Roast IF it isn't biased or ncompetent..... THEN it must be inciteful media coverage part II

Just listened to Barrett's morning slot on trade radio. This bloke, after two weeks of adamantly stating our picks weren't enough and Freo were in the box seat, barely mentioned the Kelly trade at all even though at the time it was the only one to go through. Absolute flog of the highest order AND LOOK AT HIS ARMS.
View attachment 762217

The guy would be beaten by a medium rare steak judging by that physique.

Just listened to Barrett's morning slot on trade radio. This bloke, after two weeks of adamantly stating our picks weren't enough and Freo were in the box seat, barely mentioned the Kelly trade at all even though at the time it was the only one to go through. Absolute flog of the highest order AND LOOK AT HIS ARMS.
View attachment 762217

Fitted skinny shirt yet sleaves still too wide.

LOL.

Kim Hagdorn says that If Brad Hill doesnt make it to Saint Kilda next season He (Hill) will be two million dollars out of picket.lel
Probably true though.So not really biased or incompetent just funny.
I don't know if it is quite right either , I think has just looked at it as the difference between Brad's 2020 salary with Freo compared to his reported St Kilda offer and multiplied by 5 . Forgetting that a lot of The Saints offer is front loaded as they have heaps of space for next year.
The other fact that makes it highly unlikely to be true is Brad's contract only has 2 yrs to run.

View attachment 762217
Yeah there not normal arms, malnutrition?
Good money says he was shown how to hold a footy so as not to look overly nerdish, like when you see someone holding or paddling a surfboard in a movie and you just know they've never had FA to do with the sport...

From AFL.com

The one that got away: Who Eagles, Dockers drafted before Cats pounced on Kelly - http://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-10-12...-dockers-drafted-before-cats-pounced-on-kelly

fu** off, every single club passed on the guy multiple times.

He was 100% going to be drafted in 2017, and the cat's went way earlier than anyone could have predicted.

Would he player he is now if we'd drafted him earlier? Who knows.

Quality back to back coverage with absolutely no strong Vic Basis...
F9783721-9938-4DA6-880B-4C4A38112248.jpeg

Quality back to back coverage with absolutely no strong Vic Basis...
View attachment 763527

Haven't you heard losing young star players is a good thing?

Eagles should trade out Yeo, Darling, Mcgovern, Sheed, Barrass and Sheppard and maybe our next dynasty will start too! Thanks for the advice VFL.com.au!

From AFL.com

The one that got away: Who Eagles, Dockers drafted before Cats pounced on Kelly - http://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-10-12...-dockers-drafted-before-cats-pounced-on-kelly

He was 100% going to be drafted in 2017, and the cat's went way earlier than anyone could have predicted.

Totally agree.
What I'm reading is average WAFL player doesn't get picked up in the draft for a few years, so puts in the hard yards to get himself up to the required level.
In that year we drafted Brander and Allen. Before him we got premiership players Venables, Rioli and Cole. Rotham looks like he'll be a gem, Waterman is solid and the only real bust has been Parto. Good on TK for all the hard work, he did it and deserved a crack and has made the most of the opportunity. But for every Tim Kelly, there's 50 players that dominate lower leagues more than him that don't make it. I'm bloody stoked with the recruiting we've done over that period!

As for excusing non WA clubs from not seeing him, I'd be absolutely shocked in 2019 if every club wasn't paying a group of people to go and watch and report back on every state league. This isn't the 1980's where the Vics didn't know the WAFL existed.

From AFL.com

I keenly recall this board in semi meltdown when we kept passing him over. It was a utensil up. He did everything you could possibly do to be drafted after being injured in his draft year. Brilliant one touch goal kicking mid right under our noses and all along we're picking a succession of duds. I dont have confidence we even know how to judge young mids these days. Most of our mids now are recruits.

I keenly recall this board in semi meltdown when we kept passing him over. It was a utensil up. He did everything you could possibly do after being injured in his draft year. I dont have confidence we even know how to judge young mids these days.

I think it's perfectly OK as well to admit that we cocked it up. It's the only way to learn from the mistake.

Tend to agree our ability to draft A/B grade mids has been pretty low even when you adjust for the lack of top 5 draft picks.
Absolutely back our recruiters to draft A graders in every other position.

What's annoying is the media commentary around him being right under our noses. Isn't our head recruiter based out of Melbourne?

Dunno who the goons on Trade Radio are, but one of them just said described Bonar as "not that quick".

16. West Coast
IN – Tim Kelly + late picks
OUT – A future first round pick, Pick 14, Pick 24, Pick 33 + late picks

West Coast completely stuffed up the Tim Kelly situation in contrast to Geelong who played it beautifully. The Eagles refused to cough up for Kelly twelve months ago, meaning they missed out on having an All Australian midfielder complement their premiership defence that may have advanced further. Yet, they held out only for a significantly worse deal despite the fact that Kelly was no longer contracted. This is a message to other clubs, if you want a player just do the deal the first time or you pay for it later.

In comparison, Carlton's haul of Betts and Pinochet was enough for a top 4 position :$ Meanwhile securing the best player in the entire trade period and improving our biggest weakness lands us in the bottom 4 :$

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl-drafts-and-trades/2019/10/17/the-trade-ladder/

16. West Coast

West Coast completely stuffed up the Tim Kelly situation in contrast to Geelong who played it beautifully. The Eagles refused to cough up for Kelly twelve months ago, meaning they missed out on having an All Australian midfielder complement their premiership defence that may have advanced further. Yet, they held out only for a significantly worse deal despite the fact that Kelly was no longer contracted. This is a message to other clubs, if you want a player just do the deal the first time or you pay for it later.

In comparison, Carlton's haul of Betts and Pinochet was enough for a top 4 position :$ Meanwhile securing the best player in the entire trade period and improving our biggest weakness lands us in the bottom 4 :$

A harsh assessment, sure. And I have no idea how they reached that Carlton ranking.

There is a grain of reason in that statement that we should have just done the deal last year and it has cost us more as a result.

But that is with the benefit of hindsight. Last time around we were looking at Kelly on a mere one year of exposed form. I think few would have predicted that he would take his game up 3-4 levels and suddenly become AA/Top 5 Brownlow.

16. West Coast

In 2018 Kelly had only one season of exposed AFL form, with significant support from the rest of the Geelong midfield (which dropped away this year). The deal we did was better value than the year before, even if we paid more.

A harsh assessment, sure. And I have no idea how they reached that Carlton ranking.

There is a grain of reason in that statement that we should have just done the deal last year and it has cost us more as a result.

But that is with the benefit of hindsight. Last time around we were looking at Kelly on a mere one year of exposed form. I think few would have predicted that he would take his game up 3-4 levels and suddenly become AA/Top 5 Brownlow.
There are a stack of lazy journalists that are relying on comments from Geelong during the year that implied we could have had Kelly during 2018 trade period for our second rounders and 2019 first. This is a lie, which has been confirmed by comments from West Coast (recently Craig Vozzo after the trade went through). Geelong was playing games last year with no intent of trading him at all, we agreed to their demands on the last day but they kept shifting the goalposts. To make comments like "West Coast should have just paid everything in 2018 and made it happen" are complete BS, it wasn't an option unless we did something so stupid that Geelong couldn't say no.

The other thing a lot of people are overlooking is that we have given up mostly middling picks in a really weak draft. If all goes well and we make at least a prelim in 2020, then our first rounder will be well in the 20s (with all the father son and academy bids). It is likely that in a few years that we will review what happened and see that Geelong selected a bunch of good role players with their picks (like we did in 2017, with the exception of Allen who is a gun) but that Kelly will continue to be a top line mid and hopefully a premiership player.