Discussion Random Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

t_94

Premiership Player
May 6, 2014
AFL Club
St Kilda
I'm just self interested. The average age a Aussie kid leaves home now is getting later and later. I love my kids but I don't want them at home after they finish uni.

I am 25 and am moving out next month. I've just got a job in the field i studied after 18 months of applications. Its tough out there.

Yawkey way

Norm Smith Medallist
May 8, 2017
AFL Club
St Kilda
Other Teams
Red sox
I am 25 and am moving out next month. I've just got a job in the field i studied after 18 months of applications. Its tough out there.
I guess people’s attitudes vary depending on a number of factors including cultural backgrounds.

Personally I like having my kids around and selfishly I’m always sad when one flys the nest, I know it can be important for their development but I’m not pushing mine out. Given how much longer kids spend studying then finding a suitable job and perhaps saving some money to get their feet under them the increase in age seems fair enough to me.

If your parents are happy and your happy then what’s the problem, I guess it would be different if you just sat on your bum and weren’t actively studying, working or looking for work. The people next door to me have a married son at home with two kids, he’s finishing his PhD. I was talking to his dad the other day, they love having him and the grandkids there and will probably downsize if they decide to buy their own place. It’s five bedrooms what are they going to do rattling around that on their own.

Horses for courses if it works for you then I don’t see a problem, we’ll probably see more of this with predictions of young people renting for life.

Drake Huggins

Club Legend
May 2, 2018
The ghost of the G.G. Huggins Stand
AFL Club
St Kilda
Other Teams
Stoke City, Southampton.
Didn't the word ersatz come from WWII Krauts eating gunpowder as salt and pepper and stuff?