List Mgmt. 2019 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals Thread

Trade radio reckon Carlton would be hopeful of getting pick 25 back (to give to GC for Martin) with Papley if they give up pick 9. :oops:
I'd want to GET a pick 25 or under, not GIVE one. :tearsofjoy:
Guess we get to keep him another year. IF that helps us NOT get Daniher all the better.
Though I'd really like McCasey in the draft somehow...

Thatd be pretty stupid of us. Unless they chip in a second rounder from the 2020 draft

Sam McClure reporting in The Age about an hr ago that Essendon waiting for a decision from Daniher who is said to be going overseas for a holiday where a big group of Bombers are heading to Sydney. Also reported that his Manager is not taking calls on the issue neither are the club.
Maybe they are just not taking his calls

Orr he may not say anything at all cause a trade cant be done this year.

Reckon that is probably it. He seems happy to move but maybe also OK to stay. Assume Essendon are saying we will trade but only for something good and I hope we are saying we will trade if we get a fair deal or happy to wait a year. If it is chance he stays he really can't say anything.

Getting good picks with late draft picks is where our list management guys really earn their pay. We also seem to be getting better at early picks

Last 10 year draft history

2018 National 10 Blakey, 25 Rowbottom, 44 Mcinerney, 51 Foot
2018 Rookie 12 Tucker, 28 Reynolds
Summary 2-3 good players (played or likely to play >50 games)

2017 National 14 Ling, 33 McCartin, 53 Stoddart
2017 Rookie 14 Styles, 28 Amartey
Summary 1 - 2 good players

2016 National 11 Florent, 21 Hayward, 45 Maibaum, 48 Cameron
2016 Rookie 17 Ronke, 34 Fox, 49 Edwards, 54 Pink
Summary 3 - 4 good players

2015 National 3 Mills, 51 Leonardis, 56 Dawson
2015 Rookie 14 Papley, 32 Marsh, 59 Galloway, 66 Murray, 69 O’Riordan
Summary 4 good players

2014 National 18 Heeney, 37 Rose, 38 Hiscox
2014 Rookie 17 McClaren, 35 Newman, 52 Melican, 76 Foote
Summary 2 - 3 good players

2013 National 15 Jones, 32 Hewett, 35 Nankervis, 44 Aliir
2013 Rookie 45 P.Mitchell, 55 Perris
Summary 4 good players

2012 National 22 Towers, 44 Marsh, 46 Membrey, 64 Dick, 107 Cunningham
2012 Rookie 16 LLoyd, 29 X.Richards, 37 Rampe, 50 Robinson, 57 B.Jack, 58 Naismith
Summary 5 - 6 good players

2011 National 21 Tom Mitchell, 43 Lockyer, 61 Brown, 85 Gordon (GWS 11 of top 14 picks)
2011 Rookie 13 Biggs, 95 Lynch
Summary 2 good players

2010 National 21 Lamb, 40 Parker, 57 Johnson (GC 8 of top 13 picks)
2010 Rookie 21 Otten, 38 Haren, 88 Kruger (GWS top 8 picks)
Summary 3 good players

2009 National 6 Rohan, 14 Jetta, 38 Reid, 54 Sumner, 55 Dennis-Lane, 90 Thornton
2009 Rookie 10 Playfair, 63 McKaigue, 71 Gordon, 75 McNeil (GC top 5 picks)
3 good players

2008 National 12 Johnston, 30 Hannerbery, 61 Heath
2008 Rookie 12 Thornton, 28 Gilchrist, 43 Coney, 57 Pyke
2 good players

2007 National 11 Veszpremi, 26 Meredith, 59 Bird
2007 Rookie 10 O’Dwyer, 26 Murphy, 41 Orreal, 53 Beckmans, 58 Bruce, 61 Terlich
1 good player

2007 and 2008 were both disappointing drafts before the compromised drafts of 2009/10/11. We missed a lot of very good players.

Coupled with the trade ban after 2013. it's not hard to see why we're thin on the ground for more experienced players. Only Reid and Parker survive from the draft years of 2007 through 2011.

2012 - 2016 saw a return to good drafting form. 2017 & 2018 years are a bit early to judge. Still, I'd like to see Ling make seniors this year.

The Kelly thread on the Drafts and trades is hilarious
Be even more hilarious if they knew what was going on...Geelong WILL be the winner here and it may mean Kelly stays. He will not entertain entering the draft and he refuses to go to Freo (at this stage).

Kelly’s manager, Van ****ead, is playing the autism/care factor (he’s clearly playing the ‘I’m going to make more coin’ approach but I’m told Geelong’s offer is fantastic). Autism does not get better, no matter what club you play for (these are my words). Manager driven, Kelly IS happy at Geelong and WILL be happy to stay if a deal can’t be brokered. That’s all I’ve got and a very surprising Wednesday night.

Would prefer Swans news!

I feel my chicken green curry is worth at least a late first round for its sheer consistency of great taste.

I'll trade for mine and a 2nd round pick. I have my own kafir lime bush and it even has a lime on it. The leaves are lovely but the zest of a kafir lime is divine. Think regular lime but floral.

No idea what that has to do with footy, but hey, it's the off season and any crap is better than no news.

Gotta get a decent ruckman somehow

Totally agree but probably a cheapish one as doubt we have cap for an A grader and most that may move are too old for us. Need to find one that is number two or three at a club with a good ruck and wants opportunity - find someone like Reilly O'Brien two years ago

Doing the same with a KPD would be good also then save picks for classy mids

I'll trade for mine and a 2nd round pick. I have my own kafir lime bush and it even has a lime on it. The leaves are lovely but the zest of a kafir lime is divine. Think regular lime but floral.

No idea what that has to do with footy, but hey, it's the off season and any crap is better than no news.
I’m with you re Kaffir fruit zest...the difference is Daniher v Lou Richards. It’s a tree, not a bush...not the 80’s anymore!

I made a green chicken curry and a green seafood curry tonight! Threw in kaffir lime leaves and thai basil, so good!

The first 5 look like sure things. 😩
Seems to be ranked best available - but there is no way....is there? Can't be.

We went to see Green at his house, meet the parents and everything.
I can't see any reason at all why GWS doesn't match our bid though...

I'd trade Jones to the Demons just for the pick swap to get Serong or Flanders...
Safe as houses, assuming half back flanker again!

Simon Dalrymple says the Swans have interviewed GWS academy Green "and visited his home" !
Is this usual to visit draftee's home?

Says has to assume we have picks 5 and 24

It is normal. We would’ve already met a bunch of potential picks and if we’re really keen then a home visit to meet family, learn about their education, upbringing etc is likely. That we’ve done so with both Kemp & Green tells me at least the club is aware that a big-bodied mid is a need that could be secured with this year’s draft.

How do you know we've done it with Kemp?

Actually, I just saw a clip of him (Young) doing some pretty awesome kicking. And he says he hopes to transition to midfield...I might just recant my unhappiness. :D;)
Based on his description, Young sounds identical to Ling and Stoddart.

DB on trade radio this morn absolutely sure the Daniher deal is gunna Happen saying everything is in motion both clubs aware off Daniher wanting out and starting to work through the ins and outs only thing that hasn’t happened is joe himself alerting the world of his want to change his lifestyle by leaving Melbourne
The biggest part of this is what we loose to get him that’s whats gunna determine if it’s a win or not
Also still a lot of noise out there that he’s just going to retire so still pie in the sky shit atm but Barrett everything but 100% this deal will b done

Whoa, seen the latest deal being suggested on AFL website, just the most terrible deal for us to pick up a broken player.

Come on Swans, this is nuts territory, would go down as the worse deal of the AFL era. We surely can't be looking to do the trade suggested.

Get a grip Swans!

So Barrett now blurting that it will be a 3 way with Carlton, Essendon & Swans.
Carlton give pick 9 for Paps with something significant coming back (pick 25 to use on Martin) to Carlton with Papley.
Essendon get pick 5 & 9 from Swans.
Swans get an injured Daniher who has played 11 games in 2 years & lose Papley & pick 5.

So basically we get Daniher for pick 5, 25 & Papley.
If there are serious question marks on Daniher's body going forward & any deal goes down like that, then it's time to question my loyalty to this team.

At this point I am backing our knowledge that Barrett is an idiot, just easing the pain on his mate Lloyd sitting beside him in the idiot booth.

Carlton give pick 9 for Paps with something significant coming back (pick 25 to use on Martin) to Carlton with Papley.
Swans get an injured Daniher who has played 11 games in 2 years & lose Papley & pick 5.

If there are serious question marks on Daniher's body going forward & any deal goes down like that, then it's time to question my loyalty to this team.

At this point I am backing our knowledge that Barrett is an idiot, just easing the pain on his mate Lloyd sitting beside him in the idiot booth.

My only hope is that Barrett is just acting as a conduit for Carlton and Essendon to leak the information they want in the media.

if we do anything close to this ... i am not one to bother with emailing the club ... but this is fkg ridiculous.

Why the hell would we do that...

Hogan is legit the closest trade in 10 years... need to look at that