Club Focus Sydney Academy in 2020 another bonanza

AFL Club Focus

Never heard so much crap in my life.
  1. The Swans and their major sponsor invest several hundred thousand dollars per annum into their academy. How much do the Victorian clubs invest into theirs? SFA.
  2. The Swans have to develop and promote the game in their zone. The clubs with NGA's do no promotion and just pick the eyes out of elite player list in their zone.
  3. The Swans rely more heavily on academy players because the risk of losing players recruited from AFL states, especially Victoria, is significant. The clubs with NGA's from don't.
  4. The Swans find it more difficult trading in players from AFL states. The clubs with NGA's from don't. They gain the added benefit of recruiting homesick players from the northern clubs.
  5. The Swans are severely disadvantaged by the father/son system because all of the father sons need to move out of their state. The Dunkleys being the prime example. This doesn't happen to the clubs with NGA's.
  6. Etc, etc, etc.
The hypocracy of clubs with NGA's and their supporters beggars belief. You sooked about our academy and now that you have your own and you're still sooking. Unbelievable!
Do the Swans have a retention issue?

Has the Swans been able to attached star players from other clubs?

What club has the highest amount of first round academy/NGA/father-sons in recent years?

Next year the Swans will get another two first round talent. Possible another two top 10 picks.

What club has the highest amount of first round academy/NGA/father-sons in recent years?

Next year the Swans will get another two first round talent. Possible another two top 10 picks.

Don't worry, with Liam Henry you'll be getting your free hit too. At least swans would have put some money in to develop them, you keep checking where their mum and dad are from.

One first round pick in how many years?

Based on the zone allocation below, you'll go past sydney pretty quickly. Sydney academy has been around since 2010, NGA not that long.

Players in the metropolitan area eligible for the Fremantle Dockers NGA must live in the following WAFC district zones:

• West Perth
  • Claremont
  • East Fremantle
  • South Fremantle
  • Peel Thunder
Regional allocations for the Fremantle Dockers Next Generation Academy include:

• Kimberley
  • Mid west
  • Wheatbelt
  • 10 per cent of South West (Peel Thunder region)

Don't worry, with Liam Henry you'll be getting your free hit too. At least swans would have put some money in to develop them, you keep checking where their mum and dad are from.
You have to start somewhere. The northern academies hadn’t made a massive investment when they first got access to talent either.

There’s also no requirement for northern academy boys to have a non-footballing background, it’s assumed based on their home address.

We all know what happened with the Riverina, it’s not exactly a point of difference with the NGAs, only a different stage of development.

Do the Swans have a retention issue?

Has the Swans been able to attached star players from other clubs?

All good points but Sydney are not exactly benefiting from those things atm and their version of attracting talent has got them a big heap of buddy dollars in their cap in the next few years whether he plays or not.

What the academy does is helps them bounce back a bit quicker, which considering what happened to Brisbane between 2004 and 2018 isn’t exactly a bad thing to happen to a club in a non-football state, even if they do have a Victorian following.

The Northern Academies make sense. We expanded the comp into non-football regions where there was already an AFL team, so we need to expand the player pool as well as trying to encourage more supporters for these new clubs - if it gives them a bit of an advantage that's good too because if these clubs are successful that will help to expand their supporter base.

The only thing that doesn't make sense about it all is: Why the hell did we expand the comp into non-football regions where there was already an AFL team?
Well said.

And to answer your question, global domination ;)

Based on the zone allocation below, you'll go past sydney pretty quickly. Sydney academy has been around since 2010, NGA not that long.

Players in the metropolitan area eligible for the Fremantle Dockers NGA must live in the following WAFC district zones:

• West Perth
  • Claremont
  • East Fremantle
  • South Fremantle
  • Peel Thunder
Regional allocations for the Fremantle Dockers Next Generation Academy include:

• Kimberley
  • Mid west
  • Wheatbelt
  • 10 per cent of South West (Peel Thunder region)
2.6 million live in WA with 79% of people living in Perth. Only a small percentage of players can be academy.

First nations players can only be selected in remote regions which brings its own issues like homesickness and culture shock.

NSW population is 8 million and the Swans and Giants have assess to every single available talent.

If you think that Fremantle has access to the same amount of talent, you are kidding yourself.

All good points but Sydney are not exactly benefiting from those things atm and their version of attracting talent has got them a big heap of buddy dollars in their cap in the next few years whether he plays or not.

What the academy does is helps them bounce back a bit quicker, which considering what happened to Brisbane between 2004 and 2018 isn’t exactly a bad thing to happen to a club in a non-football state, even if they do have a Victorian following.
They will bounce back quicker for sure.

Is that fair?

Brisbane or Gold Coast isn't the same as Sydney.

Players like the big city that Sydney provides without fish bowls of Adelaide and Perth or the footy madness of Melbourne.

The player poaching at the Queensland clubs has been huge.

Sure, GWS has been poached but because you can't play and pay the 40 first round players.

Lobb and Sam Taylor is not first round pick, neither is Ian Hill nor Tim Kelly, club just need to stop the academy obsession and pick the right players for their team in the draft regardless they are academy players or not.

2.6 million live in WA with 79% of people living in Perth. Only a small percentage of players can be academy.

First nations players can only be selected in remote regions which brings its own issues like homesickness and culture shock.

NSW population is 8 million and the Swans and Giants have assess to every single available talent.

If you think that Fremantle has access to the same amount of talent, you are kidding yourself.
And if they all played football there might be a genuine concern. Because they don’t all play football, and football is not played in the private school system, and is very low down in public school totem pole, most NSW kids are drawn to other sports.

As a genuine comparison, what percentage of WA kids play rugby league?

They will bounce back quicker for sure.

Is that fair?

Brisbane or Gold Coast isn't the same as Sydney.

Players like the big city that Sydney provides without fish bowls of Adelaide and Perth or the footy madness of Melbourne.

The player poaching at the Queensland clubs has been huge.

Sure, GWS has been poached but because you can't play and pay the 40 first round players.
I don’t think “fair” is in the mission statement. There’s also a massive difference between equality of opportunity and equality of outcomes.

So using your argument, there are 1.4 billion people in China. They must have one hell of an AFL team. :rolleyes:.

There are more kids in Sydney's zone than in all of WA, without even considering NGA qualifications.
Out of those WA kids you'll find that about 60% play AFL. SA would be similar. Then you have Victoria which would be about 60%. Out of the kids in Sydney you'll find that about 4% play AFL. You do the maths and tell me who is better off.

Intelligently dishonest.
You can't argue the point because I'm right.

On top of that you don't even know the content of your argument. NGA players don't need to be "first nation". They can have an indigenous OR multicultural. To be classed as multicultural they only need to have one parent who was born overseas. That covers a hell of a lot of potential AFL players.

And if they all played football there might be a genuine concern. Because they don’t all play football, and football is not played in the private school system, and is very low down in public school totem pole, most NSW kids are drawn to other sports.

As a genuine comparison, what percentage of WA kids play rugby league?
Supporters from the football states, especially Victoria (excluding Lore who seems very reasonable) have no understanding of what the northern clubs are going through. They hate the fact that this is now a national competition. It's almost as though they want us to revert back to the good ol' days when footy was played on a Saturday arvo at six different metropolitan grounds. They forget that the VFL was financially struggling in those days. The only way forward is to develop the game in non-AFL regions. Without doing that the AFL and especially the northern clubs won't survive.

You can't argue the point because I'm right.
Majority of China live in poverty.

Getting to the point, how people live in the Kimberly?

Sure, In Sydney majority play the Rugby codes. Yet, Sydney have the largest amount to work with and into the future it will increase.

Remember, in the early days the Swans academy didn’t provide first round talent.

Now it does and it’s increasing.

Majority of China lives in poverty, can’t speak English and never heard of AFL.

To use that example is very intelligently dishonest.
Until 20 years ago neither had most of NSW.

You are trying to compare WA to NSW with regards to footy grassroots and growth.

1 is a heartland and has the setup the other is still finding it's feet.

To compare the 2 is dishonest.

Until 20 years ago neither had most of NSW.

You are trying to compare WA to NSW with regards to footy grassroots and growth.

1 is a heartland and has the setup the other is still finding it's feet.

To compare the 2 is dishonest.
Do you realize WCE and Freo don’t have access to 9 of the available talent in WA.

The only areas where we have access to first nationals people is in remote communities that are 1000’s of kms away.