Society/Culture Why is Melbin [sic] so out of step with the rest of Australia?

i love going to areas like brunswick basically cause i can see the delusional leftists legitimately engage in crazy stuff.

Meh spent almost 10 years in the Mining / branch office city Brisbane. Place is soulless, only "major" city I've been in where at 5:30 pm the CBD is a ghost town.

For whatever flaws Melbourne has, it shits over provincial towns like Brisbane

I love how worked up people get when discussing cities and towns.

a) it's entirely subjective and depends on heaps of factors - age, wealth, interests etc
b) if you've lived somewhere all your life you're bound to know all the good s**t to do there, so it may seem better to you than for people that holiday there for a fortnight
c) Melbourne sucks

Meh spent almost 10 years in the Mining / branch office city Brisbane. Place is soulless, only "major" city I've been in where at 5:30 pm the CBD is a ghost town.

Brisbane is so bad it makes Adelaide and Perth look cultured.

Must have been there 20 years + ago. Place is thriving at night these days. Another thing Melbin flogs seem to pride themselves on is appearing busy.

In the 10 years I lived there flogs almost took pride about working late even if their productivity was s**t. Whereas qld it’s encouraged to be out the door by 4 and enjoying the great lifestyle.

Maybe the other factor was no flog wanted to brave the s**t climate and face the hour and a half commute back to their overpriced shanty hut in the blizzard like conditions

There is heaps to do at the Sunshine Coast. Excellent restaurants and pubs, plenty of very good festivals and activities that are constantly on (Noosa food and wine last weekend, music festival this weekend, surfing comps the weekend before). Hinterland has some beautiful hikes and the coastline is excellent for boating and fishing, swimming and surfing. Great sporting culture up here too with the Sunshine Coast footy teams dominating the south east Queensland comps.

Much more to do than Melbourne and the fact the weather is so much better than Melbourne means you can actually go out and enjoy what is on offer.
Lol turn it up.

Sunshine Coast is a drab shithole full of uncultured bogans with their last names tattooed on their forearms in Old English text and young tourist families who largely can’t afford to travel overseas or anywhere good. How anyone could permanently reside in such a boring coastal dump is beyond me.

And surely you are taking the piss with your outrageous and unfathomable bragging. Melbourne is world-renowned for the quality of its restaurants and food options. It’s also the only place in Australia where bars and nightclubs don’t close at midnight because it’s not overrun by alcohol-fuelled bogans who go around king hitting innocent bystanders from behind. What do pubs in Sunshine Coast offer that Melbourne pubs don’t apart from XXXX Gold on tap, early closing times and ex Big Brother contestant meet and greets?

And your music scene is non-existent. Who was the last big name to perform in your little town? The ABBA cover band from Yandina Creek or Shannon Noll on his all ages regional town tour? You could find better artists performing on a weeknight in Frankston.

I am glad you enjoy the quality of football in South East Queensland. I guess us suckers in Melbourne will have to settle for the AFL and other world class sporting events such as the Australian Open, Grand Prix, Melbourne Cup, Boxing Day Test and Rip Curl Pro.

The only thing you have over us is your weather, but even then, relentless dog sh*t subtropical humidity can suck my nuts.

Must have been there 20 years + ago. Place is thriving at night these days. Another thing Melbin flogs seem to pride themselves on is appearing busy.

In the 10 years I lived there flogs almost took pride about working late even if their productivity was ****. Whereas qld it’s encouraged to be out the door by 4 and enjoying the great lifestyle.

Maybe the other factor was no flog wanted to brave the **** climate and face the hour and a half commute back to their overpriced shanty hut in the blizzard like conditions

Lol it wasn't 20 years ago, I've only been back down here for a couple of years. I still have to work up there at times, Brisbane CBD still a ghost town at night.

Brisbane is so bad it makes Adelaide and Perth look cultured.

Never been to Perth so can't comment. Adelaide I agree is far better than Brisbane though.

Lol turn it up.

Sunshine Coast is a drab shithole full of uncultured bogans with their last names tattooed on their forearms in Old English text and young tourist families who largely can’t afford to travel overseas or anywhere good. How anyone could permanently reside in such a boring coastal dump is beyond me.

And surely you are taking the piss with your outrageous and unfathomable bragging. Melbourne is world-renowned for the quality of its restaurants and food options. It’s also the only place in Australia where bars and nightclubs don’t close at midnight because it’s not overrun by alcohol-fuelled bogans who go around king hitting innocent bystanders from behind. What do pubs in Sunshine Coast offer that Melbourne pubs don’t apart from XXXX Gold on tap, early closing times and ex Big Brother contestant meet and greets?

And your music scene is non-existent. Who was the last big name to perform in your little town? The ABBA cover band from Yandina Creek or Shannon Noll on his all ages regional town tour? You could find better artists performing on a weeknight in Frankston.

I am glad you enjoy the quality of football in South East Queensland. I guess us suckers in Melbourne will have to settle for the AFL and other world class sporting events such as the Australian Open, Grand Prix, Melbourne Cup, Boxing Day Test and Rip Curl Pro.

The only thing you have over us is your weather, but even then, relentless dog sh*t subtropical humidity can suck my nuts.

Sunshine Coast is great as is most of south east Queensland. Probably why so many Victorian flogs are tripping over to move up here. Don’t see many Queenslanders lining up to live in cold shitty Melbourne.

Queensland doesn’t have 12pm lock out you nong. Our pubs are clearly the best in Australia and s**t in melbins from a great height. Enjoy paying $14 a pint of crappy craft beer. I’ll keep my $5 schooners down the surf club.

We have plenty of great musical events. Basically any international act that goes to Melbin goes to Brisbane as well. Plenty of great music events up here as well with a stack of festivals on the sunny coast.

In terms of sports we also have AFL football in south east Queensland and test cricket and multiple elite surfing comps and elite racing facilities and motor racing (although happy for all of that to be shipped off to Melbin). Again basically every sporting option available in Melbourne is equally available in Queensland

Lol it wasn't 20 years ago, I've only been back down here for a couple of years. I still have to work up there at times, Brisbane CBD still a ghost town at night.

Never been to Perth so can't comment. Adelaide I agree is far better than Brisbane though.

In what regard is Adelaide or Perth better than Brisbane?

Sounds like offended to me

In what regard is Adelaide or Perth better than Brisbane?

Sounds like offended to me

Offended by what? Though looking at your replies to some posts, I can tell who's getting upset. :D

I've never been to Perth as stated before. My few trips Adelaide with work, I've found it to have far more vibrancy in the city. I also enjoyed the Adelaide Hills from a visit as a tourist. Less tattooed bogans nasally shouting yea/nar helps as well, but that's a minor point.

As the election proved Melbourne is well and truely out of step with the rest of Australia on a number of issues. The Victorian media would have had you believe Dan Andrews is doing a terrific job and federal labor were certainties to win.

Leftist local identities such as Charlie Pickering, Jane Caro, Waleed Ali and Michelle Lawrie have since got on their soap box to criticise the majority of the country for electing a government that didn’t believe in socialism.

Crime continues to spiral out of control in Melbourne and the state Labor government have now all but confirmed there is a massive budget black hole which will result in huge debts while the government refuses to budge on the east west link which they have already wasted $1.3bn on and the federal government have been forced to step in and build the road to stop it from being a political football for Andrews ego.

The most perplexing thing about the whole situation is that the majority of people in Victoria genuinely believe in the socialist propaganda they are fed. They believe they are the majority and anyone who doesn’t agree are uneducated, scared rednecks. It is time Australia booted them out of the commonwealth so they can have their socialist paradise in peace
If ya main issue is socialism you may wanna jump fence

Subsidies 2 farmers in drought
Corporate welfare
Negative gearing for the rich

Do you remember both sides referring
" tax to GDP " and wanting 2 look the lowest
How about " Tax to income "
GST is a disproportionate tax on the poor

Hmm GST is the only way some richer people are actually paying tax, with the loop holes we currently have.

Doesn't change the Commonwealth distributes QLD more tax revenue back than what they earn

It's only my opinion. I enjoyed going to those grounds, standing in the outer, going to the local pubs afterwards etc. If I lived in Melbourne now, and could afford to live anywhere near these joints it would be the VFA or local footy for me. I enjoy the feral vibe of local footy.

You can still get your 'suburban footy' flavour hit at the Home of Victorian Football at Kardinia Park!!!! ;)

However any young, single man who’s swiping right on his hometown’s meagre tinder offerings, attending the local races once a year with the boys thinking he’s living a life like Entourage or something equally empty is a muppet. Even worse if they’re voting Liberal/National.

Lmao. But in all seriousness, you can't expect everyone in the world to want to live in cities. Maybe some people are content with what they have.