Strategy Dermott Brereton joins St.Kilda as specialist coach

Frankly I still suspect Dermis is going to try to destroy us from the inside.
As I was about to cross Linton St to get back to my car this morning....a mate of mine pulled up....."Did you see Dermie inside he yelled out"...…...I said yes I did...."he's a spy" he yelled back.

LOL

https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/brereton-joins-saints-in-afl-coaching-role-c-67015

Dermott Brereton singles out St Kilda recruit for special praise

St Kilda recruited King with the No.4 pick in last year's national draft and Brereton has seen a lot of him in junior football.

King is making solid progress as he returns from a knee reconstruction and trained on Thursday morning, where Brereton worked with the Saints for the first time.

"He's a huge gold nugget with just a few edges that need knocking off at the moment," Brereton said.

"But he's going to be a player in the league of considerable note."

He had a baptism of fire of Thursday, with an elbow to the face from Matt Parker during a drill.

"I've got a hard head," Brereton said.

Good to see Parker making him feel welcome...
Parker seems to greet most people with his elbows.

He’s positioning himself to take credit for Max King being the GOAT of the modern era...He knows a good thing when he sees it. Winx.

From what I remember I’m pretty sure he took the credit for getting Brucey to the club after working with him at GWS.

It maybe Gubby that got this over the line but Simon Lethlean is the mastermind behind this all.

Gallagher, who has brought us some great ready made talent.

Slater who has transformed a team of weak willed boys into hard nosed men.

Ratten and Lades strategic influence.

But rather than putting any of these outstanding achievements in the bees the media focus on Dan Hannebery possibly being a bust....

Especially that purple flog

Richo said today that it was Ratten who identified a need for a coach to focus on 'forward craft' of our young forwards. To me it is a sign of significant maturity of the coaching staff that they are able to identify needs, and can recognise when they aren't the best people to fill them. Remember that Ratten was a brand new coach at the club who was assigned the forward line. And he immediately says 'I can't do this alone, we need another part time coach to focus on a different aspect'.

Young crushed him as well

A tough first day at the office for Dermie…..elbowed by Parker and flattened by Young.

Parker and Young may have had a pre training briefing on what Dermie has thought of the club in the past.

LOL.

Interesting move, the game's changed a lot since Dermott's time. Will his pointers be up-to-date or trying to lead our blokes down an outdated path?

He'd see several games a week live or via replay.....I'm pretty confident he'd know where the foward trends are now or where they're heading.

I hope !!!!!!!

W

The game has changed but footy is still footy, you still have to mark the ball, kick goals, tackle ect ect
Lot more one-on-one contests in Dermy's day, more wet weather conditions, different balls, etc., etc.

Derm has a great footy brain imo so I think he might be valuable.

It's explaining s**t on tv and radio that he's terrible at. He goes on too long discussing smaller incidents even when the play has completely moved on and what he is discussing is irrelevant - even if what he is saying is correct.

Derm has a great footy brain imo so I think he might be valuable.

It's explaining s**t on tv and radio that he's terrible at. He goes on too long discussing smaller incidents even when the play has completely moved on and what he is discussing is irrelevant - even if what he is saying is correct.

Yes...he does tend to waffle on at times....ummm….all the time.

I view him at the club like when Lethers arrived(despite the large amount of scorn he received pretty well from everywhere)..........love em or loathe em,if they can add any value to the organization at any level....I'll take that every day of the week thank you very much.

As listed in a few posts above"

Lethers
Lade
Ratten
Slater
Brereton
Allen

All of the above have been involved with successful organizatons or been Premiership players.

Compare the above to who we had this time last year.

I'm still pinching myself with the additions.

Add Playfair who came from the Swans at the end of 2017.

There's no guarantee's of course......be very interesting to see how all this pans out.

When I was heading out this morning,one of the crew txted me saying Dernie was joining the club part time as an assistant.....I had to read the txt twice.

I thought...WTF !!!!!!

lol.

No offense to Miley, probably my favourite ever Saint, but his brilliance was an instinct for him that I doubt he's be able to explain or coach. He'd be able to teach someone the soft skills like persistence and being in the right place at the right time, but knowing where the goal posts were and kicking those outrageous snaps? All he'd probably say is "Practice every day". I've heard him talk in the media - he's no analyst.

Dermie on the other hand IS an analyst, almost to a macro level when it comes to actual football itself. An analyst and an anal cyst. I feel sick inviting him into our organisation, he does have a weird thing with the Saints, he basically thinks we're all crazy. He's got a few Saints supporting mates from his Frankston days and thinks he knows a bit about our psyche but can't really get it, so maybe he'll start relating to us on a human level rather than as a freakish curiosity after his involvement with the club.

Of course when we eventually sack him he'll be even more scornful but at least his scorn will have a grounding of reality from his experience not just half brained assumptions based on Hawthorn arrogance.

I think Dermott is a pretender with his analysis. He never prepares for anything and runs on instinct. He might be good with one on one forward craft training for King though. Dermie is exactly the type a shiny new building attracts. Like a peacock guided to a peahen.

A tough first day at the office for Dermie…..elbowed by Parker and flattened by Young.

Parker and Young may have had a pre training briefing on what Dermie has thought of the club in the past.

LOL.
Maybe Nicky told them what he used to say to Indigenous players back in his day.