Petition/Letter to the Club demanding an external review (now with PDF link in OP)

One of my mates saw a presentation from the AFC where they said that the esports team is now cost neutral to the club but the license is worth 12x what we paid for it

For what it's worth
Sell then & invest in having the best football department.

One of my mates saw a presentation from the AFC where they said that the esports team is now cost neutral to the club but the license is worth 12x what we paid for it

For what it's worth

I reckon it’s worth 1000x the price we paid. Actually, probably 1,000,000 times isn’t out of the question. What a load of s**t. “Look, we accept it’s taken resources from our footy dept, but it’s now cost neutral. But here’s the kicker, it’s worth s**t tins on the open market, has been a brilliant acquisition. Obviously not because it’s returned profits back into football, but because if we sold it, and we wouldn’t, we’d make heaps of money. Not that we’re going to sell it, it’s too valuable to sell.”

Bizarre.

So the members elected representative can't speak to the members.

How about they give him some media training if that is the real reason, which I doubt.

This club is hardly inclusive with this type of attitude.
As others have said, media training should be a given for all board and management in any organisation. Whether that's the case at the AFC, that's another question and if the answer is no, then that's a major failing.

However and regardless, it's also the case that in most organisations those people don't have a free rein to talk to the media/public whenever they feel like it, training or not. That's also a fact of life.

In the case of the members' rep on the board - so no, like any board member in any organisation, they don't get a free reign to say whatever they like, to whoever they like, whenever they like.

BUT a football club should find and manage ways in which the members' rep can engage with the members. Not a free for all, but not nothing, either.

As others have said, media training should be a given for all board and management in any organisation. Whether that's the case at the AFC, that's another question and if the answer is no, then that's a major failing.

However and regardless, it's also the case that in most organisations those people don't have a free rein to talk to the media/public whenever they feel like it, training or not. That's also a fact of life.

In the case of the members' rep on the board - so no, like any board member in any organisation, they don't get a free reign to say whatever they like, to whoever they like, whenever they like.

BUT a football club should find and manage ways in which the members' rep can engage with the members. Not a free for all, but not nothing, either.
Exactly. Otherwise it's just tokenism.

What’s 12x fu** all?

It’s a load of s**t. Very few businesses would be able to pay for a loss making asset, nearly none would. To expand our marketing reach, there’s an argument that getting into this game could have provided returns that could then be invested into our footy dept. Reality is that will never happen, the esport enthusiasts aren’t going to a football game because there’s common ownership. And there’s no money in being an owner of a bunch of gamers.. It’s like baseball, all excitement blah blah, then what?

I’ve been on a couple of committees when frauds roll in and spruik these kind of opportunities. They’re smoke and mirrors, designed to baffle an incompetent board that believes the pure spin. Another, more simplistic example for those committee people around the place is, “our web site isn’t doing enough, we can improve financial performance by focusing on our website”.

For what it's worth

highly sceptical that either is based in reality rather than creative accounting.

Also the license only has value if they team doesn't relegated from the OPL. Given we're currently sitting FIVE games short on the bottom of the ladder that's far from guarenteed.

Legacy is at 1 win 15 losses, second worst is 6 wins 10 losses.

Does that give everyone an idea of just how s**t our league team is? We have 6 times less wins than even the 2nd worst team in the league.

highly sceptical that either is based in reality rather than creative accounting.

Also the license only has value if they team doesn't relegated from the OPL. Given we're currently sitting FIVE games short on the bottom of the ladder that's far from guarenteed.

Does that give everyone an idea of just how s**t our league team is? We have 6 times less wins than even the 2nd worst team in the league.
Number 1 pick come on down

Waiting for Nigel to make a remark about them still being in the top eight.

It’s a load of s**t. Very few businesses would be able to pay for a loss making asset, nearly none would. To expand our marketing reach, there’s an argument that getting into this game could have provided returns that could then be invested into our footy dept. Reality is that will never happen, the esport enthusiasts aren’t going to a football game because there’s common ownership. And there’s no money in being an owner of a bunch of gamers.. It’s like baseball, all excitement blah blah, then what?

I’ve been on a couple of committees when frauds roll in and spruik these kind of opportunities. They’re smoke and mirrors, designed to baffle an incompetent board that believes the pure spin. Another, more simplistic example for those committee people around the place is, “our web site isn’t doing enough, we can improve financial performance by focusing on our website”.

A couple of points to add to this:
1)the Joint ownership has even less value because we didn't even rebrand the team. At least the Bombers team is called the bombers which you could say has minor brand recognition benifits (plus they're up towards the top of the ladder).
2)There's no money in being an owner of an AUSTRALIAN bunch of gamers. Over in the US if you own a license to teams over there it IS worth serious money. For example a LCS (the American league of legends competition) team sold for 20 million USD this year; there's also talk that another team will be sold for around $30m USD just around the corner.

They just called for an external review on Talking Footy.

Said if ever there was a club that needed a Richmond or Collingwood style comprehensive independent review, it is us.

Called us an "arrogant club".
If we don’t call for a review, there is no hope with this current admin.

The need for a review is so bloody obvious, the only reason you wouldn’t is if you were worried about the findings and ramifications personally.

IIRC didn't Richmond do an external review???? That ended well for them in 2017! Not so well for us.
Bring it on please.

Richmond did one in 2016, when Hardwick was all but sacked. The external review concluded it wasn't Hardwick that was the problem, and they acted accordingly. The rest is history. Collingwood did one in 2017, with similar conclusions that were acted upon.