Who is accountable for our club's catastrophic misreading of our list?

Accurate thread. Crows list is poor. Pyke has done excellent to maximise the output over his tenure.

Reckon it's now starting to catch up.

Nailing the draft this year (which is shallow) will be critical.

Forget Grundy, he's not the answer, there's far too many other holes.

For PA, it's the opposite. Great list, s**t coaching.

The Crows list has fallen now, but only a deluded Port supporter would believe that the Crows list has been poor every year under Pykes tenure.

Hey wait a minute, are you that guy who writes those flog Bay 13esque articles in The Advertiser? You know the ones that boasts about how Port are superior to Adelaide?

Now it all makes sense :thumbsu:

People saying the list is there- as premiership contenders?

Are you ******* serious?

I don’t think we’ll know where our list is while our selection philosophy is built upon experience and continuity. Forgetting Dougie and Mackay, we’ve seen JJ come back from injury twice previously and be horrific. He was as bad as any reasonable judge would expect, they just don’t learn. EH got his hands on it more last week and I expect would have again last night. A wasted opportunity to see where our list is at because we avoid playing it unless absolutely backed into a corner. Anyone thinking that those guys aren’t itching for a reason to get Sauce and Otto back into the side is kidding themselves.

Let’s get one thing straight.

Port Adelaide did not win yesterday. The Adelaide Crows lost. Massive, massive difference.

The crows players were lazy, they didn’t give a stuff and just were contrite to the contest. The crows midfield did not give a Yelp after half time and just walked around.

Congratulations on your victory but your list is very ordinary, just like the crows lack of effort yesterday. Port Adelaide might play finals but won’t go past week 1 again.
Nah their list is pretty decent. Just poorly coached.

He was very strong during the presser, lets see if the words he and Roo have used ring true.

Why would they ring true now, we’ve had plenty of capitulations and horrid performances over the last two years- we’ve had enough in this year alone!! If that hasn’t been enough to shake things up I can’t see this doing it :(

A loss like that to Port might

If you are incapable of trading IN aggressively you will never win a premiership in today's environment. Our trading IN over the last few years when our premiership window was supposedly open has been shithouse. I misread arrogance for meekness. "No worries, we will always back ourselves and our systems". What an incredibly arrogant, incompetent club.

If you are incapable of trading IN aggressively you will never win a premiership in today's environment. Our trading IN over the last few years when our premiership window was supposedly open has been s**thouse. I misread arrogance for meekness. "No worries, we will always back ourselves and our systems". What an incredibly arrogant, incompetent club.

Even though I can't stand Chris Scott one thing you can never fault with him is that he has had the guts to make tough calls on the list down at Geelong.

Guys like Stevie J, Stokes, Kelly, Pods, Menzel have all had tough calls made on them, there is no fear when it comes to moving guys on and bringing new players in via trade/free agency.

Now whether he will win another flag or not is still open for debate, but at least he is trying to do something as opposed to just sticking to the safe and conservative option like what happens down at West Lakes.

This is the wake up call we ‘needed.’ An ‘honourable’ 10 point loss would have just seen us proceed as normal. Pyke was visibly shaken up at his conference. Poor fella did not see that coming. I expect (or is that hope) to see some big calls between now and the end of the season. Please Fog, pull your finger out, and play a blinder today.

We believed our own publicity that last week against Geelong was an honourable loss.

But everyone knows there is no such thing.

Even though I can't stand Chris Scott one thing you can never fault with him is that he has had the guts to make tough calls on the list down at Geelong.

Guys like Stevie J, Stokes, Kelly, Pods, Menzel have all had tough calls made on them, there is no fear when it comes to moving guys on and bringing new players in via trade/free agency.

Now whether he will win another flag or not is still open for debate, but at least he is trying to something as opposed to just sticking the safe and conservative option like what happens down at West Lakes.

Exact same situation with Hawthorn.

It's no coincidence that those two clubs are the most successful in the last 20 years

Now whether he will win another flag or not is still open for debate, but at least he is trying to something as opposed to just sticking the safe and conservative option like what happens down at West Lakes.

Exactly. This is one of the things the Crows get so horribly wrong.
Holding on to cooked senior players for a year or two too long.
And then stifling opportunity for the younger guys to get game time.

The Burton era is full of total stuff ups including
Fitness -- what a disaster ,lucky taken out of hands and Saunders brought in.
Trading -- Carried on our poor history over last 10 years by poor or no trading to improve.
Coaching -- lost good coaches to bring in cheap as chip boys ,though Matter did deserve chance .
But the Hart selection to where proved not up to it both here and interstate to get appointed again incredibly as Fwd coach.
Only reason same as Burton getting his job as one of boys and Roo mate.
Recruiting
Unbelievable here that Hamish gets loved on this site as this area with our high picks been awful
Gallucci ---- might make it but not setting world on fire
Poholke -- Does ok but -no skill set say will be a regular AFL player and a chance to be delisted .

Fogarty --- We all thought going to be the man. But looks long way off but can only hope .
McPherson -- obviously a talent but why want another back flanker and injuries mean still not close.

We unbelievably had 3 picks under 20 when usually lucky to get 1
We went with 2 smalls ,proof will be if Jones pick was good or not but overs picked further down well in front but picking even smaller player with 2nd pick very hard to understand.
Pick 19 --- gave away to Carlton
Could we used with one of top picks to get 3 or 4. to got Rozee etc
Time will tell how pick 2 - 4 will get us

Move on or sign up
Not making hard decisions to move on or retire those that not taking club forward anymore.
Concern re players really want not signed .

Exactly. This is one of the things the Crows get so horribly wrong.
Holding on to cooked senior players for a year or two too long.
And then stifling opportunity for the younger guys to get game time.

This is precisely the premise of the thread, and its full of people claiming that the list is just fine and dandy and that the issue is a mere one of selection.

Which i think is nonsense. We've been getting list management decisions horribly wrong for years now, making moves that only made sense if we were still in a window. See: trading in Gibbs, re-signing Lynch.

They got it wrong. Plainly wrong.

This is precisely the premise of the thread, and its full of people claiming that the list is just fine and dandy and that the issue is a mere one of selection.

Which i think is nonsense. We've been getting list management decisions horribly wrong for years now, making moves that only made sense if we were still in a window. See: trading in Gibbs, re-signing Lynch.

They got it wrong. Plainly wrong.

When do we move Justin Reid on?

Who should replace him?

The Burton era is full of total stuff ups including
Fitness -- what a disaster ,lucky taken out of hands and Saunders brought in.
Trading -- Carried on our poor history over last 10 years by poor or no trading to improve.
Coaching -- lost good coaches to bring in cheap as chip boys ,though Matter did deserve chance .
But the Hart selection to where proved not up to it both here and interstate to get appointed again incredibly as Fwd coach.
Only reason same as Burton getting his job as one of boys and Roo mate.
Recruiting
Unbelievable here that Hamish gets loved on this site as this area with our high picks been awful
Gallucci ---- might make it but not setting world on fire
Poholke -- Does ok but -no skill set say will be a regular AFL player and a chance to be delisted .

Fogarty --- We all thought going to be the man. But looks long way off but can only hope .
McPherson -- obviously a talent but why want another back flanker and injuries mean still not close.

We unbelievably had 3 picks under 20 when usually lucky to get 1
We went with 2 smalls ,proof will be if Jones pick was good or not but overs picked further down well in front but picking even smaller player with 2nd pick very hard to understand.
Pick 19 --- gave away to Carlton
Could we used with one of top picks to get 3 or 4. to got Rozee etc
Time will tell how pick 2 - 4 will get us

Move on or sign up
Not making hard decisions to move on or retire those that not taking club forward anymore.
Concern re players really want not signed .
Come on signorelli was a winner

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

He was very strong during the presser, lets see if the words he and Roo have used ring true.

Were you watching/listening to the same press conference?

"It was a bad half"
"Not indicative of our form leading up to that game"
Not a mistake playing Jenkins, "he wanted to play so we backed him in"
"Pick the best 22 to give a chance to play finals."

Nothing is changing.

It was a bad half
not indicative of our form leading up to that game
no mistake playing Jenkins
Pick the best 22 to give a chance to play finals.

Nothing is changing.
Called us embarrassing. That's pretty strong

"It was a bad half"
"Not indicative of our form leading up to that game"
Not a mistake playing Jenkins, "he wanted to play so we backed him in"
"Pick the best 22 to give a chance to play finals."

Nothing is changing.

Forgetting about the argument as to what would have been our best 22 last night, how the * can they back JJ in after injury. How many times do they need to repeat the same mistake before they learn? It’s ******* unbelievable, bordering on deliberate tanking. They cannot be that ******* stupid.