Topkent

Confirmed ITK Drafting King
Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
Good handballs are a dying art in this day and age when there is so much congestion. Players either scoop/throw it out, place the ball on the ground and tap it out or just maul it forward like a scrum in rugby union

Actually Hogan was one of the few players on our side who could weight a handball

Mate Hogan would struggle as much as anyone with our current forward entries. Why would you pay him $1M a year to dish out handballs in the midfield?

Ando727

Dec 12, 2009
Hobart
Cater to the markets and you are the nrl and have limited crowds/tv exposure. The afl is a nationwide sport and with more eye balls on tv means more dollars.

I don’t necessarily disagree with you but just the reality of the facts. Doesn’t mean I’m right or your wrong.
I'll tell you one thing: footy is on a fast track to oblivion in Tassie because the AFL wants to explore new markets over it's traditional constituents. Maybe we just don't count enough down here, but prioritising these "new" markets over traditional constituents will not ultimately help the game. It's decreasing the heart and soul aspect of the game and replacing it with soulless commercialism - and that extends to all the BS rule changes and commercial gimmickry that comes along with it. It's not actually what makes new people fall in love with a game. It has to have consistency and integrity to flourish. It doesn't have that any more. Not admitting Tassie is probably more a symptom of that than a cause, but it's still something that should be seriously considered if they don't want Tassie to fall off the AFL radar. I feel like Topkent has as much connection to the AFL in bloody Canada as I do in Hobart. There's just no presence here.

HANDSOLO

May 19, 2014
Broncos
I'll tell you one thing: footy is on a fast track to oblivion in Tassie because the AFL wants to explore new markets over it's traditional constituents. Maybe we just don't count enough down here, but prioritising these "new" markets over traditional constituents will not ultimately help the game. It's decreasing the heart and soul aspect of the game and replacing it with soulless commercialism - and that extends to all the BS rule changes and commercial gimmickry that comes along with it. It's not actually what makes new people fall in love with a game. It has to have consistency and integrity to flourish. It doesn't have that any more. Not admitting Tassie is probably more a symptom of that than a cause, but it's still something that should be seriously considered if they don't want Tassie to fall off the AFL radar. I feel like Topkent has as much connection to the AFL in bloody Canada as I do in Hobart. There's just no presence here.

Thing is, in business, decisions like this (new markets versus traditional constituents / serious fans) are often presented as an OR, when really they are an AND/OR. They are presented as an OR usually when different functions arent talking (eg brand and marketing versus marketing and Biz Dev) or when decisions are made with horizon that is too short (which in this case would ignore any adverse effects of a shrinking core of traditional / devoted fans)

We can have both, we should have both

jhong

Old man yelling at clouds
Apr 18, 2011
Wonthaggi
Please , the AFL says it can't financial endorse an AFL club in Tassie while blowing $200 million on propping up a club in the Gold Coast . Bullshit ! . Maybe relocate the GCS to Tasmania and kill 2 birds with one move . Why we don't have a team in Tasmania is a ******* disgrace.

Cannon82

10k Posts Melbourne Poster of the Year Melbourne Demons - Ben Kennedy Player Sponsor 2016 Melbourne Demons - Jeremy Howe Player Sponsor 2015 Melbourne Demons - Dom Barry Sponsor 2014 Melbourne Demons - Jeremy Howe Sponsor 2014
Oct 26, 2012

Presumably they think the dregs from Norf and Hawks are enough to keep people in Tassie satisfied.

Please , the AFL says it can't financial endorse an AFL club in Tassie while blowing $200 million on propping up a club in the Gold Coast . Bullshit ! . Maybe relocate the GCS to Tasmania and kill 2 birds with one move . Why we don't have a team in Tasmania is a ******* disgrace.
Player retention

You’ve really settled into your new home well.

For the record, I agree there should be an AFL team in Tassie.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Not everyone wants to live near hipster cafes. Be plenty of blokes who would love being able to have a farm property and freedom
And the Tasmanian team is going to know which ones those are when they draft them as 18yos, are they?

Not everyone wants to live near hipster cafes. Be plenty of blokes who would love being able to have a farm property and freedom

Also you can have those things in Melbourne and the other major cities too, Hobart is hardly an unmatched rural paradise geographically

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
And the Tasmanian team is going to know which ones those are when they draft them as 18yos, are they?
Does any team know if they'll keep anyone when they are 18?
Give them priority access to Tasmanians and let em have a team. Who gives a s**t if the odd player leaves.

Does any team know if they'll keep anyone when they are 18?
Give them priority access to Tasmanians and let em have a team. Who gives a s**t if the odd player leaves.
Tasmania has a population of 500,000 and is the only state in Australia with an increasing average age. Until this year population growth and economic growth in Tasmania has been nearly non-existent. There’s not enough people to sustain ‘priority access’ to Tasmanian’s as a recruitment strategy. Go look at a list of the best ever Tasmanian footballers - it’s very shallow and that’s over 100 years. How many Tasmanians drafted in the last five years are still on an AFL list?

I’m sure it’s a lovely place to live but will be impossible to recruit for to predict which draftees aren’t going to want to go back home to live in a major city after two years (v different to a Victorian being drafted to Perth, which offers a similar lifestyle if you’re a rowdy teenager) or pursue business opportunities/education alongside football or be in the media bubble etc, none of which will ever exist in Hobart to the same extent as the mainland cities.

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
Tasmania has a population of 500,000 and is the only state in Australia with an increasing average age. Until this year population growth and economic growth in Tasmania has been nearly non-existent. There’s not enough people to sustain ‘priority access’ to Tasmanian’s as a recruitment strategy. Go look at a list of the best ever Tasmanian footballers - it’s very shallow and that’s over 100 years. How many Tasmanians drafted in the last five years are still on an AFL list?

I’m sure it’s a lovely place to live but will be impossible to recruit for to predict which draftees aren’t going to want to go back home to live in a major city after two years (v different to a Victorian being drafted to Perth, which offers a similar lifestyle if you’re a rowdy teenager) or pursue business opportunities/education alongside football or be in the media bubble etc, none of which will ever exist in Hobart to the same extent as the mainland cities.

Currently there's about 25 Tasmanians in the AFL and there's * all money being spent on development. Set them up with their own academy and plenty of money and there's no reason you can't have a bit of the list home grown.

Tempy Tiger

Sep 18, 2006
It has to be because of the pressure players are under. There is just no space anymore. Coaches play an 18 man defence so you basically have 36 guys within 50m of the ball in all directions, while the remaining 70% of the oval is empty. I’m sure the guys skill levels would actually be much higher now, they are just trying to execute under totally different circumstances.
And regarding goal kicking, the forwards now would be way more fatigued than back in the 80s. They run up and down like lunatics now, whereas previously you’d just stand there until it was time to lead.
It’s become a s**t spectacle though no doubt. I’d be all for making the game 15 a side. Get rid of one onballer, one forward and one defender.

The jungle drums were beating a couple of months back about Tassie being the 19th team by 2025 or 2030 or something, is that no longer on the cards?

The Suns are building a bit of genuine culture now, they're good to watch. If I was in charge, I'd be looking at a team in Tassie and a third team in Perth as the next (and probably final) expansion.

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
The jungle drums were beating a couple of months back about Tassie being the 19th team by 2025 or 2030 or something, is that no longer on the cards?

The Suns are building a bit of genuine culture now, they're good to watch. If I was in charge, I'd be looking at a team in Tassie and a third team in Perth as the next (and probably final) expansion.

Do freo even sell out their stadium most weeks?

West Coast has thousands on their waiting list. Freo's lack of support probably comes down to their chronic lack of success and their terrible work at marketing the club in the 90s more than a lack of fans.

Tempy Tiger

Sep 18, 2006
They have over 50,000 members TK.
I’d be all for arseholing GWS and GC, get a team in Tassie and stick with a 17 team comp. 16 game home and away season, every team gets one bye. Plus reducing sides to 15 each would strengthen the talent pool.
Feeding pearls to swine here.

May 3, 2014
Just curious if the AFL introduced a Tasmanian team would you still barack for the Dees?

Tempy Tiger

Sep 18, 2006
They will never reduce the amount of games in a season due to the broadcast deals
I know but it’s short term gain for long term pain.
They should have a 16 game season and no academies. The season is way too long. Your team can play for five ******* months, make finals, and then be out after one week.

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
West Coast has thousands on their waiting list. Freo's lack of support probably comes down to their chronic lack of success and their terrible work at marketing the club in the 90s more than a lack of fans.

Sure but is there legitimate demand for a 3rd team? I think it's great that Optus is sold out most weeks. Would hate to have 3 teams playing in half filled stadiums

Ando727

Dec 12, 2009
Hobart
Just curious if the AFL introduced a Tasmanian team would you still barack for the Dees?
I'd be a dual citizen. Would definitely take out a membership with the new team (Blundstone Arena is 5 min from my front door), but would continue to support the Dees as far as that is possible from down here. I've been a Dees fan for 35 years, and a member for half of that - I couldn't just drop the Dees like a hot potato.