Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud

Because swearing like that when children are around is just pathetic. As JackOutback said, you don’t need to be interchanging adjectives with swear words to voice your passion or disgust.

There are basic standards to uphold when in public and I think if you feel the need to swear then you should do it in front of your TV.

Basic standards is not a publically definable attribute. Israel Folaus basic standard is you cant be gay in public. Should we live by his basic standards or yours? If we want to be technical and say the majority rules, the majority is of a religious standard, which doesnt exactly fit your basic standards i will safely assume

I don’t even swear at the footy. But if others occasionally do so be it. You carrying on like people just constantly dropping f bombs and c words ad nausium, it just doesn’t happen often enough for little girly men like you to defend. I think life has passed you by pal, you come across as an utter pussy.
A pussy isn’t someone telling a nuffie like you to stop swearing in a public place all because of a football game.

You can’t control when someone and their kid is near you? Then either you have a problem or you’re incredibly selfish.

Tell me, why do you feel the need to swear? See you’re the exact type of fan I’d point out in a wink for swearing and being boorish. I don’t need my kid listening to your vitriol. If you’re ejected from the ground, it’d work out better for everyone who understand it’s just a game.

Im not asking people to change because I am near them. Its much more selfish of a action to ask for someone to be different for their sake then it is for me to swear.

Basic standards is not a publically definable attribute. Israel Folaus basic standard is you cant be gay in public. Should we live by his basic standards or yours? If we want to be technical and say the majority rules, the majority is of a religious standard, which doesnt exactly fit your basic standards i will safely assume

No, basic standards are definable. Don’t go off on a tangent and confuse yourself. Swearing in public at a footy game isn’t acceptable.

Previously people haven’t had an issue giving an update, I mean the two posts it’s taken you to respond just shows you’re only out to be a pest.

I am kind of happy with the stereotype that as a Melbourne fan I have money. It’s netter than the stereotype a common Collingwood fan is associated with.

:)
All that private schooling and you have less wit and intelligence than a humble collingwood supporter....oh dear davey. Wait till I tell your polo buddies.
Now run along and read the story, then come back and you can be your holier than thou, ever so judgemental self... as usual.

I don’t understand why Gill is trying to put distance between the AFL and this obvious new attitude to crowd behaviour. What is wrong with the AFL taking a long overdue stand against the type of boorish, antisocial bullshit that some “fans” seem to believe is their right at an a AFL game? There are too many nimrods at AFL grounds who seem to get some kind of enjoyment out Attempting to ruin the experience for others around them by hurling expletive laden tirades against umpires, opposition players and opposition fans. As far as I’m concerned the more of these arsehsoles that are chucked out the better. Attending an AFL game does not give anyone a right to throw out the rules of the social contract we all live under. McLaughlin is in charge of an organisation that likes to position itself as an important player in pushing social change for the better. Removing patrons who’s behaviour fails to reach a reasonable persons expectation Of what is socially acceptable is part of this
Platform. It’s about time. And if some old dribbler like Joffa offers to stop going along to AFL games Gill should accept his resignation immediately before the old fool changes his mind. He won’t be missed and neither will the apparently outraged element of fans who are threatening to follow Joffas lead. Their absence ( as if it will happen ) should encourage many of those footy fans out there who have stopped attending games because of the Neanderthal like behaviour of peanut supporters, to come back. It would be a great thing indeed.

Why do others words affect you so much?
Because words mean something.

If someone started yelling "flubble bubble" all over the place nobody would care. It doesn't mean anything. If words were just random sounds of course it wouldn't matter.

But if you're yelling "youre a ****ing campaigner" at a player you've picked a set of words that are intended to make someone else feel shit. Words you know that a portion of society get offended by (whether you agree with it or not).

I don't care if people swear, I swear constantly. But at the footy when somone is swearing it's already a flag that they're a loose unit. Usually with beer in hand, another warning flag which on its own doesn't mean anything. But you start to hear the tone these things are said with, and wen you get a sniff that someone doesn't give a shit if they affect people around them you start to think that there's a chance they'll do something you don't want your kids exposed to.

That's my position. My friends swear around my kids all the time. They know I don't care. But out in a crowd it means something else.

It really isnt and it really shouldnt be in any case.

So if I pay for certain seats, it’s my responsibility to move if some loud mouthed bogan needs to mouth all game? Not ask him or her to not swear because I don’t want my kid to hear it? Instead of saying ‘no worries’ you think it’s your right to swear non stop?

All that private schooling and you have less wit and intelligence than a humble collingwood supporter....oh dear davey. Wait till I tell your polo buddies.
Now run along and read the story, then come back and you can be your holier than thou, ever so judgemental self... as usual.
Just make sure pay your rent on time :)

I don’t understand why Gill is trying to put distance between the AFL and this obvious new attitude to crowd behaviour. What is wrong with the AFL taking a long overdue stand against the type of boorish, antisocial ******** that some “fans” seem to believe is their right at an a AFL game? There are too many nimrods at AFL grounds who seem to get some kind of enjoyment out Attempting to ruin the experience for others around them by hurling expletive laden tirades against umpires, opposition players and opposition fans. As far as I’m concerned the more of these arsehsoles that are chucked out the better. Attending an AFL game does not give anyone a right to throw out the rules of the social contract we all live under. McLaughlin is in charge of an organisation that likes to position itself as an important player in pushing social change for the better. Removing patrons who’s behaviour fails to reach a reasonable persons expectation Of what is socially acceptable is part of this
Platform. It’s about time. And if some old dribbler like Joffa offers to stop going along to AFL games Gill should accept his resignation immediately before the old fool changes his mind. He won’t be missed and neither will the apparently outraged element of fans who are threatening to follow Joffas lead. Their absence ( as if it will happen ) should encourage many of those footy fans out there who have stopped attending games because of the Neanderthal like behaviour of peanut supporters, to come back. It would be a great thing indeed.
People seem to be forgetting that a month ago there was all sorts of crowd footage of a couple of brawls that involved upwards for 20 people.

So the AFL is getting proactive. Rather than wait for the brawl to happen they're trying to get in front of it. They'll probably go too far - they tend to do that, but at least they're doing SOMETHING. So much better than sending a broadcast "please don't brawl at our games"

‘A pathetic attitude’ to a girly man like you means sweet nothing to me. Did your mum dominate you as a little boy? I bet women find your genius personality so attractive

Your shit attitude is exactly what causes people to become too PC. Youre on an internet forum on sunday afternoon, youre not cooler or more manly than anyone else. Calling out bad behaviour in a crowd takes twice the man than the one dishing out the abuse. I bet when you hear the neighbours arguing and the wife screaming, you turn up the TV and have another beer?

Other people need to not enforce their standard of living on others.

If Israel Folau cant do it, why can you?
Haha!

Israel Folau. Wow. You’re really drawing a bow aren’t you?

You’re in public, when in public you’re expected to behave in a way that is deemed civil and respectable. You see that’s what kind of seperate us from the ape like cavern dwellers.

Once again, I don’t need my child listening to some loud mouthed cretin mouthing off at the top of their lungs. It’s seriously befitting of low class.

Kids have a right to come to the game and enjoy it in a happy environment, not be subjected to bogans swearing because they feel it’s their right. Stuff your rights, it’s about setting a standard.

Please don’t have kids will you?

Because words mean something.

If someone started yelling "flubble bubble" all over the place nobody would care. It doesn't mean anything. If words were just random sounds of course it wouldn't matter.

But if you're yelling "youre a ******* campaigner" at a player you've picked a set of words that are intended to make someone else feel ****. Words you know that a portion of society get offended by (whether you agree with it or not).

I don't care if people swear, I swear constantly. But at the footy when somone is swearing it's already a flag that they're a loose unit. Usually with beer in hand, another warning flag which on its own doesn't mean anything. But you start to hear the tone these things are said with, and wen you get a sniff that someone doesn't give a **** if they affect people around them you start to think that there's a chance they'll do something you don't want your kids exposed to.

That's my position. My friends swear around my kids all the time. They know I don't care. But out in a crowd it means something else.

I agree re: alcohol. Thats the problem, not words. Alot of people complaining about the words just want to protect their rights to get pissed as farts in my personal experience at games. In that ive never seen someone complain about another fan who wasnt himself 8-12 beers in

I think thats a bit of a Australia thing. If someone was yelling flubble bubble at a Barcelona game, no one would bat a eyelid. No one would even hear it and if they did it wouldnt be something they remembered or thought about at a later date.

At a AFL game words seem to matter for a fair few reasons and the main reason is another Australian thing too. Our crowds are silent and boring as bat shit. I have been to 50+ stadiums watching every sport in the world and ill safely say the AFL crowds are by far the worst. Gil is only solidifying this

Their is a reason most kids are on their parents iPhones playing games when the football is on. Their is zero engagement whatsoever during a AFL game. Never saw this in US or Europe. Cannot go to a game without seeing a kid completely ignoring the game nowadays. No socialisation and interaction does that more then my swearing

So if I pay for certain seats, it’s my responsibility to move if some loud mouthed bogan needs to mouth all game? Not ask him or her to not swear because I don’t want my kid to hear it? Instead of saying ‘no worries’ you think it’s your right to swear non stop?

Uhh yes. Go sit in the no alcohol seats.

We all know thats where the problem lies. Dont invite yourself into the location of the problem and bitch and moan. You have a second option. Take it

Haha!

Israel Folau. Wow. You’re really drawing a bow aren’t you?

You’re in public, when in public you’re expected to behave in a way that is deemed civil and respectable. You see that’s what kind of seperate us from the ape like cavern dwellers.

Once again, I don’t need my child listening to some loud mouthed cretin mouthing off at the top of their lungs. It’s seriously befitting of low class.

Kids have a right to come to the game and enjoy it in a happy environment, not be subjected to bogans swearing because they feel it’s their right. Stuff your rights, it’s about setting a standard.

Please don’t have kids will you?

Your clearly ignoring the point so im gonna keep drawing it til you try argue it.

Civil and respectable is defined by the laws of the country, not your pre conceived opinions. Law and order seperates us from apes and cavern dwellers, not demon daveys personal basic standards

Kids have rights but no one else does it seems. Once again, the world does not revolve around your children

Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud