Hawks to exit Tassie after 2023?

Tasmania's AFL bid team are proposing to build a super stadium that will wow the afl when they present the case late or early next year.

With the writing on the wall hopefully the club can negotiate a proper stadium deal with the MCG and Docklands

Part of the reason we went to Tasmania in the first place was the lack of a lucrative stadium deal for our Docklands home games.

That landscape has changed considerably

Show me the money.
They've been rebuilding the Bridgewater bridge for 40 years.
No Fed Liberals in southern tas means no fed $$

If & when we exit Launceston, the club must ensure that we get the majority of the replacement games at the MCG.
Similar to the other tenants there (Melb, Coll & Rich,) in that we only play one home game at Marvel.
Our members hate the ground & if we replace the Tassie games with even 2-3 matches at Docklands, our bottom line will be compromised!

Show me the money.
They've been rebuilding the Bridgewater bridge for 40 years.
No Fed Liberals in southern tas means no fed $$
It's undicided weather it will be built in Hobart or Launceston yet,allthough Macquarie point has been talked about,which ideally needs to be a roofed 30000 allseater considering Hobart has Australia's coldest climate.

I'm rooting for a true Tassie team. One of those things where the meaning and value of a team from a true Footy heartland is not a pure numbers game, but a value to the very game itself. Reckon the home ground advantage would be huge for a locally grown team and they'd go alright with of course struggling years just like every other club faces. Would love to see politics put aside and the money found from govt and private source to build something truly special down there.

As it relates to us, I'd love to see us play some games out of Darwin. Were weaving a real indigenous thread into our Club and think it should be so indelible that we are a natural landing and desired home for all young Aboriginal kids learning to make the football talk.
It may be our most impressive turnaround, coming from a very white middle class run club that didn't exactly love the risk reward of bringing in indigenous players to the team through some of our most successful periods in the 60's and 70's and 80's - to now being such a beautiful colored jumper when seen on the torsos of the kids in Katherine and surrounds.

It
We sure do,they are looking at it costing something around the 250 million mark,which would be a big ask,but if they gave it to townsville for their stadium, then we should have a chance being a slightly bigger market.
This sounds like a way to make sure a Tas team does not happen. They need to keep it simple and cheap.

Since 2013 we’ve played 5 ‘home’ games at Docklands (Eagles x 2, Port, Dogs and now the Suns) and our average has been just 33,500 (low of 28,000 and peak of 48,000)

Admittedly our MCG average is 50,000 plus for home and away games in that time but given our opposition the anti Docklands sentiment amongst Hawthorn fans is greatly overstated. In fact our Docklands attendances stack up extremely favourably against other MCG tenant clubs

Time to bring the 11 games home

Since 2013 we’ve played 5 ‘home’ games at Docklands (Eagles x 2, Port, Dogs and now the Suns) and our average has been just 33,500 (low of 28,000 and peak of 48,000)

Admittedly our MCG average is 50,000 plus for home and away games in that time but given our opposition the anti Docklands sentiment amongst Hawthorn fans is greatly overstated. In fact our Docklands attendances stack up extremely favourably against other MCG tenant clubs

Time to bring the 11 games home
It's still a good chance Tassie won't get a team,so Hawthorn and north will be in Tassie for many years to come if that's the case,so I wouldn't get your hopes up just yet.

If the AFL still want us out and we’re planning to leave anyway then we should take advantage of the situation by striking a deal with the AFL for some financially favourable fixturing. Get some prime time, blockbuster time slots against well drawing sides - as the home side. Talking more Friday nights against sides like Collingwood and Richmond, etc.

If Tasmania gets its own team...

Given the AFL own Docklands they’ll definitely want more higher drawing games at that stadium.

More Big 4 and Hawthorn games likely at the expense of Dogs, North and Saints games

Given our Docklands crowds are actually pretty good (even if you take out the Hodge and Roughead farewells) we would definitely be in line for more games. So best we embrace the stadium and negotiate a favourable stadium deal.

Richmond and Collingwood crowds are probably too big to play games at Docklands, Essendon has the sweetheart deal (and could push for MCG games) and Hawthorn (and Carlton) are probably the perfect size.

We should look to lock in 11 home and away MCG games (6 or 7 home games) and the remainder at Docklands