Review Geelong d Richmond by 67 points

Cattery

Jun 13, 2006
Australia
Tuohy just looked ordinary last night, imo.

Not in our Best 22 atm for mine.

Has looked all out of sorts. A weak link atm.

You may be right about re-positioning him, but who would he displace?

And a very average defender indeed.

How many opposition small forwards have torched him this year though? He may not be at his absolute peak, which is understandable given his late start, but is still playing pretty good footy, certainly nowhere near as bad as you say IMO.

Baudolino

Apr 20, 2011
Carey has been a flog of the highest order but he has a good footy brain and is not biased.

He's among the better ex-footballers in the media.

Of the ex-players I rate Lyon highest when it comes to analysis. Others I rate highly: Bartel (was weirdly poor when he first started in the media but is now fantastic), Lloyd, Carey, and Riewoldt. Wish there were more of their vintage.

Jun 5, 2007
He's among the better ex-footballers in the media.

Of the ex-players I rate Lyon highest when it comes to analysis. Others I rate highly: Bartel (was weirdly poor when he first started in the media but is now fantastic), Lloyd, Carey, and Riewoldt. Wish there were more of their vintage.
Agree, all forwards.

Max Milburn

Aug 10, 2018
Hobbiton, Tasmania
How many opposition small forwards have torched him this year though? He may not be at his absolute peak, which is understandable given his late start, but is still playing pretty good footy, certainly nowhere near as bad as you say IMO.
It's lucky our other defenders are good enough to make up for "weak link" Tuohy and "deer in a headlight" Blicavs.

If you want a laugh, browse through the autopsy thread on the Tiggers board. They're complaining about everything over there - injuries, umpiring, crowd behaviour, the works. Hell, even Scott's post match press conference from last year when he said they were beatable is getting a run.

Probably the funniest thing is how they're comparing players on their injury list to their Geelong counterparts and several of them are claiming Lambert is the equivalent of Selwood. I'm assuming they're referring to Scott, as he's nowhere near the level of Joel.

Delusional idiots 😂

Dec 11, 2009

Fair enough.

He hasn't been torched, but I fear what would be happening if the team weren't playing so well.

Dec 11, 2009
It's lucky our other defenders are good enough to make up for "weak link" Tuohy and "deer in a headlight" Blicavs.

Yes, they've bought them a bit of time.

Hopefully the bye helps Touhy in particular, and Selwood. Looks like both could do with the rest to refresh them for our September assault.

Sep 26, 2017
You probably guessed I'm not as concerned as you.
The bye will help everyone, as long we can knock off that recent hoodoo!
I suspect will we prepare better for the bye and Port than recent years

They have done a good job with everything else with the team ...I have faith

Jan 13, 2006
melbourne
geelong
Watching the third quarter again. Even their players are real thugs.

Seeing Townsend come over to lay into Clarke after he misssd the shot in the third quarter and to see how the Richmond players came in not just to break it up but to stick up for his dirty cheap hit and “ remorse” with Townsend afterwards was pretty disgusting to see.

You don’t go rewarding and patting on the back for snipe shots like that. Yet Richmond did.

Dirty scum of a club and dirty rat like supporters. Trickle down effect all the way through.

Happy to smash them and can’t wait to see them drop back down to 9th and stay where they belong. Insignificant for another 30 years

May 18, 2016
I suspect will we prepare better for the bye and Port than recent years

They have done a good job with everything else with the team ...I have faith
Players have been told to be prepared for a heavy session when they return on saturday. Hopefully they go all in and try to get over this post bye bogey. The time is now. It’s gone on too long.

Drunkcat

Aug 31, 2018
Wagga Wagga
Watching the third quarter again. Even their players are real thugs.

Seeing Townsend come over to lay into Clarke after he misssd the shot in the third quarter and to see how the Richmond players came in not just to break it up but to stick up for his dirty cheap hit and “ remorse” with Townsend afterwards was pretty disgusting to see.

You don’t go rewarding and patting on the back for snipe shots like that. Yet Richmond did.

Dirty scum of a club and dirty rat like supporters. Trickle down effect all the way through.

Happy to smash them and can’t wait to see them drop back down to 9th and stay where they belong. Insignificant for another 30 years
I don't mind a side playing dirty I miss the 80,s and 90,s if you can get away with it go for it...and I like it better when Geelong stand up too it gets the heart going

After looking at the game day thread a couple of times, I decided it wasn't for me.
I understand people venting frustration, but don't really need it interrupting my viewing!
Surely when when you stop to type something you miss some of the action?
Footy porn?...
I agree. That's why rarely post on or read that thread.
This week was exceptional for me for both reasons as said.
But a lot of it was at quarter time, and the ads!!!

Ricketz

Aug 2, 2011
Wagga Wagga
I reckon most would agree he's not playing that well.
And I reckon your bias is putting words in other people's mouths.

He had the 8th best disposal efficiency on Friday night and equal twentieth for turnovers, so hardly alone.

Did he have a great game? No. Did he have an ok game? Yes. Should he be dropped? Not by any metric I can see.

Caddy while an excellent 3rd tall forward is a very ordinary mid. Townsend is the very definition of a list clogger. Has made early a very nice living out of doing very little. Oh he’s tough though...whoopeee!
We all have opinions- mine, Caddy is the ultimate opportunist, good luck to him. Not the player that's going to inspire a team to win, but the icing on the cake. Very good when others have set the win up already.
Limited skill under pressure at Geelong, and evidently, similar at Punt Rd.

Dec 11, 2009
And I reckon your bias is putting words in other people's mouths.

He had the 8th best disposal efficiency on Friday night and equal twentieth for turnovers, so hardly alone.

Did he have a great game? No. Did he have an ok game? Yes. Should he be dropped? Not by any metric I can see.

You've got no problem standing by your observations - your bias - and nor do I.

He is particularly vulnerable to pressure, and is struggling with fitness atm too.

His last couple of weeks have been below par. An opinion. Differs to yours, but hey, that often happens in these parts, does it not?

Ricketz

Aug 2, 2011
Wagga Wagga

He is particularly vulnerable to pressure, and is struggling with fitness atm too.

His last couple of weeks have been below par. An opinion. Differs to yours, but hey, that often happens in these parts, does it not?
You say so, but offer no evidence.

I should take your word for it right?

Let's face it, you are calling for him to be dropped after all. I am just asking for you to provide some basis for your opinion.

IMHO, I think many are sucked in by his after siren match winner v Demons at Geelong. His past 2 seasons have been below par for a top defender. I get that he is attacking and a decent kick, but not under pressure. He has a good size body- let's put him at the coalface in the centre/wing. Or back to VFL for a while. Bews , once he is really ready, is a better lock down defender and he would complement MOC and Henry

May I?

Let's face it, you are calling for him to be dropped after all. I am just asking for you to provide some basis for your opinion.
IMHO, I think many are sucked in by his after siren match winner v Demons at Geelong. His past 2 seasons have been below par for a top defender. I get that he is attacking and a decent kick, but not under pressure. He has a good size body- let's put him at the coalface in the centre/wing. Or back to VFL for a while. Bews , once he is really ready, is a better lock down defender and he would complement MOC and Henry

Dec 11, 2009

Never said you just had to take my word for it. That's just petulance.

Once more, the basis for my opinion is 'observation'.

He has looked to be off the boil for a couple of weeks now, imo, but if your observation differs then so be it.