SEASON 2022 AFLW PLAYER LISTING AND BIOS.

1629437457139.png

1642055144583.png

New in 2021/2022
Jess Hosking (Trade - Carlton)
Maddy Shevlin (Trade - Collingwood)
Poppy Kelly (Trade - St Kilda)
Stella Reid (National Draft #5))
Emelia Yassar (National Draft #16)
Meagan Kiely (National Draft #48)
Ingrid Houtsma (National Draft #50)
Bethany Lynch (Replacement - Ilish Ross)
Meg MacDonald (Replacement - Hannah McLaren)

Departures from 2021
Sabrina Frederick (Trade - Collingwood)
Alice Edmonds - (Delisted)
Emily Harley - (Delisted)
Luka Lesosky-Hay - (Delisted)
Cleo Saxon-Jones (Delisted)
Holly Whitford - (Delisted)
Phoebe Monahan - (Delisted)
Alana Woodward - (Delisted)

PLAYER BIOS from RFC

1. Sophie Molan

TALL MIDFIELDER
175cm

With Pick No.7 at the 2019 NAB AFLW Draft, Sophie Molan became the first draft selection in Richmond’s AFLW history. Molan is a tough, reliable and consistent midfielder who can take a strong overhead mark. In 2019, she captained the GWV Rebels, played in a VFLW Grand Final and was an All Australian. With elite ball-winning skills and the height to play any position on the ground, Molan will be a versatile option for the Tigers in 2020. The Ballarat product averaged 16 disposals, 10 contested, 2.8 clearances and 5.2 tackles a game throughout the 2019 NAB AFLW Under-18 Championships.

3. Katie Brennan
MIDFIELDER/KEY FORWARD
174cm

Richmond’s inaugural AFLW signing is set for a big 2020 in the Yellow and Black. Brennan has previously been utilized as a key forward by the Western Bulldogs where she was the leading goalkicker in 2019, but is set for midfield time at her new club. The original AFLW marquee player had an outstanding 2019 winter, averaging 21 disposals and four tackles a game for the Tigers’ VFLW team. Brennan has previously won the VFLW league best and fairest and goal kicking awards, as well as multiple premierships at Darebin. Brennan is one of the best players in the AFLW and an excellent leader. She has made a smooth transition to the Swinburne Centre and will look to have a huge impact this season.

4. Monique Conti
MIDFIELDER
165cm

One of Richmond’s major expansion signings, Conti is set to excite Richmond fans for many years to come. The explosive midfielder, with elite skills and ball-winning ability won the Tigers’ best and fairest in the VFLW this winter, despite playing just seven games. The 20-year-old cross-code star is already one of the most accomplished players in the AFLW, having won a premiership and a best and fairest at the Western Bulldogs. Conti was also awarded best on ground in the Bulldogs’ 2018 Grand Final win and she was an All Australian in 2019. Conti was taken by the Western Bulldogs with selection No. 4 overall at the 2017 NAB AFLW Draft.

5. Maddy Brancatisano
FORWARD/MIDFIELDER
169cm

A developing young midfielder with genuine leg speed and elite hands in tight. Brancatisano was drafted by Melbourne with pick No. 15 in the 2018 NAB AFLW Draft. She moved to Richmond as an expansion signing having not yet played a game for the Demons. The former basketballer is highly touted at the Tigers, having caught their attention in the NAB League where she was captain of the Northern Knights. Brancatisano has enormous potential and will be a strong chance for a Round 1 AFLW debut.

6. Christina Bernardi
MEDIUM FORWARD
167cm

Bernardi is an All Australian forward that has averaged close to a goal a game across her AFLW career. She was originally drafted by Collingwood with one of the last picks (No. 132) in the inaugural NAB AFLW Draft, having previously played for the RMIT Redbacks and Diamond Creek. The school teacher also spent a season at Greater Western Sydney, where she was one of their most consistent performers. Bernardi signed a two-year deal at Richmond as an expansion signing, having previously played with the Club’s VFLW team. The 29-year-old has a passion for coaching and completed an internship working alongside coaches in Richmond’s AFL program as part of a scholarship with the AFLCA. Bernardi is a Level 2 Accredited Coach.

7. Sarah Hosking
MIDFIELDER
164cm

Hosking is an experienced midfielder that was recruited to Tigerland with all 30 off Carlton’s AFLW games to her name, having not missed a match since the inaugural AFLW game in 2017. Known for her contested ability and willingness to put her head over the ball, Hosking will bring a hard-edge and experience to the young Richmond lineup.

8. Courtney Wakefield
KEY FORWARD
180cm

High marking forward with a reliable set-shot at goal, Wakefield is one of the AFLW’s great success stories. The mother of two played football as a kid before a lack of pathways and competition forced her to netball where she was a country star for Gol Gol, a small town North of Mildura. The 32-year-old would make the weekly 1200km round-trip from her family’s farm at Top Hut, which is the size of 25,000 MCG grounds, to Melbourne during the VFLW season. Now temporarily in Melbourne full-time and training in a semi-professional environment, the sky will be the limit for Wakefield ,who was already a strong performer at VFLW level. Wakefield was terrific in the Tigers’ VFLW final this season, taking six marks and kicking 2.3.

9. Hannah Burchell
WING/OUTSIDE MIDFIELDER
170cm

Signed at Richmond as a delisted free agent after spending the 2019 AFLW season at Geelong, where she made her debut in Round 7. Burchell, who is a lifelong Tigers supporter is known for her speed, excellent kicking and two-way running. She brings great energy to the team both on and off the field and has been a welcome addition to the Richmond Women’s program despite having an injury curtailed VFLW campaign. Burchell works as a school nurse.

10. Kodi Jacques
MIDFIELDER
165cm

Jacques is a silky-skilled midfielder known for her work rate and defensive pressure. She was signed to the Tigers’ AFLW side as an Academy player after joining the VFLW program in 2019. The 19-year-old was a strong performer in the VFLW, where she averaged 10 disposals and five tackles a game. Jacques brought her now AFLW teammate Grace Campbell to a Talent ID Day in Bendigo, ultimately paving the way for her recruitment to Richmond.

11. Jess Hosking
MIDFIELDER
164cm

Jess Hosking became a Tiger on the final day of the 2021 AFLW Sign and Trade Period from Carlton, joining her identical twin sister Sarah at the Club. The tenacious utility has 30 games of AFLW experience to her name. She played every game for the Blues in 2021, averaging 13 disposals and three tackles per game across various roles around the ground, including time in defence where she provided run from half-back. The 25-year-old natural leader has big-game experience, having played in the record-breaking 2019 AFLW Grand Final played in front of 53,000 people at Adelaide Oval.

12. Sarah D'Arcy
KEY FORWARD
171cm

D’Arcy was recruited to Richmond from Collingwood in the 2020 sign and trade period to bolster the Tigers defence. D’Arcy is a strong defender with excellent aerial ability and football nous, she arrives at Tigerland with four years of AFLW experience. D’Arcy is a life-long Richmond supporter and relative of Tiger legend Jack Titus.

14. Poppy Kelly
RUCK
184cm

Exciting ruck Poppy Kelly was recruited to Richmond from St Kilda during the 2021 Sign and Trade Period. At 184cm, Kelly has enjoyed a rapid rise up the football ranks since being promoted to the Saints inaugural AFLW list as a rookie with just a handful of VFLW games to her name. With six AFLW games to her name, the former basketballer, she has athletic prowess and natural skills. Being relatively new to the sport, Richmond sees plenty of upside in her and are excited for her to continue developing at Tigerland.

15. Rebecca Miller
KEY DEFENDER
184cm

After moving to Melbourne from Sydney to join the Tigers’ VFLW squad, Miller quickly became one of the competition’s premier key defenders. Despite standing at 184cm, Miller is very nimble and athletic. She showed her versatility by effectively making the move to defence this season, having previously played in the ruck for Western Wolves in the Women’s AFL Sydney competition. Miller works in communications and marketing.

16. Laura McClelland
UTILITY
172cm

McClelland is an aerialist capable of playing at either end of the ground. The U/18 All Australian was taken by Richmond with its second selection at the 2019 NAB AFLW Draft (Pick No. 25 overall) and was the Eastern Ranges NAB League captain. The left-footer impressed Richmond recruiters with her strong work ethic throughout the 2019 season, which was hampered by repeat tonsillitis. McClelland’s versatility and marking ability will be a great asset for Richmond in 2020.

17. Sarah Dargan
MIDFIELDER
164cm

Dargan, 21, played 14 games for Collingwood across three seasons after being taken by the Magpies with pick No. 20 in the 2017 draft. The young gun, who received a Rising Star nomination in Round 4, 2019, has an impressive goal sense and damaging left-foot kick. The emerging midfielder was traded to Richmond in the 2020 sign and trade period and will relish different playing opportunities at Tigerland.

18. Sarah Sansonetti
DEFENDER
172cm

Sansonetti is a rangy defender from the Northern Knights, taken by the Tigers with their fourth selection (No. 40 overall) at the 2019 NAB AFLW Draft. While excellent defensively and capable of playing on both talls and smalls, Sansonetti also reads the play well and can intercept, rebound and launch an attack. Sansonetti was a strong performer for Vic Metro at the 2019 NAB AFLW Under 18 Championships.

19. Kate Dempsey
MIDFIELDER/DEFENDER
160cm

Small in stature but big in energy and personality, Dempsey brings a wide skill set to the Richmond team. The 160cm midfielder/defender was rewarded for two consistent years playing for Richmond VFLW when she was pre-selected (No.85 overall) by the Club as an Academy player for the 2019 NAB AFLW Draft. Dempsey has excellent foot skills and can read the play well and take intercept marks. The talented sportswoman also opened the batting for Victoria at junior level and is a qualified psychologist.

21. Iilish Ross
DEFENDER
169cm

Ross, a left footed rebounding defender, crossed over to Richmond from Collingwood as an expansion signing during the 2019 AFLW Sign and Trade Period. The former Murray Bushranger played 11 of a possible 14 games at the Magpies after being taken with selection No.13 overall at the 2017 NAB AFLW Draft. Ross is a former Australian junior motocross champion. She eventually gave up the sport following a broken neck at the Victorian Championships in 2014.

22. Ellie McKenzie
MIDFIELDER
176cm

Ellie McKenzie was selected by Richmond with pick one in the 2020 NAB AFL Women’s Draft. At 176cm, McKenzie is a powerful athlete that can play as a forward or midfielder. She has explosive speed, is an excellent stoppage player, and has a long penetrating left-foot kick. McKenzie was a standout in the Knights’ 2019 NAB League Girls premiership team as a bottom-age player, playing alongside now Richmond teammate Sarah Sansonetti. The exciting youngster had also made a prolific start to the 2020 campaign for the Knights, averaging 19 disposals, 4.7 inside 50s and five marks before the season was shut down due to COVID-19.

23. Harriet Cordner
DEFENDER
176cm

Cordner, the granddaughter of Brownlow medalist Don Cordner, was recruited by Melbourne as a Category B rookie ahead of the maiden AFLW season. The 28-year-old is strong aerially and has ability to play multiple roles, in defence or in the ruck. Cordner was a pillar of the Demons defence across 25 games before crossing to the Tigers in 2020 sign and trade period.

24. Tayla Stahl
FORWARD
164cm

Stahl’s stunning rise to the AFLW was the result of a goalkicking run for Bass Coast that included 67 majors from just 15 games. A former state-level netballer, Stahl was recruited to Richmond’s VFLW program in 2019. Quick, clean and evasive, she starred on debut with six goals in the VFLW Tigers’ Round 1 win over Darebin. Across 14 games, the 24-year old booted 19 goals in 2019, which awarded her second place in the league’s goal kicking tally. Stahl works in warehouse and logistics.

25. Stella Reid
UTILITY
173cm

Stella Reid was selected by Richmond with their first pick (No. 5) at the 2021 NAB AFL Women's Draft. The former Oakleigh Chargers vice-captain has a classy left-foot kick, high football I.Q, and a strong overhead mark. An U/19 All Australian, the midfielder/forward showed an ability to perform in big games with a standout three-goal performance in the NAB League Grand Final. The 18-year-old, who stands at 173cm, has displayed versatility in her game by playing forward, back, through the midfield, and on the wing in recent years. Reid was also a distinguished junior cricketer and hockey player, representing her state in both sports. She is the niece of former Sydney and Geelong player Simon Arnott.

27. Emelia Yassar
MiDFIELDER
160cm

Emelia Yassir was selected by the Tigers with pick No. 16 in the 2021 AFLW Draft. The dangerous forward/midfielder, 160cm, is a fierce competitor who brings elite foot skills, footy smarts and defensive pressure. The 18-year-old Calder Cannons product, who also represented Victoria Metro in the 2021 National Championships, averaged 17 disposals, including 11 contested, and four tackles per game in the 2021 NAB League.

28. Gabrielle Seymour
UTILITY
175cm

The rookie-listed utility produced a stunning VFLW debut in Round 6 for the Tigers, which included 18 disposals and 32 hit-outs. The following month, she was elevated to Richmond’s inaugural AFLW side as the team’s first rookie, just months after learning how to kick a football. Playing mostly in the ruck, Seymour continued to impress throughout the VFLW season, averaging nine disposals, 20-hits outs and four tackles a game. The 23-year-old, who works as a physiotherapist, brings elite aerial ability from her past as an Australian junior volleyball representative.

29. Hannah McLaren
DEFENDER
Richmond VFLW/Oakleigh Charges/Old Xaverians/Surrey Park
176cm

McLaren joined Richmond’s AFLW list late in the 2021 pre-season as a replacement player. The hardworking defender is yet to feature at senior level but has impressed at VFLW level for Port Melbourne and on the training track. McLaren will hope to make her AFLW debut in 2021/22 after being named an emergency last season.

31. Meagan Kiely
MIDFIELDER
168cm

Meagan Kiely was selected by Richmond with pick No. 48 in the 2021 AFLW Draft. The 26-year old mature-age recruit from Tasmania was a train-on player at both GWS and North Melbourne, before finally making it onto an AFLW list with the Tigers. The former North Melbourne VFLW captain, who won the Kangaroo's 2021 VFLW Best & Fairest award, is an excellent decision-maker with a strong overhead mark and a handy kick. The talented midfielder is also a physiotherapist by trade.

31. Bethany Lynch
DEFENDER
173cm

Formerly a netballer, Lynch started her football career with Richmond's VFLW side, before being signed to North Melbourne as an AFLW rookie in 2018.
The defender played eight games over three years, finding it tough to consistently break into the powerful Roos line-up, before her delisting at the end of the 2021 season.
Lynch has been a train-on player for Richmond this pre-season, and was a late call-up for the practice match loss to Geelong.

34. Akec Makur Chuot
DEFENDER
178cm

Known for her elite athleticism and long kicking, the rebounding defender brings impressive dash off half-back. Joining Richmond’s VFLW program in 2019 after crossing over from Carlton VFLW, Chuot was elevated to the Tigers’ AFLW list in July. In her 14 VFLW appearances in 2019, she averaged 11 disposals, three marks and two tackles per game. Born in South Sudan, Chuot spent nine years of her childhood in Kakuma, a Kenyan refugee camp, before arriving in Australia at the age of 12. A Multicultural Development Officer at AFL Victoria, Chuot will look to add to the six AFLW games she played with Fremantle in 2017.

35. Maddy Shevlin
DEFENDER/WING
174cm

Maddie Shevlin became a Tiger during the 2021 AFLW Sign and Trade period. At 174cm, the former Magpie is versatile and can be used in a range of positions. The 23-year-old has been earmarked for a role across half-back at the Tigers, where she can use her class and foot skills to set up the ground. Shevlin played 13 games for Collingwood across three seasons after crossing from Melbourne, where she spent 2018. The former OzTag player is quick and athletic and will add dash to Richmond's line-up.

36. Ingrid Houtsma
WING
176cm

Ingrid Houtsma was selected by the Tigers with pick No. 50 at the 2021 NAB AFLW Draft. The Geelong Falcons product is a tall-winger known for her long kick and ability to run and carry. She played eight games for the Falcons in 2021, averaging 12 disposals and four tackles per game, while also appearing for Victoria Country at the U/19 Championships. The 176cm talent comes with significant upside.

37. Tessa Lavey
FORWARD
171cm

Richmond selected 28-year-old Australian basketballer Lavey, with selection No.43 overall (29 Victorian) at the 2020 NAB AFL Women’s Draft. The former Australian Institute of Sport scholarship holder became available for the 2021 AFLW season after the postponement of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and the likelihood of a condensed 2020/21 WNBL season. The two-time Olympian and Commonwealth Games gold medalist showed she also has a long football career ahead of her, with six outstanding games playing on the wing in her debut AFLW season. Lavey has enormous potential with her speed, athleticism, and foot skills, making her a special talent.

38. Meg Macdonald
MIDFIELDER/DEFENDER
172cm

Macdonald, 23, ended the most recent VFLW season in strong form, averaging 16 disposals and eight tackles per game across her final five matches after being moved into the midfield from defence.
Richmond AFLW Recruiting Manager Trent Mosbey said Macdonald was a great story of perseverance, hard work and determination.
"Meg typifies the type of character we are looking for at the Tigers," he said.
"She finished last year strongly and won the Casey Demons Trademarks and Values Award for the way she prepares and goes about her football on and off the field.
"What caught our attention was Meg's ability to exit the stoppage with her power. She has good speed, explosiveness, excellent intensity, and contested ball-winning ability.
"We also highly regard her tackling, physicality and aggression at her opponents and ability to play in defence on different sized opponents.

all done mate.

this is fantastic, really appreciate the work you are putting into this!

Thanks. The girls deserve a bit of coverage. They are really doing RFC proud. :)

It's a good exercise to start to put the pieces in the jigsaw together and see what sort of side we have and where the gaps are.

I expect this team to change a lot but we have to start somewhere. A couple of points:
  • I think Seymour is good enough to actually be in the 18 but she has excelled in the ruck but I think we may run with a Edmonds/Frederick ruck combo. I'd like to see more games just to see where she fits so she has been "parked" for the moment.
  • I've put Bernardi and Stahl on the half forward line but they can also play deep. I must admit I like them running around across half forward and using their footy smarts. I'd be tempted to try Stahl as a mid.
  • I wouldn't recruit any more forwards given what we have already and gaps can be taken up by resting midfielders.
  • We need to find some defenders not just because we have holes but also (1) Monahan can be added to the midfield mix and (2) Akec can be moved to a back flank or even on a wing so she can use her damaging running ability. She can't do that as much at CHB but we know both her and Phoebe can hold down positions in our back half so that's where we have them at the moment. I think Miller can be our Dylan Grimes of our women's side.
  • Conti picks herself in the middle and pushes Maddy to a wing with Hannah on the other wing.
  • Edmonds, Brennan and Campbell midfield also picks itself. Brennan is a great forward but she came to Richmond wanting to play in the midfield so that's where I've put her.
  • Looking forward to the draft and intake of U18's making a big difference to the team. Prespakis or Morrison types would do quite nicely.

I'd be interested to hear what others think.

It's a good exercise to start to put the pieces in the jigsaw together and see what sort of side we have and where the gaps are.

View attachment 717369
I expect this team to change a lot but we have to start somewhere. A couple of points:
  • I think Seymour is good enough to actually be in the 18 but she has excelled in the ruck but I think we may run with a Edmonds/Frederick ruck combo. I'd like to see more games just to see where she fits so she has been "parked" for the moment.
  • I've put Bernardi and Stahl on the half forward line but they can also play deep. I must admit I like them running around across half forward and using their footy smarts. I'd be tempted to try Stahl as a mid.
  • I wouldn't recruit any more forwards given what we have already and gaps can be taken up by resting midfielders.
  • We need to find some defenders not just because we have holes but also (1) Monahan can be added to the midfield mix and (2) Akec can be moved to a back flank or even on a wing so she can use her damaging running ability. She can't do that as much at CHB but we know both her and Phoebe can hold down positions in our back half so that's where we have them at the moment. I think Miller can be our Dylan Grimes of our women's side.
  • Conti picks herself in the middle and pushes Maddy to a wing with Hannah on the other wing.
  • Edmonds, Brennan and Campbell midfield also picks itself. Brennan is a great forward but she came to Richmond wanting to play in the midfield so that's where I've put her.
  • Looking forward to the draft and intake of U18's making a big difference to the team. Prespakis or Morrison types would do quite nicely.

Fantastic write up as usual TigermanM2
Yeah I have near identical team as you (positions as well), I've got Laura Baily in the forward line as she has been playing well with Stahl
Lisa Davie and maybe Kate Dempsey down back in defence
Getting harder to pick the last few let me tell you!!! :) 👍

Fantastic write up as usual TigermanM2
Yeah I have near identical team as you (positions as well), I've got Laura Baily in the forward line as she has been playing well with Stahl
Lisa Davie and maybe Kate Dempsey down back in defence
Getting harder to pick the last few let me tell you!!! :) 👍

Yep I’d have those players right in the mix.

View attachment 717369

With the draft we've got pick 7 in the first round
In no particular order, these local players look to be the best around our first pick
Lucy McEvoy 13/05/2001 172cm Geelong Falcons/VIC COUNTRY
Would have finished fairly high in the voting for overall player of the championships. The strong Country product played across all three lines but spent most of her time in the midfield. A natural kick, McEvoy has an innate ability to lay a tackle, block or fire out a handball to a player in space.
Nell Morris-Dalton 5/04/2001 176cm Northern Knights/VIC METRO
The powerful forward seems to play taller than her height of 176 centimetres, and continually raised the eyebrows of recruiters watching on with her agility at ground level. Morris-Dalton is an excellent mark and top-scored for Metro with six goals over its four games. Also demonstrated an impressive "don't argue".
Gabby Newton 31/08/2001 175cm Northern Knights/VIC METRO
Rotated through the wing and the middle over the week but was equally adept leading out of forward 50. Newton has elite disposal and makes the right decisions at the right time. Is a very good mark overhead and has good agility for her height.

Bulldogs have pick 1 = Georgia Patrikios
Carlton have pick 2 = Mia King/Lucy McEvoy/Sophie Molan (midfielder to replace Brianna Davey)
Brisbane have pick 3 = Queensland player
GWS have pick 4 = NSW/ACT player
St Kilda have pick 5 = not sure what they would be looking for?
Bulldogs have pick 6 = Isabella Grant (daughter of Chris)

In no particular order, these local players look to be the best around our first pick
Would have finished fairly high in the voting for overall player of the championships. The strong Country product played across all three lines but spent most of her time in the midfield. A natural kick, McEvoy has an innate ability to lay a tackle, block or fire out a handball to a player in space.
The powerful forward seems to play taller than her height of 176 centimetres, and continually raised the eyebrows of recruiters watching on with her agility at ground level. Morris-Dalton is an excellent mark and top-scored for Metro with six goals over its four games. Also demonstrated an impressive "don't argue".
Rotated through the wing and the middle over the week but was equally adept leading out of forward 50. Newton has elite disposal and makes the right decisions at the right time. Is a very good mark overhead and has good agility for her height.

Carlton have pick 2 = Mia King/Lucy McEvoy/Sophie Molan (midfielder to replace Brianna Davey)

Lucy McEvoy (cousin of Ben McEvoy) - Wouldn't it be outstanding if the Geelong Falcons premiership captain, All Australian Captain, duel best and fairest, MVP slipped to 7 and we picked her up ahead of Geelong who don't get a pick until 11.

Not totally up to speed with U18 but it seems this girl can play.

Lucy McEvoy (cousin of Ben McEvoy) - Wouldn't it be outstanding if the Geelong Falcons premiership captain, All Australian Captain, duel best and fairest, MVP slipped to 7 and we picked her up ahead of Geelong who don't get a pick until 11.

Not totally up to speed with U18 but it seems this girl can play.

Yep Lucy McEvoy
can play, very good by hand or foot and would be right in the mix with our pick
Has had a great season, with plenty of accolades

Been studying the draft and possible scenarios with the first round selections

Bulldogs with the No1 pick will select Georgia Patrikios, U/18 MVP in the championships and all Australian

Carlton with the No2 pick will select Lucy McEvoy/Sophie Molan/Mia King/Britney Gutkneckt all midfielders to replace Brianna Davey

I assume it will be Lucy McEvoy All Australian Captain, duel best and fairest,

I assume they'll use their No13 pick on Britney Gutkneckt who is in their VFLW squad

St Kilda with the No5 pick will select who ever Carlton don't either Sophie Molan/Mia King(all mids) or best available for their needs

I assume it will be Mia King MVP for Tassie

Bulldogs with the No6 pick will select Sophie Molan/Nell Morris-Dalton/Gabby Newton(mids/fwds) or Cleo Saxon-Jones(Ruck/fwd)
As the Bulldogs have picks No8 and No9

I assume it will be Sophie Molan(mid) who is playing in their VFLW side at the moment
A tall utility type who can play anywhere and was in the top 5 players in the championships and all Australian

Now comes Richmond's No7 pick

I assume it will be best available rather than a need(we need defenders)
So the players that would/should be left around at our pick are
Nell Morris-Dalton/Gabby Newton all mids/fwd types or Laura McClelland(Tall def/fwd) or Cleo Saxon-Jones(Ruck/fwd)

We don't really need
Cleo Saxon-Jones(Ruck/fwd), we have Alice Edmonds and Gabby Seymour and Sabrina Fredricks
We don't really need a Nell Morris-Dalton type who plays a Tayla Stahl type role of a strong Fwd

Laura McClelland would be a chance as a tall defender but I think we'll look at her with our No25 pick
so my assumption is it will be Gabby Newton 175cm who can play thru mid/fwd a tall utility type with elite disposal, strong mark and good agility for her height
She is an all Australian and was in the top 5 players in the championships

Later picks that we have such as No25, No31, No40 my guess is that it will be defence type players and Tegan Brett
Tegan played one game kicked 3 goals, got a great turn of speed, goal sense and we don't need to see anymore(or let any other team for that matter)
We have 14 places left on our AFLW list which includes 2 rookie spots

I anticipate the following players from our VFLW side to be on our AFLW list
Grace Egan, Kate Dempsey, Laura Bailey, Lisa Davie, Jess Kennedy, Alana Woodward, Emma Gunn

Been studying the draft and possible scenarios with the first round selections

Bulldogs with the No1 pick will select Georgia Patrikios, U/18 MVP in the championships and all Australian

Carlton with the No2 pick will select Lucy McEvoy/Sophie Molan/Mia King/Britney Gutkneckt all midfielders to replace Brianna Davey

I assume it will be Lucy McEvoy All Australian Captain, duel best and fairest,

I assume they'll use their No13 pick on Britney Gutkneckt who is in their VFLW squad

St Kilda with the No5 pick will select who ever Carlton don't either Sophie Molan/Mia King(all mids) or best available for their needs

I assume it will be Mia King MVP for Tassie

Bulldogs with the No6 pick will select Sophie Molan/Nell Morris-Dalton/Gabby Newton(mids/fwds) or Cleo Saxon-Jones(Ruck/fwd)
As the Bulldogs have picks No8 and No9

I assume it will be Sophie Molan(mid) who is playing in their VFLW side at the moment
A tall utility type who can play anywhere and was in the top 5 players in the championships and all Australian

Now comes Richmond's No7 pick

I assume it will be best available rather than a need(we need defenders)
So the players that would/should be left around at our pick are
Nell Morris-Dalton/Gabby Newton all mids/fwd types or Laura McClelland(Tall def/fwd) or Cleo Saxon-Jones(Ruck/fwd)

We don't really need
Cleo Saxon-Jones(Ruck/fwd), we have Alice Edmonds and Gabby Seymour and Sabrina Fredricks
We don't really need a Nell Morris-Dalton type who plays a Tayla Stahl type role of a strong Fwd

Laura McClelland would be a chance as a tall defender but I think we'll look at her with our No25 pick
so my assumption is it will be Gabby Newton 175cm who can play thru mid/fwd a tall utility type with elite disposal, strong mark and good agility for her height
She is an all Australian and was in the top 5 players in the championships

Later picks that we have such as No25, No31, No40 my guess is that it will be defence type players and Tegan Brett
Tegan played one game kicked 3 goals, got a great turn of speed, goal sense and we don't need to see anymore(or let any other team for that matter)
We have 14 places left on our AFLW list which includes 2 rookie spots

I anticipate the following players from our VFLW side to be on our AFLW list
Grace Egan, Kate Dempsey, Laura Bailey, Lisa Davie, Jess Kennedy, Alana Woodward, Emma Gunn

Great work Stan.

I'd be stoked if Gabby Newton ended up at Tigerland. Looks strong and ready to play. Her recent U18 championships did her no harm so it wouldn't surprise of she goes before pick 7.

Will be interesting to see who else ends up on our AFLW list. Tom Hunter said 10-12 will be upgraded and with 7 done that leaves 3-5 main listings and 2 rookies.

I wouldn't mind throwing Hannah McLaren into the mix, maybe for a rookie spot as I think she has potential as a key defender. Shayla Marsh and Jenna Colwell are the others i'd be considering.

Great work Stan.

I'd be stoked if Gabby Newton ended up at Tigerland. Looks strong and ready to play. Her recent U18 championships did her no harm so it wouldn't surprise of she goes before pick 7.

Will be interesting to see who else ends up on our AFLW list. Tom Hunter said 10-12 will be upgraded and with 7 done that leaves 3-5 main listings and 2 rookies.

I wouldn't mind throwing Hannah McLaren into the mix, maybe for a rookie spot as I think she has potential as a key defender. Shayla Marsh and Jenna Colwell are the others i'd be considering.

Thank you TigermanM2
Yes Gabby Newton has been tipped to be in the top 5 of the Victorian teams picks
Newton along with Mia King and maybe Laura McClelland all would be fantastic players for our AFLW team

I am pretty confident on Bulldogs 2 picks, as they have lost Katie Brennan, Monique Conti and Emma Kearney this year and last year
That's 2 midfielders and a forward/Utility who are all top shelf talent

I am pretty confident on Carltons pick being a midfielder to cover for the loss of Brianna Davey

The only club I'm not sure is St Kilda's pick, as they have a good coverage of listed players all over the ground

Should be an exciting time when the draft comes around in October, and really we cant lose who ever we get

Agree with the other 3 girls Hannah McLaren, Shayla Marsh and Jenna Colwell should be in the mix as upgrades (Maybe Jacquie Graham?)
Go Tigerettes

Will be looking for game preview contributors for our 2020 AFLW season.

Some pretty good opinions on our women's footy on here. Hopefully some of you will put your hand up. Will be open to anyone.

Plan is to run Game Day threads too.

Stan Judkins
Bojangles17
balmainforever
Tiger Toffee
Cdog71
smasha

Lucy McEvoy was Geelong's best player in their loss against Melbourne Uni in the Elimination Final. Named in the center.

24 Disposals
4 Marks
9 Tackles

hands.gif

Lucy McEvoy was Geelong's best player in their loss against Melbourne Uni in the Elimination Final. Named in the center.

24 Disposals
4 Marks
9 Tackles

View attachment 739258

Yeah she's a gun, if she's still available at our pick 7, I would be gobsmacked
Lucy and Georgia Patrikios are the best 2 midfielders going in the draft

Why on earth does the AFLw season finish once the men start. It's such a silly idea. I know even for myself, if there's nothing on I might watch some of the AFLw. But as soon as the mens starts I completely lose interest as there's already a saturation with so much mens on tv. Poor strategy. They should have the grand final of the womens as a feature that leads into the first mens game.

View attachment 769572

2020 FIXTURE

Round 1

Richmond vs. Carlton - FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 7
Ikon Park 7.40pm local time - Seven

Round 2
Gold Coast SUNS vs. Richmond - SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 15
Metricon Stadium 4.10pm local time - Foxtel

Round 3
Richmond vs. Kangaroos - SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 23
Swinburne Centre 3.10pm local time - Seven

Round 4
Richmond vs. Geelong Cats - SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 29
Queen Elizabeth Oval 3.10pm local time - Seven

Round 5
GWS GIANTS vs. Richmond - FRIDAY, MARCH 6
Robertson Oval 5.10pm local time - Foxtel

Round 6
St Kilda vs. Richmond - SATURDAY, MARCH 14
RSEA Park 5.10pm local time - Foxtel

Round 7
Richmond vs. Brisbane Lions - FRIDAY, MARCH 20
Swinburne Centre 5.45pm local time - Foxtel

Round 8
Adelaide Crows vs. Richmond - SUNDAY, MARCH 29
Unley Oval 12.40pm local time - Seven

Full fixture in PDF format
https://www.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL Tenant/2020-NAB-AFL Women-Fixture.pdf

Really appreciate this update TigermanM2, your a legend

View attachment 769572

2020 FIXTURE

Round 1

Richmond vs. Carlton - FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 7
Ikon Park 7.40pm local time - Seven

Round 2
Gold Coast SUNS vs. Richmond - SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 15
Metricon Stadium 4.10pm local time - Foxtel

Round 3
Richmond vs. Kangaroos - SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 23
Swinburne Centre 3.10pm local time - Seven

Round 4
Richmond vs. Geelong Cats - SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 29
Queen Elizabeth Oval 3.10pm local time - Seven

Round 5
GWS GIANTS vs. Richmond - FRIDAY, MARCH 6
Robertson Oval 5.10pm local time - Foxtel

Round 6
St Kilda vs. Richmond - SATURDAY, MARCH 14
RSEA Park 5.10pm local time - Foxtel

Round 7
Richmond vs. Brisbane Lions - FRIDAY, MARCH 20
Swinburne Centre 5.45pm local time - Foxtel

Round 8
Adelaide Crows vs. Richmond - SUNDAY, MARCH 29
Unley Oval 12.40pm local time - Seven

Full fixture in PDF format
https://www.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL Tenant/2020-NAB-AFL Women-Fixture.pdf
The round 1 game is up my way. Always happy to watch any tigers in action.

I’ve got a copy of the player numbers for the upcoming season.
hoping its close to being right.
A3A9D4EB-E107-4C73-9853-D3E1A3552247.jpeg

Good get. Come from a reliable source?

interesting that Sophie jumps straight to #1 and Grace Campbell sticks with #43
Comes from a person who sponsored Conti during the VFLW season. He‘s thinking it’s right.

Great. Do you mind if I use it to update numbers on the listing?