Injury Billy Longer Taking a Break

st_trav_ofWA

Aug 17, 2015
a footy career realistically is only a very very short stint in a players life ... the toll on the bodies of thes players once they can go no more is huge and can be an issue for them long long into their retirment ... i hope for nothing but the best for Billy as he works through the next phase of his life ...

I was at work last year and again for the umpteenth time in a few months i told the boss i wasnt well and had to go home.
I was in so much pain but was trying to work through it, then the rumor got back to me that a mate had said i was only playing up to get workers comp and a payout, 2 months later i was on life support and diagnosed with cancer.

I know Billy was diagnosed with concussion so lets leave it at that and hope he gets over it.

Premium

Oct 8, 2016
rumourS - feel sorry for the guy , highly rated draft pick and now just another being put in the scrap heap.

The pressure clubs put on players is massive , don't perform and your out the door.
Or your past your used by date like what Melb are doing to Jones and offer him peanuts for most probably his last year.

This is why these players have to take the money while it's there , the following year you could be on the scrap heap - just hoping Coniglio is watching this.

majortinkle

Jul 21, 2015
I have no inside info but the outcome and post by the Club is odd

Doesn't stop me hoping he is ok and everything works out the best for him

Sep 15, 2006
Wodonga
Leeds United
Hopefully it all works out for Billy.
Regardless of whether we think he is a capable player, it means we lose a potential back up.
Wonder if the club uses this as another pointer to a priority pick due to potentially a 3rd player in 2 years having to retire prematurely due to concussion issues.

Jan 10, 2011
Ormond AFC
Hopefully it all works out for Billy.
Regardless of whether we think he is a capable player, it means we lose a potential back up.
Wonder if the club uses this as another pointer to a priority pick due to potentially a 3rd player in 2 years having to retire prematurely due to concussion issues.
They may try but doubt we have any hope whatsoever.

Sep 15, 2006
Wodonga
Leeds United

3 with concussion, 1 with heart issues.
Think we would have a more compelling case than Carlton who managed to get a mature body in late last year. That is on top of the 15 odd first round draft picks that they have playing in their team this year.

Screenshot_20190730-171511_Chrome.jpg

TheJackal

Oct 4, 2014
The more we win the less likely it becomes. I think if we'd finished second bottom as it looked a month ago we may have had a chance but now the AFL would look ridiculous giving a priority pick to a club who just misses out on finals.

Jan 10, 2011
Ormond AFC
Think we would have a more compelling case than Carlton who managed to get a mature body in late last year. That is on top of the 15 odd first round draft picks that they have playing in their team this year.

View attachment 717988
If we win around 10 games I’m going no hope. Going no hope now. Anyway. Good luck billy

May 6, 2009
Glass half full- he's only 26, and if he were to get himself healthy (even if it takes years), I believe he has shown to have the ability to be a top AFL ruckman.

The fact that he plays a specialist position works in his favour, it's different to other spots where there are a million other mids etc ready to take your spot.
Lots of clubs have shown a willingness to see past age with rucks- geelong with abbott bliscavs, gws with mumford.

Glass half full- billy:
A, gets healthy,
B, stares footy mortality in the face- and trains and prepares like an uber pro
C, dominates state leagues as a 28 year old
D, gets another shot at AFL and does just as max gawn and steph martin did- come back from years of injury to absolutely dominate.

Good luck billy

st_trav_ofWA

Aug 17, 2015
The more we win the less likely it becomes. I think if we'd finished second bottom as it looked a month ago we may have had a chance but now the AFL would look ridiculous giving a priority pick to a club who just misses out on finals.
you are right but should it be a priority pick or a compensation pick for three possibly 4 players lost to the game for reasons out side of our control ... i mean 1 you can call bad luck but 4 off the back of losing Koby and Dempster early due to similar issues in previous years thats a fair whack without my Saints bias i reckon any club copping that does deserve some sort of compo ... maybe not the first round pick that we were hoping for should we have finished second last but we could do with a bit of a leg up

majortinkle

Jul 21, 2015

View attachment 717988
As someone said before these are reasons not to get a pp ie. you only got zero wins cos you had 20 injured all year means no pp cos you’re better than you performed

You’re applying that logic too broadly. It’s to stop a team who was playing well, or set to play well, in a given season from asking for a PP after a low finish skewed by injuries. I’m our situation, it helps our cause because we’re trying to build a list up from our bottom-4 quality, yet are getting these setbacks.

In addition, many of our injuries will be career-ending, whereas the logic you’re using pertains to injuries within that horror season which won’t carry through to following years.

majortinkle

Jul 21, 2015
You’re applying that logic too broadly. It’s to stop a team who was playing well, or set to play well, in a given season from asking for a PP after a low finish skewed by injuries. I’m our situation, it helps our cause because we’re trying to build a list up from our bottom-4 quality, yet are getting these setbacks.

In addition, many of our injuries will be career-ending, whereas the logic you’re using pertains to injuries within that horror season which won’t carry through to following years.
Don’t agree. If anything it’s you who are trying to be too broad in your interpretation that pp guidelines in any way are there to react to injuries.

You could make an argument that there are no guidelines on injury impact to teams and pps so the afl have free hand to do what they want in exceptional circumstances but there is zero support for injuries allowing pps within the current guidelines themselves