Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

Both the stadiums

hawthorn were broke when they first came to Tasmania good luck making 4 million a year playing the low drawing interstate clubs in Melbourne again why do you think Kennett is trying every trick in the book to try and keep you guys down here 😂

Well actually they weren’t so myth debunked.

Hawthorn was debt free by 1999, had one of the largest Melb based memberships in Victoria by the time they moved games in 2001 and had made 10 consecutive profits and moved into Waverley by the time they stitched up the infamous 7/4 deal.

That deal was signed of course to make up the shortfall in games when the Saints left, who themselves took the NZ market from Hawthorn and butchered that too but that’s by the by.

Hawthorn themselves now admit that it is line ball whether they make more money extending the Tasmanian deal or bringing the games back to Melbourne (according to the Wilson article) so another myth debunked

If you look at the opponents Hawthorn play in Tasmania, the corresponding fixtures drew the following attendances for Melbourne based Hawthorn home games...

Fremantle x 6 games in Tasmania (2 games in Melbourne inc 43,583, 31,925)
GWS x 2 games in Tasmania (3 games in Melbourne inc 14,858, 17,906, 26,805)
Gold Coast x 5 games in Tasmania (3 games in Melbourne inc 31,331, 27,532, 28,011)
Brisbane x 10 games in Tasmania (2 games in Melbourne inc 35,492, 39,007)
Port Adelaide x 5 games in Tasmania (4 games in Melbourne inc 28,657, 27,532, 21,287, 33,527)
Adelaide x 2 in Tasmania (5 games in Melbourne inc 26,693, 37,470, 45,781, 33,524, 32,583)
West Coast x 3 games in Tasmania (6 games in Melbourne inc 31,892, 28,011, 42,977, 32,587, 50,023, 29,138)
Carlton x 2 games in Tasmania (2 games in Melbourne inc 33,182, 69,814)
St Kilda x 4 games in Tasmania (3 games in Melbourne inc 32,924, 42,453, 36,069)
W Bulldogs x 4 games in Tasmania (5 games in Melbourne inc 39,892, 48,080, 42,198, 47,474, 31,982)
N Melbourne x 5 games in Tasmania (4 games in Melbourne inc 36,174, 50,657, 42,218, 42,508)
Sydney x 1 game in Tasmania (9 games in Melbourne inc 48,398, 49,527, 44,484, 36,007, 54,894, 72,760, 63,319, 61,552, 52,181, 32,784)
Geelong x 1 game in Tasmania (10 games in Melbourne inc 69,584, 68,628, 78,578, 65,235, 76,300, 72,254, 73,584, 62,360, 59,598, 66,346)

Hawthorn pushing only low drawing games to Tasmania is a bit of a myth. If you look at games drawn in Melbourne (and Hawthorn has played every club in Melbourne based home games)

Geelong - 69,350 (1 game in Tasmania)
Sydney - 51,587 (1 game in Tasmania)
Carlton - 51,537 (2 games in Tasmania)
N Melbourne - 42,860 (5 games in Tasmania
W Bulldogs - 42,028 (4 games in Tasmania)
Fremantle - 37,754 (6 games in Tasmania)
Brisbane - 37,259 (10 games in Tasmania)
St Kilda - 37,149 (4 games in Tasmania)
West Coast - 35,783 (3 games in Tasmania)
Adelaide - 35,274 (5 games in Tasmania)
Gold Coast - 28,958 (5 games in Tasmania)
Port Adelaide - 27,752 (5 games in Tasmania
GWS - 19,898 (2 games in Tasmania)

There is a myth that Hawthorn have dumped their low drawing games in Tasmania. This has been a myth, the spread of home games is relatively even between Melbourne and York Park.

The notable exception is Brisbane which is bizarre (as the two games in Melbourne back in 2007 and 2012 both drew 35k plus)

Another myth is that these games would by and large be lost making games in Melbourne. Aside from the GWS fixtures the average across all opponents would be break even or profit drawing in Melbourne. In fact games against Geel, Syd, Carl, NM, WB, BL, St K and even WC and Adel would be money spinners in Melbourne.

On the numbers Fremantle would be too but I won’t be so cheeky to suggest that (the GF reply helped but the other fixture it should be noted did draw 32,000 in 2011)

I think the Tasmanian and Hawthorn relationship has run its course. Back in 2002-06 it was fantastic as it gave Tasmanian’s exposure to AFL football and Hawthorn a profit centre for games that drew 15,000 to 25,000. These were often scheduled at Docklands which was a terrible outcome for the club

Now that these games draw 27,000 to 37,000 in Melbourne (PA, GC, Adel, WC, Fremantle), increasingly at Docklands and with changes to stadium deal economics that profit centre is not as needed as it was in 2002

No, they weren't. :rolleyes:

Hawthorn have been in great shape financially over the past 20 years.

Yep, the Hawks have been kicking goals since they doubled the number of Tassie home games and Tasmania became our major sponsor in 2007. It was great timing to do so when the Global Financial Crisis hit and put a squeeze on corporate sponsorships of sporting clubs around Australia. Not sure why this is such a source of mirth. The Hawks have been one of the best run clubs in the country, always punching well above their weight. Especially in comparison to your broke-arse club which receives GWS/Gold Coast levels of funding from the Gill administration.

If & when Hawthorn's Tassie arrangement ends, we'll go back to playing 11 home games in Melbourne and we will get ourselves a new jumper sponsor. Most Hawks fans I know are hoping this happens. I don't really care either way. But here's the thing: a stand alone Tassie team won't win 77% of their home games and 4 premierships like we did from 2007-2019. They will be just another shiit franchise clogging up the lower end of the ladder.

Good luck barracking for your minnow Devils or your lowly Saints. Which one will you choose?

(Maybe the the AFL will make it easy for you...)

2018 revenues
  • West Coast – $82,265,015
  • Collingwood – $82,074,011
  • Richmond – $79,777,837
  • Hawthorn – $74,339,727
  • Geelong – $67,944,647
  • Essendon – $65,092,072
  • Carlton – $ 61,627,141
  • Pt Adelaide – $59,000,643
  • Fremantle – $58,390,623
  • Adelaide – $ 56,060,913
  • Brisbane – $55,605,874
  • St Kilda – $53,864,218
  • Sydney – $54,084,840
  • W Bulldogs – $51,576,289
  • Melbourne – $49,010,456
  • GWS Giants – $43,453,413
  • Gold Coast – $40,042,853
  • North Melb – $39,618,239

AFL Distributions
  • Gold Coast – $23,696,768
  • Brisbane – $23,609,188
  • GWS Giants – $23,234,214
  • St Kilda – $20,539,315
  • Pt Adelaide – $19,805,849
  • North Melb – $16,918,003
  • Melbourne – $16,336,739
  • W Bulldogs – $16,271,119
  • Sydney – $14,886,155
  • Carlton – $14,149,443
  • Adelaide -$12,676,532
  • Richmond – $12,505,575
  • Essendon – $12,079,819
  • Geelong – $11,841,169
  • Fremantle – $11,469,122
  • Collingwood – $11,424,087
  • Hawthorn – $11,156,622
  • West Coast – $11,002,504

This and this.

It’s a shame the Saints left in 2006. They would have made a much more natural relocation target then North Melbourne for the AFL to undercut Hawthorn with from 2010 onwards

Good chance Kennett would have given up on Tasmania back in 2010 when Hawthorn’s negotiating position was at its peak

You'd think they would be heavily reliant on local players (ones they can convince to come home plus ones they develop themselves) and I think they'd be just fine if you look at the current crop of Tasmanians in the AFL.

Rucks: Tom Bellchambers, Toby Nankervis, Andrew Phillips
Mids: Mitch Robinson, Tarryn Thomas, Hugh Greenwood, Aaron Hall
Key Forwards: Jack Riewoldt, Ben Brown
General Forwards: Chayce Jones, Maverick Weller
Key Backs: Liam Jones, Alex Pearce
General Defenders: Grant Birchall, Jake Kolodjashnij, Kade Kolodjashnij
Utility: Jeremy Howe

Add in a few high end draft picks and you have a very competitive team.

Good chance none of them are still going around in 2025 though, hasn't there been less players drafted from Tassie in the past 3-4 years?

Hope this current 10-14 years old group stay in footy because of this.

Since the team is likely to be based in Hobart, I thought it would be interesting to look at where the current crop of Tassie AFL players hail from. I've taken the team I listed earlier in this thread for reference and added a few more Tasmanians to fill it out.

FB: Jake Kolodjashnij (Launceston), Liam Jones (Hobart), Grant Birchall (Devonport)
HB: Kade Kolodjashnij (Launceston), Alex Pearce (Devonport), Jeremy Howe (Hobart)
C: Mitch Robinson (Hobart), Hugh Greenwood (Hobart), Lachie Weller (Burnie)
HF: Chayce Jones (Launceston), Jack Riewoldt (Hobart), Levi Casboult (Hobart)
FF: Brody Mihocek (Burnie), Ben Brown (Devonport), Robbie Fox (Burnie)
Ruc: Tom Bellchambers (Launceston), Aaron Hall (Hobart), Tarryn Thomas (Launceston)
Int: Toby Nankervis (Launceston), Hugh Dixon (Hobart), Maverick Weller (Burnie), Jackson Thurlow (Launceston)

Hobart: 8/22 (36%)
Launceston: 7/22 (32%)
Burnie: 4/22 (18%)
Devonport: 3/22
Actually there's currently 28 AFL listed Tasmanians - 19 from the North (Launceston, Devonport, Burnie and surrounding areas) and 9 from the South - Hobart and surrounds.

Tasmanian AFL Players

1 Hugh Greewood Adel Lauderdale (Hobart)

2 Chayse Jones Adel Launceston

3 Mitch Robinson Bris Lauderdale (Hobart)

4 Liam Jones Carl North Hobart

5 Andrew Phillips Carl Lauderdale (Hobart)

6 Levi Casboult Carl Beaconsfield

7 Jeremy Howe Coll Dodges Ferry/Hobart

8 Brody Mihocek Coll Burnie

9 Tom Bellchambers Ess North Launceston

10 Hugh Dixon Fre Kingborough (Hobart)

11 Alex Pearce Fre Ulverstone/Launceston

12 Jake Kolodjashnij Gee Prospect (Launceston)

13 Lachie Weller GCS Burnie

14 Grant Birchall Haw Devonport

15 Tim Mohr Haw Launceston

16 Kade Kolodjashnij Mel Prospect (Launceston)

17 Jay Lockhart Mel North Launceston

18 Tarryn Thomas NM North Launceston

19 Aaron Hall NM North Hobart

20 Ben Brown NM Devonport

21 Jack Riewoldt Rich Clarence (Hobart)

22 Maverick Weller Rich Burnie

23 Toby Nankervis Rich George Town (north coast)

24 Fraser Turner Rich Clarence (Hobart)

25 Jimmy Webster StK Glenorchy (Hobart)

26 Jackson Thurlow Syd Launceston

27 Robbie Fox Syd Burnie

28 Ryan Gardner WB Burnie

I'm not saying there wasn't. Just wondering where the definate will fill the ground confidence comes from.

Actually hawks sell the ground out now, it just that tasmanians are sick of unglamorous teams coming. Stay away

A tassie team with each victorian team visiting at least every other year will do the trick

Whaddya reckon tassie v hawthorn would draw in the first year?

The AFL crowd in Hobart shows people don't want to support a interstate team,they want a team of their own,allthough a lot of people believe it's due to the bad location of Bellerive.

Actually hawks sell the ground out now, it just that tasmanians are sick of unglamorous teams coming. Stay away

A tassie team with each victorian team visiting at least every other year will do the trick

Whaddya reckon tassie v hawthorn would draw in the first year?

Hawthorn pretty much has a core 12,000 that rocks to every game, in all weather conditions.

The other 6,000 depends on the popularity of the opposition club

Hawthorn pretty much has a core 12,000 that rocks to every game, in all weather conditions.

The other 6,000 depends on the popularity of the opposition club
Hawthorn do not sell out the stadium anymore,largest crowd this year was 15800,the stadium holds 21000.

Who here is from Tassie?

What’s your feeling on Tassie folk switching their allegiance from their current AFL club to the new one?

Reckon it’s a given, 99% of supporters will just do it? 50%?

There’s some ridiculous number of Tasweigiens who are AFL club members at the moment.
Total given. Many people will continue to support 2 sides.

I want a Tassie team and look forward to them joining but how is it demonstrably not a problem?

There was 8k there today.
I live in Hobart and support the Dees. Why didn't I go? My team is pathetic and not worth the waste of time to watch. If you are a neutral supporter why would you want to watch two non finals playing teams play? I dare say the crowd size is more about team form and number of local supporters than it is an indication of support for AFL in Tasmania (a traditional football state that doesn't have their own team so the population support is divided to support 18 different teams).

As i said wasn't having a go and think they should get a team.
Just that there's a lot of comments on here saying it's a definate that they will get sellouts etc to every game.

Nothing is definate.

The AFL crowd in Hobart shows people don't want to support a interstate team,they want a team of their own,allthough a lot of people believe it's due to the bad location of Bellerive.
Exactly. If you live in Melbourne and you support Essendon, are you going to go and watch Collingwood vs Brisbane?

As i said wasn't having a go and think they should get a team.
Just that there's a lot of comments on here saying it's a definate that they will get sellouts etc to every game.

Nothing is definate.
All good. Not sure if it will be a sell out if we have our own team. I imagine support would be pretty strong, we are very parochial here. I just think that talk about current attendance in TAS is a red herring - when you have a population of 500k and that is split for support across 18 teams (not to mention not everyone follows AFL), of course it will be hard to fill the stadium. Most people want to watch their team live, not other teams.

I want a Tassie team and look forward to them joining but how is it demonstrably not a problem?

There was 8k there today.
Watching two teams that have no connection to Tasmania what so ever gws only got 10,000 to there last home game the fact that we’re getting crowds similar to gws when’s it’s neutral teams playing down here says right there how much the state loves footy I’ve got no doubt a local tassie team would double gws crowds from day 1 !