The state of the Giants and Suns

GCS was created with a long-term plan in mind to increase junior participation in this sport and compete with NRL. I don't think the people at the top of an organisation like the AFL will spit the dummy after less than a decade on something so important. In fact, I trust they know what they're doing but are learning as they go to make GC more competitive commercially and on the field. They aren't just a bunch of rich morons selected at random. (Or are they?)

giphy.gif

Serious question, how much money has the AFL put into the GCS over the past decade or so?

Is this information publicly available?
Whoever has this info please show all teams not just the suns.

So to recap, they are crying out for for hard nosed senior players.

Had Jarrad Lyons last year but sent him up the Damascus - Aleppo Highway for whatever reason (seriously, why, did he steal Stewie's mid morning steadier eclair?) whereupon Lyons becomes a key cog in a top four midfield.

Now they want more concessions. FFS.

So to recap, they are crying out for for hard nosed senior players.

Had Jarrad Lyons last year but sent him up the Damascus - Aleppo Highway for whatever reason (seriously, why, did he steal Stewie's mid morning steadier eclair?) whereupon Lyons becomes a key cog in a top four midfield.

Now they want more concessions. FFS.

OK, I LOL'd. Sometimes I think you're not that bad JLG.

Its not fair on a kid to have to spend 3 years at a club that means nothing, and one that doesnt represent anything.
But they don't have to. They're very welcome to go play in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL instead. The problem is they want the money and fame of the big time AND to dictate where they will go, without having put in the years to earn that privilege first. This is called entitlement.

This thread is low-quality bait. Not only is it rehashing a topic that has been done to death in 500 other threads, it starts out presenting Gold Coast's beginning negotiating position and invites people to comment on it as though it were reality. News flash: you start negotiations with more demands than you think you'll get, to ensure you get the best possible deal. Gold Coast will probably get less than half of what their initial position asks for by the end of it.

They don't deserve anything, get your culture right or just fold and be done with it. It's a failed state now and extra cash won't help them.

Gws have actually established a legitimate footy club, Gold Coast has the same opportunities and stuffed it all up.

They don't deserve anything, get your culture right or just fold and be done with it. It's a failed state now and extra cash won't help them.
You're aware you need money to build culture, right? Attracting veterans with leadership, good facilities and player welfare all require cash. Gold Coast were given extremely poor facilities and incompetent administrators. They replaced everything after 2017 and the new people need time and resources to get it right.

It needs emphasising that these requests are really talking about the establishment of a new club. We're not talking about a club that's been around for 100 years & is now going through a rough patch. The initial establishment concessions have proven insufficient, so we're just asking for help to address that.

Serious question, how much money has the AFL put into the GCS over the past decade or so?

Is this information publicly available?

All clubs get hand outs. But the better you are at making money, the less you get.

AFL Distributions 2018
  • Gold Coast – $23,696,768
  • Brisbane – $23,609,188
  • GWS – $23,234,214
  • St Kilda – $20,539,315
  • Port Adelaide – $19,805,849 (includes match day and merch)
  • North Melbourne – $16,918,003
  • Melbourne – $16,336,739
  • Western Bulldogs – $16,271,119
  • Sydney – $14,886,155
  • Carlton – $14,149,443
  • Adelaide -$12,676,532
  • Richmond – $12,505,575
  • Essendon – $12,079,819
  • Geelong – $11,841,169
  • Fremantle – $11,469,122
  • Collingwood – $11,424,087
  • Hawthorn – $11,156,622
  • West Coast – $11,002,504

`
All clubs get hand outs. But the better you are at making money, the less you get.

AFL Distributions 2018
  • Gold Coast – $23,696,768
  • Brisbane – $23,609,188
  • GWS – $23,234,214
  • St Kilda – $20,539,315
  • Port Adelaide – $19,805,849 (includes match day and merch)
  • North Melbourne – $16,918,003
  • Melbourne – $16,336,739
  • Western Bulldogs – $16,271,119
  • Sydney – $14,886,155
  • Carlton – $14,149,443
  • Adelaide -$12,676,532
  • Richmond – $12,505,575
  • Essendon – $12,079,819
  • Geelong – $11,841,169
  • Fremantle – $11,469,122
  • Collingwood – $11,424,087
  • Hawthorn – $11,156,622
  • West Coast – $11,002,504
Geeze St Kilda get a lot don't they.

Considering their 'zone' is one of, if not the, biggest catchment areas in Melbourne thats a little poor.

Yes, long term it's very important the AFL has 2 teams in Queensland.
That doesn't mean the GC Suns as a franchise are worth it though. What about an investment into a popular club like the Southport Sharks or even something a little more inland? That could have been an option.

They fix the cultural issues (which they look they are starting to) and player retention can quickly turn around. Three years ago Brisbane had the apparent issue of no-one wanting to be there. They made some critical senior level changes and have become an attractive place. Gold Coast has the potential to achieve something similar.

The AFL will be very patient and the Suns will see some success. At the start of the season three wins was probably a little more than most were expecting. Get another couple of young guns, retain what you have and bring in some more solid citizens/leaders and they can become competitive reasonably quickly.

Yes, because clubs wont just entice players back fro Tassie. All of a sudden every 18-30 year old will want to play for a side in freezing cold Tassie with SFA to do there?
Have you been to Tassie? Honestly it’s nice. IMO would change the whole city having a fair dinkum AFL side with a premier staduim.

You're aware you need money to build culture, right? Attracting veterans with leadership, good facilities and player welfare all require cash. Gold Coast were given extremely poor facilities and incompetent administrators. They replaced everything after 2017 and the new people need time and resources to get it right.

Yes you were given everything but facilities but your most successful coach to date noted that facilities aren't an excuse, the biggest leg up in the history of the game, unfortunately it was a very poor place to set a team up. Regardless of the performance of the admin that's on the club, my club was a joke for 30 years due to incompetence and we weren't given anything to help rectify our situation. Why are the GC different?