Being average at best for last 60 years, Why are the Pies so high profile with a high membership?

Collingwood are pretty good at marketing and selling themselves to people. I don't really see the effort that collingwood makes to reach the eyes of neutrals or no club supporters as much from hawthorn or other clubs.

I think, even if they aren't winning them, making the GF so often helps.

Yawn... you have such short memories boy.

I'll make it simple multiple-choice for you, to match your IQ.

When did you get back on the bandwagon?

a) Never really did, I microwaved my membership back in 1983

b) Only anonymously online, cos I was the guy that dumped the chook s**t outside punt rd oval

c) I joined during 2017 Grand final just after 3/4 time, when I knew Adelaide needed to do a Bradbury to get up.
"as a supporter base of a club that isn't Richmond and has never seen bad times or supporters drop off I think it is my, and every other original thought specialist supporter to point out, that your team had a bloke drop off chicken s**t at punt road, and some people microwaved memberships, and as such, it is only fair to not only assume, but insist that every single Richmond supporter from this point onwards has jumped back on the bandwagon after unceremoniously jumping off at the first sign trouble. Richmond fans aren't as loyal as you or I. There is no possible way that ANY tiger supporters stuck by the club during these tough times. Only now are they winning are the tiger supporters coming out of the woodwork to defend the team they so cruelly abandoned not too long ago. These BigFooty posters who jump to defend this club at every chance MUST have jumped on during the 17 finals, as I can't imagine them wanting to support a club when they are travelling poorly. I am the non Richmond supporter and I am the authority on others love for their clubs, and anyone that claims to have suffered alongside Richmond is a liar and bandwagoner"

Because you have been to 42 grand finals and bandwagoners wouldve turned into lifelong fans

"as a supporter base of a club that isn't Richmond and has never seen bad times or supporters drop off I think it is my, and every other original thought specialist supporter to point out, that your team had a bloke drop off chicken s**t at punt road, and some people microwaved memberships, and as such, it is only fair to not only assume, but insist that every single Richmond supporter from this point onwards has jumped back on the bandwagon after unceremoniously jumping off at the first sign trouble. Richmond fans aren't as loyal as you or I. There is no possible way that ANY tiger supporters stuck by the club during these tough times. Only now are they winning are the tiger supporters coming out of the woodwork to defend the team they so cruelly abandoned not too long ago. These BigFooty posters who jump to defend this club at every chance MUST have jumped on during the 17 finals, as I can't imagine them wanting to support a club when they are travelling poorly. I am the non Richmond supporter and I am the authority on others love for their clubs, and anyone that claims to have suffered alongside Richmond is a liar and bandwagoner"

Couldn't have said it better, boy that was good timing you and Tiger2709 jumping off the Hawks in late 2017.

whats that 5 flags in 7 seasons!

your previous membership numbers don't lie bandwagoner your club is known to have more bandwagoners than any other.

ask anyone whos sick to death of d*ckhead tigers supporters coming out of the woodwork and ruining bigfooty.

I thought of posting this on the Pies board but would like opinion from all supporters:

In the last 61 years they've accumulated 3 flags, Hawthorn has 13 from 58 years yet don't have as many members and don't have as a high a profile - certainly from a media perspective.

Arguably this club has the highest profile of all 18 teams and also arguably is the highest profile sporting organization in the whole country.

GF's in 60,64,70,77,79,80,81,90,02,03,10,11,18

That's two wins from 13 attempts - not including 2 draws. Pathetic.

Given their what I would consider not even average performances in that time, why do they hold that profile billing? How is that they have over 85k members? Why do Pies fans stick phat?

From my own perspective my answer is that I'm a descendant of the late great Daniel Minogue, my family adopted Collingwood and stuck phat when he moved clubs after the war. But that puts me and my family in the minority of Pie fans - a drop in the ocean.

So Pie fans and footy followers why is it that this club albeit it's deplorable record have such a high profile, multi million dollar turnover, and a very very large membership and supporter base?

Yeah they've lost a lot of Grand Finals. But they won plenty of games along the way to getting there and they make finals more often than not. They've built on an extremely successful first 40-50 years in the competition and come from a strong working class background.

I think just looking at flags is not a great metric when considering this. Their win/loss ratio overall and years in finals would be right up there over 60 years.

Apologies, I let that other bandwagoner Tiger 2709 skew my response.

however, you must be aware of how most on bigfooty feel about the recent (last 3 yrs) influx of flogs from your team ruining most threads.

Apologies, I let that other bandwagoner Tiger 2709 skew my response.

however, you must be aware of how most on bigfooty feel about the recent (last 3 yrs) influx of flogs from your team ruining most threads.
Yeah but I shouldn't have to apologise for, or be lumped into the worst aspects of a supporter base. I'm aware of the Tiger bandwagoner stereotype, but it is much overplayed, just like any other footy stereotype.

I also honestly believe that 99% of the people that bother to post on BF about a club are probably the more loyal and long standing supporterbase as any bandwagoner won't be invested enough to bother trying to defend their club, as they'd rather just coast along and enjoy success that they probably didn't earn as a fan. The tiger nuffies on here are the ones that have suffered for year after year and been the butt of countless jokes, only to taste some success, be as loud and arrogant as any other footy fan, then immediately get told they are a bandwagoner and don't deserve to celebrate.

I would also say that "most on bigfooty" is basically just what you've seen and heard 2nd hand, and would be centralised to the circles you mainly stick to and the vocal minority. I'm not saying it isn't there, but you go into a few different BF circles and you will see the same argument just with team X replaced with team Y. It's always the same cyclical arguments with interchangeable teams thrown in.

As for the Tiger arrogance, all I can say is, for the amount of ridicule that was hurled our way for so long, the tigers are surprisingly less bitter than I thought they would be, and for the amount of s**t you all gave us (rightfully so in some cases), we could be much worse. MUCH worse.

Anyone that changes clubs or bandwagons is scum.

I reckon it would help if it was possible to quantify a supporter base by multiplying the number of supporters by their passion.

I could name half a dozen Collingwood supporters who didn't grow up with Aussie Rules, moved to Melbourne as adults and figured out pretty quickly that you need to have a team to participate in any conversation during winter. Who would you pick? So, IMO, there are plenty of half-arsed Magpies supporters who choose the Maggies, and "stick phat", because it's just a bit of fun to them. They don't deeply care if the team wins premierships. They just like being part of the "biggest" club.

Take nothing away from the Collingwood diehards, or the club. There's a lot of deep passion, a very well run club and a good amount of winning. But it could be the half-arsed ones that make them the "biggest".

Plenty of migrants in the 50s, 60s and 70s jumped on Collingwood, Carlton and Richmond for similar reasons I assume.

b) Only anonymously online, cos I was the guy that dumped the chook s**t outside punt rd oval

c) I joined during 2017 Grand final just after 3/4 time, when I knew Adelaide needed to do a Bradbury to get up.

So for the last 60 years.
Since and including 1960;

3rd = Home & Away Games won 727
1st = Overall Attendances
1st = Number of Years in Finals 35
1st = Finals Played 85 (= Haw)
2nd = Finals Won 37
2nd = Grand Finals Played 14 (= Carl)
9th = Grand Finals Won 2

Completely at the top level in the last 60 except for deplorable Grand Final record.

I'm not disputing those figures but if you compared it to hawks or blose - you'd automatically rate them higher even though similar figures because they've got the flags we don't.

So WHY do we STILL have the highest overall attendances? The mind boggles.

Why is Collingwood the biggest club? Why is the sky blue?

Blue light is scattered in all directions by the tiny molecules of air in Earth's atmosphere. Blue is scattered more than other colors because it travels as shorter, smaller waves. This is why we see a blue sky most of the time.

Not sure how this explains the Collingwood question posed however.....

Because they have a humongous fan base and been in loads of grand finals ..which means they have had dozens of good h and away seasons and the fans are fanatical and Lou Richards talked them up for 30 years straight on tv and HS media and Ed took over and has been a relentless promoter of the club for 30 years himself.

They have had a lot of exposure this club in the last ....100 years.

Back in the last 70s/early 80s when I was a kid in Melbourne, Collingwood were the most popular team by a country mile.

Those kids grew up and bred their own kids and turned them in to fanatics too.

They are basically a cult.

Collingwood as an inner city suburb had and to this day is a way denser suburb than say Hawthorn.

Also traditionally very working class which has a far greater tendency to attend football games in the first half of last century.
Are you calling me dense? :(

Yeah but I shouldn't have to apologise for, or be lumped into the worst aspects of a supporter base. I'm aware of the Tiger bandwagoner stereotype, but it is much overplayed, just like any other footy stereotype.

I also honestly believe that 99% of the people that bother to post on BF about a club are probably the more loyal and long standing supporterbase as any bandwagoner won't be invested enough to bother trying to defend their club, as they'd rather just coast along and enjoy success that they probably didn't earn as a fan. The tiger nuffies on here are the ones that have suffered for year after year and been the butt of countless jokes, only to taste some success, be as loud and arrogant as any other footy fan, then immediately get told they are a bandwagoner and don't deserve to celebrate.

I would also say that "most on bigfooty" is basically just what you've seen and heard 2nd hand, and would be centralised to the circles you mainly stick to and the vocal minority. I'm not saying it isn't there, but you go into a few different BF circles and you will see the same argument just with team X replaced with team Y. It's always the same cyclical arguments with interchangeable teams thrown in.

As for the Tiger arrogance, all I can say is, for the amount of ridicule that was hurled our way for so long, the tigers are surprisingly less bitter than I thought they would be, and for the amount of s**t you all gave us (rightfully so in some cases), we could be much worse. MUCH worse.

Anyone that changes clubs or bandwagons is scum.
When you win a flag I think a degree of arrogance or at least smugness is understandable

True Passion and loyalty. It's why I love Collingwood and they are '' Australia's Club '' very much like the Dallas Cowboys are America's team.

Great spirit the mighty magpies. Although aside from that last 20 in the Prelim against the Giants they were ******* average and denied us a once in a life time Grand Final.

Happy Festivus and * you Collingwood.

I'm not disputing those figures but if you compared it to hawks or blose - you'd automatically rate them higher even though similar figures because they've got the flags we don't.

So WHY do we STILL have the highest overall attendances? The mind boggles.

We're now up to 7 pages of the same answer and you'res till struggling to comprehend it. I've come to the conclusion that your mind is permanently boggled. Might be time for another cone

When you win a flag I think a degree of arrogance or at least smugness is understandable
I would also assume more flags would worsen that. Add that to people experiencing their first bits of success in their life.

Big 4.
If we make an assumption that most Victorians follow Victorian teams, and we make a second assumption that supporters are most engaged and active during periods of relative success, then imagine if Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond and Essendon were all top 4 and contending.

Compare that to what it would be like if any other group of 4 VIC clubs were top 4, and the comparison in hype, fan attendance, tv ratings, club memberships, etc. Which 4 clubs do you think would generate the most of those Victorian clubs?

Collingwood are big, because they were big. Supporters breed supporters and success ignites activity and engagement. Collingwood also have frequent relative success, regularly contending for flags.

It's why Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon and Richmond will always be huge clubs, who show most activity when that is tied with success. No supporter group is immune from this, success promotes engagement.

*interstate clubs are similar, but operate in a very different market base often mainly competing against only 1 other club.

Welcome on board .