Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

People on BigFooty will find something to complain about no matter what event happens within the comp. Every piece of news brought out will be turned into some pathetic argument by a user on here and create pointless debate.

My unpopular opinion is this,
One AFL team in Canberra.
One AFL team in tassie.
One AFL team in Darwin.

Re locate three vic clubs that don’t meet AFL future criteria and base them there. (Flame suit on).

Melbourne has too many teams.
Agreed.

First few years in a new city will be a struggle, so the teams should be financially strong.

There's a real risk that some of the Melbourne-based supporters will drop off and not enough new supporters will be attracted in the new city, so it's important they have a large existing supporter base.

And it's important they are successful on the field, cos no-one will want to support a team that sucks.

Hawthorn to Tasmania (the name is already on the jumper!)
Territory Tigers
Canberra Magpies (they get to keep the initials CFC, they should be happy with that)

Being an active member on both here and Reddit's AFL community all I can say is that you guys could learn a lot from the guys on Reddit. The community as a whole is 10x more positive on there than it is here. Over on Reddit:
. Everyone is positive and treats each other with respect
. Teams with rivalries don't start shitfights with each other for no reason
. Trolls and people who cause drama are immediately banned. So many trolls on here that should be segregated to the bay.

Y'all should learn from the AFL fans on Reddit.

Being an active member on both here and Reddit's AFL community all I can say is that you guys could learn a lot from the guys on Reddit. The community as a whole is 10x more positive on there than it is here. Over on Reddit:
. Trolls and people who cause drama are immediately banned. So many trolls on here that should be segregated to the bay.

pack of flogs over there

Defenders are overrated at the draft, especially those which supposedly warrant top 10 selections

Examples: Jack Scrimshaw (#7 2016), Jacob Weitering (#1 2015), Caleb Marchbank (#6 2014), Kade Kolodjashnij (#5 2013), Luke McDonald (#8 2013), Lachie Plowman (#3 2012), Sam Mayes (#8 2012), Matt Buntine (#5 2011), Lachie Hansen (#3 2006), Nathan Brown (#10 2006)

Counter-examples: Nick Haynes (#7, 2011), Michael Hurley (#5 2008), Phil Davis (#10 2008)

Defenders are overrated at the draft, especially those which supposedly warrant top 10 selections

Examples: Jack Scrimshaw (#7 2016), Jacob Weitering (#1 2015), Caleb Marchbank (#6 2014), Kade Kolodjashnij (#5 2013), Luke McDonald (#8 2013), Lachie Plowman (#3 2012), Sam Mayes (#8 2012), Matt Buntine (#5 2011), Lachie Hansen (#3 2006), Nathan Brown (#10 2006)

Counter-examples: Nick Haynes (#7, 2011), Michael Hurley (#5 2008), Phil Davis (#10 2008)

You've set out a wide net with 'defenders' - some of those players are stoppers, some play intercept roles and one (Kolodjashnij) is a creative, running half-back. They're vastly different in height and shape too.

In a fair few instances, those players were also drafted with a reputation for versatility. They didn't spend all their junior footy down back.

To be fair to Mayes, he wasnt a defender at the time. Was a decent forward flanker and played well at that role in his first year (or so?). Wasnt until Leppa put him in the backline that he declined as a player. He may still have been overrated at draft time but he doesnt fit your criteria

the AFL subreddit is absolute trash. you just need to realise that AFL culture is trash so the supporters everywhere will be mediocre in culture and in conversation. most AFL fans are trash. their clubs have been uprooted from their traditional homes and raped for decades now and they don't even properly realise. their souls were spat and stomped on 20 years ago but they haven't let go of their club. that's the gist of it. this league is the pits.

Been a member of /r/AFL for over 4 years now and I couldn't disagree more. Just like /r/Australia; it's heavily influenced by left thematics to the point of intoxication. Sometimes I forget I'm on a Footy forum.

The mods of that sub are huge censoring-SJW's that delete content whenever it doesn't suit their narrative, and enforce "the rules" and their own leisure.

Oh - don't even get me started on the Hivemind mentality (disagree = downvote), the Nuffy trade suggestions (Jamie Elliot and WHE for Cripps) or the Circlejerks (Pray for Goodes, Sportsbet Bad, Boo Ablett).

I honestly use /r/AFL as a news aggregator and a source to Shitpost. Actual discussion I save for BF/Essendon Board.

the AFL subreddit is absolute trash. you just need to realise that AFL culture is trash so the supporters everywhere will be mediocre in culture and in conversation. most AFL fans are trash. their clubs have been uprooted from their traditional homes and raped for decades now and they don't even properly realise. their souls were spat and stomped on 20 years ago but they haven't let go of their club. that's the gist of it. this league is the pits.

Ok boomer

Agreed.

First few years in a new city will be a struggle, so the teams should be financially strong.

There's a real risk that some of the Melbourne-based supporters will drop off and not enough new supporters will be attracted in the new city, so it's important they have a large existing supporter base.

And it's important they are successful on the field, cos no-one will want to support a team that sucks.

Hawthorn to Tasmania (the name is already on the jumper!)
Territory Tigers
Canberra Magpies (they get to keep the initials CFC, they should be happy with that)

'Canberra Comrades' would be an apt name given the socialist ideology of those lefties who work in the big house on the hill.

For home games obviously the visitors would sit on the designated 'right wing' of the ground while the home crowd sits on the left.

Seating behind the goal posts would be reserved for the Independents or those thinking of crossing the floor, although it won't prevent the cheer squads from either side bullying and influencing their allegiances....

Been a member of /r/AFL for over 4 years now and I couldn't disagree more. Just like /r/Australia; it's heavily influenced by left thematics to the point of intoxication. Sometimes I forget I'm on a Footy forum.

The mods of that sub are huge censoring-SJW's that delete content whenever it doesn't suit their narrative, and enforce "the rules" and their own leisure.

Oh - don't even get me started on the Hivemind mentality (disagree = downvote), the Nuffy trade suggestions (Jamie Elliot and WHE for Cripps) or the Circlejerks (Pray for Goodes, Sportsbet Bad, Boo Ablett).

I honestly use /r/AFL as a news aggregator and a source to Shitpost. Actual discussion I save for BF/Essendon Board.

Couldn't have said it better myself. I'll pop over there every now and then to get a quick scan of whats news in the AFL, but it feels like everyone is trying too hard to be politically correct. It's extremely tiresome to hear people whine about Sportsbet ads after every goal.

There's also hardly any decent analysis going on over there. It's a cesspool, it just doesn't seem like it at first glance.

Sycophantic little nerds over there tbh.