Discussion Random Discussion

Yeah ok. Even though everything is worth more and wages are worth less "it's not any harder". Righto. Good luck finding a place to work 16 hours if you need to with no training. You have to "work for free just to get some experience" now. I'm just sick of people telling me how easy it is now when statistics clearly indicate otherwise.

And maybe you did have it harder Cornish. But most people definitely didn't have it harder than we do. As Gringo said, wealth disparity is the biggest it's been since the middle ages.

But you keep telling all us entitled young Gen Z kids you call millennials how easy we have it and how "back in your day it was way harder".

Didnt say i had it harder but this whoa is me is total BS, harden up and work harder, you poor buggers who cant work 16 hour days, you dont know what you were missing.

I have never said the words Gen Z or Millennials, so i dont know what your crapping on about there.

Toughen up princess, life isnt going to be handed to you on a platter, do a stint in the Army like i did that helps pay the bills lol

I'm soft myself so have a soft spot for youth. I have lived a privileged life and not really struggled ever, if I hadn't had parents who could help me out I'd have probably been a homeless bum in a doorway somewhere.

Good on you for making it work out for yourself. I thought you were joking at first, a butterless lard and turnip sandwiches sounds like Cornish mines in the 1800s.
I think the generation battle is pointless still, lots of young people work overtime without pay and the old manufacturing jobs aren't around any more. It's a different world good or bad.

My daughter works crazy hours and so does my niece, they can do it if they want, but this older people had it easy is a total crock of sheet.

Anyway enough of this i have a life to live :D

I'm soft myself so have a soft spot for youth. I have lived a privileged life and not really struggled ever, if I hadn't had parents who could help me out I'd have probably been a homeless bum in a doorway somewhere.

Good on you for making it work out for yourself. I thought you were joking at first, a butterless lard and turnip sandwiches sounds like Cornish mines in the 1800s.
I think the generation battle is pointless still, lots of young people work overtime without pay and the old manufacturing jobs aren't around any more. It's a different world good or bad.

I've never found it easy. It seemed like every place i ever worked was struggling to stop from going under. In fact every place i ever worked is gone now...hope it wasn't my doing :D.
I got a Job interstate and moved there for it, taking my fiance//soon to be wife.

Instead of travelling around and living the high life, we bought a modest house there with the retrenchment money i'd taken from a previous job.
Bought the house there in joint names , stupid in hind sight, because that arbitrary decision cost us both any chance of getting a first home owners grant, which was introduced shortly after we bought the place. It doesn't seem like much now, but back then the 10K was a huge part of your deposit.
When the place i was working for downsized by around 50% or more, i was out and struggled to get the type of work i was specialised at.

So sold the house for what it cost, but we'd been paying interest at more than 10% the whole time, and our savings took a massive hit while i was unemployed living on my wife's money, and of course the stamp duty was lost. We had considered renting it out, but it was kind of awkward to maintain, lots of things i could easily deal with, but would cost a lot to hire someone when i was in another state.

Moved back to Melbourne and my wife wanting to start a family, she fell pregnant shortly after i got a job, and she worked until she was huge so we could try to scrape up a deposit. I figured once she stopped working , we'd struggle to save anything.
We weren't quite going to scrape up enough deposit for the 200K needed for a renovators delight in East Bentleigh ( which we wouldn't be able to afford to renovate ) or if we could, we'd struggle on the repayments...so out and out we went until we found a place we could afford.

You can do it but the WWI and WWII generations set everything up for prosperity and fairness and then greed eroded it away under the boomers watch. I went to see Thomas Picketty when he was in Australia, his figures are frightening. Wealth disparity is increasing and already worse than any time since the feudal era. He talked about the saturation of wealth at the top end. The US has had suer rich taxes that went to some astronomical figure like 90% in the early 20th century. They say 75% is the ideal in economics but right now billionaires have just started paying less than middle and working classes.

It will change by force or by design as more people are pushed out of low skilled jobs and automation, service economies need something underpinning them as well. The world's economic model needs a fundamental overhaul to cope with climate, loss of manufacturing jobs, concentration of wealth, corporate power redistribution etc. It will have to change at some point but no-one seems to have an appetitive for visionary change. If they don't history will repeat and it will get ugly.

I find the nonsense that the super rich will leave the UK in minutes if Corbin wins laughable, but he won't win anyway because the press have hatcheted him so much as to be unelectable. The west isn't prepared for the redistribution of money to the asian economies either, we are still try to fight them instead of going in.

The growing gap between the rich and the poor is undeniably appalling and has been well researched and documented .
I have read that at any other time in history this inequality has inevitably led to revolution and war, that should be a sobering though. I won’t get into specifics but generally I’m amazed by how easily relatively small events can lead to massive changes for example the genesis of the executive wage explosion. The US still reports a reasonable amount of movement between the classes and it’s often cited as the system working. It does appear to be accurate in so much as there is movement of people in both directions but of course the gap continues to grow so the movement of individuals means nothing in the broader argument.

I don’t follow the brits as closely as I might but I find Corbin to be a piece of work, frankly I don’t think he’s the man for the job as labour leader let alone PM. They seem to be spoiled for choice hahah much like Australia the US etc, seems to be pretty slim pickings for quality politicians in general let alone inspired leadership.

The world is definitely in for some pain if the past is any guide, I don’t see anyone putting their hands up for a voluntary transfer of wealth and power. So many things have been badly mismanaged or ignored, just look at the growth in population and it’s undeniable impact on climate change. Top ten for projected growth includes the US largely through immigration, India and then 8 sub Saharan African countries. I’ve seen some interesting work on where the population is supposed to stabilise or begin to decrease but it’s a problem for now with no easy solution.

I’ll probably piss a lot of people off but I’ve long since given up any real hope for a peaceful resolution to the worlds problems. It’s not that collectively we don’t have the capacity for change and innovation it’s more that without the necessary drivers it just won’t happen, which is what we’re currently seeing. Oh don’t worry about my conspicuous consumption, it’s ok I’ve paid to offset that by planting an acre of trees.

Yeah nah eat the rich.

Working hard is never the be all and end all though.
You can work really hard selling coffee and get nowhere.

Got to say though, i was amazed at the "underpaid" Woolworth's employee, in charge of a small team of shelf packers, earning 70K/year but should have got 80.

One of the issues these days is that degrees are worth very little despite being very expensive. My brother in law is an engineer and when he left uni he worked for Holden. That closed and if you aren't interested in mining you have to do anything you can get. He's quoting for a steel fabrication company now on much less pay and every year another wave of graduates comes into the market.

I know a couple of French guys who are working for mate here, one did a double degree Law and Comerce and ended up pouring coffee in Paris and living 30 minutes by train away and was barely able to survive there. He does s**t work here and lives a pretty good life style still. Another one is an electrician from Normandy, he said in France, people pay Eastern Europeans who will come in by van and the crew will sleep in the van, take Euros home and live it up while the locals miss out on jobs.

Once smart kids went to uni and got a degree in an area they wanted to work in and started a career, disinterested kids started a trade and even the dumb kids could do process work. Tariffs protected these industries and it made it a lot easier for the majority of people to have employment and wages to grow as business needed scarce labour.

The world is much more competitive and high stress for sure and it's definitely a less easy financially as far as I'm concerned. It doesn't mean all is hopeless but I think it's fair that young people are dissatisfied with the status quo as well.

Add the unfairness of wealth distribution and climate change inaction and you can see why kids get shitty.

Mmm We have plenty of opportunities to make a great living and life style in this country, but we seem more interested complaining and worrying about what everyone else has instead of enjoying what we have. My other pet hate is people around my age knocking and criticising the young ones of day just remember our age group is the one that brought them and influenced them

Didnt say i had it harder but this whoa is me is total BS, harden up and work harder, you poor buggers who cant work 16 hour days, you dont know what you were missing.

I have never said the words Gen Z or Millennials, so i dont know what your crapping on about there.

Toughen up princess, life isnt going to be handed to you on a platter, do a stint in the Army like i did that helps pay the bills lol
*Woe is me.

Firstly, I didn't say I was incapable of working 16 hours I day, I said there aren't any jobs that give you that many hours. There are too few jobs and too many people who need them thanks to automation.

Maybe you never have but everyone else around your age groups us all in as one collective cohort and constantly hits us with the "pull yourselves up by your bootstraps" line of thinking because "that's what we did at your age". But it's not really. Is it.

If you wanted to buy your house now with what you had when you first bought it you'd be laughed out of a bank. To pay back a loan on a similar quality property will take roughly 35 years longer now than it would've 25 years ago. That is due to inflation. That's not me having a whinge, that's just a fact. Things are worth more and jobs pay less. Average wages haven't even increased in line with inflation in recent times.

I don't need to do a stint in the army, I'll be fine. I'm going to be a doctor and have no trouble paying for anything in 2 decades, but the rest of the people my age trying to get by the same way people have for 5 generations now working a blue collar job won't. People working as truckies, cashiers, receptionists, in telecomms and many more will keep seeing their hours decline and wages stagnate. I'll just add though that it shouldn't be necessary to risk your life or support a cause such as military intervention you don't believe in because society has left you no other options.

I'm glad you've got a good retirement set up and I hope it works out for you, congratulations on working hard and earning your retirement. But your experience doesn't outweigh statistical evidence. And statistical evidence implies that most people didn't have to work as hard as you did to have what you have. It also implies that for someone these days to do what you've done would be impossible. So again, give the condescending lectures to us "princesses" a rest because what you did isn't feasible anymore. And seeing as simply stating it hasn't worked yet I'll attach some pretty graphs to express what I mean. The first graph shows the national median housing price change over time and the second shows the average weekly wages change over time. As you can see, housing prices have increased nearly 6 fold and wages have increased just over 2 fold. The third graph shows the ratio of house prices to disposable income per quarter since 1975 also comparing Australia vs the rest of the developed world, as you can see there has been a major spike since 1995 interestingly enough.

1573203369618.png
1573203462418.png
1573203695620.png

One of the issues these days is that degrees are worth very little despite being very expensive. My brother in law is an engineer and when he left uni he worked for Holden. That closed and if you aren't interested in mining you have to do anything you can get. He's quoting for a steel fabrication company now on much less pay and every year another wave of graduates comes into the market.

I know a couple of French guys who are working for mate here, one did a double degree Law and Comerce and ended up pouring coffee in Paris and living 30 minutes by train away and was barely able to survive there. He does s**t work here and lives a pretty good life style still. Another one is an electrician from Normandy, he said in France, people pay Eastern Europeans who will come in by van and the crew will sleep in the van, take Euros home and live it up while the locals miss out on jobs.

Once smart kids went to uni and got a degree in an area they wanted to work in and started a career, disinterested kids started a trade and even the dumb kids could do process work. Tariffs protected these industries and it made it a lot easier for the majority of people to have employment and wages to grow as business needed scarce labour.

The world is much more competitive and high stress for sure and it's definitely a less easy financially as far as I'm concerned. It doesn't mean all is hopeless but I think it's fair that young people are dissatisfied with the status quo as well.

Add the unfairness of wealth distribution and climate change inaction and you can see why kids get shitty.

I feel its exacerbated by the way they tell them at school, to just follow their dreams.
Wrong.!! Look into it. Yeah you might love being an Aeronautical engineer, but how many aircraft design facilities are there in Australia.
How many computer game developers are based in Australia.
etc etc.

I'm just self interested. The average age a Aussie kid leaves home now is getting later and later. I love my kids but I don't want them at home after they finish uni.

I feel its exacerbated by the way they tell them at school, to just follow their dreams.
Wrong.!! Look into it. Yeah you might love being an Aeronautical engineer, but how many aircraft design facilities are there in Australia.
etc etc.

Yeah, my son is interested in becoming an architect, I know two who are underpaid overworked and get s**t work. I suggested he becomes a builder and does designer stuff that way. My wife nearly stabbed me for suggesting he doesn't do a degree but trades are better paid than low level professional jobs now. You can then go into property development later. My father in law made heaps that way and it's still a very good way to make big money. My son is a little capitalist bogan so it would suit him.

My daughter is into art stuff and I'm pretty sure she'll be permanently unemployed but glad she has a passion and following her dreams....I think. Creativity will be an asset in an AI world.

etc etc.

You do follow them though, for example I wanted to be an officer of the law and join law enforcement, early on was never really on the cards considering how many times I saw the RCH growing up and penchant for wanting to behead a bloke with an axe for rubbishing a friend of mind for 30mins (she restrained me from doing so), but you dream so you can grow and find something in the middle. I was warded off it, and also informed of failure in attempt, but similarly I'd have had no problem moving away to do something I wanted to do that would pay for a life to live, as you only have 1, and you'd be lucky to love what you live. You'd never know if you didn't simply ask the question, is "no" that scary for some people?

Then again, I am named after Hebrew origins to English & Italian heritage, so I assume my upbringing was akin to Heracles in being an eventual badarse at what I do, but I digress, many things "wrong" with schooling, but dreams are not one of them, that says more about the individual and their penchant to dream of wants and associate that with need, as 3 of us also wanted to develop some games 2 of us went programming streams, one animation, we made a poorly made shmup, but it was ours and were proud then dropped the idea like a hot potato and one is now in Japan working.

But we were also from "regional" Victoria, because 50km is "long" distance to some people who have never driven out of state before.

Definitely not, he's a southerner and he's wearing a baseball cap. Grown men in baseball caps!

I run with a playful philosophy/set of rules that you can only wear a baseball cap if a) you’re playing baseball b) you’re a juvenile or c) you’re American.

You can only wear tracksuit pants outside if a) you’re involved in some sort of sporting/exercise activity b) getting milk and a newspaper from the corner store or c) you’re moving house.

Any other time it’s not ok.

I run with a playful philosophy/set of rules that you can only wear a baseball cap if a) you’re playing baseball b) you’re a juvenile or c) you’re American.

You can only wear tracksuit pants outside if a) you’re involved in some sort of sporting/exercise activity b) getting milk and a newspaper from the corner store or c) you’re moving house.

Any other time it’s not ok.

For tracksuit pants, d) at home and can't be bothered putting on anything requiring more effort.

I am often in awe of the people who preceded me, and it wasnt until i was older that i appreciated what they had done, and some of the reasons they were who they were and why i have the attitudes i have today.

My mums side were all Cornish miners, they came to Australia for the goldrush in 1854, they would of had to be tough hardy resilient people.

I read once where my grandfather and great grandfather dolly potted 12 ton of quartz by hand for a total of 1oz of gold, hard work in anyones language. The family made a name for itself all over the goldfields for how well they mined their claims, sadly the loss of life in the mines was high. My grandfather was a tunneler during WW1 at Messines a hand picked miner, laying mines and blowing the bum end out of everything from underneath the ground, i never met him, but apparently he had a look in his eyes that would go straight through you and hardly ever spoke. After the war on return he moved back to the bush but never mined again, he had a few kids and sat on a log with his parrot most of the time, these days it would of been classified as PTSD, back then all he got offered was some swamp at Koo Wee Rup which he told them to jam and he went back to the mountains.

My dad a Cornish miner got shot to hell during WW2, he always refused to talk about it and had a bit of a short fuse, he loved a drink and a fight if he got enough in him. When he got out here he worked on the Snowy Mountains scheme then up to the coal mines in N.S.W. He moved back to Victoria to try his hand at the gold, met my mother, a girl from the bush and moved to Melbourne where he dug footings for houses by hand until his health gave out, another case of PTSD, he couldnt work, so i had to leave school at 14yrs and 10months to help the family so we could keep the house. I had learnt a lot of lives lessons by the time i was ready to work. My dad also had a rule, no one lives at home after they turn 18, so we were kicked out the nest to fend for ourself, in hindsight it was the best thing he could of done, i left home at 17 and joined the Army :D

I dont consider i did it hard, i did what i had to do to survive, never went on the dole, but had some jobs where i threw it in after a few hours, terrible places. By the time i finished working last year due to illness i had a well paid position in charge of 30 men and was debt free, then bang i am pinching pennies again due to my health, oh well life rolls on.

I look at my 2 kids and i am so proud of them, what they have achieved, and never put the hand out for anything, funny i kicked them both out when they turned 18 :D

Whatever generation your from, your dealt a deck of cards to play with, the rest is up to you.

I am often in awe of the people who preceded me, and it wasnt until i was older that i appreciated what they had done, and some of the reasons they were who they were and why i have the attitudes i have today.

My mums side were all Cornish miners, they came to Australia for the goldrush in 1854, they would of had to be tough hardy resilient people.

I read once where my grandfather and great grandfather dolly potted 12 ton of quartz by hand for a total of 1oz of gold, hard work in anyones language. The family made a name for itself all over the goldfields for how well they mined their claims, sadly the loss of life in the mines was high. My grandfather was a tunneler during WW1 at Messines a hand picked miner, laying mines and blowing the bum end out of everything from underneath the ground, i never met him, but apparently he had a look in his eyes that would go straight through you and hardly ever spoke. After the war on return he moved back to the bush but never mined again, he had a few kids and sat on a log with his parrot most of the time, these days it would of been classified as PTSD, back then all he got offered was some swamp at Koo Wee Rup which he told them to jam and he went back to the mountains.

My dad a Cornish miner got shot to hell during WW2, he always refused to talk about it and had a bit of a short fuse, he loved a drink and a fight if he got enough in him. When he got out here he worked on the Snowy Mountains scheme then up to the coal mines in N.S.W. He moved back to Victoria to try his hand at the gold, met my mother, a girl from the bush and moved to Melbourne where he dug footings for houses by hand until his health gave out, another case of PTSD, he couldnt work, so i had to leave school at 14yrs and 10months to help the family so we could keep the house. I had learnt a lot of lives lessons by the time i was ready to work. My dad also had a rule, no one lives at home after they turn 18, so we were kicked out the nest to fend for ourself, in hindsight it was the best thing he could of done, i left home at 17 and joined the Army :D

I dont consider i did it hard, i did what i had to do to survive, never went on the dole, but had some jobs where i threw it in after a few hours, terrible places. By the time i finished working last year due to illness i had a well paid position in charge of 30 men and was debt free, then bang i am pinching pennies again due to my health, oh well life rolls on.

I look at my 2 kids and i am so proud of them, what they have achieved, and never put the hand out for anything, funny i kicked them both out when they turned 18 :D

Whatever generation your from, your dealt a deck of cards to play with, the rest is up to you.

I have Cornish stock too, they were a hardy lot. We stayed in a place called Polruan when we went there, the streets were vertical and houses like shoe boxes, even in summer it was about 15 degrees on a hot day. They would have had to be hard to exist in that climate. The the miners were pretty much used like beasts of burden for the UK to have coal on top of that. Pretty beautiful place though.

My grandfather was pretty much the same after the war, he hardly spoke and seemed like he had a lot going on below the surface. He was the one who got me to follow the Saints so he had some resilience too. We were farmers in Cornwall and farmed here during th gold rush and made a fair bit of money selling food and milk when everyone else had run off to mine. What part of Cornwall are your family from? We were on the coast near Porthleven. It's now mostly Airforce base, golf club and where they film Poldark now.

I have Cornish stock too, they were a hardy lot. We stayed in a place called Polruan when we went there, the streets were vertical and houses like shoe boxes, even in summer it was about 15 degrees on a hot day. They would have had to be hard to exist in that climate. The the miners were pretty much used like beasts of burden for the UK to have coal on top of that. Pretty beautiful place though.

My grandfather was pretty much the same after the war, he hardly spoke and seemed like he had a lot going on below the surface. He was the one who got me to follow the Saints so he had some resilience too. We were farmers in Cornwall and farmed here during th gold rush and made a fair bit of money selling food and milk when everyone else had run off to mine. What part of Cornwall are your family from? We were on the coast near Porthleven. It's now mostly Airforce base, golf club and where they film Poldark now.

My great great great grandmother was from St Austell she worked in the clay pits back in the day her husband was a miner from Redruth, my dad was also from the Redruth district. I have traced my ancestory back to the 1500's, all Cornish miners and 1 farmer lol
One bloke was found drunk in the pump house in the 1700's and was dismissed immediately, another is noted as being quite dead when they went down the pit to find him. :D

I was planning a trip to see some relos next year but that has that has the brakes on at the moment

I'm just self interested. The average age a Aussie kid leaves home now is getting later and later. I love my kids but I don't want them at home after they finish uni.

I still live at home and I'm 27. I'd love to leave with the way house prices keep going up are I'm here for a bit longer. Every week I've put 150 dollars a week away in another account with higher interest(which is now being demolished because the RBA are trying to move deck chairs on the titanic) to save.

Around my area there's houses going for 500k plus that feature: A location closer to Pluto than Melbourne's CBD, A massive drive to a train station, no public transport and roads which belong in the 18th century!

500K an outer suburb is pathetic!

My internet data usage went from about 120 gigabytes a month to 2,950 gigabytes.

I’m on an unlimited plan so it doesn’t actually cost me anything, but I don’t know why this is happening.

I’m seriously wondering if all the neighbours are hacked in to my account.

I do have a 21 and 25 year old living at home (kinda fits in to the discussion we’ve been having) and one is a gaming addict. But still...3,000 gigabytes?! Not even sure how that’s possible.

Any tech savvy posters know why this might be happening or how I can find out what is the primary cause?

I still live at home and I'm 27. I'd love to leave with the way house prices keep going up are I'm here for a bit longer. Every week I've put 150 dollars a week away in another account with higher interest(which is now being demolished because the RBA are trying to move deck chairs on the titanic) to save.

Around my area there's houses going for 500k plus that feature: A location closer to Pluto than Melbourne's CBD, A massive drive to a train station, no public transport and roads which belong in the 18th century!

500K an outer suburb is pathetic!

Yeah, that's the catch now, you get a house out in places like Warragul in the estates and spend hours commuting so have a worse standard of living. Local jobs are scarce so put pressure on all the services as well as workers head for the city for jobs. Schools, hospitals etc all have limited access and so you get a worse standard of living. You can get a house but it's still not as good as when all property was more affordably priced.

My internet data usage went from about 120 gigabytes a month to 2,950 gigabytes.

I’m on an unlimited plan so it doesn’t actually cost me anything, but I don’t know why this is happening.

I do have a 21 and 25 year old living at home (kinda fits in to the discussion we’ve been having) and one is a gaming addict. But still...3,000 gigabytes?! Not even sure how that’s possible.

Any tech savvy posters know why this might be happening or how I can find out what is the primary cause?
Ok after an inter-generational consultation here, you’re probably being hacked and need to change your password. Max estimate off someone gaming 7 days per week is 1 thousand gigabytes a month.

Tinder