The Association Football AFL Thread

Sometimes I don’t know why the North Melbourne, St Kilda and Fremantle fans on here find it so easy to take pot shots at Carlton all the time. Considering that those clubs are 3 of the biggest basket cases in football history
Because since 2003 Carlton have finished in the top 8 3 times. There’s basically a whole generation of football fans that pretty much know nothing but Carlton ‘rebuilding.’ All of those other 3 ‘basket cases’ have made the finals 7 times during that time period, with North becoming far improved financially in this time and St Kilda being a bounce of a ball away from winning their 2nd flag, while Freo had their best era by far 2010-2015 and in the top half of off field measures as well. What has Carlton done in that time.

Since 2000, Carlton have made the Finals 6 times. Fremantle have made the finals 7 times since 2000. St Kilda have made it 7 times since 2000. North have made the finals 9 times since 2000.

See what happens when you pick an arbitrary start point? Any club in the competition can have a 5 year “best era” or be one kick away from ultimate glory and technically, St Kilda lost the GF by 10 goals.

Since 2000, Carlton have made the Finals 6 times. Fremantle have made the finals 7 times since 2000. St Kilda have made it 7 times since 2000. North have made the finals 9 times since 2000.

See what happens when you pick an arbitrary start point? Any club in the competition can have a 5 year “best era” or be one kick away from ultimate glory and technically, St Kilda lost the GF by 10 goals.
Apart from a couple of years with Judd, Carlton have been s**t since 2003.

One thing is for sure, that the very next Victorian club to go interstate would probably end up being North for the reason you listed. It will be an interesting next few years to see if that happens since it’s been talked about for the last 20 years.
No Victorian clubs are going to be relocated and it certainly wouldn't be North. The AFL failed to relocate us when we were weak so have no chance now.

If the next two tv rights nose dive like is predicted the safety around the weakest Vic club's and the suns starts will not be there

They will struggle to relocate a club who is debt free with new training facilities, a AFL, VFL and AFLW team. They know that our supporters won't roll over and cop it too.

Maybe the AFL should stop pumping hundreds of millions into the game up North. TV rights is largely based around number of games, so relocation doesn't make sense. Starting a new franchise is more likely imo, probably in WA.

They will struggle to relocate a club who is debt free with new training facilities, a AFL, VFL and AFLW team. They know that our supporters won't roll over and cop it too.

Maybe the AFL should stop pumping hundreds of millions into the game up North. TV rights is largely based around number of games, so relocation doesn't make sense. Starting a new franchise is more likely imo, probably in WA.
A lot of it will come down to if Tassie is viable as a standalone side. Otherwise a simple re branding dropping the name North Melbourne again with a large majority of Tassie home games + a fixed amount of away games being based in VIC is also an option.

Tassie: 8 home games (membership base around the 15-25k mark)
VIC: 3 home games + 6 away games (should keep most of the 42k members)
Interstate: 5 away games

Keeps 9 games available to Victorian members while getting Tassie a fixed team playing an increased number of games in the state. A membership base of over 60k becomes a likely scenario plus not fighting for corporate dollars with 9 other clubs in the state it really gives the Kangaroos a chance to be a very strong club off field. Whilst they're doing an admirable job at the moment they're never going to get out of that bottom 6 sides financially.

Obviously the ideal scenario is the money doesn't dry up for the AFL and Tassie is able to fund their own full time team with a 20th team coming from who knows where.

A lot of it will come down to if Tassie is viable as a standalone side. Otherwise a simple re branding dropping the name North Melbourne again with a large majority of Tassie home games + a fixed amount of away games being based in VIC is also an option.

Tassie: 8 home games (membership base around the 15-25k mark)
VIC: 3 home games + 6 away games (should keep most of the 42k members)
Interstate: 5 away games

Keeps 9 games available to Victorian members while getting Tassie a fixed team playing an increased number of games in the state. A membership base of over 60k becomes a likely scenario plus not fighting for corporate dollars with 9 other clubs in the state it really gives the Kangaroos a chance to be a very strong club off field. Whilst they're doing an admirable job at the moment they're never going to get out of that bottom 6 sides financially.

Obviously the ideal scenario is the money doesn't dry up for the AFL and Tassie is able to fund their own full time team with a 20th team coming from who knows where.
None of it comes down to Tassie, our debts are paid now so we have the upper hand. The AFL has plenty of money and it would never get voted through.

Carlton are still s**t though

Imagine sitting here as a Carlton supporter and being told you’re s**t by a supporter of a club that has won 2 flags in the last 60 years.

Collingwood reminds me of the quote I once heard on the TV series Supernatural; “ Think how you'd feel if a bacteria sat at your table and started to get snarky”

Imagine sitting here as a Carlton supporter and being told you’re s**t by a supporter of a club that has won 2 flags in the last 60 years.

Collingwood reminds me of the quote I once heard on the TV series Supernatural; “ Think how you'd feel if a bacteria sat at your table and started to get snarky”
:D:D:D

and how many flags have you won fairly?

We know 95 is bogus as *.
The ones with Big Nick in the ruck are dubious given corrections department were bribed to let him out of jail on Saturday to play footy.

When you can’t rort the inequitable zone system or cheat the cap look at how the Blues fair.

We have 20 years of evidence that Carlton don’t know how to build a list fairly ;)