Sell your Club

BuffDog

Nov 10, 2009
From the depths of the off-season..

Basically, if you were pitching/selling your club to a new AFL fan, what would you promote and say about your club so that new fan is persuaded to choose them.

Take the Bombers.

- A founding member of the VFL
- historically the equal most successful team in the competition
- Inaugural premiers
- four peated in the VFA (has to count for something)
- we wear red and black, surely one of the best colours in the league. You can actually look good going to footy in essendon gear compared to certain other teams...
- the original sash team (sorry tiges)
- provider of absolute legends of the game such as Coleman, Reynolds and Hird
- blockbusters galore - ANZAC day, Dreamtime, ‘country’ game and now Good Friday
- a history of winning against the odds: St Kilda 2009, Geelong 2011, Fremantle 2013...
- 2000❤
- classic rivalries with carlton, hawthorn, north and west coast
- have NEVER sold a game interstate
- have shown to galvanise in the face of adversity, even though adversity has been brought on ourselves
- an exciting list and perhaps soon a chance for that elusive number 17

See, how could you not want to support the mighty Dons :p

Feb 15, 2015
South Yarra
Mt Buller Demons
Red and Blue look nice.
First club so vintage and old and stuff which is a good thing in Italian violins and French wines, so may be a good thing for footy clubs also.
Plays some home games interstate which is cool.
The other clubs are campaigners.

Mar 19, 2014
Newcastle
Coney Island Warriors, Dallas, Liverpool
An honest battler that punches above its weight and doesn't tank.
Plays an attacking style of football.
Your name is Ben and want to support a gun with the same name.
A socially considerate club (the Huddle, no pokies, etc)
Plenty of space to put your feet up at the ground.
Live in Tassie and want to go to games.
Have no plans for Good Friday.
Get "Lol'd" at quite often.
Like your team being in the headlines for marquee free agents. What happens after... never mind.
Arguably had the greatest player wear the colours. What happens after... See above.
Want a team nickname that's a national emblem. Or a butcher's leftovers.
Kinda, sorta rivals with Essendon and Hawthorn.
Jason McCartney comeback.

- provider of absolute legends of the game such as Coleman, Reynolds and Hird

ice_cube_wtf.gif

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007
- one of the more successful teams in the competition
- only club to have shades no colours
- won more matches then any other club
- we on average make a grand final every 4 years
- played in more final series then any other club
- we draw massive crowds each week and are the biggest drawing club since 1897.
- you either love us or hate us!
- we play at the mcg
- we don’t sell our home games interstate
- us against them attitude
- only club to have won 4 flags in a row

Isaac Cumming No 1

10k Posts
Mar 28, 2018
GWS
- We're a club with a future not a past.

- A great home ground, with excellent facilities at Olympic Park, with free public transport to attend.

- In Canberra you can see all the great traditional clubs visit, and your guys beat them.

- We're universally loved and respected within the footy world, :think:at least by everyone that matters.

- At interstate games, including finals you can really stand out from the crowd.

- plenty of elbow room at Spotless and none of the queueing and overcrowding at other AFL grounds.

-When we lose your chances of having it rubbed in everywhere you go the next week are minimal.

Oct 2, 2007
Hey, we cant be s**t forever right?
The only way is up!
I'm 100 percent confident we'll at least equal last years result, if not better it.
We're young. Get on in the ground floor.
Our club song is one of the trolliest around (Dah Dah Da-da-da!).
We used to be a big 4 club, and will be again.
We've amassed some good youth in the past few years.
The color scheme is pretty dope with the logo and all.
Our biggest rivals are easy to hate on account of being innocent pawns in a doping regime ran by a Rogue operator, or poor dentistry, or simply being feral.
16 flags.
Did I mention we cant be s**t forever?

And if a woman, I'd show them a picture of Patrick Cripps and casually mention he's 6'6. Not the one Josh Bootsma sent me... which also 'scales' a bit differently.

We’ve provided one of the biggest fairytale flags of all time.

Not many supporters so often you can get pretty good seats at Etihad

The Bont is really good

Whitten Oval’s Cafe has great bacon and egg rolls

We are one of the more inclusive clubs, with lots of community programs

One of the pioneers of AFLW

Isaac Cumming No 1

10k Posts
Mar 28, 2018
GWS
Great thread.

Our female supporters are above average.
From my, admittedly limited experience at the G, I give that one to the Tigers.

From some fine examples of Australian womanhood singing and dancing to the team song pre-game, to the group in a party bus in Jollimlnt street greeting the Tigers faithful leaving the G after the 2017 PF.

Check out his highlights, as a player he was one of the best and most influential of his era.

As a coach, well, we know how that ends.

Hird is indeed a legend of the game.

After all, most legends have villains.