Past #5: Ben Jacobs - delisted after 64 NM games/10 NM goals - thanks Benny

Sep 21, 2008
Vic
https://www.nmfc.com.au/news/2019-0...pay9UO_i9fZiSfAX98fKIpVecWlaQDJ520tA1Y-p49wF8

Ben Jacobs will sit out the remainder of the season, allowing him time to overcome ongoing health issues.

The midfielder will be given the rest of the year to get his body right with the aim of being back for the start of the 2020 pre-season.

Jacobs explained his symptoms began as a result of a “whiplash” incident against Brisbane in Round 11 last season, and since then he has suffered from neck pain, headaches, blocked ears and pressure in his head.

“We treated it like a concussion for the first four or five weeks … [then] I had a sinus operation … and I burnt a nerve off in my neck," Jacobs said.

“It could be an accumulation of a lot of things."

No real update or confirmation on what his injury actually is... A real shame would've played a huge role in us making finals this year had he been available.

Get well soon Ben, hopefully we'll see you in a north jumper round 1 2020.

I reckon jam a few grams of quality Colombian up there and that'll give him confidence back in his body.

For about 45 minutes, but its a start.

Feb 11, 2013
I reckon jam a few grams of quality Colombian up there and that'll give him confidence back in his body.

For about 45 minutes, but its a start.
Just sit a ounce down in front of him and tell him to finish the bag.
After that one’s done, give him another one, until he either can’t feel his face or the blockage is completely gone.

If he’s having trouble finishing it, just give Lukey Mac a call.. I’m sure he’ll be able to help.

Apr 24, 2011
Greek Islands
If he isn't ready to go at the start of pre season then pay him out and let him go. Maybe he is just simply stuffed and not worth the risk and persevering with anymore. s**t happens. Half a dozen games the past 2-3 years at a total outlay of $1million+ is a fair and reasonable gamble we've made. List spots are valuable. The club needs to move on from players who are in a perpetual cycle of constant non availability.

Jan 23, 2019
He's confident he can get back, but yeah he's moving into D Wells territory.

We're not being hurt keeping him and I'm sure if there's little chance of him playing again he'll get moved on. There's a new sheriff in town as you'd all know.

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
He's confident he can get back.......

He's wants another contract.

I hope the club are VERY meticulous about his condition this time next year. We can't afford to be flakey about his position with half the list coming out of contract and a few youngsters in line for a renewal. I'd want a solid run of AFL output before he's even considered.

Nov 14, 2012
Gold Coast
Doutta "Porn" Stars
I'm outraged by this Benny J dilemma. The only time I was more outraged was when one of my 212 mates walked into my house, looked straight at my Grandma (who is of Polish descent) and yelled, "Hi Hitler!!!" I proceeded to place my mate in a Figure-4 Leg-Lock until he submitted. And as they say, the rest is a mystery.

Sep 11, 2014
He's confident he can get back, but yeah he's moving into D Wells territory.

We're not being hurt keeping him and I'm sure if there's little chance of him playing again he'll get moved on. There's a new sheriff in town as you'd all know.

Not heaps relevant to Wells, but definitely injury prone and his foot injury history for sure. Wells had heaps of soft tissue injuries where Jacobs hasn’t. Jacobs was fitter too imo

He should be given one more chance or a shot at a pre-season and that’s it

People are quick to forget how good he is due to the time he’s had away. His stats before he got injured were elite and no one can deny the fact that when he played we most likely won than lost

We can’t just get rid of a player like that regardless of the history. We would be silly to think that the man himself hasn’t been trying absolutely everything in his power to get back to playing, if his history is anything to go by he is one mentally strong f*****!

Come on Jacobs! North needs you

Themanbun

Apr 19, 2019
If he's confident of getting back for pre-season, then I suspect they may have found a medication which is addressing some of his neurological issues and are just not willing to introduce a new stimulus (training, playing) yet.

I'd persist. it's a year and one month since he last played for us (Ahern spent a longer stint on our list without playing than Jacobs has and has added more to our midfield consistently than Ahern so far. This isn't a pot at Ahern just pointing out that we were patient with Paul on account of his talent and we should be patient with Jacobs).
He is clearly best 22 when healthy. Potentially top 10 for us.
Persist.
At least for 2020.