Universal Love Keith Thomas

If anybody from the club is reading this, KT falling on his sword while Koch and (particularly) Ken remain will not satisfy us. Keith Thomas has been far from perfect over the last few years but of the three K's he is by far the least of our worries.

There's only one thing that's going to get people excited to go to the football again next year, and it's no Ken Hinkley. No other excuses, alternatives, scapegoats or compromises will be accepted. No. Ken. Hinkley.

Talking s**t doesn’t get you a premiership and great profit results- they call it a being a politician. Time got him eventually as it always does. He appealed to the SANFk core and could not make a decision to save himself.
No more please, I stil cannot believe we bought into a Leigh Whicker appointment. That is almost insanity in itself, but he bluffed us with b/s.

We didn't have much choice. Financially we were on the bones of our arse and the SANFL controlled our AFL Licence. It was either do as we were told by the AFL and SANFL or relocate to Tasmania. :rolleyes:

I wouldn't be putting much stock in that story. Has been 100% unequivocally denied by both Koch and Ken, and Tom Morris has a proven history of making s**t up.

The image in my head of Contracted Ken storming at the board waving his... extension... in their faces, over %^*&ing job security... after his last two years performances makes me want to be sick. 100% stinks of something his management fed to POXSPORTS.

KT and Kochie both insisting it's "finals or fail" sounds odd to folks brought up on "We exist to win Premierships" but IMO it's them trying to focus on the on field failure of performance rather than on the off field failure of nerves. Ken sold them on a three year "rebuild-while-running" which is now missing on a few cylinders. They didn't recognize that staying here was probably still his preferred option over attempting a repeat of our "rise to mediocrity" trajectory at Gold Coast. And then they didn't predict or manage expectations here among the fans.

The annoying thing is the bloke who is willing to accept the blame and make changes and will fall on his sword for the club is the one we are going to make a sacrifice of. Arse about.

Pretty much. Of the Three Ks he appears to be the most regular at displaying competence, if you had to pick one of the three to keep it would be a no brainer as opposed to ... keeping a no brainer. Words not actions so far but preparation for the recovery to come starts with acknowledgment, and KT needs to drag along the "Football Numpties on Facebook" type crowd as well as ourselves here on Overinflated Sherrin.

Anyone imagine Kochie or Ken taking *any* of the blame *personally* in this way? Not in a million years. He may be a "Norwood flog", but at least he's our Norwood flog. He's not Big Bob but he knows a historical connection when he sees one or makes one. That said I think he's seen "Bring Back The Bars" more as distraction from the on-field than as symptom of disaffection or popular movement. Going softly there has been a political mistake with supporters and with AFL House, but going softly for years on umpiring "inconsistencies" set the tone and has been a far more important mistake all round.

Publicly, against football common sense and against our own track record of failure at such things, KT still claims he hopes to thread at least five needles in a row this season starting with Essendon this weekend. I can empathize with that, while having no sympathy for it at all. He's one of the folks most responsible for appointing the Captain of the Titanic but his job description also includes cheer leading for the deckchair re-arrangement squad.

Thanks KT. What now?

I wouldn't be putting much stock in that story. Has been 100% unequivocally denied by both Koch and Ken, and Tom Morris has a proven history of making s**t up.
Yep

KT clearly on the way out. I reckon he has already been told by the board his time is up at the end of the year. Wouldn't be surprised if Koch has his replacement already lined up and ready to go...

I wouldn't put much stock into Ken and Koch both denying what Tom Morris had to say. Morris can be a flog at times, but he was the one who broke the news about the Crows pre-season camp on the Gold Coast last year.

If you're Ken and Koch, you're not going to say "yes, Tom's reporting is spot on. Ken was concerned he was going to be sacked and asked us for assurances which we provided." That would create an even bigger uproar than denying Morris' report.

It's all part of the game..

KT clearly on the way out. I reckon he has already been told by the board his time is up at the end of the year. Wouldn't be surprised if Koch has his replacement already lined up and ready to go...

You mean the AFL has his replacement ready to go and Koch and the board are ready to accept it.

Not sure I agree. Walsh was still the announcer in 14 and 15. The pre game has barely changed at all. There was a DJ on ground in 14 and 15. Perfect Pair has replaced the Kiss-O-Vision thing they were doing in 14 and 15. There was kickin for chickin pre game, thats now been replaced with the catch the ball thing at 1/4 time. The Rundle Mall march still happens. Not Giving In is the same. NTUA is the same. The main difference to the pre game is no Village and I think that's had an effect.

The main thing is in 2014 Not Giving In was fresh and exciting, now its probably past its use by date. NTUA was supporter led and grew into this huge thing, it was fresh and exciting. Now half the crowd don't really care. There's no DJ anymore, meh.

I don't think there's a huge difference to what we were doing then as to what we are doing now, its just the freshness of the stadium and of the pre game has worn off.

They got rid of Hoffcam :(

Maybe that is what KT's email is referring too.

You mean the AFL has his replacement ready to go and Koch and the board are ready to accept it.

This would be the worst possible scenario.

Keep Koch and Ken and get an AFL appointed CEO who does the AFL's bidding rather than the members.

I think some of us are getting ahead of ourselves here. As I read that e mail from Keith he was talking about changing the way he does things. I think, 'talk less and listen more' was what he wrote. To me that does not suggest KT is going anywhere. All that KT has said is that he got it wrong he will change the way the Club operates and that we should stayed tuned.

In any case I am not sure that Keith Thomas is the root cause of our woes. I would rather see Hinkley, Bassett and Koch gone.

I am beginning to form the opinion that KT was directed to send out that email as a face saving exercise for guess who, and I not referring to the 1970's Canuck band.

He probably would have run it past Koch and discussed the content before he sent it out. You could be right Mick as it could well be part of a planned flak defecting strategy.

One thing about that e mail it more or less confirms that there has been widespread criticism of Ken from the Members. Up until now I had assumed that Ken didn't react to adverse criticism but it is obviously getting to him and the decision makers at Alberton.

I think some of us are getting ahead of ourselves here. As I read that e mail from Keith he was talking about changing the way he does things. I think, 'talk less and listen more' was what he wrote. To me that does not suggest KT is going anywhere. All that KT has said is that he got it wrong he will change the way the Club operates and that we should stayed tuned.

In any case I am not sure that Keith Thomas is the root cause of our woes. I would rather see Hinkley, Bassett and Koch gone.
Yep fully agree. He's a brave man and is taking the flack for a failed football department. Surely even KT can see that some of the selections are just dumb, he's been around footy a long time.

Keith is no more a Norwood flog than Bob McLean was. He is not the problem and we are in real danger of throwing the baby out with the bath water.

GameDay needs a revamp. Short of AFL reserves I’d like to see a location somewhere where the kids are safe and adults can have a drink. I’d like to hear a club insider talk for 10 minutes about real AFL tactics- like a 10 minute snippet of the Members convention with topics like why we seems to have no forward line properly explained. We are supposed to be the best informed footy supporters so let’s build on that.

This would be the worst possible scenario.

Keep Koch and Ken and get an AFL appointed CEO who does the AFL's bidding rather than the members.

The point was that they are already AFL puppets and don't give a toss what the members think. Since we're not the ones who vote/appoint them.

The problem being with so many outsiders in our club (atm), I don't think they fully understand the PAFC and it's members. They have tried to change who we are (20,000 Happy Clappers) and we all know how that ends.

We are a no nonsense club that just gets it on the footy field, that's why we exist. Most supporters would gladly give up all the pre match fan fair, for a football club that gave it's all win lose or draw. Our standards have slipped, lowered the bar so to speak. I don't care what other clubs do, I care what we do and we need everyone on the same page.

To be the Port we need to be, we also have to have a coach that gives the team the best possible chance of success and that is not Ken, his selections are at times woeful (Sutcliffe) and the development of players is poor.

Underestimating the intelligence of the Port faithful will be a big mistake. I am convinced, that they can't wait until all us fans, that were privileged enough to to see those famous Port Adelaide premierships are gone, so they can get their generic type of supporter base, that clap the boys and coach off the ground after a weak performance.

We talk the talk about wanting our club to be ruthless but maintain our soft spots for Keith.

Gone are the brief good days of 13/14 and we've had to wade through shit ever since - KT constantly bowing down and folding to people around him.

He's not fallen on the sword, he's just a pushover. His letter from the CEO said as much. Addressed all the mistakes made and issues had - but offered no solution or reasoning for it. Just a big whoops sorry bout that fellas x

Universal Love Keith Thomas