Footy Dept. Soon to be ex-GM - List & Recruiting Adrian Dodoro #putoutyourjackets

Cliff notes:
  • Stepping back from his current senior role following the 2023 AFL Draft
  • Transition plan, raised the possibility with Vozzo in April
  • Replacement is Matt Rosa, whose thread is here: Welcome to Essendon Matthew Rosa – AFL Talent & Operations Manager!
Full text from media release said:
To coincide with this announcement, the Club’s General Manager of List and Recruiting, Adrian Dodoro, has made the decision to take a step back from his current senior role following this year’s NAB AFL National Draft. He will lead the Club through the upcoming 2023 Trade and Draft period in his current position prior to transitioning to and assisting Matt Rosa moving forward.
Dodoro, an Essendon Life Member, has played a significant role at the Bombers over nearly three decades and said the time was right to take a step back.
“I approached Craig back in April to discuss the concept of transition and I feel that now is the right time to make this decision,” Dodoro said.
"I sat on the panel to assist in the selection of Matt, and I believe he will be an outstanding acquisition to the Club for years to come. I look forward to working with Matt moving forward.
“These roles are very taxing on individuals and their families and it just feels like that. After nearly three decades and with stability in key roles at the Club, now is the right time for me to take a step back in to a role which will provide me and my family with a better work life balance.
“More immediately, we have an important few months coming up and I’m looking forward to playing my part to deliver a strong Trade and Draft period for the Club to ensure that the playing list is in a strong position for the future.”
Essendon CEO Craig Vozzo acknowledged the significant impact Dodoro has made at the Club since joining in a full-time role in 1998.
“Adrian is a highly respected Life Member of the Essendon Football Club and has made an enormous contribution to the Club and the wider AFL industry during his time in football, including assisting to navigate the Club through unprecedented and challenging periods,” Vozzo said.
“Throughout his time at the Bombers, Adrian’s commitment and passion to take the Club forward in its list management and recruiting, has been unquestionable. Some of the Champions of Essendon have been identified and selected by Adrian, and we will always be grateful for the important and enduring role he has played.
“On behalf of the entire Club, we would like to acknowledge Adrian’s selfless decision and we look forward to his ongoing contribution to the Club.
“Adrian will work with Matt to ensure a smooth hand-over and a successful transition of responsibilities.”

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
I can understand Parker, only because he was available, but upgrading picks to take a player in the mid 40s? One who could have gone on the 20s?

I would be very interested to know how many times this has happened.

You're almost certainly confusing pick upgrades to add value to trades for deliberate attempts to target certain players.

Do you even know we were interested in Worpel? It's a strange argument.

If you want to be critical look at Dunkley and Sier and then put you're balls on the line and say who you'd prefer, based on the picks we had (and at least looking at the type of player selected).

The frequency or likelihood of it occurring is irrelevant though. It was an option available to Dodoro if he wanted to address the list imbalance. He hasn’t for far too long and it should cost him his job. If he didn’t rate the players so be it, another failure in judgement.

Sep 22, 2011
Your girlfriend's dreams
There’s a real obsession with this “inside mid” thing

Across the season we’re ranked 8/18 for contested possession. And that includes Saturday’s disgraceful effort with a count of 126.

It’s not elite but it’s hardly a massive problem.

And there’s little correlation with winning... Richmond and West Coast are ranked 17th and 18th.

I’m not sure we have a glaring problem with winning the footy inside.

We have an appalling problem with consistency.

DapperJong

30k Posts 10k Posts SFA Good Friday Appeal Spooderman Meme Medal Pantskyle BeanCoiNFT Investor
Feb 11, 2015
Juventus
Dodo has been here for so long that you can argue his case either way. Heaps of good picks, heaps of s**t ones, and everything in between.

A change wouldn't hurt.

Just like my digestive system enjoys no bread even though i like eating it.

I just want to stop farting non stop.

It's been 20 years.

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
There’s a real obsession with this “inside mid” thing

Across the season we’re ranked 8/18 for contested possession. And that includes Saturday’s disgraceful effort with a count of 126.

It’s not elite but it’s hardly a massive problem.

And there’s little correlation with winning... Richmond and West Coast are ranked 17th and 18th.

I’m not sure we have a glaring problem with winning the footy inside.

We have an appalling problem with consistency.

Numbers mean nothing in isolation. We’re ranked okay because we constantly try to outnumber at the stoppage. We aren’t effective from the stoppage at all.

Sep 22, 2011
Your girlfriend's dreams
Dodo has been here for so long that you can argue his case either way. Heaps of good picks, heaps of s**t ones, and everything in between.

A change wouldn't hurt.

Just like my digestive system enjoys no bread even though i like eating it.

I just want to stop farting non stop.

It's been 20 years.

Farting non stop for 20 years?

See a doctor dude

DapperJong

30k Posts 10k Posts SFA Good Friday Appeal Spooderman Meme Medal Pantskyle BeanCoiNFT Investor
Feb 11, 2015
Juventus
Farting non stop for 20 years?

See a doctor dude

I will. And I'll get rid of that bread.

And we will eventually have a different list manager. Could be a good thing.

I will. And I'll get rid of that bread.

And we will eventually have a different list manager. Could be a good thing.
I reckon a premiership will cure that.

Dec 2, 2014
Say what you will about Bellchambers but after 13 games we were averaging 3 more clearances than our opposition and only lost it twice, to Freo and West Coast. In the next 7 we've been averaging more than 4 clearances less than our opposition.

Any chance that has something to do with having Z. Clarke and not missing Bell?

It has something to do with Bell having the highest h/o to adv percentage for the past 3 years

DapperJong

Feb 11, 2015
Juventus

BrunoV

May 5, 2009
And a 180cm McLean isn’t a midget getting loose ball gets? The way we played on Saturday night would’ve made anyone look good.

If your point is that we need another contested mid, then sure, I’ll agree with that. But the hyperbole is not needed, and undermines your point.

McLean plays with an intensity that maybe Smith gets to.

Reckon Yoda_ will back me on this.

It shouldn't come as a surprise that a specialist extractor is better at extracting than outside mids and converted flankers who are not strong and/or aggressive.

In any event it's a strawman to make reference to McLean's size. Nowhere have I said that small players cant win genuine contested ball. On balance they're less likely to be good. It's also about our players who suck when the inside contest is a physical one.

Harlequin Dream

Dec 19, 2016
Memphis Grizzlies
My largest gripe with our list management has been that we hold on to players for far too long.

Long and McNiece should have been delisted last year. Jackson Merrett and Morgan were offered too many contracts too.

If we don't think that we can draft someone who has more potential going forward it is damning IMO.

Sep 22, 2011
Your girlfriend's dreams
My largest gripe with our list management has been that we hold on to players for far too long.

Long and McNiece should have been delisted last year. Jackson Merrett and Morgan were offered too many contracts too.

If we don't think that we can draft someone who has more potential going forward it is damning IMO.

In general I agree but I think McNiece doesn’t really impact list numbers as he’s a Cat B.

MattyB3150

May 19, 2014
I feel like he has always focused on drafting players in areas that are easier to gap fill. How many mid sized defenders do we need? Our midfield has always lacked inside bulls. Jobe is the only good inside mid that we have had on our list since our glory days? I assume laverde langford begley were/are supposed to turn into those? I like our list and think its the best we have had in a long time but this is a position that hasn't been prioritised over the years... lets not think about Parker again :(