Mar 5, 2015
West of Woop Woop
Marconi, Arsenal, GreenEdge
So, if we'd made it Cam Zurhaar would have been playing his first final and I don't think he'd have taken a backward step.

The Dogs have some good young talent no doubt. The question is are they are a team that loves flipping the ball around under the roof at Docklands, or a team that can win hard physical games when the intensity is at its max.

I reckon you really missed Libba, he's made for those games.
Correct. Libba was missed badly. Tory Dickson and Jackson Trengrove would likely have helped too. If it wasnt a deliberate stategy to give young guys finals experience over tougher nuts it feels like it. And we all knew what the giants would bring after our R22 meeting with them.
Bailey Smith for us is the young first season mongrel.

It feeels like adeliberate Bevo policy/strategy not to be anti-social which means we dont give away many stupid free kicks (which oppo fans seem to think means were being favoured). Backfired saturday.

WallyStringhaus

Aug 27, 2015
Are those that are labelling Dogs posters as 'salty', 'precious' and 'emotional' deliberately ignoring the dozens of posts from neutrals who are saying the exact same thing?

Check our board, the consensus is that we were taught a lesson in finals football. GWS were harder and wanted it more than we did.

What we do take exception to is the way Greene handled Bontempelli. It's not on and given his history we would be saying the same thing if he did it to Cripps, Danger or Fyfe. The guy is a grub who doesn't deserve to be playing next week.

Sedat!

Oct 3, 2003
We get called plastic, soul-less, franchise club with no history. This is how rivalries and history are built, clubs hating one another, it's been happening for 100 years. We love Toby and how he plays, he flew the flag for a team mate who was lucky to be not injured from a dangerous tackle by the oppo player pushing the boundaries for the 2nd game in a row. It's what mates do for mates.
I get all that. But he's not much use fully fit and suited up in the stands watching next week. There was no need at all to do what he did at that moment on Saturday and he'll likely get punished. If he doesn't curb these unecessary red mist moments he will become a liability for the team and his career will be shortened.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mar 15, 2012
Some bloke has put up a photo of Bont hitting a players shin early doors too. Same side of the face as the black eye he was sporting at the end of the game.
Nah that was in the 2nd quarter, he ran into Hunter's shin. Can see he's already sporting the eye bruise at the end of the 1st so is unrelated.

Oct 12, 2016
GWS
Are those that are labelling Dogs posters as 'salty', 'precious' and 'emotional' deliberately ignoring the dozens of posts from neutrals who are saying the exact same thing?

Check our board, the consensus is that we were taught a lesson in finals football. GWS were harder and wanted it more than we did.

What we do take exception to is the way Greene handled Bontempelli. It's not on and given his history we would be saying the same thing if he did it to Cripps, Danger or Fyfe. The guy is a grub who doesn't deserve to be playing next week.

Just for clarity, do you take exception at the way Bont handled Josh Kelly?

WallyStringhaus

Aug 27, 2015
Just for clarity, do you take exception at the way Bont handled Josh Kelly?
Josh and Bont are best mates. Do you actually think Bont was trying to hurt him or the tackle was a touch exuberant and was rightly paid a free kick?

There's a big difference between an aggressive tackle (of which the Giants did plenty of, none of which i take exception to) and what Greene did.

Just because he plays for you doesn't mean you have to defend his dirty play. There are plenty of Dogs fans who didn't like the way Libba snr went about things.

Oct 12, 2016
GWS
Josh and Bont are best mates. Do you actually think Bont was trying to hurt him or the tackle was a touch exuberant and was rightly paid a free kick?

There's a big difference between an aggressive tackle (of which the Giants did plenty of, none of which i take exception to) and what Greene did.

Just because he plays for you doesn't mean you have to defend his dirty play. There are plenty of Dogs fans who didn't like the way Libba snr went about things.
Does Kelly? They are great mates. Have a scroll through their instas.

Neither of you answered the question.

WallyStringhaus

Aug 27, 2015
Neither of you answered the question.
Yeah I did...it was rightly paid a free kick. Was there malice in it? No. Players tackle aggressively and incorrectly dozens of times across all games every week...its part of the game. Scratching, gouging, hair pulling and gut punches are not.

WallyStringhaus

Aug 27, 2015
If he was a protected species like some players around it would be a fair argument. Sadly it's not a level playing field.
Oh ffs...cry me a river. How hard is it to just admit that Greene is a flog?

Clearly you have issues with Bont's late bump on Haynes. Like the tackling it happens so many times in all matches, it was unfortunate and unintentional that Haynes had his Larynx fractured.

I can honestly say that both on and off the field that Bont is as fair and good natured as you will find. Can you say the same about Toby?

The accidental contact to his teammates shin was prior to this. It may have been the result of the black eye.

Do you also think Haynes may have done his injury a lot more harm in the second half in round 22?
He was involved in lots of contests.

sprockets

Crime Board Sleuth BeanCoiNFT Investor
Oct 15, 2004
Anyone see the irony here?

Toby Greene.png

Thedeftouch

May 5, 2011
Brisbane Lions
The AFL is already priming the public for a stitch-up: "The expectation from a number of key figures involved in tonight's hearing is that Toby Greene is looking at somewhere between a heavy fine and a one-match suspension, having allegedly made contact with the hair and face of Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli on Saturday." The use of the word "allegedly" is comical, as is the suggestion that a fine would be a reasonable punishment.

Well he hasn’t been charged with the “crime” of eye-gouging.
Is there an eye-gouging rule in the AFL laws? It's covered by an over arching set of rules to allow for any circumstance. We probably don't have a Hopoate date rule either however if John decided to turn his hand (pun intended) to AFL, he would be covered.