Universal Love Keith Thomas

I'm a little disappointed by the "norwood flog" reference.

1) PAFC needs to be open to the entire footy world, to attract the best talent to help our cause
2) If any club in the SANFL warranted respect and that's norwood.

No doubt he has the confidence to brush it off

The reference came from one (many) of our supporters filling in the survey.
He was just letting us know that he's read them.

I'm a little disappointed by the "norwood flog" reference.

1) PAFC needs to be open to the entire footy world, to attract the best talent to help our cause
2) If any club in the SANFL warranted respect and that's norwood.

No doubt he has the confidence to brush it off
I agree, I only quoted it from his email, but wasn’t the term used by a few on BF with their conspiracy theories?

Game Day Village disappearing is a massive difference to the game day experience.

Got people in early, meet up with mates, mingle with opposition supporters, people got revved up, mingle with ex players after the game, etc.

It's something that was so perfectly pitched to what your typical Port supporter wanted out of the football that losing it has meant we've lost something of our soul. That's why they fought so hard against it.

We're now just another one of the sterile football franchises around the country with a safe and generic gameday experience. Get in, take your seat, raise your scarves, then leave in an orderly fashion.

#cu@thefooty

What a wonderful example of the SA establishment cutting its nose to spite its face.

Portraying us all as p¡ssed up louts in order to heavy TennisSA into cutting ties with us, so we’d drink more of the SMA’s overpriced beer — murdering the wildly popular Gameday Village as a result.

Which has had the long-term effect of eradicating one of the pull factors to the ground itself, contributing to the downturn in Oval crowds and therefore their catering profits.

Great f**king job you incompetent arseholes.

People can whinge and moan about KT and Kochie but there's only so much you can do off field when our performances on field are going south. KT can't fall on his sword for the on field stuff while the bloke responsible for it continues at the helm. I appreciate that KT is looking at things from a holeistic perspective but there's only so much supporter engagement can achieved when they get knifed through the heart in game day week to week.

The club needs to stop looking at 2014 as some wonderful achievement. If anything, it totally signified our issues just as much as anything else. 2 games clear on top of the ladder, choke through the second half of the season to miss out on top 4 after losing what should have been wins against Essendon, Collingwood and Adelaide, rob ourselves of a GF after kicking 3.9 in the first quarter of a Prelim. It's nothing to look at fondly.

Port Adelaide never looked so intently on the past. We used it as a compass only, to ensure the club was on the right path. It was never used as a "yeah but remember 1980 etc etc"

This crew is more about Hey remember 1975! We finished 4th after the minor round and made it all the way to the prelim final where we lead at three quarter time! *winning emoji*

Do you think KT is accepting some responsibility for the decision to reappoint Hinkley before his contract had expired? As I see it if Hinkley were to go early it would be an admission that someone made the wrong call back in 2017.

If you are right and there is an exodus I hope it doesn't stop with Hinkley and Thomas as there are some Board Members who should also go, starting with the Chairman.
of course he is.

I think what we've just read is an email from a CEO trying to save the club, while the Chairman and Coach are trying to save themselves. KT just fell on his sword.
The annoying thing is the bloke who is willing to accept the blame and make changes and will fall on his sword for the club is the one we are going to make a sacrifice of. Arse about.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Game Day Village disappearing is a massive difference to the game day experience.

Got people in early, meet up with mates, mingle with opposition supporters, people got revved up, mingle with ex players after the game, etc.

It's something that was so perfectly pitched to what your typical Port supporter wanted out of the football that losing it has meant we've lost something of our soul. That's why they fought so hard against it.

We're now just another one of the sterile football franchises around the country with a safe and generic gameday experience. Get in, take your seat, raise your scarves, then leave in an orderly fashion.

#cu@thefooty
Imagine how toxic the game day village mood would be this year lol.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Norwood flog.....get a perspective KT. That is so irrelevant and disrespectful to us as AFL club members- we are in the AFL mate. You are the CEO because you are a business leader. That is enough for you to confirm you are not up to scratch.

I find that comment an embarrassment, and a small town guy in a national competition.

Embarrassing

Norwood flog.....get a perspective KT. That is so irrelevant and disrespectful to us as AFL club members- we are in the AFL mate. You are the CEO because you are a business leader. That is enough for you to confirm you are not up to scratch.

I find that comment an embarrassment, and a small town guy in a national competition.

Embarrassing

The Norwood flog comment was the best part of the email.

What better way to build rapport to the members and to let them know that he is actually listening.

You could do a marketing essay on that one comment alone.

He’s so generic he could rock up in his Adelaide Strikers gameday gear and no-one, including him, would notice.

I would almost see that as a better option.

Cross promotion, make people laugh, get some traction with the casual 'sports' set...

I attended the meeting tonight. KT had even the staunchest of Magpie tragic's eating out of the palm of his hand within 3 minutes. He has pulled something very amazing off here. I don't know how he managed it but he did. Wow!
Talking shite doesn’t get you a premiership and great profit results- they call it a being a politician. Time got him eventually as it always does. He appealed to the SANFk core and could not make a decision to save himself.
No more please, I stil cannot believe we bought into a Leigh Whicker appointment. That is almost insanity in itself, but he bluffed us with b/s.

At the Richmond game a couple of weeks ago they had a ballad playing that you could rock your kids to sleep too 5 mins before the bounce and barely had anything else pregame but no-one cared after they kicked the first three goals and they all went home happy with the win. Our pregame is still way better than anything else but it doesn't matter with the crap we are dishing out on field.

Talking s**t doesn’t get you a premiership and great profit results- they call it a being a politician. Time got him eventually as it always does. He appealed to the SANFk core and could not make a decision to save himself.
No more please, I stil cannot believe we bought into a Leigh Whicker appointment. That is almost insanity in itself, but he bluffed us with b/s.

I don’t want to get into a big argument over something posted 6 years ago, but I’ll just correct you on one thing. He wasn’t a Whicker appointment, he was a Demetriou appointment.

The Norwood flog comment was the best part of the email.

What better way to build rapport to the members and to let them know that he is actually listening.

You could do a marketing essay on that one comment alone.
We are in a different spot or league. Norwood is irrelevant to me, when we are talking about a ceo of an afl club. We need to compete with AFL clubs

I don’t want to get into a big argument over something posted 6 years ago, but I’ll just correct you on one thing. He wasn’t a Whicker appointment, he was a Demetriou appointment.
Fair enough, trust me he was a Whicker appointment approved by Demetriou. Whicker was fighting for relevance and 100% guaranteed he was Whickers boy. He was consulting for Whicker at SANFL at the time as he was in “transition between jobs” and Whick was helping him out

We are in a different spot or league. Norwood is irrelevant to me, when we are talking about a ceo of an afl club. We need to compete with AFL clubs

The 'Norwood flog' reference came from Port supporters filling out the survey, referring to KT.

How are you not getting this?

Fair enough, trust me he was a Whicker appointment approved by Demetriou. Whicker was fighting for relevance and 100% guaranteed he was Whickers boy. He was consulting for Whicker at SANFL at the time as he was in “transition between jobs” and Whick was helping him out

Whicker wanted a bloke called Lyons to parachute into the chair and essentially wind up the club and free up the liscence. Demetriou intervened and brought in Thomas.

Anyone hear Fagan on ABC breakfast this morning with Ali Clarke and David Bevan? After about 5 minutes defending what's going on at the crows and the backlash from their fans, David Bevan asked him about KT's email where he says he's responsible for the club's poor season and then asks are you going to do the same?

Fagan says he read it this morning and said its an interesting note, then says as leaders we always accept our responsibility, starts to waffle a bit and then
Bevan asks - so what have you got wrong?
Fagan - with regards to what David?
Bevan - you say I've gotta take responsibility for my bit.
Fagan - I think we are taking responsibility for, jointly that our performance for the last month hasn't been great.
Bevan - (bluntly) So what have you got wrong?
Fagan - as leaders ( pause as sounds flustered) well David I think, at the moment, the footy department run the footy department and I run the whole club
Bevan - yeah, yeah, so I'm asking, the bit that you've done, what did you get wrong? cause if you say we're all taking responsibility, so if everybody takes responsibility for everything, nobodies taking responsibility for anything, so Andrew Fagan which bit did you get wrong??
Fagan - Well David I don't think its the right question to ask, because at the moment we're talking about a bad month of football and not issues that sit beyond that.
Bevan - so you just think this is the last 4 weeks
Fagan - sorry, isn't that, previously we were sitting 4th or 5th on the ladder and our last 4 weeks has been pretty poor and we dropped down to eighth, its primarily what we are talking about ........

Bevan - so if people are looking at the crows thinking - ah this is crap - we're sitting in 8th we should be doing a lot better, they're not looking at the same thing as Andrew Fagan, cause Andrew Fagan looks at this and says no its just the last 4 weeks its just an aberration.

Fagan - David I don't think I used the words aberration at all.
Bevan - I'm asking you is it just the last 4 weeks? Its just an aberration.
Fagan - No, no, I'm saying our performances the last 4 weeks has seen us drop down the table, as i said previously in the interview we haven't really hit top gear throughout the season and that's what the coaches have been working on ..........

The interview starts at 2.51.00 and above starts at 2.58.00 for about 3 minutes and ends around 3.03.20 and they read out some txt messages that came in during the interview.

Shades of Koch's at 11-4 and everyone thought Ken was superman.

KT has put himself out there. Probably wont do any media interviews as a result.

KT taking responsibility for backing Ken to the hilt. The feedback from that survey a week or two ago would have laid it out that we are unhappy about the game style, selections and the rush to re-sign him. KT not dodging that responsibility and trying to protect the coach. I like that there was a bit of collateral damage to the other mob where it doesn't look like anyone wants to take responsibility for issues more than just the last 4 week.

Universal Love Keith Thomas