Expansion 3rd Western Australian club

I'd say letting WA have two teams in our comp shows the VFl does have a lot of time for WA.

TBH your comments appear to reflect the greater the trend of unAustralian values that seems to be more and more prevalent today. Ancestors would turn in their grave over you pathetic "quip". Its AFL, WE ALL enjoy it.
You arent a purveyor of heritage, you arent a reflection of the greater football community and clearly you have tickets on yourself and your state for just being alive after your forefathers. You just happen to live in a place.
Gone are the days of good blokes and fair go's. Good onya, keep it up your entitled, selfish, arrogant attitude. WCE will just keep winning premierships, and ill keep loving the great Australian game of AFL

TBH your comments appear to reflect the greater the trend of unAustralian values that seems to be more and more prevalent today. Ancestors would turn in their grave over you pathetic "quip". Its AFL, WE ALL enjoy it.
You arent a purveyor of heritage, you arent a reflection of the greater football community and clearly you have tickets on yourself and your state for just being alive after your forefathers. You just happen to live in a place.
Gone are the days of good blokes and fair go's. Good onya, keep it up your entitled, selfish, arrogant attitude. WCE will just keep winning premierships, and ill keep loving the great Australian game of AFL

LOL, "unAustralian". Jeezo. Have you been mainlining Clive's texts?

Here's a history lesson.

There's no such sport as "AFL". Its Australian Rules Football - a derivation of the sport first known as The Rules of the MELBOURNE Football Club".

Melbourne is in VICTORIA.

That sport was invented in VICTORIA by the captain of the VICTORIAN cricket team. The first games were held in Melbourne, a decent torp from where the Grand Final is, and always should be held.

This VICTORIAN innovation rapidly spread to other colonies. There was no AUSTRALIA then.

The colonies were very much separate institutions and had significant rivalries.

It is a VICTORIAN game that spread to other colonies. Those colonies later became a nation.

I for one would much prefer Victoria secede from this fraudelent federation we stupidly joined during a depression.

LOL, "unAustralian". Jeezo. Have you been mainlining Clive's texts?

Here's a history lesson.

There's no such sport as "AFL". Its Australian Rules Football - a derivation of the sport first known as The Rules of the MELBOURNE Football Club".

Melbourne is in VICTORIA.

That sport was invented in VICTORIA by the captain of the VICTORIAN cricket team. The first games were held in Melbourne, a decent torp from where the Grand Final is, and always should be held.

This VICTORIAN innovation rapidly spread to other colonies. There was no AUSTRALIA then.

The colonies were very much separate institutions and had significant rivalries.

It is a VICTORIAN game that spread to other colonies. Those colonies later became a nation.

I for one would much prefer Victoria secede from this fraudelent federation we stupidly joined during a depression.

I dont need a history lesson. I knew all the points you presented. It doesnt change my fair and balanced opinion that the game that we now play is Australian Rules Football (rule changes, new teams and new country wide fans affirm that - dinosaurs like yourself dont)
Yep i said unAustralian, and all you did was reinforce it. You sir appear to be an A grade flog.

The VFL attracted best players.

The likes of Stephen Michael are the exceptions that prove the rule.

Take off your blinkers, Polly went to Vic at 27 in the 60s, Russell Ebert was a FIFO player at North in 1979, Cabes .... his team mates at the Hobart Carnival in the 60s were 3 time Sandover Medallist Billy Walker (VFL clubs chased hard) & Keith Doncon, All Australian in his only attempt, 75 WAFL games only.
Fair dinkum Frenchie, you have no idea, look up George Moloney at Geelong in the 30s, Pops Heal at North- 8 games for Melbourne in the 40s including a premiership, Ern Henfry ... have North ever won a flag without a WA boy in its side?

Take off your blinkers, Polly went to Vic at 27 in the 60s, Russell Ebert was a FIFO player at North in 1979, Cabes .... his team mates at the Hobart Carnival in the 60s were 3 time Sandover Medallist Billy Walker (VFL clubs chased hard) & Keith Doncon, All Australian in his only attempt, 75 WAFL games only.
Fair dinkum Frenchie, you have no idea, look up George Moloney at Geelong in the 30s, Pops Heal at North- 8 games for Melbourne in the 40s including a premiership, Ern Henfry ... have North ever won a flag without a WA boy in its side?

And if I posted a list of the WA players who did come over to play for VFL teams Chiefypants would have to invest in new servers.

(And yes, we have a great WA history, love the WA boys - looking for big things from Kyron Haydon in the next few years.)

I'd say letting WA have two teams in our comp shows the VFl does have a lot of time for WA.

Go back 35 years and the VFL was broke.
If it wasn't for the millions WA and SA payed the VFL would have gone broke or at least quite a few clubs would have had to fold/merge, the great irony is that one would probably your club. Lets not even go into the broadcast dollars that made the AFL what it is today, you wouldn't be getting a billion dollars with a 10 team VFL.

Thats why WA/SA fans get pissed with the entitlement of Vic fans. You are like the white privilege set of the AFL.

I dont need a history lesson. I knew all the points you presented. It doesnt change my fair and balanced opinion that the game that we now play is Australian Rules Football (rule changes, new teams and new country wide fans affirm that - dinosaurs like yourself dont)
Yep i said unAustralian, and all you did was reinforce it. You sir appear to be an A grade flog.

Sop basically you're having a big sook because evil Viccos don't read WA minds and bow and scrape to every whim because Straya m8.

Righto.

If it wasn't for the millions WA and SA payed the VFL would have gone broke or at least quite a few clubs would have had to fold/merge, the great irony is that one would probably your club. Lets not even go into the broadcast dollars that made the AFL what it is today, you wouldn't be getting a billion dollars with a 10 team VFL.

Thats why WA/SA fans get pissed with the entitlement of Vic fans. You are like the white privilege set of the AFL.

We know all that, that's why we let you in our comp so you could play our game at the highest level.

Jeez.

Where's the gratitude?

No, you needed the money. BTW do the English still call soccer and cricket "our game".

Do the English still call cricket "their game'?

WHY YES THEY DO!

Here we see the MCC talking about how they still custodianship of the Law of The Game.

https://www.lords.org/mcc/the-laws-of-cricket

The Poms invented cricket, that's a fact. It is an English game. Yes, Australia brought about massive commercialisation, there's all kinds of Indian money etc, but it is an English game.

Same with footy. It was invented in the self-governing Colony of Victoria.

The HQ of the game is in Melbourne. The Grand Final is played in Melbourne.

It is a Victorian game that now has a national competition (that grew from the Victorian competition).

I don't know what is so hard to understand about this, or difficult to accept.

It isn't like we Victorians have banned West Australians from playing it, or we don't let you in the national comp.

FFS, do you see us sooking that the chair of the Commission is from WA? No.

Predict the future often sporto?

And folks like you dont want to give any credit to the VFL regardless. Go back to the 80s and no one was managing football at a state level with any degree of professionalism.

I do adore how folks like you ignore the self preservation instinct that drove WA to join the VFL - and that regardless of its issues the VFL wasnt looking to join anyone elses league, nor were its teams trying to join the WAFL or SANFL (even Elliots suggestion was largely for show in the end) - and ignore the fact that the WAFLs financial situation was no better around the same time.

And if the WAFL survived with Government assistance and the loss of no clubs, what makes anyone think that the Victorian Government wouldnt have done the same or similar for the VFL, especially with the fortunes of the MCG tied to its ongoing survival.

More than the West Coast and Brisbane licenses, the TV deal at end of 1987 for 5 million a year - driven mostly by the decline in Sevens melbourne audience when footy was on the ABC for a year, meant that when Port applied in 1991 the proposal originally included a license cost of much less than the WAFL paid.

And as much as people cite broadcast dollars, the foundation of the leagues success was the decision to form the independent commission in 1985, which in turn led to expansion and a shift from club driven league politics (at least directly, through the VFL board of directors which was disbanded in 1993).

Andrew Demetriou on the matter:

By the mid 1980s, the VFL was broke. And the most significant decision, in my view, that was taken in the history of the game was when the 12 Victorian [club] presidents sat around a table and voted themselves out of existence.

This is an incredible decision. The 12 shareholders in a company called the VFL - they’re broke because they have transfer fees and are paying far too much for players to go from one club to another. And they decide to invest their complete decision making, their whole future, in a completely independent board. Incredibly courageous decision and history shows that the man who carried the vote that day was [John Elliott](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Elliott_(businessman) who persuaded the people around the table. This is in the days when he was at the height of his powers.

That decision was the catalyst for incredible vision: the salary cap, the draft, and equalisation. Socialistic, complete unashamed socialistic equalisation and distribution policies. Ground rationalisation. A national competition. Big, big change.

A lot of this was driven by great visionaries like Alan Aylett, Jack Hamilton, Ross Oakley and the commissioners who were giving their time for free really, or for their honorarium were people like Graeme Samuel who didn’t know the inside of a football stadium. There were people like Peter Nixon and Peter Scanlon and Dick Seddon, these people we should look back on a give enormous credit to.

The Commission since then has played a significant role. Still completely independent, no vested interests and they have created a vision for the game. Every decision is taken by the Commission. Whether it is a rule change or a policy change or whatever. It was the Commission that said “If we are going to be a sustainable force into the future, we are going to need to make changes.” Start a national competition, bring in new teams, have the ground rationalisation.

[They also said] We need a salary cap and a draft. And what we’re going to do from now on guys is make the competition equal. We will centralise revenues and distribute them. That was the initial commercialisation of the game.

In 1987 when Channel 7 wanted to keep low-balling the VFL/AFL on broadcasting rights, they said “No, we’d rather not sell it to you”. They sold them to Broadcom for a year and then a year later Channel 7 came back and paid significantly more. Hard decisions.

https://theconversation.com/afl-bos...ing-to-control-as-much-as-we-can-control-2812

Absolutely no mention of West Australian money.

And folks like you dont want to give any credit to the VFL regardless. Go back to the 80s and no one was managing football at a state level with any degree of professionalism.

I do adore how folks like you ignore the self preservation instinct that drove WA to join the VFL - and that regardless of its issues the VFL wasnt looking to join anyone elses league, nor were its teams trying to join the WAFL or SANFL (even Elliots suggestion was largely for show in the end) - and ignore the fact that the WAFLs financial situation was no better around the same time.

And if the WAFL survived with Government assistance and the loss of no clubs, what makes anyone think that the Victorian Government wouldnt have done the same or similar for the VFL, especially with the fortunes of the MCG tied to its ongoing survival.

More than the West Coast and Brisbane licenses, the TV deal at end of 1987 for 5 million a year - driven mostly by the decline in Sevens melbourne audience when footy was on the ABC for a year, meant that when Port applied in 1991 the proposal originally included a license cost of much less than the WAFL paid.

And as much as people cite broadcast dollars, the foundation of the leagues success was the decision to form the independent commission in 1985, which in turn led to expansion and a shift from club driven league politics (at least directly, through the VFL board of directors which was disbanded in 1993).
Yep, that’s pretty much it.

Too true, our national comp was not the result of one decision but I'm not sure most of us want to deny the VFL of the 80s any credit, remember the Swans on Sundays, the Gerard Healy show for a time, Diesel, Barry Mitchell, capppA ... South Melbourne to Sydney was the first step to a national comp.
I for one dont deny the role of the VFL BUT I reject the idea that that our national comp is todays VFL, its a big part but so are all the State comps including Tas, reject the notion that a premiership in a national comp is the equivalent to one in the VFL, you'd count a Saints flag & deny Ports 30+ SANFL flags ...
a VFL flag has the same meaning now as it did then, like Subi of whom I'm proud, it doesnt take away from what the Eagles have done IMHO.

Not really seeing a downside with this notion. Suggest you proceed to agitate for secession with all the energy you can muster. The mechanism would by tricky with no provision in the constitution, but a referendum would have a great chance.

If we're seceding from the Australian federation, we're not going to ask permission from some deadshits in Queensland.

Not sure about this right now. Are existing fans of footy in WA really going to jump off West Coast or Freo to support a new Perth team? We are talking about a footy state in WA with no competition from rugby, it's not like a new team is going to bring new fans to the game.
Personally think there are other areas that should have teams before a 3rd WA club.

If there is a northern suburbs based team it could work. I would actually call them Northern Suburbs [Insert team name) or Northern Perth [Insert team name). No one really calls it 'Northern Perth' though it's you are either from the north or the south suburbs. I wouldn't call it Joondalup as that could take away from rich northern suburbs areas that don't like been associated with Joondy.

Not sure about this right now. Are existing fans of footy in WA really going to jump off West Coast or Freo to support a new Perth team? We are talking about a footy state in WA with no competition from rugby, it's not like a new team is going to bring new fans to the game.
Personally think there are other areas that should have teams before a 3rd WA club.
I guess if they market it correctly and price tickets accordingly there are a shitload of people under 25 who have never been to a live afl footy game in perth

Possibly, but these people either like footy or they don't, which means I'm assuming they support the Eagles or Dockers.
I don't see anyone in WA being newly attracted to the game because now there's a team based just North of Perth.

No, you needed the money. BTW do the English still call soccer and cricket "our game".

Nobody seems willing or able to answer this question.

If Vic football was in such a bad state, why were WCE & the bears so eager to pay that money?

I mean, given the speed it all happened, you'd think they figured they were getting a really good deal or something and that the VFL was something worth paying to join.