Preview Rnd 9 - Carlton v GWS 4.40PM Sunday 19th May @ GIA - Final Team Post #547

Before mobile phones a group of us just knew to meet each other under the scoreboard. Kick on the ground after the siren. Then off to the Fenwick amongst others where we had a drink and watched the players of both sides occupying a corner. Good times

$2 VB Cans little bar behind the scoreboard or you and ya mates taking your own in to share.👍

After today's game we have 4 winnable games (saints, *, lions and dogs) up until the split rounds....You'd think we can win two of those.
I hope we win today and all four of them.

Had to double check the fixture, didn’t realise we play the Dogs twice in 10 rounds

After today's game we have 4 winnable games (saints, *, lions and dogs) up until the split rounds....You'd think we can win two of those.
Lions down here will be tough.

after the bye rounds we also have 2 very winnable games against GCS and freo which are both in melb.

Freo is in Perth mate.
I think there are heaps of winnable games in the run home to be honest. Today will be one of the hardest tasks and after that the least winnable are Geelong down there in round 23 and Freo over there round 15.
All four running into the bye we can win (doesn’t mean we will) as Saints are easily gettable (although been a bogey in the past), Bombers we just love beating, Lions are not that good away from home at this stage and Dogs we can get again.
After the bye there are many winnable games. I would be very surprised we don’t win at least 5 and we may even win 8 (for the season) or 9. I know that sounds optimistic but from what we have shown I see a team on the rise who has had a bit of bad luck with results. That will turn and those games will fall our way as belief builds.

reporter asked him similar question at the airport interview...in one aspect he said we cant expect young players like ours to do what hawks did...defend with ball in hand

Also....
made it sound like Levi will be playing down back again
Mcgov unlikely to play down back he is too important with turning I50s into goals.

Freo is in Perth mate.
I think there are heaps of winnable games in the run home to be honest. Today will be one of the hardest tasks and after that the least winnable are Geelong down there in round 23 and Freo over there round 15.
All four running into the bye we can win (doesn’t mean we will) as Saints are easily gettable (although been a bogey in the past), Bombers we just love beating, Lions are not that good away from home at this stage and Dogs we can get again.
After the bye there are many winnable games. I would be very surprised we don’t win at least 5 and we may even win 8 (for the season) or 9. I know that sounds optimistic but from what we have shown I see a team on the rise who has had a bit of bad luck with results. That will turn and those games will fall our way as belief builds.
Yep....freo game in freo. cheers

At this stage I can't see how a win in a stupid bloody footy game can assuage the harsh reality that Australia has proved itself once again as dumb as America and the UK.
Quit the exaggerations. Both parties were rubbish. Voters never stood a chance.

Edit: actually no, I'll go a step further and say its ****ing insulting to equate anyone who voted Liberal with the mess that is America. Liberal may not be your preferred but they're a far cry from the dog shit politics of America and some pockets of Europe.

Play like we did last week, and we are every chance. We have shown that our best efforts are pretty good. It’s the inconsistency that we need to work on.

Just don’t show up like we did against North ... ever again!!

As good as last week was, it wasn't a 4 qtr performance.

We won't be every chance against teams like GWS, Pies etc unless we play at that intensity for 4 qtrs.

We did it against the Dogs, let's see if we can do it again today.

Few questions:

Did you watch the 2's games you're referring to?

Who else would you have selected?

You honestly think the MC are forcing AR to clear players for selection that have already had full mini pre season training blocks + played multiple games in the 2's?

Not sure if you're serious, Macreadie plays 2 VFL games and then is stuffed that he can't play a 3d game in a row, we then have a bye. You call this multiple games in the twos.

Clutching at straws here.

Yeah somehow I can’t see Andrew Russell being strong armed by the MC into playing a player that is not ready, last year is last year and there is a stark difference between then and now.

i wouldn't be so sure.

Have a look at Charlie early in the season, came back from injury, played 1 game and was out again.

Kruz comes back and got injured straight away.

Willow in for 2 weeks.

Now Macreadie in after having not played a game at any level for 2 weeks and only playing 2 VFL games before that.

Some of those injuries appear to be innocuous incidents but i think Willow was rushed back same as Kruz and same as Mac, hopefully Newman is ready to.

Before mobile phones a group of us just knew to meet each other under the scoreboard. Kick on the ground after the siren. Then off to the Fenwick amongst others where we had a drink and watched the players of both sides occupying a corner. Good times

we used to go to - I think it might have been a rising sun or some such name? cnr richardson and lygon - blow me down we get there one day post game and it's boarded up - the brilliant enoteca sileno sits there now - quite an upgrade.........

i wouldn't be so sure.

Have a look at Charlie early in the season, came back from injury, played 1 game and was out again.

Kruz comes back and got injured straight away.

Willow in for 2 weeks.

Now Macreadie in after having not played a game at any level for 2 weeks and only playing 2 VFL games before that.

Some of those injuries appear to be innocuous incidents but i think Willow was rushed back same as Kruz and same as Mac, hopefully Newman is ready to.
And you have never seen this at other clubs?
What about players that have a pre-season injury and get a solid block of training and play round 1. Every club would have at least one or two of these. Should they be playing VFL for the first 4 rounds?
I think the main risk is Marchbank, Willow and Kreuzer came in a bit rusty and needed more touch rather than fitness. Doesn’t matter whether you play one’s or two’s underdone - you still have risk of injury.
I think the risk of Macreadie coming in is he will be rusty but not an injury risk.