Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide's rebuild?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Bullshit. Craig was revolutionary. But he had his weaknesses that ultimately cost him his job. Not unlike every single other coach.

Sports science doesn't win a game of football and his communication was lacking. Players peddled the company line because they aren't exactly going to come out and say that he has no idea on tactics.

Don't get me wrong, a brilliant fitness coach but not so much tactically.

I'm sorry but Goodwin didn't go to Unley High I'm not sure where that info is from but I went to Unley High and they used every opportunity to spruik former successful alumni and never mentioned his name... I finished in 2003.

Weird I just looked it up and it appears he did go there, which is strange because I remember Rachel Sporn being mentioned numerous times but not Goodwin. Would have thought he would have been invited to an assembly too considering his achievements. Maybe was too successful to get back.

Sent from my MI PAD 4 using Tapatalk
He went to Unley - I know people taught him there.

Sports science doesn't win a game of football and his communication was lacking. Players peddled the company line because they aren't exactly going to come out and say that he has no idea on tactics.

I think his weakness was his tactics and ability to adapt. He was very confident in his own approach, but similar to Pyke, appeared to ignore the opposition, conditions, state of the game and current team performance. I like a measured coach, but sometimes you need to play on passion and gut, rather relying on the system. It's a fine line though

I'm liking what I've seen of Nicks so far, but I'm not a fan of coaches coming out with statements like this. “seeking out the contest” and “inflicting damage on the opposition”.

It's so 'Hinkley', and just sets the scene for more constant ridicule.

I remember Hinkley saying they wanted the opposition "to s**t themselves" every time they went near the ball...how has that worked our for ya Ken?

“It's a game of errors. It's a game of turnovers,” Nicks said.

:think:Well, no, it's not merely a game of errors and turnovers.

“When you look at a game, if we’re winning the turnover score, it shows that we're winning a lot of contests and that we were playing the game in the positions we want to play the game in.
“If an opposition makes a mistake in their back third, well it's more than likely we're going to punish them on that. Whereas, if we spend the whole time in our back 50 it's hard to score from that area.”......this has got 'no s**t Sherlock' dripping all over it.

I'm hoping there's a strategist coming in to assist.
Having watched Hinkley go about it for too many years these comments would raise massive alarm bells for me if I was a Crows fan.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

So you're working at a company, maybe even 2IC. You might suggest things, but you do things the way the head honcho wants it.
If you started a new company and ran it, would you run it the same?
* no!. You'd put your own stamp on it. You would also use little bits from everywhere you'd worked.
No different to a head coach. A lot of it would come from his own experience as a player.

You are underestimating him completely. He was an innovator. He had them playing incredibly well as a team and I believe one of the first to bring in the swarming attack from defence. What he couldn't do was adapt quickly to change.

Very true , but it was unsustainable and easily exploited once figured out ( 2006 ) .
It was also a style that was never really going to hold up come finals time .
Definitely innovative but the kamikaze crowbots fell apart quickly

I am keen to know what they will be doing with Younie next year. I reckon he had our young kids playing some good football the few times I saw the SANFL. Assuming they were pretty good all season with where we ended up. No idea if he is a good coach or not but wouldn't want to see another situation where talent like Teague slips through the door.

On Clarke, I will absolutely give him credit for the way he coached the girls last year. He did a brilliant job. My only caveat is that at this stage clubs have yet to invest in high quality coaching for the AFLW. He was an experienced senior assistant coach at an AFL team for over a decade and he wasnt coming up against coaches that had anywhere near that level of coaching background. I loved that we were the first club to really put a "big" name coach in charge and I did get the feeling it was a bit of a men among boys situation. Wouldnt be surprised to see that quickly change and the AFLW to get much better much quicker because of it.

Feeling positive about the new coach as we all should, but the niggling doubts are that the same people who've been picking our last few coaches and football managers have picked this guy too.

I'm liking what I've seen of Nicks so far, but I'm not a fan of coaches coming out with statements like this. “seeking out the contest” and “inflicting damage on the opposition”.

It's so 'Hinkley', and just sets the scene for more constant ridicule.

I remember Hinkley saying they wanted the opposition "to s**t themselves" every time they went near the ball...how has that worked our for ya Ken?

“It's a game of errors. It's a game of turnovers,” Nicks said.

:think:Well, no, it's not merely a game of errors and turnovers.

“When you look at a game, if we’re winning the turnover score, it shows that we're winning a lot of contests and that we were playing the game in the positions we want to play the game in.
“If an opposition makes a mistake in their back third, well it's more than likely we're going to punish them on that. Whereas, if we spend the whole time in our back 50 it's hard to score from that area.”......this has got 'no s**t Sherlock' dripping all over it.

I'm hoping there's a strategist coming in to assist.

New key persons in any organisation need some buzz phrasing to establish a new feel/approach. In my recall most coaches quickly lose or move onward from their early key statements. Walsh with 'team first',
Pyke with 'ground ball' stuff, etc. soon faded. Better coaches move more quickly away from the cute rhetoric of catch phrases. Some lesser types keep inventing new terms to satisfy the hungry masses. For example PAdelaide. They exist on smart sayings, songs, creeds, historic manipulations and attempting to claim present day glory by virtue of publicity plethora which fills the lack of success void. Kern seems to fit this pattern with his flavour of the week sayings. Thankfully AFC do not do this. And I add a variant saying here that 'We are not Port Adelaide' 😄
So anyway i will judge Nicks on the results of his messages as next season progresses. And hopefully his words to the football public will be a little more illuminating than Pykey.

I remember once seeing one of those, "You know you're from Adelaide when...." lists and not surprisingly one of the things on the list was "When you're asked what school you went to".

From my experience it is the same in Sydney and Melb.

Not the best fitness coach either.

jenny61_99 I'm interested to know what was so revolutionary about Craig's programming?

Easy. There's no hidden meaning. What he said was banal and Hinkley-like. What's there to interpret?
I understood that. The better part of your post was just complaining about his phrasing which is mostly subjective. It was the last bit where you say "I'm hoping there's a strategist coming in to assist". I'm trying to figure out why you think his press conference is somehow an indication of a lack of tactical nous? I would have thought you've heard enough press conferences to know that footy coaches mostly speak in platitudes.

Fair enough, but what he actually said isn't a hackneyed coaches' phrase I've heard in the past. It was though, indeed the bleeding obvious, like saying if we kick more goals than the opposition we'll win. I was expecting something a tad more enlightening.