The state of the Giants and Suns

What a surprise since Carlton lost their first round pick to crows typical blue bagel so transperant

Wow, nothing gets by you.

Question: Can a blue bagel really be transparent?

Pick 5 that can only be traded to another team during trade week so we can get a 25-28 year old. If we dont get anyone we forfeit pick 5 and it converts to pick 10

Don't renegotiate. It's Pick 2 or nothing.

Oct 8, 2009
Brisbane lions recieved a Priority pick that they eventually used to secure Charlie Cameron who is their leading Goalkicker this year.

Gold Coast need help.
We didn’t get one last year and won’t this year.

Absolute joke if Gold Coast get one. Not just from a Carlton perspective either. The Crows traded with us no doubt thinking or hoping we’d finish bottom. At the moment it’s looking like we’re headed for 17th or 18th. Totally unfair to the Crows and undermines the integrity of future pick trades if the AFL decides they’ll just hand out extra picks when they see fit

MemoryLane

Jul 8, 2019
As much as I hate Carlton (until we stop bloody trading with them and then it's totally cool if they wanna do a Brisbane and rocket into finals) you can't compare Carlton to Gold Coast just based off wins and losses. Carlton could've gone another 5 years as a basket case and they would still get their members re-signing and crowds turning up.

Gold Coast don't have that luxury. They need to make finals soon or it's bust.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
We have been worse than the Suns for over 2 years now on a Win/Loss record alone and have not been given one so why should they?

2017 Suns 6 wins / Carlton 6 wins.

2018 Suns 4 wins / Carlton 2 wins.

2019 Currently Suns 3 wins / Carlton 3 wins.

No harm in asking but if we don't get one surely the Suns wont.

Harsh judgement on mismanagement eh, Blues do it for NO reward, Melbourne got hel[, now the Gold Coast need help.

Not completely against the idea - however it should be akin to the picks GWS got where they could trade it for mature talent.

So give GC a pick behind whatever pick they get - however they have to trade it for players and they can't get in return any pick under pick 10.

Their issue is player retention - getting a 24 year old up there 5 years is better than a pick 1 who may not make it to year 3.

Nov 10, 2013
The Valley near the Alley
Gold Coast
Hell no
Need multiple, but also need to go after a strong leader as Brisbane did with Hodge.
Yep we do. Maybe we will get roughhead to come up and play fwd for a year (and take the better defender) allowing our young blokes some time to get stronger and experienced

Jul 14, 2005
Chelsea FC
The difference between Carlton and Gold Coast is Gold Coast lose talented first round draft picks on a yearly basis.

If any club is entitled to early selections it is them, and at absolute least they’ll receive compensation (albeit almost always unders) for those players if they decide to leave after their initial contract. They’re also generally better players than second chance solution state leaguers, who occupy a spot until they’re delisted.

We have been worse than the Suns for over 2 years now on a Win/Loss record alone and have not been given one so why should they?

2017 Suns 6 wins / Carlton 6 wins.

2018 Suns 4 wins / Carlton 2 wins.

2019 Currently Suns 3 wins / Carlton 3 wins.

No harm in asking but if we don't get one surely the Suns wont.

I think the answer is one of existence.

Carlton are s**t for another 10 years - you are still around.

GC are s**t for another 10 years and they are a memory

Even rugby league clubs eventually die on the Gold Coast and how the AFL thought this was a smart decision baffles me.

It is a holiday destination mostly for tourists and majority of the residents do not make up enough numbers needed to support any sort of local team finacially. Give a team to Tassie they can call their own as they are way more passionate about AFL.

It has been a failed experiment and for the few thousand faithful that turn up and support their team it is a sad state of affairs but they will never have a true presence and the NRL experiments on the Gold Coast also reflect this.

wagstaff

Nov 28, 2001
The Sea of Holes
Melbourne Stars, Arsenal
whilst they continue to portray themselves as a basketcase that can't get out of their rut they'll continue the churn of young blokes coming in and leaving, without being able to recruit

The lions did the same thing for years until Fagan came in and changed all that, going cap in hand solves nothing
100% this. Leppitsch has been great as a coaching assistant at Richmond but he was way out of his depth as Lions head coach as some of his public comments were embarrassing, displaying a constantly demoralised 'woe is us' mindset publicly. If you think your club is a basketcase, then you'll play like one too. Impressive how quickly they've turned it around under Fagan.

As for Cochrane, he always seems to get praised on here because he 'speaks his mind' and is 'passionate' but he's been running the club for several seasons now (and even longer on the board) and the club is in as bad a state as ever. His justifications for getting a priority pick were dispiriting for club fans I reckon.

Kappa

Oct 7, 2014
Even rugby league clubs eventually die on the Gold Coast and how the AFL thought this was a smart decision baffles me.

It is a holiday destination mostly for tourists and majority of the residents do not make up enough numbers needed to support any sort of local team. Give a team to Tassie they can call their own as they are way more passionate about AFL.

It has been a failed experiment and for the few thousand faithful that turn up and support their team it is a sad state of affairs but they will never have a true presence and the NRL experiments on the Gold Coast also reflect this.

Why is it a failed experiment? crowds have been pretty solid considering the struggling team, memberships and ratings are good, they help the AFL expand into Queensland, so why on earth are they a failure? They won't struggle on field forever.

Mar 11, 2018
What about re-branding GC?

The orange and yellow, the name 'suns' - it's just all very tacky and lame.

It’s no worse than Freo being called a ridiculous name like the Dockers.

25 years later and you couldn’t imagine them being called anything else. And the freo fans love their club.

Rebranding the Suns jumper will happen eventually just as Freo got rid of their original mess of a thing and simplified it.

Giants is a great name for a footy club.

The GWS moniker is stupid and it too one day will have to be changed something else.

But #### knows what else they could call it. There’s not too many opinions really. Hence why it’s the best the idiots at AFL house could come up with.

caspian

Jan 6, 2019
I can see the lack of intensity being a big plus point though, for some types anyway. Be nice to be out in public and not get recognised, to not get a smartphone shoved in your face if you've had one too many drinks, to not have some idiot heckling you when you're doing your shopping etc etc.

caspian

Jan 6, 2019
25 years later and you couldn’t imagine them being called anything else. And the freo fans love their club.

It's a bad comparison though. Fremantle has a lot of historical connection, the giants and suns have none.

Why is it a failed experiment? crowds have been pretty solid considering the struggling team, memberships and ratings are good, they help the AFL expand into Queensland, so why on earth are they a failure? They won't struggle on field forever.

Depends what you call " Pretty solid " and the thought they wont struggle forever.

I disagree with both and couple with that with the fact players do not want to play there and the retention rate of keeping them is at disaster levels currently for whatever reasons and this is another debate all together.

Each to their own though but the failed NRL experiments ( In a Rugby mad state ) give you pretty telling lessons of professional sports teams that are/have been located there.

It is sadly a graveyard for teams.

wagstaff

Nov 28, 2001
The Sea of Holes
Melbourne Stars, Arsenal
If nothing else, this public plea guarantees the Suns will be tanking the rest of the season. With this mindset now, they would be desperate to ensure they finish bottom to justify their case and that means losing to the Blues when they play them in a few weeks.

Jul 6, 2017
A much better option would be the AFL offering to pay for example 2 senior players (ie a Tex Walker, Daniel Talia for example type player - or any equivelent aged players who are still able to play at a good level and mentor on field) outside the salary cap in an ambassadorial role big money to head up to the GC and be immediate on field help. The clubs losing the players should then receive compensation as for restricted free agency. Another kid - even taken at pick 1, is very unlikely to turn the on field performance around next year or maybe the year after - it is not the answer and the Suns and the AFL should know this already