Game Day Collingwood v GWS Giants - Preliminary Finals — Sat 21 Sep, 4:35PM AEST, MCG

Who will Win?

• Collingwood by 30+ pts

Votes: 35 27.1%
  • Collingwood 10-30

Votes: 48 37.2%
  • Collingwood by <10

Votes: 9 7.0%
  • GWS Giants by <10

Votes: 12 9.3%
  • GWS Giants by 10-30

Votes: 14 10.9%
  • GWS Giants by 30+

Votes: 11 8.5%

Giants clearly outplayed Pies when it mattered. Just frustrating when the final margin is less than a goal and obvious free kicks literally cost you goals and swing momentum.
And the frees missed to the Giants in goal scoring positions?
That's not including the clear touch that was ruled a goal.

Giants clearly outplayed Pies when it mattered. Just frustrating when the final margin is less than a goal and obvious free kicks literally cost you goals and swing momentum.

Sure i agree, the obvious touched goal also gave you momentum.

Swings and roundabouts in the end though

I don't care if other teams don't like us, i just like to understand why.

With west coast the doesn't seem to be an actual reason.

But it is nice all the old timers who were alive for the 70s promised us in 2017 that it will be great when everyone hates us instead of piting us and they were right.
Richmond is the reason. the reason is Richmond, what other reason would be required?

Defiantly be proud & hold your head up high could of easily rolled over in the last quarter like many clubs would of. Just left the run too late & umpires in the 3rd didn't help you!
I worked at the game & it was breathtaking in the Magpie Cheer Squad during the last 15 minutes atmosphere was electric! There were fans leaving after Cameron kicked that goal & I can just imagine what they were thinking listening on the way home & what they could of missed out on.
Would of been a hard week for you & his family but I'm sure he would be smiling from above. Hopefully we get up for him. Cheers mate 👍
[/QUOTE]

Hey mate at least they won 2018 PF. They can hang their hat on that for another year.

Watched the last 4 minutes and football lost today.

Giants as I said played that foul crap on the ground scrounging like rugby , no skill just totally swamp the ground get it down, and hold it in, Now I really hope this win in any way you can even if you scrounge around in packs is not footy.

But football, and Gil's little TV team gets a shot , I hope and pray that the Tigers annihilate them , next week, no umpires will make any difference next week because Richmond hunt an kill.

But I have to say commercialism won that game, and its any wonder we who come from traditional states hate these ring ins with bought players and advice from the CEO, PLAY RUGBY , HAVE THE UMPIRES MISS MORE THAN THEY SEE, AND WONDER HOW WHEN THE GAME IS PLAYED IN A ROLLING PACK.
VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED, IF IT HAD HAVE BEEN SYDNEY SWANS I WOULDN'T CARE MUCH ,AT LEAST THEY HAVE A PAST.
BUT HOW COLLINGWOOD CAME BACK I DON'T KNOW AND THE GIANTS TO WIN LIKE THAT IN A S**t MANNER SCROUNGING ON THE GROUND, WELL I NEVER SAW FINALS LIKE THAT IN THE PAST.
WHAT CRAP, AND TO THINK ITS ONE OF THESE BLEEDING NEW THINGS THAT DON'T BELONG THAT DID IT!
GILS COMMERCIALISATION OF AUSSIE FOOTBALL, AND MONEY BUYING SUCCESS , ALL I CAN HOPE FOR IS THAT THIS CRUD TEAM, GET WIPED OFF THE FACE OF THE MCG,
But who gives a toss now, the real weekend of the GF will be a crap week, and I'm going over, I was hoping for a real Melbourne grand final feeling, but no the paid for non club is in .
Well one of them has made it to the only game worth going to. A bleeding fake team, versus a real club, and s**t if the Giants win it , it'll be a dead season for me.
No one who is not Victorian or lived most of their life there, or is from a traditional FOOTY state has no idea of the week before, all footy states know it the SANFL and the WAFL Tassie, NT , and of course the home of our game VIC !

When they were stateS main competitions they all have the feeling that September feeling.

I felt it for many years, played amateur footy in it wonderful, it is dead today, (imagine a Collingwood v Richmond GF , )my September feeling just went out the door, can't help it . Thats me!

But the Giants are not an AFL team they are not a club and they were built as was GC17 for money , nothing more and nothing less TV rights!!!.

And we see manufactured teams being invented happening, the umpiring is abominable , (to every team even the fakes) the 50 m rule is an obscenity, and not needed , Free kicks rule the roost in the AFL and umpires run the show, its almost not worth following , because a blind man can see that one of these frauds has to have success, and Gil Mclachlan has no conception of football tribal and fanatic following, and we have two many clubs , and a nothing will play off in the best game of the year, which will be ruined by rules and umpires who miscall and misinterpret, like they did last year when a bloock was put on and the mark was paid. Bad luck Collinwood but if Brisbane had have beaten you, I would not worry at least they too, like Soth Melbourne have history , where as these GWS is just pure plastic.
Footy is definately losing something for me, didn't matter who played in the last day of September, even the Eagles or the Adelaide clubs THEY WERE REAL MADE FROM THEIR TRAD STATES , the Giants v Richmond means nothing if the giants win, If Richmond win , it is not a big day for real Australian Rules traditionalists.
My football is dead or dying right now, THAT GAME WAS TERRIBLE TO WATCH! AND I AM FURIOUS WITH COLLINGWOODS PISS WEAK ATTEMPT AND TO LET THOSE PLASTICS GET AHEAD!

GO AHEAD SAY WHAT YOU LIKE.

YOU KNOW ME I SAY THESE THINGS ABOUT THESE NEW MONEY CLUBS BUT I'M READY TO SAY IT, AND I NEVER CHANGE HOW I THINK, AND I SAY THE SAME THING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.

I HATE WHAT OUR GAME HAS BECOME , it is not football , after today I don't know what it is, and I don't even follow effing Collingwood.

NOW DO YOUR BEST BOYS & GIRLS!

A STRAY FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE THAT IS NOT AFL TERRITORY, THAT HAS BEEN BUILT BY GIL AND ANDY D IS PLAYING OFF IN A DEAD RUBBER!
For me anyway. Go on get into it , have a shot???????????????????????????????????????????

Written from an undisclosed wing of the MRC? Streuth!

Its just mindless then, got it.

You do you and I'll continue to not worry about west coast
If you require people to treat you with the respect you seem to think you deserve, how about Richmond posters not filling up every thread on BF with, `But Richmond are bigger than the Pies` posts?

You obviously missed the point here

General General General , you are no Luke Hodge... General, I am very whiney I could be a female dog too, not sure, but I do not like, as you can tell ,the way manipulation and money has created and helped a plastic invention, that will play in a traditional grand final.

When the week would have been magnificent in Melbourne and I am going to Melbourne to try to enjoy the week and the GF, no I'm not going to the game brother, I am going home to my base where I came from.
The Giants making the GF has left me dead , because they mean nothing , they are a Mclachlan and Demetriou money invention like GC17, we have Swans with history and Lions with history in NSW & QLD, we did not need two new inventions. I've told you this before.

Now maybe they will survive, but they a "nothings" as far as I'm concerned because they add nothing to the AFL, but one a failure and one helped to where it got.
I know you'll have all the answers and retorts , but I'd rather have seen money by the millions thrown at Tasmania ,and at the NT.

THE AFL ONLY SAW DOLLAR SIGNS IN Gold Coast, God knows what they saw in Western Sydney, just population numbers I guess , who they thought would flood to the games , hah!
No mate when your guys go through your down times like all clubs have to, you 'll be at the game with about 7 of your mates, the rest will be at the soccer or Rugby or boccie.

I have seen our Australian Rules ruined by expansion by rule changing , bad umpiring , umpires running the game.

Lack of skill level in some! A player pool, that cannot fill 18 clubs with top elites! And if your creation wins next week , my sadness will be that you don't belong and you were a built entity forTV rights!
Now you reckon this post is heavy , try the one before this,heh heh. But mate, its only a game, or is it more than a game?. Let the games begin!
My god you can type.

Whats this with paper bags? I think you have the wrong club. Just a dumb, ignorant, irrelevant comment.
Spicers Paper are a sponsor but thats as close as the Pies have come to paper bags. (I've been a supporter over 50 years)
We work hard as a club to get sponsorships, memberships etc to earn our own money.

After paying the most into the equalisation fund last year, receiving the least money back from the fund, after paying an extra $1m of "wealth tax" to the AFL (along with the Hawks and the Eagles), after earning the 2nd highest revenue in the league (just behind WC) we earned an operating profit of $100,000 last year - the 3rd lowest in the league.
Love to know about these paper bags you stupidly go on about. Maybe we could get some of them back. (or some of yours - with all your blank signed AFL cheques).
Then again the AFL (who also run and admister your club - conflicted much?) would probably just take it off us again to pay for your $2.5m operating loss.
Funny how you can afford to pay your football department more than 12 other clubs but still be allowed to run at a loss. KOTD.

No wonder you can get QCs to appeal the thugs case at the tribunal - we pick up the tab for it. Probably paid for Toby's fine too.
Maybe that's the dodgy paper bag you're referring to - the one the Pies give to you so you can exist.

Bit of respect dog - don't bite the hand that feeds you and one of the Clubs doing the heavy lifting for the comp (like WC)
Wow this kid is really upset

It's a bit disturbing the amount of crap Collingwood and their supporters have copped in this thread.
I thought they would win today, then thought they would lose....then win again....but they came up just short in the death.
I'm sure there are a lot of things the club/players would do differently if they could go round again, but footy is like that.
All the same in the end I think they deserve a bit of respect for their efforts and getting to a prelim in the first place. My club didn't.

Seriously Collingwood peoples, commiserations and good luck next year. You're a ripping club.

Wow this kid is really upset
This bloke accuses my club of making payments outside the salary cap in paper bags. Complete fabrication.
All the while my club is being taxed extra earnings and receiving less monies for the AFL to prop up a side the AFL gave unfair advantages to to try and ensure success on the field. He's got a hide. A few facts don't go astray.

It's a bit disturbing the amount of crap Collingwood and their supporters have copped in this thread.
I thought they would win today, then thought they would lose....then win again....but they came up just short in the death.
I'm sure there are a lot of things the club/players would do differently if they could go round again, but footy is like that.
All the same in the end I think they deserve a bit of respect for their efforts and getting to a prelim in the first place. My club didn't.

Seriously Collingwood peoples, commiserations and good luck next year. You're a ripping club.
Thank you.
Respect on a classy post.

What they lose from not having Collingwood there will be far greater than what they gain from a Sydney team imop. There hasn't been a GF between 2 Melbourne clubs since 7 took the broadcasting back from 10, there hasn't been a GF between 2 of the big 4 this century.

Collingwood v Richmond is the GF that makes Gil jizz.

The idea that the AFL has tickets on GWS is laughable.
It’s all about TV dollars, and if you look into it you’ll see that every GF the Swans played in breaks national ratings figures.

Don’t know if GWS can do the same, but there’s no way an all-Vic GF gets the same level of viewership in NSW/QLD.

I was looking forward to seeing a Magpies Tigers grand final. Ah well good luck to the teams and their fans next week. Oops do GWS have any fans?
Tumbleweeds if they win.
The hospitality industry will be praying for a Tigers win - pubs and restaurants will lose a stack of money if GWS win.

This bloke accuses my club of making payments outside the salary cap in paper bags. Complete fabrication.
All the while my club is being taxed extra earnings and receiving less monies for the AFL to prop up a side the AFL gave unfair advantages to to try and ensure success on the field. He's got a hide. A few facts don't go astray.
All you have done is bitch and moan after your club choked after getting the final gift wrapped.

By the way not accuses. Just pointing out a fact.

Not sure if anyone else on here was there today, but the atmosphere in the last quarter was unbelievable.

Were there any neutrals or GWS supporters there? How did you find the crowd/noise in the last? The volume went up massively when the Pies kicked their first of the last, right through to the final siren.

Score and consequence of the loss aside, I got my money’s worth just witnessing the crowd noise in a massive final of our great game. Was awesome.