Game Day 2019 AFL Draft

Cheers. Forgot about Noble. I think we'll pass on the rookie draft. Dunn and maybe one or two others to train with us through summer. Dunn will be signed if he gets fit. If he doesn't, sign someone else and consider Dunn again in the mid season if he's going well in the VFL by then. That's how I'd play it anyway.
Yeah, that sounds pretty reasonable. I love seeing us bring in new (untried) players to the club, and just hate it when our recruiting people "pass" at any of the drafts, but we're bound to do that in a few hours time!! It's disappointing that we'll only have the three youngsters added to the ranks this off-season, but I'm a fan of Lynden Dunn and it makes sense to me that we give him another crack at getting fit and playing again with us.

I'm not as into KPFs as everybody else - unless they're awesome, so I'm stoked with what we got in terms of player type. A clearance mid with elite endurance. A classy mid/utility. And a really aggressive defender/utility. Fingers crossed that they can play. I would have loved an inside bull, or a freakshow small forward to go with them, but we only had three picks, so be it.

Yeah, that sounds pretty reasonable. I love seeing us bring in new (untried) players to the club, and just hate it when our recruiting people "pass" at any of the drafts, but we're bound to do that in a few hours time!! It's disappointing that we'll only have the three youngsters added to the ranks this off-season, but I'm a fan of Lynden Dunn and it makes sense to me that we give him another crack at getting fit and playing again with us.
Yep, I'd love us to have a couple more picks to have taken the blue sky hope of a project KPF, a flashy small forward or an inside bull, but the project KPFs in particular never make it anyway, so overall i'm pretty happy with the descriptions of who we've got. Hopefully they make it!

I'm happy enough with what we've done, especially as our picks weren't great. If a couple of those players end up as regulars in the team down the track it will be a very good outcome, even if none of them are stars. I always want us to have another pick or two but do understand how the system works, and that there's usually a good reason for the recruiters to say "pass" when they do!

To our esteemed gentlemen who do such great work,
when you’re ready, thoughts on our drafting?

Snoop Dog Pie 4 Life Knightmare

to me all three indicate we won’t have to worry about character and work ethic.
all seem right into it, with great attitude.

Kevin Sheehan noted that Jay Rantall will set standards at training. (Love hearing that.)

My winners and losers piece will be up on ESPN in the morning. As always my view is there were some missed opportunities, and that's going to happen at 95% of selections realistically when you have your own independent draft board and compare it against every selection.

I liked the Pies draft this year. The first in a while.

When the draft got to the mid 30’s point, with Rantall & Bianco still available, I was hoping that 1 of them would slide through to our first pick.
I was expecting them to be snapped up & we would draft some unknown player from left field.
To land both of them was fantastic.
Ruscoe also sounds a good prospect.
Happy with our draft haul.

Dekka looks like he has had a stylist come in and provided a new, refreshing look.
Lost a bit of weight, a sharp hairstyle with some designer stubble and he’s ready for the cameras.
Good to see him and his team try out ‘pick swapping’ this year. Nothing too radical. Moving a couple of spots up/down here and there. Baby steps. He actually looked like way enjoying it.
Watch out 2020 draft!

And maybe the view was simply Riccardi is a nice player but nothing particularly special.
we have Mihocek of tough durable medium level talent. Maybe they just didn’t want him that much?

we desperately need a gun Big forward, but not just another medium type.
Agreed Saintly - we have a need for a plug and play gun but not just another cookie cutter forward.

Have we committed? I'm expecting us to keep it open until the end of supplemental signing at which point we make a call on Dunn's recovery or alternatively pick a kid.
We're committed to a point. Dunn was on SEN a few weeks, basically said we're leaving a spot open and will assess his knee in the new year before making a final listing decision. If that assessment goes well the spot is his.

Mate of mine is friends with Tassie boy Mitch O'Neill. Apparently Richmond was at his house last weekend telling him the plan was to take him with the 3rd rounder. He's utterly confused about what's going on.

Richmond landed three players they dint really want.............by bidding and unexectedly finding out that the clubs didnt match.

Thats whats going on.

Bloke I know who used to work with Pies and still has mates working there told me our Riccardi interest was real. So we may have just gotten schooled at GWS.

Riccardi was there to select for our picks if we wanted him. Clearly we didn’t rate him as high as some on this board do. I mean if we really wanted him then the GWS trade would not have happened.

We're committed to a point. Dunn was on SEN a few weeks, basically said we're leaving a spot open and will assess his knee in the new year before making a final listing decision. If that assessment goes well the spot is his.

It’s his. I just can’t see us selecting a rando not training with us (if it’s even possible) ahead of him.

I’m in no way a “draft expert” so I can’t speak on whether there was better players on the board and the player comparisons are on the back of 60 second clips. What I do feel confident with is that I’m as immersed as anyone in the makeup of our list and I don’t think we could have had things go any better for us last night!

Rantall brings with him a unique mix of running power and contested game, scope for improvement and ball winning. Long term he just feels value. My favourite pick and he’ll get games next year.

Bianco felt so right. Skill, leadership, footy smarts and you will never ever question his commitment to the cause (the kid is legit living all our dreams). I guarantee he’s one of us and surely he’s the boards sponsored player next year! I didn’t give a player comparison for Rantall because his type is unique, but Bianco just gives me a Salem* vibe (it was the weighted kick to the leading player off half back that twigged that reference).

Ruscoe was a great flexible selection for where we sit because I’m sure he’ll be comfortable at either end. Love the competitiveness, marking ability and he seems to have some skill about him. Anyone concerned by his size just keep in mind he turned 18 just 3 weeks ago so he’ll be bigger by the time he’s ready and I’ll be surprised if he didn’t wind up legit KP size (if he isn’t already). I think it’s the movement and competitiveness, but he seems to have a touch of May* about him.

I went in with the belief mid and small defender were our greatest area of needs. We ticked those boxes then went taller so it was one of those well rounded drafts that gets me excited for next year. Once you add Noble, Wilson and Cameron you get a more complete picture of our 2019 additions which makes for solid reading, IMO. Good luck to the boys and stay healthy!

*I don’t expect them to be as good it’s just the guys that come to mind watching their clips.

Edit: on a separate note how ****ing shit was the coverage for people without Fox? The delays in picks and the lack of detail on trades were horrible. I still don’t have full disclosure on how we wound up with Hawthorn’s 3rd (I think it was a straight deal on Essendon’s 3rd which is funny as **** because it means both clubs expect them to be shit in 2020) or the deal with GWS. I know it’s not a spectacle, but jeez it was crap. Also I might have missed it, but did two locks in our best 22 go undrafted, again?..

That undersized defender is the same height as Lynden Dunn and Matthew Scarlett. May even end up taller than them. If he can read the ball flight, hold his own in a push and shove and attacks the contest aggressively, he's tall enough to play KPD.
Shut up and let me be bitter that we didn’t get the player I wanted lol

Anyone else disappointed we have committed to talking Dunn as a rookie?

I feel for the bloke with his recent injures but he’s had his time. Would love to use the rookie draft to take a speculative kid. To me that’s what the rookie draft is for.

If we get desperate for a mature KPD during the year bring one in via mid season draft.

Very disappointed given the talent that is still on offer early in the rookie draft. We do still have time to decide what to do with that last rookie spot now, as a lot of clubs look like they might be hanging onto one or two spots given the success some of the late-signed rookies have had in 2019.

Having said that if someone like Fraser Phillips, Emerson Jeka or Cooper Sharman was invited to come and train at the club with a view to adding them as an SSP prior to the start of the season then I wouldn't be displeased at that notion.

I guess there is a bit of a "people" aspect to the Dunn situation, given how involved with and committed to the club he has been (not to mention how good he could be if his knee holds up), but at this point we need to be looking towards the future with our last rookie spot and Dunn should only be a potential "break glass in case of emergency" SSP (preferably mid-season).

Shut up and let me be bitter that we didn’t get the player I wanted lol

Great to see we filled the list needs of midfield and HBF!:D

But outside that sounds like it's prob the best we could do with our pick ranges so not overtly crying in my weetbix, although a agile pacy xfactor small crumbing fwd wouldn't of hurt.

Kevin Sheehan noted that Jay Rantall will set standards at training. (Love hearing that.)
Oh mate, I was composed right up until we absolutely committed Grand Theft by stealing Trent Bianco with a third rounder. Absolutely wrapt not just by him, but Rantall is so exciting as well. I would have been even more thrilled when we picked up Rantall had it not being for the fact Bianco was on the board - and then we got him anyway! Ruscoe is one I rate as a player who just loves the hard ball and will be that third tall defender but could play inside as well - similar to a Maynard type role even though they are different players. Rantall will give Phillips and Sidebottom a real run for their money and tbh might be the one to knocked em' off in the 2km time trial. Bianco elite kick and I'd plonk him in early, and with him and Quaynor coming off half-back, it's just so exciting. Absolutely pumped. For the picks we had, we won the draft. Obviously others had higher talents like GC/Freo etc. But for where we entered in the draft, this was a sensational haul.

Very disappointed given the talent that is still on offer early in the rookie draft. We do still have time to decide what to do with that last rookie spot now, as a lot of clubs look like they might be hanging onto one or two spots given the success some of the late-signed rookies have had in 2019.

Having said that if someone like Fraser Phillips, Emerson Jeka or Cooper Sharman was invited to come and train at the club with a view to adding them as an SSP prior to the start of the season then I wouldn't be displeased at that notion.

I guess there is a bit of a "people" aspect to the Dunn situation, given how involved with and committed to the club he has been (not to mention how good he could be if his knee holds up), but at this point we need to be looking towards the future with our last rookie spot and Dunn should only be a potential "break glass in case of emergency" SSP (preferably mid-season).
Bucks needs a player for the 'now' so he/we can challenge for a flag. I would absoloutley love to bring in Sokol or H Bennell as a Rookie. I guess if Dunn has 1 year left in him, the club will keep the faith. BTW, very excited about our 3 draftees. Go Pies!!

[/

Was blown away to be honest.

I was hoping for a tall forward and ideally that we would trade up for Jones but when these boys were on the Board at the respective spots was rapt we called them. I had both Rantall and Bianco at 20-25 and to get them where we did was amazing. They were better than any forward talls left.

Rantall is a beast and you can see that in the way he plays. Has so much upside given his basketball commitments and will thrive. He is a competitive beast and projects a little bit like Dayne Beams at same age. He will play that sort of role, ball winner, clean, good decision maker etc. His kicking is ok but it needs work. Nothing wrong with the mechanics I think its just a time thing.

Bianco I have watched for 3 years - I really rate him. Through the mock draft I did there was a fair few people saying he will slide / he isnt quick etc but when i watch him play I dont see that. He has so much game sense it makes up for that. Reads it so well, great decision maker, elite user and wonderful leader. Love watching him play.

Ruscoe i havent seen as much of but has always impressed. He is more a dour defender type and am sort of thinking we have enough of those. Bit like Maxwell was. Be interesting if they see him moving into the mids. I havent seen that scope but maybe its there. I was probably disappointed we didnt go Riccardi at that point but they clearly rated this kid higher or didnt rate him enough. They certainly put the work in so something didnt fit.

Overall rapt. Be interesting what happens in the rookie......

Oh mate, I was composed right up until we absolutely committed Grand Theft by stealing Trent Bianco with a third rounder. Absolutely wrapt not just by him, but Rantall is so exciting as well. I would have been even more thrilled when we picked up Rantall had it not being for the fact Bianco was on the board - and then we got him anyway! Ruscoe is one I rate as a player who just loves the hard ball and will be that third tall defender but could play inside as well - similar to a Maynard type role even though they are different players. Rantall will give Phillips and Sidebottom a real run for their money and tbh might be the one to knocked em' off in the 2km time trial. Bianco elite kick and I'd plonk him in early, and with him and Quaynor coming off half-back, it's just so exciting. Absolutely pumped. For the picks we had, we won the draft. Obviously others had higher talents like GC/Freo etc. But for where we entered in the draft, this was a sensational haul.

Your thoughts on Bianco drifting? Defensive game? Size? Or circumstances? As above I’m no draft expert, but my feel from what I’ve taken in is that he was perhaps on the wrong end of a series of 50/50 calls and perhaps too much of a focus on what he doesn’t do rather than what he does.

Derek Hine and Ned Guy were at loggerheads whether to pick Jay Rantall or Trent Bianco as were the rest of the recruiting team. One Pies recruiter at the table yelled 'Trey, Trey who couldn't make up his mind. When we eventually got both then it was an omen that we must select Trey at pick 55, just because of the synergy of his name.

Game Day 2019 AFL Draft