Bluemour Melting Pot XIX - Give Me Ed Baby - Return of the Prodigal Son

I have high hopes for Stocker.

Think it was the Collingwood game, his second game, one of their players gave him a shove into the fence and gave him some lip. He got right in their face and made them regret it. Later one of the Pies players did a shocking tackle on one of our players (Daisy I recall?) and he again got straight into their face.

Oozes confidence.

Hope he earns more game time in 2020.
You'll think he would play most games next year
Another pre-season with Russel, so no more fitness excuses

Hi Guys,

Long time reader, first time poster, not sure if it has been mentioned on here yet or not but Crippa, Murph & Charlie made an appearance at my local pub in Tassie last night, just thought I would share some things that were said

Crippa confirmed that Jack Martin has nominated that he wants to be at Carlton next year, also said that he was the best junior that he has seen.

All 3 mentioned Papley a few times without being prompted, sounded very promising.

Murph said that the club will persist with SPS down back, this was part of the reason for Daisey not getting a contract along with the returns of Doc and Willow down there.

Regarding Betts Murph said where there's smoke there's fire and would love to have him back, also said that it was the biggest list management mistake the club has made letting him go in the first place.

Crippa said that we have not seen the best out of Marchbank yet and will be a gun, also is excited to see TDK develop as a genuine RUCK.

Was also nice to hear that Weitering was BOG on their recent trip to Mykonos

Murph sounds keen to go on for a few more years to try and chase the fairy tale ending ala Shane Crawford.

Promising times ahead, Go Blues!

I don’t believe it’s hate, nowhere near it.
If we’re to bring in Papley and Martin alone, try and do our best 22. You’ll find players such as Ed or Gibbo miss out or at best are midfield rotations off the bench. It’s a bloody good situation to be in.

With Papley and Martin I'd have our best 22 as:

b: Plowman, Jones, Newman
hb: Simpson, Weitering, SPS
c: Walsh, Cripps, Setterfield
hf: Gibbons, Charlie, Martin
f: Papley, McKay, Silvagni
Foll: Kreuzer, Ed, Murphy
Bench: Casboult, Fisher, Docherty*, Cuningham*

Emergencies for Docherty/Cuningham might be Marchbank (with a * of his own) and probably Kennedy. It's actually still quite hard to get to a balanced 22 that are AFL standard, and unless we have a Brisbane-like run, we're not quite there yet, even with Papley and Martin.

We're are still paper thin, particularly in midfield. Obviously another preseason will help prospects like O'Brien, Dow and Stocker, but none have shown they can push Murphy/Ed out of those roles, and SPS, Setterfield, Kennedy, Fisher and Cuningham have all played their best footy in other roles so far (and there's nothing wrong with that; we need a whole team of players).

I'd be doing everything to get Powell-Pepper. He fits our needs perfectly alongside Cripps as a big bodied midfielder who can get the ball. He kicks goals and has a bit of mongrel as well. I'd also want Betts to help as a leader; add him in place of Cuningham as a veteran and all-round good bloke.

Somehow manage to make those moves, and I think we can start looking to move up the ladder.

With Papley and Martin I'd have our best 22 as:

b: Plowman, Jones, Newman
hb: Simpson, Weitering, SPS
c: Walsh, Cripps, Setterfield
hf: Gibbons, Charlie, Martin
f: Papley, McKay, Silvagni
Foll: Kreuzer, Ed, Murphy
Bench: Casboult, Fisher, Docherty*, Cuningham*

Emergencies for Docherty/Cuningham might be Marchbank (with a * of his own) and probably Kennedy. It's actually still quite hard to get to a balanced 22 that are AFL standard, and unless we have a Brisbane-like run, we're not quite there yet, even with Papley and Martin.

We're are still paper thin, particularly in midfield. Obviously another preseason will help prospects like O'Brien, Dow and Stocker, but none have shown they can push Murphy/Ed out of those roles, and SPS, Setterfield, Kennedy, Fisher and Cuningham have all played their best footy in other roles so far (and there's nothing wrong with that; we need a whole team of players).

I'd be doing everything to get Powell-Pepper. He fits our needs perfectly alongside Cripps as a big bodied midfielder who can get the ball. He kicks goals and has a bit of mongrel as well. I'd also want Betts to help as a leader; add him in place of Cuningham as a veteran and all-round good bloke.

Somehow manage to make those moves, and I think we can start looking to move up the ladder.

[emoji1303]

I don’t envy anyone putting our 2020 team together. So not nit picking

But you missed Gov.

Only soapy can name all the players I reckon.

[emoji1303]

I don’t envy anyone putting our 2020 team together. So not nit picking

But you missed Gov.

Only soapy can name all the players I reckon.

I didn’t include McGovern deliberately.

He’s behind McKay and Curnow for pure forward spots.

Casboult fills the third role. He has simply played better this year as well and is more versatile - can play ruck, back and forward. Casboult as third tall means McKay can stay forward which helps him too. JSOS was absolutely critical to our structure as a table-setter and the 3 quicks are necessary for forward pressure.

There’s ways you can get McGovern in - dropping McKay, playing the extra tall defender, etc. I just don’t think he’s worth it. 8 disposals, 1.3 goals and 1.5 tackles from a forward who is in their prime is mediocre stuff, particularly when they don’t really rotate into another position on the ground and have fitness/weight issues. McGovern takes flashy grabs but is in all other respects a good backup and nothing more...

Hi Guys,

Long time reader, first time poster, not sure if it has been mentioned on here yet or not but Crippa, Murph & Charlie made an appearance at my local pub in Tassie last night, just thought I would share some things that were said

Crippa confirmed that Jack Martin has nominated that he wants to be at Carlton next year, also said that he was the best junior that he has seen.

All 3 mentioned Papley a few times without being prompted, sounded very promising.

Murph said that the club will persist with SPS down back, this was part of the reason for Daisey not getting a contract along with the returns of Doc and Willow down there.

Regarding Betts Murph said where there's smoke there's fire and would love to have him back, also said that it was the biggest list management mistake the club has made letting him go in the first place.

Crippa said that we have not seen the best out of Marchbank yet and will be a gun, also is excited to see TDK develop as a genuine RUCK.

Murph sounds keen to go on for a few more years to try and chase the fairy tale ending ala Shane Crawford.

Welcome TasShark and thanks for sharing

Hi Guys,

Weitering was BOG in Mykonos?

Excuse my ignorance, but what does that mean?