt he'll be that best 22 lock this year.

Agree that Richards has great potential and a bit of pace it will be interesting what role a player like Duryea will have, I had Johannisen
in my AFL Fantasy Team all year as a defender and his scores of 58, 73, 67, 63, 83, 74, 83, 76, 68, 58, 71, BYE, 46, 68, 72, 116 vs Haw,
79, 90, 46, 126 vs Stk, 89, 83, and 82 drove me nuts, his two scores of a hundred or over came against sides that left him alone. We
have flankers in abundance, but finding the right mix going forward is quite hard.

- Contending for the top 8. May not necessarily make it because it will be a logjam with some teams rising and a few others falling, but if we're in contention I'll certainly be content
- Win some road games, don't be reliant on sneaking in because we win a lot under the roof.
- The Women's team to defend the premiership, or at least get a chance at defending the crown in the GF.
- Personally, getting to a few more games this year. Looking at being at the Easter home game vs Carlton, maybe the home game vs Richmond (4/5), definitely the Eagles away game (2/6), probably the away game vs Carlton (15/6), and the away game in Brisbane (4/9) (plus likely to get to a few games as a neutral, such as Lions vs Crows 18/5 and Gold Coast vs Richmond 6/7. I know they clash with our games but running commitments in those areas make it easy for me to get to those games)

I’d love to see bont play his best footy all year injury free! If our best player has a career best year the rest should flow from there.

Wishlist for each club....

Adelaide - entire squad trapped in a bus with the Richmond theme song on repeat. No one can find a key and they miss the entire season.

Brisbane - fail to match the hype, finishing bottom 4 again. Relocated to Hobart.

Carlton - an old filing cabinet is found when the John Elliott Stand is demolished with files documenting decades of salary cap rorts - AFL ban club from the draft for 10 years and strip them of the 1995 premiership. All current players go into a lottery to be distributed amongst the other 17 teams. We get Charlie Curnow and Patrick Cripps. They still beat Essendon.

Collingwood - Texas oil baron loves the Mason Cox story so much he buys the club and relocates them to the US to join the US AFL.

Essendon - the spreadsheets are found - the club is disbanded.

Fremantle - relocated to Launceston. Colours changed to green and white.

Geelong - Chris Scott chokes on a ping pong ball at the Melbourne show when he is mistaken for a sideshow. Gaz takes the ball and goes home, and the club fades into decades of mediocrity.

Gold Coast Suns - the doomsday sayers are proven wrong as a bunch of no-names emerge to lead the Suns to September. Renamed Queensland Queenslanders and split their games between Carrara, Brisbane, Cairns and the Sunshine Coast.

Great Waste of Space - fold. Replaced by Williamstown.

Hawthorn - Chad misses the season when he spends his time addicted to Fortnite. The Angry Ant Clarkson and the Angry Flog Sicily both get suspended for the season when they get into a punch on during AFLX.

Melbourne - Fly into July in 1st place before it all falls apart when Bulla and Hotham slash prices and the entire club spends the rest of the season on the slopes.

#lolnorf - entire club disappears into a crater that forms during the Metro Tunnel build under Arden Street, never to be seen again. No one notices.

Port Adelaide - entire 1st 22 jailed in Shanghai after being suspected as Western Spies. Jack Watts named captain - hot tub installed in goal square.

Richmond - Dusty moves to NZ to live with his dad. Rance quits to take up acting. Club implodes as Good Guys run out of microwaves.

St Kilda - Only club that loses to Adelaide and Essendon during the season (despite neither team showing up).

Sydney Swans - finally fall off a cliff to the bottom 6, and despite having the "most supporters in Australia", average only 7000 to their home games. And half of those were looking for Allianz Stadium.

West Coast - Optus Stadium stops selling beer as all their club and supporters ever want is (to do is) whine. The umpires go on strike and refuse to do Eagles home games after Razor mistakenly pays a free kick against West Coast in Perth and is suspended.

Western Bulldogs - 25-0. No injuries.

To produce the Brownlow Medalist for the season. With Allan Hopkins' retrospective medal, we have a streak of winning Brownlows every decade going right back to the 1930s. If we don't get a Brownlow Medalist for the 2010s, our streak is finished.
Also, we need to make the finals. The last premier team to fail to make the finals for three successive seasons was Hawthorn from 1979, 1980 and 1981. We can't let those mongrels pass the baton onto us.
Also, for us to become the first club to have both women's and men's premiers in the same year.